Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
Perfect Camera It work well every time and every where. D700 is perfect camera. July 22, 2010
PRO CAMERA FOR LESS SOME FEATURES I LIKE OVER MY D200, LIVE VIEW,ACTIVE D LIGHTING TO DEAL WITH HIGH CONTRAST,INTERNAL B&W FILTERS,FULL SIZE LOW PASS FILTER, SENSOR CLEANING,THE LIST GOES ON AND ON. July 22, 2010
Great product for older photographers My previous camera was the D100, which I loved. But as my eyes aged, it became more and more difficult to review my shots in the smaller LCD panel. With this newer much larger LCD, I can see perfectly. Additionally, it's much easier to zoom in on details. I'd had difficulties cleaning my CCD, after changing lenses during a forest fire in Glacier Nat'l. Park. With the new CCD cleaning built into the menu, I hope to have fewer problems with that procedure. The D700 is an amazing piece of technology, and it definitely has some major improvements for the aging avid photographer. July 22, 2010
Great Camera that fits my needs This camera meets my requirements by providing an FX format sensor, the ability to use all of my Nikon lenses including using my AIS manual lenses with ease,and take images in available light. I thought it might be too heavy for travel but I would have missed many great opportunities if I didn't carry it. The weight is just right! If I had not needed all of these features I would have purchased a D300s. July 22, 2010
I'm in love with this D700 If Henry Cartier Bresson was alive today this camera would be in is bag for sure. Their is no other Camera in the market today that could compare whit this one, low price, low noise, high quality images. I exchange my Canon 5D Mk2 for this camera and I don't regret doing it! July 22, 2010
Smart & Fast! Amazing autofocus, processing speed and low light performance.. July 22, 2010
Great Camera It is the best camera that I have owned. I have had D100, D200, D300 and now a D700. The speed is very good for nature photography and the exposure is great for landscapes. I take it with me all of the time. July 22, 2010
Near perfection in a camera The D700 takes fantastic images and has all the tools needed for a Pro. Low noise in low light is a significant step forward from my D2x, which is excellent in any other light condition. The D700 appears to be ultra-reliable as well; it has never malfunctioned in nearly 20k shots. It is one of the few things I have bought that I have never regretted for an instant. It is heavy ... significant ,,, the REAL thing ! July 22, 2010
Great camera with MANY features I have really enjoyed using the D700 for landscapes and portraits. Still trying to learn the many features of the camera. July 22, 2010
I wish I had more D700 camera bodies! This camera is great. I carry the D700 with me everywhere; beach, subtropical forest, mountain tops, etc. I had to even fight off an "Angry Grouse" with it. The D700 does everything I need and more. July 22, 2010
A great camera to use under harsh conditions I got a perfect result from my Nikon D700 and the lenses that I have used to produce a 420 page photo essay on the United Arab Emirates. Some 470 photographs were reproduced in a book by yours truly about the modern and old buildings of the country. About half the published photographs were shot in the heat of the summer (July and August 2009), I had minor hiccups but no major problems despite temperatures reaching between 49 and 51 degrees. Although the speed of the D 700 is not as the d3s but with a motor drive attached I recorded the images that I really aimed to acquire. The D700 in my experience, gave me my money worth with great results that pleased my printers. It makes life easier and more beautiful in print> July 22, 2010
Simply put a baby D3 When I purchased the D700 almost 2 years ago it was as big a game changer for me as the D3 had been when it replaced the D2Xs. The same IQ as the D3 with the ability to be quite a bit more portable. I still use it in conjunction with my D3S everyday and it's just as amazing as the day I bought it. July 22, 2010
Great camera Love the D700! Great files, great low light capability. Rugged, lightweight. July 22, 2010
Off the Chain Product..Information as well as online instruction is user friendly.. July 22, 2010
Good - BUT!! Had a F3 years ago. Used small digital when camers switched. About 1 1/2 years ago bought a D700. Due to my own ingorance and questlionable retailier I got DX lenses not FX. Had trouble with a dark spot on images, but with repeated ultrasonic cleaning cycles it went away. It came back and I discovered that a clip at the base of the mirrow had pivoted out causing the dark spot on the photos. Sent camera back to Nikon for repair and they sent it back saying there was nothing wrong. Have not used the camera sence, but anticipate the problem will recur. Am reluctant to take it on my upcoming overseas vacation. July 22, 2010
Excellent Camera with Great Features I own three cameras, a D90, D300, and a D700. All are good cameras. Where the D700 excels is in light and color information gathering. All three are capable of superb photos but in lower light there is a distinct advantage with the larger FX sensor. The color capability of the D700 is second to none. The fine tuning for color and white balance gives the D700 a nice edge over the smaller sensors. The creative potential of the camera is virtually limitless. A professional photographer would appreciate all of the features the camera has to offer. The 51 point focal system is outstanding. The menu in the camera has a learning curve to it, but once familiar with it, or with prior camera experience, it is not overwhelming and makes sense in its layout. This camera's ISO range is very good. You can get excellent photographs out to 1600 ISO, and even in 3200 ISO. With the right software to back it up, I think it is capable of very good photos out to 6400. On its own though, a 3200 ISO photo in low light comes out with minimal noise or grain. For a newspaper journalist, I would think the black and white capabilities all of the way out to 25,600 would be useful. This camera coupled with either the 70-200mm VR lens, or the 24-70mm lens is superb. The tracking focal feature with the 70-200mm lens will work very well on small birds moving through branches. The dynamic and 3D tracking features are just about magic. If you've never had a camera with these features, you'll be amazed. This is a workhorse camera that is ruggedly built with superb and intuitive features. The buttons and dials are perfectly located so that they are almost instinctive to use without having to take your eye away from the viewfinder. The most colorful and finely detailed bird and flower photos I have ever taken have been done with a D700. For smaller hands, I think the D700 would be the better choice over a D3. This camera will give the same results and nearly all of the same features as its higher priced brethren, but in a lighter weight and smaller package. With a battery pack installed, it is roughly the same size as a D3. The camera is not tough on battery life either. I have forgotten to turn it off and left it on a desk for two or three days without it significantly draining the batteries. In the field, with one battery, just walking around all day and snapping photos regularly, it will use less than a battery. On longer multi-day kayak trips, I have gone about a week on two batteries using it periodically throughout each day to snap wildlife, landscape, or flora photos. Overall, the D700 is more than capable of near limitless creative potential. Low-light photography and color capture is excellent. I could write a book on the significance of each feature within the menu system and the benefits to the photographer. If I could only own one camera, it would be the D700. The D700 is worth the extra money if you want the larger, more detailed files/photos, and creative potential advantage over a lesser model. This is a very serious camera. July 22, 2010
Great camera! We own 4. Have always owned Nikon and love it. July 22, 2010
Outstanding Camera This my second DSLR. I upgraded to this wanting low light capabilities, and a better camera. I knew the D700 performed well in low light, but I was amazed at how great the photos look even at ISO 5000. The focus has been also outstanding. My only complaint is that the focus with the dynamic zone could be better explained with some tutorials since I ended initially with a few out focus pictures, but eventually with a lot of visits to photo forums I am able to catch up. Also, I wish the battery compartment cover was sturdier or stronger. I am always worried that I will rip it out. Finally, I think Nikon should reward current "expensive" camera owners when new models come out by offering some sort of incentive to upgrade. July 22, 2010
Great camera The D-700 a great camera for general photography. It is compact for a full frame camera and has great low light capabilites. July 22, 2010
Great Camera I work for Nikon, but the D700 continues to blow me away at the quality I received when I shoot with it. I have gotten used to the 95% veiw finder, This is truly one of the best 35mm sensored cameras on the market! July 22, 2010
Excellent Camera I upgrade from a D200 to the D700 and I do not regret the decision. The D700 is in a different class completely, I love it. July 22, 2010
Overall an excellent camera with small glitches Camera is excellent overall. I did not give it 5 stars because I have had to send it to repair for problems with focus. It loses definition very quickly at higher ISO (3000 and up) which I expected not to happen until 6400 ISO, which is what the advertisements say. I actually sent it in to check on this thinking there was something wrong when I first bought it. Also, the latch for the card opens up very easily when camera is used with heavier lenses such as the 300 2.8 (due to increased pressure from holding it). Lastly, the camera dropped from 15 inches height and the bottom plate cracked not permitting the battery latch to open. Had this repaired at US$272! I expected it to be a little more heavy duty. July 22, 2010
This product has great features The location of the control buttons are well thought out and easy to get too. The camera menu's follow Nikons history of making it easy to transition from other Nikon cameras. July 22, 2010
Great features Great design and engineering, it took me a while to decide if I should spend $2.600.00 for just the boddy over my existing Nikon D80. for a non professional but I am greately satisfied with the performance over my other Nikon's. including an F5, July 22, 2010
Astonishing image quality I primarily make images of people. This camera renders skin tones better than any other camera I have ever used. I originally bought the D700 for its high ISO capability. It has not disappointed. If you want to capture people, especially children, you do not want to use flash unless it is entirely necessary. Having said that, the CLS flash system is terrific for off camera flash. Commander mode makes wireless flash easy and intuitive to learn and use. July 22, 2010
Great Full Frame Camera!!! I would have to say that I DEFINITELY stepped up my photography and enhanced my skills with this camera! ISO's are just right for my style of shooting. The ergonomic feel of the camera is much more pleasant on my hand coming off a long day of shooting. Pictures are so crisp and clear compared to other manufacturers' bodies I have used. Overall... such a great buy!!! One of the greatest decisions ever. Would definitely love to upgrade to the the D3S when the wallet can make do but the D700 is just perfect for now. July 22, 2010
Awesome!! Digital SLR's are new to me, so I did a lot of research online before buying. I recommend that to everyone. I found both the Nikon D700 and the Canon 5d to be excellent cameras, both being about the same in price. I honestly cannot say what made me choose the Nikon over the Canon, but I have not been sorry. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone, pro and hobbyists alike. It truly is an awesome camera! July 22, 2010
My "Do-All" camera. I've been a Nikon User for over 35 years. From the time I began letting my Nikons tell my portrait stories I have never been more pleased with how new two-year-old D700 has delivered the results I need. Fast, responsive, ACCURATE, versatile, rugged....everything I need in a camera. I get great wall portraits for my customers that really sell. I use my D700 mostly outdoors but want one for my inside studio shots when I get ready to replace my D2X bodies. Would definitely buy another. July 22, 2010
Best all around pro gear in a compact package. Everything about the D700 makes it the most well packaged product available for a photography business. It has most of the features in the higher level camera but is packaged more compact. A huge factor when you have to carry your equipment around all day for instance, a wedding. The ergonomics are perfect for shooting in fast paced situations as well, and the high ISO capabilities allow for many more opportunities to capture moments when flash is not a viable option, such as in a dark church. The dynamic range is spectacular with this camera, when recovering blown highlights or well underexposed areas in priceless photos are needed. I enjoy using the memory shooting banks, and the one button quick access menu is a priceless feature. There are so many favorite things I can talk about with this camera, but the one feature that changed the way I shoot is the high ISO capabilities. I no longer have to be concerned about losing "the shot" in dimly lit situations. Where my previous D80 or D300 would make me nervous anything past 1600 ISO, I will simply and happily crank my ISO up on the D700 all way to 6400 with not much worry that I will still create a useable image. This camera is the best investment I've made for both my business and personal hobby. July 22, 2010
Best camera I ever owned! The D700 is generally acclaimed for many great Nikon features, but the most important ones for me are the subtle tonal range, flash capability, low light performance, and ruggedness of the camera. And, when traveling, I carry one battery in the camera and one in the motor drive to ensure I always have power. July 22, 2010
Page: 55 56 57 58 59 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
51 Questions | 90 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
51 Questions | 90 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years ago
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years ago
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers