Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
Quality Before D700 I was the owner of a D70 and later a D80. D700 has been a giant step for me in terms of quality. And of course full frame is a new level of experience. I takes the best out of my lenses. And the resolution of photos taken in low light conditions is amazing. The only thing I regret is the few choices of fully compatible lenses Nikon offers . It has been a great buy! March 16, 2012
D300 Owners, the D700 is the perfect companion if you want a full frame sensor I started with the D300, which is an absolutely superb platform which uses the DX format sensor. I got the D700 for the FX sensor and use one or the other as a backup. The really neat thing is the two models are very similar in their controls, the menus and the way they respond. They also share the same model battery and the MD-10 grip. This compatibility simplifies my photography and I would highly recommend the D700 to anyone who wants to "upgrade" to the FX sensor. Be sure to purchase lenses that support full frame sensors and they will be compatible with both camera bodies. One minor flaw on the D700 is the battery life. I can go through at least one battery per day shooting several hundred frames, but since the batteries are the same for my two cameras, I just got a couple of spares and keep them charged. In summary, I highly recommend the camera. It's a bullet proof solution at 12 mega pixels which is fine for me. March 16, 2012
Advanced technology Quality compared with a prize advanced technology good performance March 16, 2012
Fantastic ISO sensitivity Besides the GREAT ISO performance, making wedding photography easy in low lit situations, the functions are all at your fingertips. Buttons and dials are where you would expect them to be and I can change pretty much every setting I would change during a shoot while still looking through the eyepiece. March 16, 2012
Versatile yet easy to use I have thoroughly enjoyed my D700 experience. The hierarchy of controls have made it easy to shift from complete manual control of it's functions to programmed mode where the camera makes decisions for you. I have been purchasing Nikon lenses for over thirty years and this camera is compatible with all of them. This design continuity is why I chose Nikon in the first place. March 16, 2012
D700 is the best Nikon camera body that I have owned I love my D700 for its low light high ISO capability. I think it will serve me well for a long while. I also can use my older AIS wide angle lens such as the 20mm f3.5 for the wide end, I used the 70-200 f2.8 VRII for telephoto. I can get very nice noiseless photos up to ISO3200 (I keep max ISO = 3200) March 16, 2012
Fantastic Camera The D700 is a fantastic camera. The FX sensor combined with all the standard features built in make this one of the most versatile cameras I have ever had. I highly recommend this camera. March 16, 2012
Perfect! I cannot think of one single thing I would change. At this price point, and for what this camera offers, it is perfect. I will never, ever, own another brand of DSLR. March 16, 2012
Great Flexibility and ease of use I have been enjoying the D700 for a good while now. This camera has exceeded my expectations as a photographer. A nice semi professional camera even though it only has 12.1 Mp. The pictures are always sharp and the camera work reliably. I would recommend the D700 to anyone that wants a professional level camera at an intermediate price. I enjoy taking pictures with out the flash due to the high Iso creative. March 15, 2012
Full frame, full featured camera! I purchased my D700 in October 2008 and have been thrilled with it ever since. Of all the cameras I have owned, including many Nikons, the D700 is the one that helped me make the most significant improvement in my photography. It has all the features and settings that you need and it makes it easy for you to get to them through the customizable "My Menu" so all you have to do is just concentrate on taking great pictures. The image quality is excellent even when shot at the higher ISO settings, the auto focus is fast and accurate and the Active D-Lighting function is a godsend. I use an off-camera SB800 Speedlight with the camera flash set to "Commander" mode and I can easily take high quality, imaginative flash photos all controlled and "tweaked" remotely from the camera! This is a great full frame camera built to Nikon's high standards for quality and reliability. March 15, 2012
Excellent Camera and superb low light performance For the last two years I have been using D700 for shooting weddings and small parties. Results and feedback from customers has been phenomenal. Battery life is incredible and the additional battery pack runs through the entire event and barely 50% is utilized. accessories could be cheaper though. March 15, 2012
Superb equipment I've had my D700 for about a year and love it. it is spectacular in every way. I have no complaints, only praise. My pictures (all using Nikkor lenses) are crisp, vibrant, and inviting. Phenomenal is all I can say. March 15, 2012
Basicly very easy to use.. I have really liked this Nikon so far over all the others I have owend. The more I use it the easier it gets. March 15, 2012
Enormous capability Have used this since 1 week after deliveries began. The most notable thing I have to say is that even when Working "Elvis Last Show" in a very dimly lit theatre is that the wonderful performance at even ISO 3200 was actually incredible. I did a photo shoot for "Sins of Babylon" band that required very low light use. Perfomance was near perfect. Using good lenses this machine wil focus in near dark even without the use of the assist light which is usually not allowed by band venues. The use of the MBD-10 Vertical Grip makes this capable at almost any venue for near any purpose. File sizes are still manageble at 12 M and a couple 8 gig cards will get you through almost any wedding. I find this very good for wildlife also while noting that the mirror is in fact a bit loud as compared to a D300. It seems to track flying birds w/ near perfect focus most shots. Mine has been rained on without an adverse affects as I live in a very rainy area. Snow in Colorado did not cause any problem either. With a bit of care it is good in the woods. When used w/ an "L" bracket the rubber door to outputs is in fact near impossible to reclose. A small nit to put up with to get all the other capacity of the D700. In spite of its successor being named, this is a fantastic tool. All the review sites on earth have much numbers too look at which is why I quote none. In service it is near flawless. Heartily Recommended. March 15, 2012
Perfect Features In a Small Package I have had this Camera for over 3 yrs Now. I use it for all my shoots, From Weddings and Senior Portraits, To shooting Friday Night Football Games at my sons High School...... I would recommend it as a well rounded camera. March 15, 2012
Great Camera One of the best nikon cameras made, quality, durabilty, simple to use, the pictures are outstanding, the color balance is right on. never sorry the day that I bought it, keep up the great engineering. March 15, 2012
D700 I love this thing. It's a definite workhorse. I was a starting out photography student and had the choice between Nikon and Canon. I used the 5dmkii extensively because my teachers and piers primarily use canon. When I got this I was amazed at how much better it handled low light situations both in focusing and noise/grain levels. Definite win for Nikon. I just hope that when it is upgraded they will take back the crown of Low Light King from the 5dmkiii. March 15, 2012
Pice of cake Pice of cake. full frame in digital is grate for landscape March 15, 2012
great camera I bought this camera for it's sensor size. Works with all my nikon lenses. The lack of noise at the higher iso range is exceptional. It is not a tiny small camera that fits in your pocket, it is a more serious camera. March 15, 2012
Excellent camera technology I can say only excellent things about my D700. It has been my mainstay from the time it was released to the market. Camera operated above my expectations and forced me to the D7000, which also blows me away! March 15, 2012
Great Gear The D700 is an outstanding camera, excellent pro gear. Rugged and very durable. AF is quite good specially for action photography. Low light capability excellent that I understand is being improved with the D800. Why 4 stars and not 5? I think the menu trees are quite complex, specially when you are in a hurry to change a setting (though you have the option of saving commonly used settings). I find the live-view mode somewhat cumbersome and would like an actual switch to enable it. Wish Nikon would provide the option of interchangeable focus screens. Other than this the D700 is an excellent camera. March 15, 2012
A camera for every purpose I have been using the D700 exclusively for several years now, and have found it my perfect workhorse camera. As a professional I appreciate the impressive features that allow me to adapt to any situation, from product shots to events. As a traveler and mountain climber I appreciate its ruggedness, including taking beatings on such unforgiveable terrain as Mt. St. Helens and the Cascades. It travels with me in my photo research on the medieval castles of Germany, and it serves as my portrait camera in my business. I have already ordered the new D800, but the D700 will remain attached to one of my shoulders. March 15, 2012
The D700 is almost unlimited in the range of flexibility of color, contrast, light, and control of all of the above. The D700 will make you a better photographer by expanding the range of possibilties that occur when in reality you are taking your pictures on the fly or in the moment. This camera will not let you take a bad picture. March 15, 2012
Excellent The Nikon D700 is a great all around camera body. Reasonably priced compared to the Nikon D3. Like the medial construction of the body, easy to navigate around the body of the camera, and the full frame (FX ) is the best that I have seen in a digital cameras body, that truly shows off great clarity and with true colors (I have a Nikon D300 and is hard to go back to the DX). The Nikon D700 dose lack on having only 12.1 MP, especially when you want to blow up an image very large. Also I wish it had more play with the ISO, the Nikon D700 gets a lot of noise at 3200. Only other complaint I have about the D700, is that it shoots up to 5 fps, at least make it 7fps! Overall, a great camera body that gets the job done. It would just be nice to have the better features with out having to spend a crazy amount of money on a camera body! Looking forward to see what the Nikon D800 is going to be all about. March 15, 2012
One of the greatest digital cameras ever made. I have used this camera to photograph a long-term project that had taken me several years. The project required that I shoot in a theatre setting in terrible lighting and with no flash. This camera with its brilliant low-light capability allowed me to take consistently beautiful photos. The colors, including skin tones, in NIkon cameras are wonderful. The burst rate on this camera also helps me to effortlessly shoot fast action with confidence, knowing that I will get the shots I need. I use it much of the time with the Nikon 24 - 70mm f/2.8 lens, which while a bit heavy, is an amazing lens. Fast and accurate. This is without a doubt one of the greatest digital cameras ever made. Nikon also makes some of the best lenses in the world. March 15, 2012
I love the low light ability. I received my D700 as a retirement gift from my wife, in 2010, I've been a Nikon shooter for almost 25 years, beginning with a N2000. Along with the D700, I use other Nikon cameras, and Nikon lenses. March 15, 2012
Still a great camera In spite of the introduction of its successor - the D800/E - the D700 is still a great camera. I've taken shots at above 25,000 ISO in near darkness and was able to get viable images using NIK Dfine 2 to get rid of the inevitable noise with little loss to edge sharpness. It's also designed beautifully and built like a tank. If you're looking for an available light camera, then the D700 is hard to beat. March 15, 2012
One Of The Best Full-Frame Cameras I have owned a D700 for three years and highly recommend it. The D700 has all of the most important features of cameras which cost twice as much and is a great choice for studio and wedding work. The high ISO capability makes it very effective for work in low light situations including dark churches and wedding receptions. The 12 MP sensor makes manageable files with the option of doubling the raw file size in Adobe Camera Raw therefor making the camera effectively 24 MP. March 15, 2012
Excellent full frame sensor digital camera I photograph events and weddings and sports. The Nikon D700 has performed 100% . Able to capture fast action on the basketball court and low light at many church weddings. Very light weight body. I highly recommend the Nikon D700. March 15, 2012
Outstanding and in the tradition of Nikon excellence and reliability This is my tenth nikon camera system. There are so many features on this camera that have already been covered i would like to simply list the points which make this one of the best in the world working cameras i have owned. Having the D2X and D100, D200, D300 , F2, etc I have lenses that still fit and operate on the D700. So here is the list - 1. Outstanding RAW image capture and ability to get extraordinary detail, saturation, color balance and information on my digital images 2. Sturdy - works in swamps, deserts, mountains - extreme temperatures where I hike flawlessly. 3. Optics which never quit working not only are the images wonderful through the Nikor glass, the lens collection i have continues to expand and the D700 continues to support all of the glass I own giving me a tremendous platform of choices for my photography wishes. 4. The D700 coupled with a 50mm prime is simply STUNNING probably the best digital images to date in my entire range of shooting. I am continuously excited and enjoy working the D700 and the simple 50mm 1.4 setup 5. Ergonomics - the D700 has the best natural fit, feel and button locations for the features I use frequently. I Program the front ring for speeds and the back ring for f-stop coupled with the on screen indicators makes depth of field and manual shooting an automatic experience. the +-ev , iso, etc all the functions you can want are at your finger tips and you can program your profiles as well and recall them a button push. I can go on and on about this camera. After getting it I sold my D2X. There was simply no need for that level of expense in a camera when the D700 blows away everything else in the field. GREAT job Nikon - this one is a the pinnacle of production still (IMHO) March 15, 2012
Page: 4 5 6 7 8 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
51 Questions | 90 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
51 Questions | 90 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers