Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
Good camera, but is not the best for the price Maybe it will be not be a fair comparison between two formats of equipment like film and digital camera. A company's reputation stand for its all time best product. Nikon will always be known for its products like Nikon F2, F3 and F4. Nikon D700 does not fall in that category. Probably it will never be with any digital camera as the technology changes so quickly and newer models are out in the market in a span of 8 to 10 months. The performance of Nikon D700 is no better than D300. Somehow, I like the construction of D300 better than D700. However, FX (full-frame) format of D700 gives an extra advantage to super-wide angle lenses. I wish Nikon D700 had the same sensor as D3x. July 22, 2010
excellent experience excellent camera, does incredible things with its FX sensor. Would always buy it again or recommend it to a friend. I chose it over the D3S because of the weight, the (missing) movie option that I did not need and the little flash that comes in handy when you use the camera as a master in the Nikon CLS. July 22, 2010
Versatile tool with great latitude! I shoot almost anything anywhere and this camera continously surprises me with exceptional performance in all situations. It's very responsive under various lighting conditions and produces fairly accurate renditions of what my eyes saw with minimal to no digital noise. The sensor cleaning tool is a Godsend when changing lenses in the field. July 22, 2010
A Rock Solid Choice I've now shot with my D700 in five different countries and in just about every weather condition imaginable. It's been tossed in and out of backpacks, exposed to extreme cold, heat and humidity and it never misses a beat. I'd give it a solid 5 star rating if it had weather/dust seals around the card and battery slots, and a second CF card slot. Buy it! July 22, 2010
Such a great camera! Low light? Pshaw! This is a great camera that really fills in a nice gap behind the D3. From my cold, dead hands... July 22, 2010
Excellent!! Be prepared to see in the dark. ISO as low as 6400 with little noise will let you finally shoot the dance recital with no flash and bring home the shots you would otherwise have to pay the pro for. Add the MB10 and take this to the Tae Kwon Do tournament to get some amazing action in low light. I did an exhibition of board breaking by a bunch of black belts. Performed flawlessly. The only thing this thing lacks is a 22 megapixel sensor!! July 22, 2010
It may not be the top of line but it feels and act like one July 22, 2010
Just Shy... Just shy of the best camera in the whole entire world! I love this body. It's a workhorse yet responsive and delicate. The customizable features are perfect! I can't imagine not having this camera. I use it for wedding photography and it has not failed me. In broad daylight or twilight, this camera delivers the shot every time. Don't get me started on the accessories (SB-900) but I have to say they work seamlessly. All in all, best bang for your buck. July 22, 2010
I can use my old lenses Replaced 2x2 film camera equipment and not sorry. I can think film - positive and negative format and do it all digital. Third and final Nikon digital as this is the best. I do it all in the camera - no gimmicks! Solid as my old 2x2 film camera and a lot lighter even with seven old lenses. I enjoy hiking and nature. Favorite lenses: 35mm, 60mm, 35-70mm & 105mm July 22, 2010
Great body, great soul Using this camera for a year, solid body suited for extreme weather conditions, superb quality of images, doesn't have any major flaws in design or ergonomics July 22, 2010
Excellent professional everyday camera! As a professional photographer I rely completely on the quality and durability of my equipment. The D700 has been so good over the past year in both the studio and on-location I bought another which in 20 years as a pro is the first time I've done so. I would normally change models but for 85% of the work I do, it's nearly perfect. A better self-cleaning sensor would be greatly appreciated. July 22, 2010
Overall a good product. Nikon d700 is quite the pro's camera. Compact and loaded with features I can take it anywhere and be assured of it taking professional quality pictures. I am in some of the toughest places in the world and I never have to worry about my Nikon. I call it my insurance policy that I carry around. Tack on some of the finest made lenses in the world, which I've had for 15 plus years now, and you've got the best of a winning combination. Just can't be beat! Thanks Nikon! Rebelpro out. July 22, 2010
Excellent support for my D3X I enjoy shooting landscapes with my D3X, for the closer smaller shots I use the D700 and still have full frame pictures. July 22, 2010
Excellent camera for Advanced Amateur I currently own a D300 and a D700. My initial plan was to use the D300 in cases where I did not want to carry a more heavier camera (D700). However, I have found that once a person starts using the D700 camera, they get use to the additional weight, and also reap the benefits of a full size sensor that can be used with my DX and FX lenses. I have hardly used my D300 since I purchased the D700. Whenever I feel that I want to use the D300, I consider my previous experiences with the D700 and change my mind. I have used the D700 under a variety of weather conditions, snow, rain, all without any problems. The Nikon D700 is my favourite workhorse camera body!! DJJC July 22, 2010
A quantum leap in photo quality The D700 has many additional features compared to other DX format DSLR's. Yet, when upgrading from another Nikon product, the D700 learning curve is easier than I thought. Well worth the investment. July 22, 2010
Versatile This is perhaps the most versatile, efficient camera in the world. I hope it is not ruined by adding video. I have used this camera in extreme desert heat, arctic cold, rain, indoors, outdoors and it has always preformed flawlessly. I shoot mainly wildlife in wild places so I need and expect my camera to preform in a wide range of environments, temperatures and lighting conditions. The D700 has never let me down. The long battery life with the added battery grip has also been a bonus when shooting in remote areas. Truly a 5-star camera. July 22, 2010
Great camera, great price Love the camera, but wished for more pixels. Great low light shooting. Bought it, and 2 months later out comes the D3x with more pixels but for a lot more money. When I shoot pro I use this camera but on vacation I use compact pro-consumer because the D700 lens are to heavy to lug around. In my art work I'm finding the compact cameras are great. I won't change anything with my D700 other than hope chips can be exchanged one day, for more pixels. July 22, 2010
Highly Versatile Camera I’ve used my D700 for almost 2 years with well over 100k shutter actuations. A small, light(for a full frame) camera, it excels at everything from landscapes to dark concert photography.. The low noise at higher iso has really let me speed up the shutter to grab sharp images in situations that no other camera in the room was able to get. Coupled to my Nikon AF-S 24-70 f2.8 and a SC-29 cabled SB-900, I have near infinite variability to how I can pull something or someone out of a scene. A graduate from my trusty D80... I love the ease of tuning the D700 into my photographic mood for the moment. Thanks Nikon! You’ll be hard pressed to come out with something that tops the D700, but I said the same thing while I was shooting my D80. July 22, 2010
This Camera is the Porsch of Cameras If Ihad the Money I would buy another one if hasa great features July 22, 2010
My daily driver. This is an excellent camera with spectacular image quality. Used it two years now, professionally, and haven't wished for more. Of course, I'd love a D3 as well, but haven't really NEEDED one. I've made "24x36" prints from full frame files with beautiful results. Don't shortchange yourself with lenses, though. Buy the top shelf glass, shoot raw, and use a good tripod if you want professional quality images. The D700 is highly recommended! July 22, 2010
It does a great job, in a small package. I shoot the D3 but picked one of these up when I want to travel light, and for FX backup. July 22, 2010
Excellent, highly recommended Great quality. Quick focus. Menus are easy to use. If you run into a situation where you wish you could set ....??..... yep, there is a menu item that will accomodate you. July 22, 2010
The D700 is fantastic I went from a D2x to the D700 and aside from the added weight of a battery grip and slower frames per second, I have never regretted it. The color was an issue at first. It was too yellow, which I was able to fine tune to my satisfaction. It still has trouble with reds and magentas being over saturated. But I love the image quality and ISO range. I'm looking forward to a higher resolution replacement. July 22, 2010
D700 Ranks Best The Price for the quality and build of the camera is worth every penny. This camera had surpassed my expectation when upgrading from a D200. the difference in quality was very much noticiable, not just that, but the fact that noise control under High ISO is tameable and the photograph is usable is great for low light photogrpahy. There is nothing wrong I can say about the camera. I am waiting for the next generation to have greater pixel count and higher ISO while keeping an affortable price as was the case with this one. July 22, 2010
Awsome In my first year I have taken this camera to Europe, throughout South America and the United States. It is a solid and durable camera that tolerates heat, cold, rain and abuse well. I have exposed it to salt spray, rain, sand storms, etc. and it hasn't missed a beat. I love the flexibility and the speed with which you can change ISO and other setings to accomodate changing conditions. And, most importantly, the pictures are incredible. Love this camera. July 22, 2010
Buy it and don't look back! This camera is in the real sweet spot. Full frame sensor, fast shooting in continuous mode, low light performance that can't be beat. What's not to like? You get 95% of the performance of a D3 at less than half the cost. July 22, 2010
My camera of choice I have owned my D700 for a year and a half now and have used it everywhere. Full frame, great lenses, easy to manipulate and great results have all driven me closer to the Nikon brand. I am now a loyal Nikon user and will remain one. I can't wait for the next version. July 22, 2010
Excellent Camera The D700 represents the best value in a full frame body available today. My only complaint is that it has only one CF card socket. Aside from that nothing can touch it. Top notch everything... July 22, 2010
Has more features that I need. I love it. The shutter release is too loud when shooting a wedding in the church.Everyone turns too look... Not good.... Allot of the functions I do not know wether to change them or not, I guess I do not understand what the change will do to the image? Nikon needs to put on a siminar to explain these funtions of the camera.. I would go to it.. Other then that I do like it.. July 22, 2010
Highly recommend I have shot with various Nikon film and digital cameras and for my money I think you get more bang for your buck with the D700. I shoot also with a D300, and it has its place, but the full frame sensor in the D700 is superb and like other Nikons the build quality is outstanding. July 22, 2010
Page: 60 61 62 63 64
<<prev | next>>
51 Questions | 90 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
51 Questions | 90 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years ago
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years ago
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers