Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
Best decision I made! The D700 was a natural progression for me. I started out with a Nikon D70, moved into the D90, and finally the D700. I was looking for a full frame sensor that was compatible with all the lenses I already owned and would give me the performance I was looking for. The ISO performance of the D700 is fantastic. I get very good results right up to 3200 ISO and depending on the conditions, I can push it right up to 4000 ISO. I use the camera for both portrait work as well as action sports photography. With the optional MD-10 battery pack and eight rechargeable AA batteries, I can get up to 8 frames per second. Again, the high ISO is key especially when I shoot in Aperture priority mode with varying lighting conditions, I set Auto-ISO to 3200 and the min shutter speed to 1/500 and the camera handles the rest. At this time, the only camera that I would consider replacing this body with is the D3s or D4. March 15, 2012
D700 Nikon Body My first love of the D700 is it high ISO performance. I do a lot of dim light photography and the noise level is very acceptable with the D700. And it contains everything in one package: rapid sequence shooting, 4 shooting modes, bracketing feature for exposure accuracy and HDR rendition, rugged build, and a host of other features which allows the informed user to address any situation. March 15, 2012
Wow! Best camera I ever owned. If you can own one Camera the D700 is the one to buy. Once you start using the D700 it will make you think your' a Pro. This camera make taking pictures fun. I didn't think I needed an expensive camera. But Wow glad I closed my eyes and press buy. The results taking pictures with a D700 was a WOW. I previously owned several camera, Canon, and Nikon but I stick with the Nikon coz I can use my other lens. Yes it is costly. But if you want to take your photography to the next level. This is a fantastic start. March 15, 2012
lo light...can't find the noise (4.5 really) I teach photography/adobe photoshop lightroom and one of my students asked me to illustrate noise reduction in action... I already had a before/after photo shot at 4500 ISO with available indoor reception light in my presentation. So, I compared the before and after. (You figured it out - no noise) What does this mean: - greater flexibility when shooting nature shots early in the morning or later at night - handheld street scenes after dark - party/reception shots that incorporate ambient light with a touch of flash - What does this accomplish: - what doesn't it accomplish? March 15, 2012
Fabulous Camera Loved this camera from day 1 i got it and i am still in love with it. Fast , sharp and very professional camera Use it mainly for weddings and i have never had any reasons. March 15, 2012
Exceptional camera with one incredible weakness -- hot shoe Very quickly, the D700 is an exceptional camera, the best I've ever used. However, the hot shoe represents an incredible weakness. Using an SB-900 flash, over time, the hot shoe loses its ability to hold the flash tightly enough to allow the flash to work, resulting in strobing and failure to work period. Nikon repair was over $250. A simple solution appears to be the rubber gasket that provides weather sealing that sits on the bottom of the SB-900. March 15, 2012
Great blend of versatility and usability! The D700 and it's high ISO ability open up a whole new world of shooting opportunities. I am able to capture natural light portraits in lower light than ever before using ISO's up to 800, easily. Shooting sports in low light provides much more usable images than my previous D80. The focus system is so much faster and more accurate as well. Couple that with an MB-D10 and EN-EL4a battery allowing 8 frames per second and you can capture all of the high speed action. The added benefit of weather sealing makes this camera capable of handling any situation you could throw at it. Nikon's intuitive layout of controls and dedicated buttons for most accesses adjustments makes adapting to situations a breeze. I love this camera and am very pleased with the possibilities it presents. March 15, 2012
Small Strongman I bought it quite long ago as a back up for my D3. And I have to tell that it's a great piece of technique. High ISO...great. Fast response. Lots of configuration options. Almost all of the the things that D3 is offering but in a smaller package. It's also good as a "walking" camera as D3 is much heavier. I was using D700 during my business trips (I'm not a professional photographer) for photographing nature, landscapes and officials and using D700 I was sure that it won't fail (of course D3 was always with me...just in case ;))) The only thing missing, which is quite useful for me in D3, is ISO regulation....meaning ability to put shutter speed parameter in "auto ISO" option in "my menu". Of course you can regulate it, but have to go to "normal" menu and find it and then change it. In "my menu" you can only turn on or off Auto ISO without any furter options (in D3 you can put "fully functional" auto ISO into "my menu"). March 15, 2012
Nikon D700 "Awesome" created camera I have the Nikon D90 and at the time felt it was the best, till the Nikon D700 arrived. I shoot a lot of sports out doors and in doors and the low light capacity is "awesome." I'm just disappointed that Nikon has discontinued this model. It would be nice if Nikon can find me another D700. I've tried all over and all seem to me out of stock. "Why are you discontinuing this model?" March 15, 2012
Nice SLR for low light Nature Photography combined with the proper Nikon lens, is a great camera, very pleased . It could use some improvements, the body could be made of something other than plastic, the door latch to the batterie compartment needs to be upgraded, something easier to use and a more proper fit. March 15, 2012
Extremely Versatile Camera I have used this camera for sports, indoor performances, wildlife and landscapes. The high ISO capability, the bracketing and full frame sensor all add up to a great package. March 15, 2012
They don't get much better than this! Bang for buck this is one great camera. I shoot weddings and these were my workhorses until I moved up to the D3s. The high ISO my be a little better with the D3s, but the D700 isn't very far behind. Love the size, the control layout, the image quality, and the value. The build quality is great except for the problems it may have with the SB-900 flash causing the hotshoe to become loose. I would be nice if it had two memory card slots too. That's really my only complaints about the D700. The D700 is a Nikon classic. March 15, 2012
D700 I like the d700 and will not buy the new d800. Would like to see a d700s with the d3s chip, would make a great camera for weddings. March 15, 2012
The user of Nikon D700 We knew the Nikon D800 soon to be out in your hands, I've read commends and comparison between D700 and the new D800, to me, the D700 is a very exciting digital camera, a very powerful piece of work, it very easily beating up other camera brands in the market today, D700 works perfectly each time in every shot, for sure i won't give it up for the D800, enjoy your shooting and have a lot of funs, thank you. March 14, 2012
easy to use The D700 is a great unit. It takes great photos especially at low lights March 14, 2012
love it. love it. don't get much better i had d3 and love that camera. size of d3 inhibited from carrying it everywhere. d700 came out and immediately bought one and sold the d3. expect to have this for a while. reminds me of the beloved f100. highly, highly recommended. it does it all very. and super durable -not indestructible like d3. March 14, 2012
Excellent camera for every application! I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants to take there photographic skills to the next level. If you can see it in your mind this camera can do it. March 14, 2012
Best value in a FULL frame camera Great camera,uses the Nikkor lenses of years ago that made Nikon what it is today.Ease in operation,BUILT like a NIKON of years ago.SOLID March 14, 2012
Best camera I have ever owned Camera lets me standardize my operations so I can think seeing the light just as I did using 120 film. I like using lenses that I bought since 1963 - 2012. I have 24 x 36 prints with excellent quality. March 14, 2012
A low light pro's camera for a lot less money I use my Nikon D700 to take pictures of kids basketball games in school gyms which are poorly lit. I use a 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR lens. With this combination I am able to take pictures and keep the shutter speed high enough to stop action. I also use a battery pack which gives me 8 frames per second. This is a Pro set up that cost many thousand dollars less then the D3S. I would recommend this camera to anyone that wants a full frame camera. March 14, 2012
A workhorse with the world at your hands When I asked a classmate from 40 years ago what he'd suggest as an upgrade for a digital camera, he suggested the D700. He has a photography business and as far as I'm concerned, he knows what he's talking about. I am the editor/photographer for a small newspaper, but each week I take a variety of photos. I particularly like the D700 for sports photos, from rodeo to basketball. Although I still have a lot to learn, I don't think I'll ever regret making the D700 my choice. March 14, 2012
Amazing All I need in the same body, I take amazing picture in low light March 14, 2012
Just a Gem!! A true robust and an all rounder!! I really enjoyed and always felt proud to hold this camera in my hands . Very solid and macho !! when I take the pictures in JPEG mode I didn't have to edit .The clarity and the colors are excellent. It never let you down!! March 14, 2012
Fantastic Full Frame DSLR! I have had my D700 for just over a year now and I love it. Right from the first time I shot this camera I noticed significant differences compared to the D300 I owned previously, The most notable being the faster shutter speed and low noise at high ISO. The bigger sensor also allows more information to work with during editing. With this body and any of my professional grade lenses, I continue to be impressed every time I review my images. March 14, 2012
Workhorse and a half. I use this cameras every day and of the 15-20 models of Nikons I have owned over the years, it is by far my favorite. March 14, 2012
Rock solid! What can I say, in every way, the D700 surpasses all my expectations! In low light, where a flash would be inappropriate, I still capture stunning images! I shoot everything from sporting events (both indoors and outside), weddings, family portraits, model portfolios, and much more. I've never found a more versatile camera out there! The one suggestion I would make is pick up the MB-D10 battery pack, hand grip. It's a must have for fast action, vertical shooting. The added power supply and the additional release button and control dials make a world of difference. I never take it off my D700! March 14, 2012
A feature rich camera delivering exceptional picture quality in a small package I've been a very happy D700 owner since its introduction in mid 2008. The D700 is an amazing camera that is full of great features and is suprisingly easy to use. Combining its incredibly quick and accurate auto-focus system with its highspeed continuous shooting, I've never missed a moment capturing my kids while they were playing. I am especially impressed with the D700's world-class low light (high ISO) performance. It opened up a whole new window of opportunity for me. It delivers exceptional image quality with low noise and high ISO performance. The build and handling of the D700 are great as well. Overall, it is truely a great camera for everyone, whether you are an enthusiastic or professional photographer. March 14, 2012
A,mazing at Any Price. I thought "When I grow up, I really want a Nikon." Don't wait to grow up!!! Buy YOUR D 700NIKON NOW. I looked at a LOT of other cameras, and started taking pics when I was around 15. I am now 60. The 700 is the most camera for the money you can buy. Great balance in the hand; feels like a piece of smooth marble cut to fit our hand. Beautiful design with as many features as any pro camera in the market for less $$$$. Ability to adapt to ANY lighting, exquisite lens selection and world-wide suport. I could afford to by ANY camera. This is the best bang for the buck, hands down. Go pick one up and compare it in the camera shop. But...bring your wallet, if you really want a camera, you'll be leaving with the Nikon D700. MC, Klawock, Alasaka March 14, 2012
Full Frame Workhorse The D700 is an amazing camera. I sometimes feel like I have only scratched the surface of what it's capable of. The bottom line though is the image and the images from this camera are excellent. I recently tried some of the in camera processing options and was amazed at the results. This camera is still relevant and a great tool to have and use. March 14, 2012
Great Full Frame (FX) Camera I love my D700. I love the fact that it is a full frame camera and that my manual 28mm works fine with it, as a real 28mm. The menus are easy to access and the function button lets you program your favorite menu item. I programmed it to tell the camera what manual lens I'm using and record that in the EXIF data. The sensor has the same amount of pixels than the D300 in a bigger area. This lower pixel density provides for a reduced noise in low light situations. If you couple this with the large ISO range (up to 6400) you have a perfect camera for night shots and work inside tropical rainforests. The camera feels good in your hands (highly ergonomic,) has a large and luminous display, a fast top shutter speed (1/8000 sec.) and a built-in flash that lets you command a wireless flash system. I use the wireless flash system to take pictures of products and portraits. The colors captured in the sensor have a great dynamic range and represent meticulously the colors of the subject. I carry my D700 all over for work and for my personal portfolio. I do a lot of my personal work in Central Park, Riverside Park, and all over New York City. I carry my camera constantly. I love my D700. March 14, 2012
Page: 5 6 7 8 9 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
54 Questions | 94 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
54 Questions | 94 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers