Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
best camera i have ever used i finally found a camera that suits my needs! this is a great camera and i am glad i decided to buy it. thank you Nikon for making a superior product. July 22, 2010
One of the Best The D700 has allowed me to use my old 35mm Nikon lens along with new Nikon lenses. Features are all that I could ask for. I just love it. July 22, 2010
The D 700 exceeds my expectations. I continue to learn features in the camera that improve my photos and ability to capture the images I want. This is my first digital camera and will meet my needs for years to come. I've moved up from a F5. The only feature I wish the D 700 had is the vertical camera position shutter release on the F 5. I understand you can get this if you add the battery pack. July 22, 2010
Awesome, just awesome. Love the low noise on the full frame sensor. This camera has performed above my expectations! July 22, 2010
Extremely good camera I have used Nikon cameras from the late 1960s. My first DSLR was a Nikon D100. I followed that with a D200, which is my backup camera, and finally a D700. My first impression of the D700 was that it felt like a 'real' film camera. It is a very sturdy camera. What really impresses me about the D700 is its high ISO performance. On my first outing with the camera, I took some shots in a dark restaurant at ISO 3200. When I looked at those shots on my computer, I could see much more detail in the restaurant pictures than I had seen in the restaurant itself when I was there. The high ISO performance of the D700 allows me to shoot handheld in light levels where I would have had to use a tripod with other cameras. I can honestly say the D700 is the best camera I have ever owned. July 22, 2010
OVERALL GOOD UNIT PROS: EXCELLENT ASA CAPABILITY, W/ THE GRIP AND ENEL4 BATTERY, IT IS CAPABLE OF 8 FPS, AND THE BATTERY LASTS FOREVER BETWEEN CHARGES, SELF CLEANING SENSOR, FULL FRAME FORMAT, GOOD QUALITY IMAGES, ESPECIALLY W/ GOOD GLASS. CONS: DATED,NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED TO D3S SPECS (ASA). ONLY A SINGLE MEMORY CARD, RESOLUTION IS NOT UP TO THE CANON STANDARDS (16 AND 18 MP). NO VIDEO, EVEN THOUGH VIDEO IN DSLR'S IS IN ITS INFANCY AND NOT VERY GOOD AT THIS DEVELOPMENTAL STAGE July 22, 2010
Pro-level features without the cost I was using a D200 for several years and really wanted a full frame 35mm with better low-light, reduced noise capabilities. When the D700 came out it addressed most of the items on my wish list. This camera really delivers the goods. It has a long list of controls that allow you to set the camera to just the way you want it to work for YOU. My only complaint is that it doesn't come with the D3s battery. July 22, 2010
D 700 plus glass available for it cannot be beat! I have used the D 700 for landscape and portrait photography. The results are outstanding. The light metering systems are second to none. The lenses available are numerous and of outstanding quality as one would expect from Nikon. July 22, 2010
All the camera a non-professional needs As an advanced amateur enthusiast, this camera serves the purpose. I've taken several thousand photos of travel, family, and wildlife and it just keeps on working. Although I'm pretty familiar with different lighting situations and the use of different metering settings, I still have to adjust exposure slightly with Aperture or PS on a fairly high number of my shots. Also don't like the unintended gravitational travel of zoom on my AFS Nikkor 18-200 mm lens. AFS VR 70-200mm 1:2.8 is great. I've used Nikon SLRs since 1970 and this is the best yet. Wish I had a use for all of my old non AF lenses. July 22, 2010
Great camera. Love to shoot with it! I have been shooting with this body for more than a year now and just love the image quality. At a normal ISO (200 or 320) it's GREAT and kick it up to 5000 or so and give it a proper exposure, it is awesome! REALLY!! July 22, 2010
Full Frame - Full performance. Nikon D700 gives the professional or expert amateur a choice for full frame performance. D700 offers many of the features found in it larger sibling D3 without the weight or cost. D700 Is the perfect camera or second body when needed a lighter alternative without sacrificing performance. Superb High ISO performance up to 6400k with very low nose. July 22, 2010
Fantastic Camera I had a D300 for a couple of years till my wife started using it and it was harder to get a hold of it. Since I had invested in so much Nikon glass I decided to give the 700 a try. I'm so glad I did because it became my favorite camera of all time. The picture quality is incredible and the ergonomics of it make it such a pleasure to use. The controls are nearly identical to the D300 and the full frame allows near dark shooting to look virtually noise free especially with my 50mm f/1.8 prime lens. It may appear pricey but if you add the battery grip you essentially have a D3 for a bargain price. I love the loud shutter too. Highly recommended July 22, 2010
The D700 is a great backup to my D3 I can't wait to use my D700 when I shoot pro football this fall. It's just a great, great camera. July 22, 2010
The D700 is a great all-around camera The D700 is very versatile and an all-around performer. It works great with all my FX lenses. My only issue with the D700 is that the AF isn't as precise with bigger telephoto lenses. I find the D3 bodies to handle those much better. On the plus side though, the D700 is far more compact and gives you a lot in a smaller package. July 22, 2010
Incredible low light sports photos My first professional grade camera, along with a Nikon 80-200 2,8 lens. I do a lot of high school and local sports, often at poorly lit venues for a local paper. I cease to be amazed at how good this camera is in these most challenging conditions. The joy on parents faces of their football, soccer, baseball, volleyball and softball stars alone makes the camera worth it. July 22, 2010
Excellent camera! This was my first Nikon camera after moving from Canon. The quality of the pictures is amazing. In addition to this, the camera is giving the amateur and pro photo shooter all the flexibility to compose and have the proper settings for a perfect result. The camera is extremely good in low light situations and it has very good color reproduction. I cannot find a reason to replace this camera! July 22, 2010
What a dream camera The D700 is a fabulous camera, with tremendous low-light capability and colors that are best described as creamy. The camera controls just work, not getting in the way, but providing you the control you need right at your fingertips. With the optional battery grip, the D700 is great for portrait work. I absolutely love my D700, that's all there is to it. July 22, 2010
Happy with the Nikon D700 The full frame 35 mm sensor and the enhanced light sensitivity of the camera makes it possible to crop and use secondary subjects in the photo; this is very useful in event photography. The camera works well with 'kit lenses' but it is helps to have lenses of 'good glass.' After my purchase I had thought it was more camera than I needed but after a year of use I am glad I chose the D700. July 22, 2010
duns D700 review The D700 is a very nice DSLR. Fits in hand perfectly, nice weight and very balanced. I wish it had a 100% view finder though. So when taking pictures you need to give yourself more room in the viewfinder in order to crop for 8x10's and other sizes. The D700 is top notch and am very satisfied with my results. July 22, 2010
The Best For Less I bought the Nikon D700 for natural, low light indoor photography, and wedding work due to the high ISO capabilities of the D700. The D700 uses the same sensor as the Nikon D3 in a smaller package, and with all the quality you expect from Nikon, in a Pro body. Moving up from a Nikon D200 which is a fantastic camera in it's own right, I have found the high ISO quality of the D700 stellar, and refer to the ISO 6400 of the D700, as the new ISO 800. I added a Nikon MB-D10 battery grip for the extra battery capability and the grip is perfect for added heft, and handling for people with large hands such as mine. When you are ready for a Pro quality body using the same sensor as Nikons flagship D3, then take a serious look at the Nikon D700. You'll love it! July 22, 2010
Excellent piece of gear I bought this to go "back in time" to the full-frame 35mm sensor format. After spending 30+ years using film, I started in digital with a D80, but I really struggled with the "cropped" sensor size. As soon as the D700 was announced, I grabbed one! I love the camera as all of my lens focal lengths now "make sense" (old habits are hard to break!) Being able to take stunning photos at ISO 3200+ has opened up a whole new world of low-light "flashless" photography for me. I'm truly satisfied with my D700 and it will take a GIANT leap of technology to make me put it aside. July 22, 2010
Excellent quality This is so true not only of the camera but of the images that can be produced. Cleaner images at both high and low iso. I shoot landscapes all the time and have produced amazing prints from small to very large with ease. July 22, 2010
"A camera that delivers" I've been using on a day to day basis the D700 with an MB-D10 grip as well as a D3 for a couple of years now. Photography is my passsion as well as my work,I'm doing mainly pictures of street art in urban surroundings...we're talking changing conditions and available light all the time here...and what I can say about the way this camera handles in those situations is quite simple: the D700 delivers! I won't elaborate on the technical aspect of the camera....you can look at the specs on dozens of websites if that's what you're interested in... but once again in real life, in the field this camera is number 1. July 22, 2010
Top-notch full-frame camera I moved from a D300 to the D700, wanting full frame, a viewfinder that was easier to see with glasses on, and a compact size. I've been very pleased with the D700. The controls are intuitive and the image quality is excellent. Nikon made the right choice in emphasizing high-ISO quality rather than megapixels. July 22, 2010
It does it all. I have had Nikon Cameras for 30 years from the F3, F100, D70, D200 and now the D700. I can say with out hesitation that the D700 handles every situation I hand it. From low light, to fast action the Nikon D700 system delivers. I do a lot of work outside in harsh Vermont winters - I don't give it a thought to take the D700 out into the cold and wet. July 22, 2010
Great camera in comparison to the pure professional cameras. Most of the performance that lends towards picture quality are all there. July 22, 2010
Phenomenal camera For the serious hobbyist wanting a full frame DLSR, it doesn't get any better. Excellent quality images. The only issues for me are, remembering all the menu items and the weight. July 22, 2010
Just Like shooting Film! After 20 years of shooting with film I made a small advance to the ccd chip of the D80 and last year to the D700. Images coming through the processor and cmos chip are exceptional. I recently shot at 25,000 iso in Venice and the result was a wonderful moody image with grain just like a fast speed black and white film., exactly what i was hoping for. If you couple it with a classic lens like the Nikon 50mm 1.2 almost anything you take will look fantastic! I also love the pop up flash for a quick fill light when I dont want to carry a SB unit around. The other thing I would say is dont go by the images in the D700 brochure, you can get much better portrait, and landscape/wildlife studies out of this camera than the samples shown. Most probably I will now bypass the D3 and go for the D3x keeping my D700 as a lighter back up and low light lover. July 22, 2010
absolutely great camera Moving to full frame was and continues to be a revelation. The higher ISO capabilities of the D700 opens up so many opportunities for natural light photography. In addition, it also extends the usefullness of all lenses. The f'/4 16-35mm VR lens is a good match for this camera. July 22, 2010
Very durable This unit has been to some pretty difficult environments for a camera and has still functioned without a hitch. I use the D-700 with some old film lens for my close-up work and am very pleased with the results. I appreciate some thought was put into the battery sizing and enjoy swapping my D200 batteries out with the D700 and this feature has not gone unnoticed by me. July 22, 2010
Page: 59 60 61 62 63 64
<<prev | next>>
51 Questions | 90 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
51 Questions | 90 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers