Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
Wonderful Camera I've worked this camera hard over the past 3 years, as it's my main camera for weddings. My absolute favorite "ability" of this camera is the range. The highlight recovery exceeds the D3s (in Raw, post production). It's lightweight and easy on my wrists after a full day of shooting. It's fast, and easy to operate. It's a great camera. The only 2 improvements I would love to see made to this camera is dual card slots and better high iso capabilities. Otherwise, it's a great camera. March 29, 2012
D700 - D3 quality images The Nikon D700 is a strong performer in the PRO class of cameras and the images it produces with a high quality Nikkor lens are outstanding. The FX full frame sensor creates beautiful photographs. From the build to the features, NIKON QUALITY is at its best in this camera. March 29, 2012
OK, Not Great I am a long time user of Nikon camera equipment. I waited until there was a digital Nikon with a sensor (approx) the same size as 35mm film (so that my lenses would behave similarly) that I could afford. My results using the camera have been adequate, really no complaint about that. But there are several things about the camera I do not like. First, some of the controls are not where I would like them; it always takes me a couple of tries to change the aperture or shutter speed or ASA. Also, (and this is my biggest complaint) it is incredibly complicated to use --- way too many options and settings. I have to review the manual every time I use the camera. A couple of other major design issues that I think Nikon could have done better. One is image stabilization (IS). You *could* put it in the camera body, but Nikon chose to put it in the individual lenses. That means I have to replace all my lenses if I want IS. I feel like this is gouging and I resent it. The other major design issue perhaps sounds silly ... but with a digital sensor and view finder, why do we need SLR at all? Why do we need that big mirror flapping up and down? A rethink of the whole system could have paid off in a much better camera. March 29, 2012
Astounding low light performance! This camera goes where I go , travelling, hiking or nature watching. In any conditions, it just performs great, in fact always surpassing the (amateur) photographer's talent. At the same time, you have to do a fair amount of exercise, as this is a heavy set of gear. What I like very much is the layout of the D700 that allows you to adjust most of the operating modes without having to go back to the menus...like in the good old days. And, finally, I'm still amazed by the quality of the pictures taken in very low light conditions: this is useful not only inside low lit environments (museums, churches...) but also when using long focal lenses. March 28, 2012
A lighter weight D3 A very fine camera; full-frame auto lenses at reasonable prices still limited, especially ultra-wides. Today I would recommend the D-800. Auto focus long lenses by Nikon not as good as I would like at close range. I really like being able to use my older lenses with the focus assist on the D-700. One thing that real chaps me about this survey is that if forces one to be wordy to reach the "minimum" length required to advance to the next step. March 28, 2012
Great quality at a better price I moved to digital late. Partly I still had clients who wanted film and partly because I had a large collection of Nikon lenses that I didn't want to part with; i.e., I wanted the full-frame sensor that would keep my lens collection intact. Within a day of getting the camera, I had a request from a client to shoot something that needed to be delivered long-distance immediately. Obviously a job for digital that film would have had a hard time delivering. Those first shots on that job were an eye-opener. It was a food shot, and the details such as air pockets in the bread texture as well as the sesame seeds and the like were in stunning detail. With the MB-D10 attached, while it becomes a quite large package, the camera performs exceedingly well for the high-speed action I shoot for much of my work. I have enjoyed using this camera over the last several years and have no desire to upgrade. This is an affordable alternative to the D3 series that performs on par with them. I have no interest in video, so that's no temptation either. The only thing I might consider lacking would be dual CF slots. But it's not a real big issue. Great camera all around. Very satisfied. March 25, 2012
Takes consistently great photos in any light I wanted a digital SLR as good and as functional as my old N90, and this is it. I was a little reluctant to invest in an expensive dSLR given how quickly the technology has been evolving, but the D700 I got over 3 years ago is still as good as any dSLR in the same price range on the market today. It consistently and reliably takes great photos under a wide range of lighting conditions. March 24, 2012
Finding Balance - Joy i find the D700 is a nicer and better carmare then the D70 i also own and still used. In the viewing on the D700 is a greater viewing area, idea for a quick viewing on my shot. I am stilling learning the bell on this carmera March 23, 2012
Professional features at a reasonable price. I certainly appreciate that Nikon did not forget the owners who possess a range of lenses from the 35mm film era of AI, AIs and AF-D lenses with the introduction of the affordable D700 full frame format digital SLR. I have always liked the Nikon layout of the operational controls and buttons; they are logically placed and conforming to the human ergonomics. These make the handling and operation of the D700 very easy and convenient. In spite of being in the digital age the D700 has kept some of the most important functions such as Picture Quality / ISO Setting / White Balance / Metering Mode / Focussing Option / AE Lock / AF Lock and Preview in dedicated one button or switch mode. This allows quick selection and setting without having to go into tedious software menu changes during actual photographic sessions. The extensive software programmes and user-friendly menus offer limitless and precise setup of the built-in features available in the camera. They can be configured for easy retrieval during usage. All the operational buttons especially the Func allows configuration to any option required within the camera’s operation capability to allow instant recall. I like the D700 excellent 3-inch TFT LCD, it is ideal for Live-View shooting mode, during high overhead camera shooting position allowing real-time focus and exposure verification. It also provides good picture playback viewing for accurate assessment. The Info display on the LCD screen also is a very useful option, especially when I am taking pictures at night for quick reference on my camera settings, without having to squint at the top LCD panel. With all Nikon cameras, I like the shutter release button with on-off switch collar which are very convenient and simple to operate. On the D700 which adopts the traditional Nikon control layout, the dial on the left of the viewfinder housing is worth mentioning. It provides settings for shooting modes, live view, Self-timer and Mirror-up is another convenient control permitting the left-hand to operate without having to release the right-hand grip. Additionally the three top buttons allow direct access on the Picture Quality, ISO and White Balance settings with tandem operation of the knurled Main and Sub wheels on the right. Other features which are worth mentioning are playback and output options, including support for HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) which enables transfer of video on HD TV screens. Picture Control can be set for Standard, Neutral, Vivid and Monochrome. Within each profile, users can preset the hue, saturation, brightness, contrast and sharpening. I normally set the perimeters rather pessimistically as the camera’s algorithm is well programmed to give good picture result. The in-camera 'retouching' facilities although useful, I seldom use it and do all my retouching on the computer. The option allows D-Lighting and red-eye corrections, trim shots, adjust colour balance and apply monochrome or filter effects. I find the camera is good in all aspects and wish Nikon can do something for the high mechanical mirror noise and providing more tolerance on the FX image sensor on over-exposure. Also surprisingly, the D700's viewfinder is less accurate than either the D3's or D300's, with only 95% frame coverage instead of the full 100% of the frame. Otherwise for the price and performance, I find it is good value for money for a full format camera. March 23, 2012
Good Pictures and Sturdy This camera, I have had it 2 years now, continues to provide great pictures with plenty of pixles to support multiple cropping on a picture. Might be a bit heavy for smaller photographers but I didn't find it objectional. Good battery life. Not many choices for zoom lenses in the 50 - 120 mm range. My favorite lense for shooting is the f2.8 17-35 mm but the weight of the camera and this lense makes it a bit heavy. March 22, 2012
Wonderful workhorse I have been using the D700 now for 3 years. Wedding photographer. Done over 120 weddings with this camera without almost no problems. Excellent in the low light environments like an old church or during the reception after the coordinator has turned down the lights for "mood". Only problem has be the hot shoe. It bends up and loosens. This causes the connects to the flash to shift causing some miss fires. After each wedding I have to push the ears back down to keep everything tight. Fix this one problem and it is perfect. March 21, 2012
Great camera The D700 is a great camera value. I shoot many night or indoor sporting events and find the ability to handle low light with high iso settings is fantastic with the D700. The ability to freeze the action of a night baseball game with little or no noise is fantastic, the same goes for hockey and basketball. The menus are easy to learn and use and the cameras design is rugged enough for travel and most weather conditions but still light enough to carry around during a long day of touring. March 21, 2012
Great camera - D700 I've used my D700 for nearly two years. This is my first DSLR. For me the low light capabilities and quality was one of the main reasons for my decision as I prefer to use natural, ambient light wherever possible. In this the D700 has excelled beyond my expectations. With the exception, corrected with the newest software, of the WB, the D700 has proven to be a fantastic camera. March 21, 2012
Amazing High ISO Wonderful camera. It is amazing how so great has this camera function. The D700 that provides literally hundreds of menu options and combinations. Capture impressive images of faces, actions or simply create magnificent fine art. Exquisite compilation of features, nice size and weight. Even the price is realistic! I am delighted with it. I usually use ISO 800-1600 and photographs are without grain. Virtually all my work I do with my dynamic duo: My Nikon D-700 & Capture NX2. Nikon thank you very much! March 20, 2012
THE D700 CLUB THE D700 IS NO MIRACLE BUT IT'S A GREAT CAMERA. OPTIONS I LIKE INCLUDE ACTIVE D LIGHTING THAT HELPS WITH HIGH CONTRAST,LIVE VIEW USES THE MONITOR AS A VIEW FINDER,LARGE SENSOR WITH CLEANER AND THE FUNC. BUTTON THAT WILL HOLD CUSTOM OPTIONS. THIS SAVES GOING THROUGH THE LARGE MENUE. March 20, 2012
Ove time she has done everything I've needed her to do. I've had my D700 for several years now and she has done it all. from hi-speed motorsports like MotoGP, Off Road GP Scrambles and Sprint Boat races, shooting bands in very low lit clubs, events, weddings, senior portraits. As one can see, just about every speed and lighting situating you can get into. Auto focus has been fast and accurate even in low lit situations and tracks very well on very high speed subjects. Keeper rate is very high in both areas. It's size it good and fits my hands while the necessary controls are intuitively placed and fingers and thumb fall naturally to place. For me it is a natural handling camera body which is important for me because of the diverse shooting situations I get into. Thanks Nikon for producing such a well rounded and capable camera body. March 20, 2012
Still learning D700 capabilities after 2.5 years...low light shooting for example I have owned my Nikon D700 for a little over two years and am still learning its capabilities. As one who began shooting in High School in the 70's with a Nikon F and Film Speeds from 25-400 A.S.A (yes with a bit of B&W push processing in Acufine developer to 800 A.S.A.,still shooting and developing B&W film 35mm-4x5 currently), for newspapers and a studio, I learned to shoot quite a bit with a strobe. About a month ago I had the opportunity to shoot a boxing match at ringside and the venue had less then ideal "sports lighting". I tried using my external flash and even with the .5 second recycle time I was having trouble timing my shots at peak action. So, for the first time since owning this camera I pushed the I.S.O. to 6,400 and was shooting at about 1/320th of a second at 5 F.P.S. and the capturing of peak action improved. I could not believe how well the colors were rendered and how low the noise was in these shots (see attached for a sample). I found it hard to believe that shooting at such an I.S.O. would produce results beyond anything but mediocre. I had planned on selling my D700 to help fund the acquisition of a D800, but since the D800 will have smaller photo-sites, I will keep the D700 for its known low-light capability and buy the D800 outright for its increased resolution. March 19, 2012
Perfect tool for the professional. All pixels are not created equal. The Nikon D700 has given me outstanding quality and performance for the commercial photography work I do. Time and again it has never failed to deliver in over 2,500 captures. it's been perfect for 30 X 40 inch display prints shot at 400 ISO with no grain, or 1600 ISO shots of a Show cast with fantastic results for marketing materials, or at 200 ISO for landscape images for my agent. Advertising, corporate, product, location, people and aerials, this Nikon D700 get's the job done right, again and again. This is simply the best Nikon I have ever used in more than 39 years as a professional photographer and Nikon user. March 19, 2012
Solid performance, superb image quality I've owed this camera for almost three years and still amazed by its performance. Although it does not has video capabilities which is quite reasonable given that the camera came out almost four years ago I do recommend this camera. The tonal range and iso capabilities are excellent. Autofocus and meetering capabilities are also outstanding. The 12MP sensor is still plenty for most applications and the raw files generated are normally about 25MP. The live view autofocus performance is slow compared to newer models but if you are shooting stationary subjects it works fine. Overall the camera is a winner and I do recommend it. March 18, 2012
D700 Excellent Camara The D700 is an excellent camera for all types of photography. The fast and crystal sharp focus make this a great camera for sporting events. The low light capabilities makes it a great camera for weddings and candid portraits. Excellent price to quality ratio! March 18, 2012
Boggoles my mind>>> 80+ years old!! So far camera has to many features that I cannot use them all yet!! Good for low light. Can use old lenses, some 40 years old!! Started with Nikon F. cannot hear beep. . Needs tutoroil to keep features in mind. Need instuction book that has to be clearre to old people!! Must keep wits about you to use camera!! March 17, 2012
A whole new world. This camera has given me freedom and extended capability that this old school photographer could only dream of before. I bought my 1st Nikon in the 70's and struggled along with all the other film photographers to capture my vision of what I was seeing. Even after going digital, the limitations were still there for low light shooting without flash. Now with the D700, I can capture images that were just not possible before. March 17, 2012
GREAT FX Digital This seems to me to be the "sweet-spot" digital. Right number of pixels to produce a good product and large enough pixel size to capture the photons. Great dynamic range. I waited a long time for an affordable FX digital and this one has surpassed all expectations. GREAT ISO range for lower light shots. The right selection of "button" controls to quickly change settings outside the menu system and very nicely balanced. This is everything I had been waiting for in a digital down the long path of D70, D200 and now the D700. This gets there with all of my lenses too all of the way back to the ones I got for the film cameras. March 17, 2012
For me this was the turning point to Canon but did not... I love this camera and I am glad because I almost switched to Canon. I like Canons feel,function buttons, some lenses and mostly the faster focus and less noise in their cameras at the same level prior to the D700.I was deciding between the EOS 5D mark 2 and the D700. This next investment would determine a long stay and I was ready to switch. Being that I also love a couple of my Nikon lenses and the camera body built over Canon I am glad I got this camera. Noise level is wonderful and focus is great. No video but I am not wanting to get into video yet with manual focusing. The custom bank settings are a bit confusing. Wish I could use this feature more March 17, 2012
BEST in its class! Reliable and easy to use! Professional quality photos. I absolutely LOVE this camera body, features and quality! I have exposed this camera to extreme elements living in Florida with heat, humidity and rain. The housing does a wonderful job of remaining sealed and performing without hesitation. The quality photos, lighting sensitivity and color controls make this camera a "MUST have" if you cannot take the next sep financially to a "D3 or D4" series body. This camera is ALWAYS ready when I am! March 17, 2012
I love my Nikon! D700! I started with the D50, then went to the D80, followed that with the D300 and I now have the D700. I thought with each camera that it couldn't get better, however, it did! It amazes me what this camera is capable of. Thank you Nikon! You are giving me memories for a lifetime! March 17, 2012
Great camera!! quick and robust for the medium size FX format. I own my D700 for over 3 years now and it's never let me down. I'm normally shoot portrait and fashion, It's giving me more than I need every time e.g. excellent colors and dynamic range with very well control for high ISO when shoot in low light if needed. If you're passion on photography and looking for light and quick camera for everyday shoot in full frame format. This is the one for you. Highly recommended. :) March 17, 2012
Great pro-quality camera in a nice size I use this camera for portrait, concert, architecture, and travel photography. Build quality, battery life, and ergonomics are top notch. It has great image quality and autofocus, even in low light. Although the image size is smaller than newer pro cameras, I've had customers print D700 images over 3'x4' with excellent results. 16x24's and smaller are stunning. The primary lenses I use with this body are the f2.8 24-70 and 700-200's, the 105 macro, and the f1.4D 85mm prime. I do plan to add the D800 to my kit. But I'll keep the D700 at least for a while. It has given me so many wonderful images that I'm unlikely to give it up easily. March 16, 2012
Great low light capabilities. I am very glad that I got this camera. It is so nice to be able to shoot at a high iso in low light such as the gym and not end up with noisy images. March 16, 2012
Great color and definition I own several DSLR cameras including a Nikon D200 and D5100. I often run them side by side and the D700 is by far my favorite. The FX format is a huge improvement for detail and color depth. The other cameras don't even come close. If I want a stunning photo, I always use the D700. March 16, 2012
Page: 3 4 5 6 7 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
53 Questions | 93 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
53 Questions | 93 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers