Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1881 1884
A great camera to use I have been using the D700 for about a year and love it! I like the feel of the camera, it is nicely balanced and rugged enough to take the daily grind that I put it through. I love the full frame feature that this camera offers and appreciate the ability to adjust the camera to fit difference lenses. My only complaint is that Nikon did not add the video componet that the less expensive D7000 has nor does the D700 have the damper (blimp) feature that the D300s has. May 30, 2012
Great Camera Is one of the best camera I had ever tried, the D700 has all the feature that I need to do the best job in my profesion. May 26, 2012
Best DSLR I am not a professional photographer but rather a serious amateur. I came to the D700 via the N90 and F100. I switched to digital with the D70, D200, & D300; while those cameras were fine, I preferred "developing" a final photo from the larger files and full photo frame that the D700 provides. I have no interest in using a still camera for video photography so the D700 is a perfect camera for me with its low-light photography abilities, fast auto focus, accurate sensor, and range of ISO speeds. Its color engine is excellent so the photos are true to the scenes I am trying to capture. I use the camera for capturing my wife's school events--openings, graduations, etc., and family & social events such as weddings and formal gatherings. I also do nature photography. The D700's JPEG and RAW files are excellent, tho I usually work with RAW files and Photoshop. I studied various reviews of the D700 prior to purchasing it, e.g., Thom Hogan and dpreview.com and agree with their conclusions that the D700 is among the very best DSLRs available for serious photographic work at a most reasonable cost. May 24, 2012
Great camera This camera is a pro camera in a small package, the feel and balance of this camera is just right, even with the 70-200mm lens on it. Picture quality is what you would expect from a high end pro camera. What I really like about the camera is that the chip is all about the still photo and not about any of this video nonsense. I added the extra battery holder to add the extra battery life and frame speed and am most satisfied with the results. I am, to say the least very impressed with the camera and the picture quality. May 24, 2012
Amazing pictures It needs gears like a good tripod and remote and a glass lens. It also needs little more knowledge about photography than what is required to operate a point and shoot. But for low light pictures this camera is unbeatable. May 23, 2012
Too much trouble! I have had D7000 for 5 weeks. It has been at the Nikon service center twice. May 23, 2012
Virtually no noise in a high-speed package! Quick operation with virtually no noise through ISO 3200 and nearly all of the features of its fellow Nikon pro big brothers, the D700 is a photographer's dream in an easy-to-handle package. I used it to cover a complex, difficult and sometimes rough "Occupy" demonstration. I got every shot I wanted. And they were all tack sharp. For my fine art work, I use the multiple and overlay features for outstanding, creative effects. All-in-all the best camera I've ever used. May 23, 2012
D700 Fills the Bill I purchased my D700 when they were first introduced on the market. It has been a fantastic camera for all my work ranging from weddings to group motorcycle rides and meetings. When I cannot use a flash, shooting at iso 6400 sure fills the bill. I shoot RAW, convert to DNG, primarily process in Lightroom 4, convert to JPG and publish. May 23, 2012
Outstanding Performance and Exceeding Reliability The D700 is unquestionably one of the best investments I've ever made in equipment! Every situation is met with outstanding performance and exceeding reliability. From children and grandchildren to the Alaskan campsite, this camera performs, making opportunities for images become great pictures. May 23, 2012
with great thins comes the more need to pay more In 2010 I bought the D700. When I first saw it I thought I would be doing most of the work. But during the years I used I actually thought it was worth it. It is a really good camera! I would recommed getting the MB-10 multi battery pack which allows you to shoot 8 frames per second which is worth it if you are a sports photographer. D700 is perfect for most types of photographers and would very useful with its low noise iso. April 29, 2012
D700 So far i am extremely please with my new Nikon D700. Coming from a D300, made the transition an easy one. Great low noise levels, ease of use, high rate of FPS. love it April 28, 2012
More than you would want Nikon Review A real Jem of a photographic instrument. As a scientist, my grandfather would be amazed at this technology and its phenomenal capabilities. He was so enthusiastic about photography that he had his own darkroom in his home where he spent much of his free time shooting his garden and sunsets when color slides first came out. Having built some of the largest telescopes and camera mounts in the world he would have loved to have a D700 for photographing the stars and light spectrums, rather using the old fashion glass plates. I, myself find it amazing that I have not worn out the shutter mechanism of my D700, with the thousands and thousands of shots I have taken in my travels and experimentation I do with this camera. It literally can do just about any kind of shooting I want. Any Speed, any ISO, any White Balance for any situation which might come up. I even went into a pitch black closet to test the ISO spread and got a great shot; without a flash. My satisfaction with this camera is beyond compare and I would advise anyone that wants to work on their photographic skills to have a D700. THE ADVENTURE PHOTOGRAPHER CHC II April 20, 2012
Nice camera!!!!!!!!!!!! I just bought this camera last week, and I'm really impressed so far. It feels pretty good on the grip, good size and weight, very solid. The images are very good, comparing to a crop camera. April 18, 2012
I LOVE my D700 Upgrading from my D70 to D700 in 2008 was a big leap, although I am in a camera club and take all types of photos I really enjoy photographing birds in flight, being able to bump up the ISO to 1000 or 1600 without unacceptable noise means I can use higher shutter speeds and still maintain enough depth of field get most or all of the bird in focus. Other features I love is the fact there are lots of buttons so any adjustments you need to make can be done very quickly without going into menus. April 13, 2012
Excellent color, versatile and rugged. I use it for underwater photography and am very pleased with the photos. Used with good fast lenses the focus is fast and I love having control of all of the settings. I always shoot in manual mode underwater and with the ability to set the flash sync set to rear curtain one can get a clear pics of those pesky fast fish. I also use it for landscape and nature photography and having the ability to bracket 3 or 5 photos fast makes capturing HDR images a snap if things are moving on you, however it's best to take advantage of the MUP feature in combination with a good tripod when doing landscape work. Con: The dust removal feature removes most but not all of the dust that inevitably gets on the CCD. April 9, 2012
The D-700 is a can do it camera Having a D-300 and the D-700, I really like the higher ISO on the D-700. There are events at school and church where a flash would be disruptive. The quality at the 6400 ISO is good. I enjoy the 8 frames a second when using battery grip and the EN-EL4a batteries. I shoot in the worse of weather and my Nikons with a little protection from rain has had no problems. I would like to see a higher ISO. April 8, 2012
Best Camera I've Owned Since My Film Cameras Being a photographer that has used Nikon equipment since 1978, i have been waiting for a digital camera that would have all the latitude and quality that my film cameras offered. The D700 was the first to do that. The film cameras i have owned have ranged from an F2AS to several FM2's to the F4. I have also owned a D1X and and a D2X and kept the film bodies for my SERIOUS photography. But the D700 was the first that allowed me to shoot in low light and have amazing quality. All my film cameras are gone (except for a nostalgic FM body) because i can FINALLY trust a digital body. My D700. April 4, 2012
ADORO ESTA CÂMERA Considero um sucesso este modelo da Nikon. A qualidade do ISO elevado versos o ruido! O tamanho do sensor FX! O sistema 3D e a velocidade do autofocus! NA MINHA ANÁLISE, É UM MODELO FENOMENAL! April 4, 2012
Best camera I have owned I have had a number of Nikon camera dating back to around 1970. The D700 was heads and shoulders above the other models that I have owned. It has nearly everything that a photographer could use to enhance the picture taking process. It has a full-frame sensor, can take up to eight frames per second, three different metering systems, several buttons which are programmable for better performance based on personal preferences, large digital display on the back and a menu system that has an unbelievable array of features. I love taking RAW photos and this camera provides that capability. For me, it is a solid winner and I love it. March 31, 2012
D700 Love my D700. I only wish it had video. I was hoping the D800 would be the same but with video but the file size is too big for my needs. Will you be making an upgrade to the D700 with video? Low light like the D4 in the smaller body size with a pop up flash would be my ideal! March 29, 2012
Outstanding Camera In Every Way Best Camera for the money Nikon has ever made!! Hard to make a bad picture. March 29, 2012
One of the Best Nikon's Ever Made I've been shooting for a living since 1965, and have had a Nikon or two in my bag since day one. Still have my F-2's and they work flawlessly. The D-700 is a joy to shoot, and I wouldn't think of selling them. Outstanding camera from an outstanding company! March 29, 2012
Excellent Performer! I bought this product right out of the gate, and only recently sold it with the availability of the D4. Great camera, and I miss it! It was great to be able to detach the grip and make the camera much more inconspicuous. It was great to have a body that was equivalent to my D3, but A, not as expensive, and B, not as big. Never had any problems with it that Nikon didn't immediately address and take care of for me. Grade A Performer! I never once second guessed the performance of this camera going back and forth from my D3 or my D3s. Outstanding camera, especially for the money. Highly Highly recommended! March 29, 2012
Excellent handling, well built Image quality is excellent, controls are well placed, and the feel and handling are superb with the MB-D10 battery grip attached. I frequently use a D3 and the only thing the D700 lacks for my needs is the additional card slot. I hope Nikon continues making the D700, as I don't think the D800 is a qualified replacement for sports photographers with the D800's lower frame-per-second rate. March 29, 2012
A digital F100 I've owned this camera for 3 years now, as my first line camera, which is 2 years longer than any previous digital camera before it. I've felt that if digital cameras never got better that I'd be happy with it for the rest of my life. It's like the F100, a compact pro camera that can serve consumers well, at a cost short of the top of the line. If you don't need video, this is all the digital camera you'll ever need. I wish that Nikon would make it indefinitely as the D800 isn't really a successor. March 29, 2012
Very good camera for portraits Controls well laid out. Produces sharp images. Lacks the dynamic range of the old Fuji S5, that's the only reason for not giving 5 stars. March 29, 2012
Awesome full size sensor results. Color rendition is outstanding. This is a great camera for an advanced amateur. Coupled with the SB 900 flash the combo exceeds all expectations. My landscapes and wildlife shots are crisp and the color rendition is on the mark. My lens collection ...all Nikkors...all do beautifully on this body as well as on the F-100. Only the 28-300VR presents a weight problem...easily lived with...but it does make a heavy travel package. Thanks for the artificial horizon and the high ISO range for indoor use without flash. Overall it is a great camera and should provide many years of service. March 29, 2012
Wonderful Camera I've worked this camera hard over the past 3 years, as it's my main camera for weddings. My absolute favorite "ability" of this camera is the range. The highlight recovery exceeds the D3s (in Raw, post production). It's lightweight and easy on my wrists after a full day of shooting. It's fast, and easy to operate. It's a great camera. The only 2 improvements I would love to see made to this camera is dual card slots and better high iso capabilities. Otherwise, it's a great camera. March 29, 2012
D700 - D3 quality images The Nikon D700 is a strong performer in the PRO class of cameras and the images it produces with a high quality Nikkor lens are outstanding. The FX full frame sensor creates beautiful photographs. From the build to the features, NIKON QUALITY is at its best in this camera. March 29, 2012
OK, Not Great I am a long time user of Nikon camera equipment. I waited until there was a digital Nikon with a sensor (approx) the same size as 35mm film (so that my lenses would behave similarly) that I could afford. My results using the camera have been adequate, really no complaint about that. But there are several things about the camera I do not like. First, some of the controls are not where I would like them; it always takes me a couple of tries to change the aperture or shutter speed or ASA. Also, (and this is my biggest complaint) it is incredibly complicated to use --- way too many options and settings. I have to review the manual every time I use the camera. A couple of other major design issues that I think Nikon could have done better. One is image stabilization (IS). You *could* put it in the camera body, but Nikon chose to put it in the individual lenses. That means I have to replace all my lenses if I want IS. I feel like this is gouging and I resent it. The other major design issue perhaps sounds silly ... but with a digital sensor and view finder, why do we need SLR at all? Why do we need that big mirror flapping up and down? A rethink of the whole system could have paid off in a much better camera. March 29, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
50 Questions | 89 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
50 Questions | 89 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years ago
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years ago
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years ago
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers