Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
Great for serious photographers. A bit too heavy for amateurs. July 22, 2010
More intuitive menus & controls I previously owned a D70 (since 2005) and periodically shot a D300, so switching over to the controls / etc. on the D700 was easier than switching from a different manufacturer. Many years back, I had a Nikronos underwater camera, but it is still wandering down a river somewhere without me. I have not taken the time to go back and do a point-by-point comparison, but my general feeling is that the controls and menus on the D700 seem to be a bit more intuitive than the D70 or D300. It was relatively easy to set the camera up to match my style of shooting. Within a couple of days after purchasing the camera I spent 8 - 10 hours doing night shots of bridges. I fumbled a bit in the dark with a few settings and once or twice had to break out my small flashlight, but that fumbling is disappearing as my fingers become more familiar with where everything is without having to think about it. The camera is obviously heavier, but that was to be expected. I like the feel of it in my hands and generally the positioning of the controls. The camera probably has more features than I will ever use in my style of shooting. I think the camera is very versatile and performs well. I look forward to many years of future use and I hope it holds up as well as the D70 which got a lot of knocking around under sometimes rough conditions and marginal weather conditions. Favorite subject to photograph which not included in the drop-down menu are maritime photographs, industrial shots and post industrial ruins. July 22, 2010
very satisfied * High ISO/low noise for low light photography is the best feature... * Quality of images (full frame sensor) is extraordinary * Well built July 22, 2010
D700-My Beloved F2 Returns to Me, Slightly Altered What finally decided me to spring for this beauty is its ability to handle manual Nikkors, which are widely available for cheap. Low-light capability was also vital from my standpoint. The D700 has been pretty much flawless, except for the fact the mirror occasionally sticks (once, then recovers) when the weather is cold. It's probably the best camera body yet made, a blend of capability, decent price and semi-portability. The only thing it lacks is even-better resolution (for landscape and nature shots), but I'm willing to trade resolution for low-light performance. With a 105 f2.5 Nikkor mounted, I sometimes forget this camera isn't my old F2 come back to me from its wanderings, (having somehow ingested an entire computer and a cool window on the back that magically shows me what I just shot). July 22, 2010
A Must for serious photographers Best Full Frame for the budget. Having graduated from d70 to d200 and now d700 - full frame I love this camera. July 22, 2010
Love this Camera, except..... I now have 3 D700s. I love the quality of images I get from this camera. Overall it is the best camera I have ever used. The reason I have three bodies is because they don't last mechanically. The rubber peels off quickly. The hot shoe is loose, even on the brand new body, when using a SB-900. The PC connectors are loose, even on a brand new body. My first D-700 lasted about 2 years, about 125,000 shutter actuations. My second body still works but has been repaired twice, once for the mirror breaking and another for the hot shoe being loose and it only has 25,000 shutter actuations. I should state that I shoot a lot, editorial, weddings and commercial work. But even though I shoot a lot, the camera should hold up better. July 22, 2010
Missing Some Important Features Very nice camera but the lack of a BKT button is bad. Since many people like to shoot HDR, there should have been a BKT button. I understand you can program the FUCT button but why should I have to use that option? July 22, 2010
Great Camera This is my 3rd dSLR. D70, D200 and D700. I find this to be a great camera with the full frame sensor. I have done portraits and nature shots, they have come out excellent. I use it with 24-70 f2.8 and 70-200 f2.8 lens. July 22, 2010
Great Camera Nice dynamic range, great ISO capabilities and amazing when used with 14-24mm lens. Overall, a nice alternative to D3. July 22, 2010
This modern day marvel This camera is fully packed with Nikon's history of great features and reliability, time tested or not released to the photographic community. The full sensor may not be the largest sensor but has true color and wonderful ability to go big with little or any noise. July 22, 2010
solid quality at a reasonable price. The D700 has done all I could ask of it without a single problem. The low light performance is a real stong plus for me as well as build quality and features. July 22, 2010
great camera but needs an update I've owned my D700 for 2 years now. My first full frame digital camera, finally a digital camera I can love but its now getting a bit long in the tooth and I'm ready for an upgrade. July 22, 2010
The best SLR out there, let alone digital. Let me preface my review with this.. I've had a camera since the age of 10, and I am currently a Wedding Photographer in the Detroit area. I chose to write this review, because the D700 has completely elevated my shooting, in all honesty has made me a better photographer. For me, image quality is of utmost importance .I was amazed at how accurate and true to life the color rendition is. My second priority is high ISO performance. Being a wedding photographer, most of what we do requires little or no flash, and requires high ISO to get nice stable and sharp shots. I’m going to be honest here; I was on the verge of switching to another manufacturer when the D3 was announced. I knew once I saw the D3’s images Nikon was on to something. Shortly after the D700 came, I couldn’t have been more pleased. Nikon got it VERY right in this area. A usable image at ISO6400 is amazing. Nikons have always had excellent build quality, and have always been Rock solid. They’re built like a tank, brick sh... well you get the idea. The D700 doesn’t disappoint. The Fast and accurate autofocus, has an amazing capability to focus in low light conditions. How it's changed my photography: The D700 radically changed how I shoot. Lenses that I simply didn't care for are now used heavily. The 50mm F1.4 + D700 is an amazing combo. I can stretch flash batteries much longer due to being able lower my flash output and shoot at 1600+ ISO with no fear of noise/grain. I think the D700 is hands down the best camera body to day, and I enjoy it more and more. Thank you Nikon for producing what I feel to be the best camera on the market. July 22, 2010
The best camera I ever had. All dials and buttons are in spots I can easily reach; thus, this camera fits my hands perfectly. The menus are grouped and arranged very logically, their use is quite intuitive. The ease of use and the countless ways to modify the look/mood of my pictures make it a joy to use this camera. The built in flash ties effortlessly into the CLS system. I have never tried more and played more than with this camera. July 22, 2010
Great Camera Cost is non prohibitive for an amateur. I also have a D2H and between the two cameras I can cover all the various types of photography I do. The fact that you can remove the extenal drive when you want to walk aroud (it is more discreet and much lighter than the 2 and 3 series of cameras). The high iso capability is great. Overhall I rank the camera highly. I beleive that I will have this camera for a long time due to its rugedness and speed. This is what I was waiting for. July 22, 2010
Best All Around Camera I've Ever Owned I've shot 35mm, 6X7 and $x5 film cameras for many years. I started with a D100 and have had the D200, D300 and a D2H. This camera does it all and does it extremely well. I travel quite a bit and love the ability to shoot in dim cathedrals at high ISO and then step outside and shoot as lower ISOs (6400 ASA is amazing) without having to have a different camera or different film. I bought the camera with the 14-24 because I enjoy ultrawide photography and the D700 has given me back the ultrawide coverage. I do quite a bit of portrait work and am impressed with my available light portraits. The Nikon flash system is truly amazing. I rarely use the built in flash for anything except controlling off-camera SB-800s. This may be the last digital camera I buy as it does it all exptremely well. I still own and F3 and an F5 so I do keep my equipment for a long time. July 22, 2010
amazing camera, you can't take a bad picture!! By far the best camera I've ever used!! Love the quality of all nikon products! July 22, 2010
I recently acquired my Nikon D700. It has far exceeded my expectations. The new CMOS sensor is by far so much better than previous editions. It is comfortable and balanced. I love it! I was on the fence, should I buy the D300S or the D700. I am so glad I spent the extra dollars and went with the D700. It is an excellent blend of ergonomics, technology and capability. July 22, 2010
awesome camera unbelieveable low light shots Love the camera I also have a D-200 which is a great camera but the D700 is easy to use and I am proud to own it. It is a super camera July 22, 2010
An Excellent Camera My only objection to this camera is not having a 100% viewfinder. I frequently don't see extraneous elements on the edges of my photos until after I review them. Otherwise I am very pleased with every aspect of the D700. July 22, 2010
I just love this camera!!!! 6 or 7 months ago I upgraded from my D80 to the D700 and a host of high quality, full-frame lenses. Saying WOW is an major league understatement of how much this camera delivers to the user. There's just so much to like: Fantastic D3S image quality (at 1/2 the price); all kinds of programmable button options; huge/clear LCD screen; live view; a personal menu for the options you access most often; superior frame rate (particularly with the drive attached); image overlay, etc., etc. etc. The camera could use a second CF card (raw in one, jpegs in the other) but we'll probably see that in the D700S (?). Ultimately, I'd like to think seriously about adding the 24 megapixel D4 (for obvious reasons) when it comes out...rumored for mid-2011; however, the D700 will always be within short reach. It's amazing. July 22, 2010
A precision creative instrument! I cannot say enough about the quality of Nikon's D700. I've purchased two so far, and it has never failed me. Wherever my photography takes me, the D700 is my rock-solid creative partner. A fine, precision instrument that also delivers quality performance in rugged and adverse conditions. My first D700 was purchased used and is still in service without a single failure. The full-frame FX format alone makes this camera a must for landscape photogs. The 8fps speed (with battery pack) captures all the action I need to. Hi-ISO range is crisp and clean with surprisingly little noise. I realize some people feel that 12.1 megapixels is dated by today's standards. But trust me, unless you're doing fashion photography, you won't miss the extra pixels. The auto ISO Sensitivity Control feature really comes through when hand-holding long non-VR glass. This has saved the day for me on wedding shoots. One caveat you should be aware of. FX format will definitely expose flaws in your lenses. If you're working with cheap glass, this camera will absolutely let you know. My philosophy on this is, better to buy the absolute best glass you can afford. And if I can't afford great Nikon glass, then I wait until I can or rent it. I hate buying equipment more than once because I cut corners on quality. I have zero regrets about this camera. If photography is your business, Nikon is what you want. If you can't quite step up the D3s, this is THE one you want. July 22, 2010
I depend on my D700 My Nikon D700 is the backbone of my photography business. I chose the camera because I wanted a camera that I could count on and the D700 has come through with flying colors. As a maternity and baby photographer in the Los Angeles area, I shoot on location in people's homes, in unpredictable circumstances. Although I travel with and use lighting gear as needed, I always try to use available natural light if I can, because setting up additional lights and modifiers sometimes presents problems in terms of space in the shooting area. I am able to count on the performance of my D700 when pushing my ISO above 800 - I know I will not be dealing with noise problems even at high ISOs. The superb low light performance of my camera allows me to be flexible with client requests. Not having to worry about the performance of my primary tool frees me up to be creative in unpredictable situations. This camera is awesome. July 22, 2010
Great ergonomics, very good image processing. Hits: Sound rugged camera body with great ergonomics for field handling. Very good low light capabilities, fast auto focus, and quick image processing. Misses: histogram is tiny and near useless in the field, bracketing requires extra steps, auto white balance misses too often. Overall, a great feature filled camera body alternative to the flagship model. Tip: Add clear protective sheet over LCD on back. July 22, 2010
D700 I bought the D700 in March 2009. I cover event contracts under special conditions, one of them being"flash forbidden". My one major reason was the quality of the high ISO, and then of course the weight of the body cause I just can't run-point-shoot with a combination of heavy body and heavy lens, and keep steady shots all day. I am very happy about my D700 and I recommend it, no doubt. One detail to mention: I had to return the body to the factory (i did not use it so much in 2009). There were two awkward and not-so-common defects: printed symbols on back buttons were fading and memory card slot was defective (memory cards were reading error). And nop, I did not force any card, I am pretty cautious with my material. Could it be a lemon? Once theses repairs made (apparently the memory card slot is a part that is not under guarantee): not a problem since. Yes, it's a wonderful body! July 22, 2010
Best Nikon for the serious photographer For its features, robustness, and ease of use, this is the best Nikon ever. It's relatively heavy, but I want the full frame sensor since I have many Nikon lenses. I also have a D80 and use both cameras on all trips since they have their individual advantages, and I believe in always having a backup camera. The low light capability is amazing and I was able to use it to good advantage in Versailles last year where flash is not permitted in the very dark royal bedrooms and in Paris in photographing tapestries and paintings exhibited under very low light conditions. Such images were absolutely impossible with film. I have been a photo hobbyist (not a pro) for over 50 years and have almost all the film Nikons from F thru F2, F3, FE, N70, N80, F100, etc. The D700 is a natural progression in Nikon excellence. If you don't need the low light capability and full frame sensor, then a lighter and smaller D90 or other Nikon would be an excellent choice. I have strongly recommended the entry level D3000 and D5000 to friends who have admired my pictures. My D700 has now been to France, Greece, Turkey, and even Iran and is now headed to the Caribbean and later this year to Egypt. My wonderful D80 will also be with me. The only "issue" I have had was a speck of dust or dirt on the sensor, which appeared at a time that I hadn't changed lenses (about which I am very careful) for some time. I sent it to Nikon for cleaning. I've seen minor dust since, but the internal cleaning system has taken care of it. I don't change lenses as often (and certainly in clean locations) as I do with the film cameras. The way a camera fits my hands is important and the D80 and D700 are perfect in this respect. Some of the smaller "entry level" Nikons and Canons are a bit more difficult to hold. My hands are not that large--I'd say average, but the grip on today's cameras is an important consideration, so you need to see how the camera feels in your hands. All of us long term Nikon photogs waited a while for Nikon to bring us a full frame digital, but now we have what I believe is the best digital camera in the world. In film cameras I have and use a full range of Canon EOS and Leica M series and many more, so I am familiar with many brands, but I see no reason to move seriously to digital with them since the D80 and D700 serve my needs very well. July 22, 2010
Great camera - first DSLR since retiring my FM-2. The ultimate flexibility with settings, FX format, amazing ISO ability and general feel in the hands make this a solid purchase. July 22, 2010
Great camera This is the first digital camera from Nikon that made me forgot de beauty of the film. Now we can say the results are very close and sometimes even better than film. It surely is more versatile. The best thing is the hi iso. The worst is the autofocus, not quite as good as the D3 family. Nevertheless, this is a very good body and i'm very happy whit the results I get from it and all my clients agree. July 22, 2010
Great except White Balance Great camera in all respects except white balance! I have several Nikon cameras and collected a variety of lens over the past 25 years. I have the N70, N90 and two F-5's as well a D60, D300 & D700. The best feature of the D700 is its ability to accomodate vintage and modern day lens. The white balance on the D300 is optimal compared to the D700 which is very orange-yellowish; despite the ability to manually adjust the auto white balance. I purchased a white balance filter which corrects the problem but this slows done the picture taking process. The white balance problem only exists in low light (no flash) conditions. It is fine with flash & daylight shots. July 22, 2010
Great photographic tool I have been a Nikon shooter for many years going back to pre-digital days. I find the D700 to be unquestionably the best body I have ever used to capture my images. Although there are a vast number of menu choices available to the the shooter, I find that most are self explanatory and easy to modify. Those few menu choices that are new or not readily apparent what they do, are easily figured out by using the in-camera help feature. Definitely a product I support and am proud to carry when I am out shooting. July 22, 2010
Page: 58 59 60 61 62 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
53 Questions | 93 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
53 Questions | 93 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers