Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1883 1886
Awesome Nikon Camera I heard alot of hype about the D700. I can now say it's all true. This camera is amazing in low light situations. You can easily shoot up to ISO 6400 and have a very usable photo. Theres not alot of menu diving for custom setups which is also also a very nice feature. I have a D300 as a backup and it never comes out of my bag. I LOVE this camera. July 22, 2010
it's like shooting film again.. I have the D700 for 2 years now and since day one. My biggest surprise was "Wow I feel like I am shooting film camera again!" not just because the viewfinder is larger than DX camera, but the image quality! the smooth color gradient and low noise was incredible! been a DX shooter since D1.. July 22, 2010
Solid, dependable, fair price Like the D3's little brother, minus the dual CF card slots and that is the only flaw with this outstanding camera. The card slot door is similar to that of the D-90 and for the additional money, the card slot door is a weak point, i.e. prone to snap or break due to it's construction. I expected more in the 2K price range. Other than that, the D-700 is a top notch performer and priced much less than say the D3 but retains most of it's features. July 22, 2010
Great buy at twice the price. I upgraded from a D200 to a D700 it was the best move I ever made concerning photography. Though more complex I find the D700 easier to use then is my D200. July 22, 2010
Overall excellent camera with superb image quality This is an excellent camera overall, with a superb imaging sensor, robust construction, and effective ergonomics. I particularly like the CLS flash system, and the tremendous low-light, high ASA performance. The options for integration with other components of the "Nikon System" make this a perfect choice for me. I was a little disturbed by the sound and feel of the shutter at first - it didn't sound smooth and silky like previous Nikon cameras - but I'm used to it now! July 22, 2010
Love camera and features, but had sensor problem This is a great camera and takes wonderful pictures, but I have had a sensor problem related to streaks in the sky on contrasty images. The camera was repaired (which took over two months) but I believe I am continuing to have the same problem. Nikon replaced over half the camera with new parts, but the camera and sensor should never of had such a problem. I am not certain, but I believe the problem is starting to happen again. Keep in mind that I have not abused the camera in any way; if anything I have been overly careful with the camera. I have owned over 6 Nikon film cameras over the years and have never had any problems with any of those cameras. This is my first digital camera and I have had problems within the first six months of it's purchase. If I had it to do over, I would have purchased a D300 or D300S because I have heard of no problems with those cameras. July 22, 2010
Excellent semi-pro camera Has proven to be an excellent camera having moved from a D100 to the D700. Produces outstanding pictures. If anything, its almost too versatile given all of its programmable options. July 22, 2010
Best camera ever Best camera I've ever owned. Great RAW images! Best low-light camera I have. I use the D700 for architectural photography and don't worry about lighting conditions - whatever I run into the D700 can handle it. This is my go-to camera that travels with me from hot & humid to cold & dry and never lets me down. 14bit RAW files make fantastic images! July 22, 2010
Excellence in your hand I've shot with Nikon products since my first 1962 Nikon F Photomic. I've owned many, many other bodies from then. The D700 is without question the best camera I've ever owned. Aside from the obvious differences between film and digital, the overall construction and integrity of this body is simply spectacular. The D700 also sits in the sweet spot between price and ability. This camera shares the extremely versatile CMOS chip in the D3 and as such enjoys the same low noise at high ISO ratings and the full frame image I require. Combined with pro-level Nikkor glass, images are luminous, vibrant and achieve a sharpness far beyond that obtainable on film. The body itself has an impressive array of programmable features to tailor the camera to the way I work, an under-appreciated feature. Moreover, the D700 seems like it could be the last of what we consider a "traditional" camera. As photography naturally migrates to video and sound, and no mirror boxes, we will not see the likes of this wonderful body again. It is by any measure a classic. July 22, 2010
I have the D3 and the D700 is a great addition The D700 has most of the features of the D3 and because of its smaller size makes it a great camera to take on trips such as Europe. I have traveled extensively throughout Europe of the last few years with the D700 and it performed beautifully. The FX sensor makes a huge deference when cropping. July 22, 2010
Nearly Perfect! Having been a dedicated professional Canon user for over 10 years, I made the switch to the D700 only after a fellow professional photographer bought his and couldn't stop talking about it. After making the switch, I too couldn't stop talking about it. The D700 makes sports shooting (even in the worst of lighting conditions) ridiculously easy. I have complete confidence in this camera for every type of shoot (portraits, fine arts performances, sports, etc.). I have since sold all of my Canon equipment and would gladly purchase another D700, except I now eagerly await whatever Nikon comes up with next as its replacement. July 22, 2010
Overall, great product with a few flaws. The audible in-focus beep is not loud enough. The group or area focus feature is not well defined, as with the Fuji S-5. Using the single rectangular focus square for multiple focusing options is confusing. Would like film simulation mode choices, such as with the Fuji S-5. Image quality is terrific, even at high ISOs. July 22, 2010
D700 has all features needed in any camera I am very pleased with everything the D700 has to offer. I have taken many pictures with my D700 and I am very happy with the results. I would buy the same camera again. July 22, 2010
Best Nikon I have ever had My first Nikon was a 8008 twenty+ years ago, have owned a D80, D2X, D300, and now the D700. The low-light performance is phenomenal - pictures at ISO6400 are comparable to the D2X at 1600. I shoot a lot of sports in low light, and this camera with the MB-D10 battery grip and a large-aperture zoom like the 70-200 F2.8 Nikkor will give you near-D3 performance for substantially less money. The full-frame sensor renders beautiful images, and if you don’t need the higher fps you can remove the MB-D10 to save weight and bulk. You will fall in love with this camera. July 22, 2010
Mostly good The D700 is a robust camera with many great features. The files it produces are excellent. Wish list: ISO setting on right side of camera. Fix issue with hot shoe shorting out SB-900. Allow the +/- button on the D700 to control flash compensation of the SB-900 in 'A' mode, (just like in 'M' mode). July 22, 2010
Great for Portraits and Events The plus side it's great in low light with very little noise until you push the ISO over 1600. The focus is fast with the right lens, f2.8 AFS type lens. I haven't used third party lens, only Nikon. Very flexible programming system allows for quick changes for different lighting situations. The D700 has all the great features and is smaller and easier to handle than the D3 models, 12mpx is fine for events. The down side; I miss the Bkt (Bracket Button) I had on my D200. The focus control dial is small making it hard move the focus points, and the focus area is smaller than my D200. The only feature the next version needs in video. July 22, 2010
Couldn't be Happier I purchased the D700 as soon as it came out and it has been my camera of choice ever since. I shoot everything from weddings to sports to corporate shots and the D700 has met and exceeded all of the challenges I have faced. The low light performance is beyond par and the quality of the images produced are phenomenal. I moved from another manufacturer to this camera and a quiver full of Nikon pro glass and have never looked back. If you are looking for a camera body that rises to meet all challenges and desire to shoot full frame then this body can not be beat for price and features. July 22, 2010
Fine product but..... The hot shoe had to be replaced ($250!) because when a flash was mounted, it would fire at random. Otherwise it's a good product and good value, considering it has the D3 sensor, sensor cleaning function, etc. I use it professionally. July 22, 2010
The D700 is awesome The D700 has provided me one of the greatest times for shooting photographs. I wanted a full frame camera because I came along in the film days. I can shoot sport, nature and other things with this camera and be able to crop photos better because of it being full frame. I wanted a D3 but could not afford one but the D700 fill the gap for me. July 22, 2010
Just a Great Camera After using the D40x, D80, D90 the D700 is just a outstanding camera! July 22, 2010
Great camera, very flexible Ideal for an enthusiastic photographer. Can do most photographic tasks with no problem. Menu is very complex and requires study. On board flash is an advantage. Range of useable lenses in beyond impressive. Battery was sufficient to stand up to three days of serious use without a recharge. Camera is substantial but no a burden to haul for extended periods July 22, 2010
Great little camera with professional results! This camera has outperformed most other 35mm SLR's that I have owned. It's versatile, lightweight and rugged enough to use both in the wild and in the studio. The live view is very useful at times, but does drain the battery quickly when used in the field. (Use AC when in the studio.) The menu options are endless and at first use a bit overwhelming. It would have been useful to have a suggested set up for different A,B,C and D menus in the manual. I especially like the high speed availability. One of the only complaints I have is the loud shutter. It always wakes up the entire forest when shooting wildlife. I have had this little gem for a couple of years now and am very comforatble and satisfied with it. Highly recommend it! July 22, 2010
Awesome full-frame system I've owned the D700 since it first came out in July 2008. It is everything I had been looking for in a full-frame camera: smaller and lighter than the D3, but having the same awesome sensor. Having the higher ISO capability means that I can use higher shutter speeds with long lenses, such as the Nikon AF-S 500mm VR f/4, without getting objectionable noise. I shoot up to ISO 3200 without a second thought about what post-processing I will need to apply. The Nikon system design is wonderful for photographers. Its buttons and software are obviously designed by photographers so that one's eye never needs to leave the viewfinder to go hunting around in menus. All system design is a dance of compromises, and the only thing that I'd change is having a 100% viewfinder. I'd trade the built-in flash for a 100% viewfinder any day. Kudos to Nikon for producing such a wonderful camera. I would buy it again in a heartbeat! July 22, 2010
Many professional features Nikon D700 has so many features that I use with Nikkor lenses that I am still learning as I photograph more. When I have had questions, they were answered quikly and accurately by you support site. July 22, 2010
Simply the best You will not find a more complete camera solution on today's market. While the D700 is in need of a refresh, it's still the best overall camera I've used to date. It feels nice in your hands and the image quality is amazing. July 22, 2010
Great Camera If you are looking to get into pro-featured camera without spending an extra $1700+, this is it. This camera does almost everything that a D3 does, and even some things the D3 doesn't. Nikon has made some improvements with the D700 over the D3, one being the in-camera sensor cleaner. Battery life is much better than previous DSLRs too - more shots per charge. The only downside of this camera for some might be the weight. Although it weighs noticeably less than a D3, it still has some heft to it. Personally, the weight of this camera and lens does not bother me - the quality of the final image is worth it. One of the reasons I bought this camera instead of the D3 - it is smaller too (but still full size). If you do a lot of hiking, get a pack to carry your gear instead of strapping it to your neck. If you want mobility without any sacrifice - get a point and shoot...but that's not why you are looking at a D700. Things I like: An upgrade from the DX sensor, making my old Nikkor lenses usable again! This was another reason for purchasing the D700. The menus are easy to navigate (do read your manual FIRST if you aren't familiar with the camera before making changes) and the new "My Menu" allows you to program options that are most important to you in the order you want or use most frequently. A touch of the Function (Fn) button on the front of the camera takes you right to that menu - I set mine for picture controls. A huge time saver! The camera controls can be used with one hand, making it far more convenient to use than my D200 and other DSLRs. Low light use is phenomenal - picture quality at ISO 6400 is amazingly good. The D700 has the ability to go to ISO 25600. Out of curiosity, I took a picture at this ISO, hand-held, at night with only a little ambient moonlight for illumination (1/8 sec @ f2.8). Yes, the picture was grainy and poor, but you could still make out the details. And remember, I took it hand-held in the dark! Unbelievable. No other camera could even come close. I do mostly landscape photography and don't need the high ISOs, but for those that do, it is much better than anything else out there. For low light use, it has the same quality as the D3 - they share the same sensor. As the owner of a fine art digital printing business and gallery, I get to see images taken with many types of digital cameras. Before I go any further, let me qualify this by stating that Nikon does not compensate me in any way, and that this is solely my opinion, based upon what I have observed. Comparing the D700 with the Canon 5D MkII (what I consider similar in price/features), images taken with the Nikon are far superior to those taken with the Canon at higher ISO's (400-1600). Noise is virtually non-existent in the D700. Out of curiosity, we tested both cameras under the same conditions (tripod, ISO, f stop, aperture, lighting and lens quality), even at lower ISO's. Maybe it's the Nikon glass, maybe it's the sensor, but the images taken with the Canon were a bit softer when enlarged. Three of my semi-pro clients shoot 5D MkII's, and agree that the D700 images are a bit sharper. I'm not saying that the Canon isn't a good camera - it is. In my opinion, the Nikon is just a bit better - for the same money. There are other features too numerous to mention here, but if you want the same quality as a D3 in a smaller, less expensive package - this is it! Would I recommend this camera to a friend? Absolutely. If you are considering upgrading or buying quality digital, without mortgaging the farm...this one is it. July 22, 2010
The D700 is overall a wonderful machine!!!!!!! I shot a lot of macro. With ISO mostly set at 800. NO NOISE!!!!!!!!!!!! LOve this machine. LOve shutter up feature. I could go on & on, but I will leave that to others. July 22, 2010
Excellent low light image quality My D700's low light (high ISO) capabilities have given me shot after shot that I could not have captured with out it. I often set Auto ISO upper limit to 3200 (which would be totally useless on most other cameras) and have it kick in to maintain a minimum shutter speed of 125. Then I shoot primarily in Aperture priority mode. This results in the freedom to capture spontaneous shots in interesting light that I might otherwise miss. July 22, 2010
D-700 - Returning Home I have made photos with Nikon cameras for over 40 years! My first Nikon was an F2 Photomic. I needed a full frame digital camera a few years ago but Nikon did not manufacture one within my budget and so I traded in my Nikon F5 for an affordable full frame model from another manufacturer. I kept it for 2 years and shot about a thousand frames. 18 months ago, I got rid of it and invested in a D-700 with some new glass (24-70; 70-200 and 200 Micro) I have shot 10-12,000 frames in the past year and a half and it once again feels great to be making creative photographs. It was just like coming home; after a long and wayward journey. My photography is as good as ever and the D-700 is the best tool I've ever used to fulfill my passion to photograph flowers! July 22, 2010
Great for serious photographers. A bit too heavy for amateurs. July 22, 2010
Page: 57 58 59 60 61 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
51 Questions | 90 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
51 Questions | 90 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers