Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
A Camera That Rivals Film I am a firm believer in getting the full frame a lens is capable of. i always felt constrained by the sensor in previous Nikon cameras. The D-700 is a system camera that gives you RAW & full frame at a reasonable price. The fact it doesn't do video is a plus. Added features mean additional things to go wrong. I dedicate cameras to stills and video rather trying to do both with one. The low light capture of this camera is astounding. ASA 3200 looks like 800 speed film. If i had a complaint I wish it had a low ASA of 100 rather than 200. There are bright times of day when even the highest shutter speed-aperature combination doesn't quite make it. ND filters for multiple lens are just a pain. August 8, 2012
The Standard I have been shooting the D700 for a bout three years now and I love this camera! It works flawlessly, always. I have never had a problem (with a photo environment) that I could not quickly correct with excellent results. The 12.1 mega pixels seem to resolve much higher. Pictures are exceptionally clear and predictable. The only problem I have had with this wonderful camera is forgetting to reset things like the image quality, the picture control, or Amber shift with white balance. All of which are correctable in RAW. What an excellent camera. August 1, 2012
Another Nikon Legend THIS IS A PRO LEVEL CAMERA!! This camera needs to stay around for a long while. At first I was caught up in the megapixel craze thinking it needed higher resolution until I got to know it. In fact that is why I don't own a D800. I've produced 48" prints that knock people's socks off, including mine. So I believe that 12 to 16mp is plenty. It's all in how you create your images and this camera rocks in that department. Everything is where it should be ergonomically and the weight is perfect. As for speed I don't shoot pro sports so it works for me. I love how it accepts all of Nikon's old classic lenses. I only see two future changes that shouldn't increase the price point: 1) Do away with the pop-top flash, no one uses it accept to trigger other flashes, plus it's embarrassing. 2) Put that money into a universal radio transmitter for off camera flash units. My next camera will probably be another D700. August 1, 2012
Almost perfect... The only complaint I have is that the hotshoe has a really loose connection with the SB-900, which over time gets even worse and causes the flash to misfire or not fire at all. This is a know problem for Nikon and they have chosen not to issue a statement and fix the problem. More of a Nikon problem than a D700 problem, but if they would fix this I would give this camera 5 stars, as it is, my camera is not reliable 100% of the time... July 27, 2012
This camera is actually outstanding for it's price. If you want a really nice sharp image and don't want to spend too much money, this is a good choice. However, there are always drawbacks of a camera. It takes very long to focus at times. So you might miss the perfect shot of wildlife or a sports shot. If you want to buy this camera for sport photography I WOULD NOT recommend. If you have patience it works beautiful for still shots and a patience model for portraits. July 27, 2012
D700 has problems I've been a professional photographer for 25 years during which time 've used Nikon cameras. I've had a series of problems with the D700. It randomly switches from RAW to .jpg. I've been in the middle of several shoots and noticed that is has done this. It also has a problematic hotshoe. While shooting on TTL at -3, it can blow out the picture by several stops. Not all the time, but when it decides to. While using it with a transmitter, at times when pushing the shutter button, nothing happens. And most recently with a Nikon strobe on the hotshoe but off, the camera will only shot at 250 sync as if the strobe was on. July 25, 2012
Best Camera for the money. I simply could not believe the difference going from the D200 to the D700. With the improvement in noise/almost noiseless technology PLUS the full-frame advantage, it was literally a day and night difference. More and more churches are demanding a "no flash" approach to wedding photography. I have been shooting weddings for almost 30 yrs, but had my most difficult wedding to date May 2012. When they said "no flash", I said no problem, I can use a tripod and shoot anything with my D700. The church cordinator said "no tripod either and no flash even when the moms and bride/bridesmaids are walking down the isle". Having the reputation for being one of the oldest, darkest churches, I attended the rehearsal to see what I will be up against. With my D700 and 2.8 lenses, I pulled it off at ISO 3200. I have so much faith in this camera, I did not have second thoughts about buying a second body although the D800 was announced. CONS: Only one "con' about this camera (same problem with the D200), the MF/AF switch on the body is too easily (accidentally) moved. Several times in the past, I found that at the reception I was on MF. Sorry to say that I had to use a chunk of "artist kneeded eraser" (like playdough) to just cover the switch to prevent this from happening. That solution worked well, but is not a pretty sight. It's like buying a BMW, but having to tie up the bumper with duct tape. Hope my friends at Nikon can either make this switch harder to move (in future cameras) or have a center button to push before being able to turn the switch so it will not move accidentally. July 24, 2012
A super camera I've owned a D100, D200, D300, and now the D700. I thought that the D300 was quite a camera until a friend of mine let me use his D700. I had not idea that there was that much difference in the two. Things I like: The higher eye point The shutter that sound like a 35mm camera The sharpness of the image I've given some thought to a D800 but that means that I won't be using the D700.......not sure I want to do that.... July 20, 2012
Photo Magic :) I've carried my D 700 for thousands and thousands of miles and the results I get are exceptional. We were in the Galapagos last year and I created a book and an instructional DVD for high school biology classes with photo files produced by my camera. This is tip of the iceberg, I shoot wild life photos on a daily basis. I LOVE the D 700! July 13, 2012
whats not to like i previously owned a d100. i started getting interested in low light action photography like bands and dance. i needed a good high iso camera and this fit my budget. I have no complaints whatsoever. I can't think of a single thing wrong with this purchase so far. July 11, 2012
Longest lasting digital camera yet! I bought 2 D700s when they first came out, 3-4 years ago,,. Put 40,000 images on each. Sold one to buy a d800. Hope it lasts as long. Still using the other, great camera. July 11, 2012
Great camera! The D700 is a great camera. High ISO and super clear pictures. It gives you lots of versatility, or none if you want the camera to do the work and the pictures are stunning every time. July 6, 2012
Wonderful camera The D700 remains one of the best cameras ever produced. Clean picture, high ISO, good build, rugged, great value, etc. Just bought a D4 and will continue to use the D700 as a back up and when I want a lighter weight travel camera. July 5, 2012
Nikon D700 The D700 by Nikon has the same feel in a digital camera that the originalo Nikon F had as a film camera. Rugged and all business. Professional or amateur the camera has a series of well-placed buttons that are easily accessible to provide access to all of the most important digital functions. It has a wonderfully consistent range or lattitude in the ISO component. While a rather sophisticated menu is available it is neither essential or necessary to use the menu after set up. Use of nearly all the range of Nikkor lenses is made easy with a menu selection with a simple add function for the manual lenses. This camera can copy with the best of them. Getting to know what it will produce even when there are back-lit situations allows the production of the most brilliant of colors under varying conditions. I've used my D700 for several years and would feel naked without it in the photographic world. July 5, 2012
Amazing and versatile camera....HUGE thumbs up! I bought my D700 a little over a year ago when I first upgraded all of my gear. Though I do mostly wildlife shooting, I bought the full frame because I still do a lot of landscapes and cityscapes, and the massive sensor would be great for that. It is super fast, and colors jump when I see their final production, and I'm never challenged when shooting low light, either. I usually couple this body with my f2.8 70-200 Nikkor, or my f2.8 24-70mm and the results are always consistent and impressive. I use another DX body for wildlife now (D7000), with a 300mm and 1.4 teleconverter. Now that the D800 has come out I'm sure many will jump ship to the new version, but not me. I'm sticking with my D700 because of its production quality, versatility, and for the simple fact that it's paid for!!!! I love it and couldn't say a negative word about it... July 4, 2012
Awesome DSLR I have been a Nikon user since the 1980's, starting with a manual FM2 then FE2 then F3. Now, the D700! This is by far the finest Nikon I have owned to date, period. With the full size CMOS sensor and high ISO (6400 plus) this camera is a landscape photographers dream camera. I have made high resolution 36x42 prints that are tack sharp. This is a full featured easy to use DSLR that I assure you, you will be happy with. Don't let the 12.1 mega pixels fool you, the CMOS FX sensor rocks!!! The only thing I wish Nikon would have engineered better, is the access door for the CF memory card slot. Instead of a latch like on the D200 (which I also own) and 300, the door simply slides back toward your hand so sometimes when you grab the camera by the grip, the door will flip open, especially if you have the MB-D10 battery grip attached, which by the way will give you an 8-fps shooting speed! This camera also does a fantastic job for any type of action or sports type photography. Check out DXO's test results on the D700's sensor, you will be impressed, I promise! All in all, I find this to be an almost perfect DSLR! July 3, 2012
A great camera I've owned the D100, 200, 300 and then the 700. The D700 was a gigantic step forward. Full frame is the only way to go. It's ability to shoot in the dark is awesome... at least I thought it was until I shot the D3S. It is reliable and forgiving. I recently sold mine to a son and have upgraded to the D800. Too soon to compare them but it looks like another leap forward. June 29, 2012
Amazing full frames So i have had my D700 now for just about 3 months and let me tell you this camera is amazing. never have my photo's been so sharp. plus the ability to blow up the photos i take awesome. to anyone wanting to get a full frame camera Nikon makes an amazing product. June 28, 2012
GREAT CAMERA I love this camera. I have 2 Nikon d700. (one has 195000 actuations and another 125000). Fast autofocus in dark situations, great colors.......It is still one of the best cameras on the market. June 27, 2012
An exellent camera (D700) Had the camera four years with no problems. Used mainly for sports; football and car racing. The FPS with MB-D10 battery grip with the EN-EL4A battery is a big plus for sports. I shot as high as 3200 ISO in poor lighting and still got good shots. June 24, 2012
Fantastic Tool! I upgraded to D700 from a D5000, but not without hours and hours of research. The FX sensor in the D700 is phenomenal. Color rendition is outstanding and the high ISO performance continues to blow me away - I am getting super clean images at 3200 ISO and could go even higher. Just amazing. The ergonomics and functionality of the D700 are also very nice - not having to drill through menus to get to common settings is a blessing and makes shooting way more fun than with the D5K (which is still a great camera). I haven't scratched the surface on what this camera is capable of and I feel that it has made me a better photographer just by opening my eyes up to a whole new world of performance. I have tons to learn, but extremely pleased I made the step up to FX and to the D700. June 20, 2012
Just what I've been wanting in a DSLR I've owned Nikon cameras for a long time and have had them since 1982. I still have the FE2, F4 and D200 and recently added the D700. I was going to get the D800 initially but I didn't want the video features in the camera. I really like that there is hardly any degradation with noise shooting at high ISO. Only wish is that Nikon will have an upgrade for the sensor to the new one available in the D800. June 13, 2012
wow !! great camera ,i have this camera for over a year and no problem ,i usaed it for wedding mostly and all evenst just shot a graduation and i used no flash with a iso 3200 got great photos June 13, 2012
LCD Screen haze After a few years of meticulously keeping this camera and never using in the rain and never storing in humid conditions, the LCD screen corners (like a rim around the screen) hazed up. Nikon apparently doesn't own up to the fact that it's some sort of design or manufacturing defect. I've now read about it where others had this problem and I can't believe a product THIS expensive would be made so cheaply. June 13, 2012
The perfect DSLR D700 however.. I bought my D700 from a riend of mines, its awesome, it gets the job done when I want to take beautiful portraiture and landscapes as well as Automotive. however there are some kinks that needs to be fixed such as the LCD, ive compared this with every other D700 went on forums, and asked other nikon users. If there were a case if I were to strobe one small stop of overexposing the photo will give me a very pasty look, even in natural light. I think as I've been told by others the D700 doesn't know how to handle or "think" how to process this small overexposure. Other exposures would be fine, such as normal or a small underexposure. It would be nice if nikon can fix this problem, obviously it can't be a factory defect, because if it was possible we would see alot of returns. It could be possible if Nikon can look into it and do some fixes with the firmware but again this is a problem in other nikon users. June 13, 2012
Great low light performance This camera is great. I just upgraded from a D90 to this D700 and could not be happier. Compared to the D90 this D700 is more rugged, loaded with more features, and fits like a glove in my hand. The only drawback thus far is that with the D90 I was able to set the amount of shots I wanted when setting the automatic timer. This feature is especially useful with HDR. Unfortunately this D700 lacks this feature. Hopefully Nikon will issue a firmware update. June 11, 2012
successfully go full member of the nikon family.. best product. its makes change your sight. June 11, 2012
If you can still find one, get it before they are gone Good enough to get you back to where you were in the 35mm film days - but the results are much better. Long ago photo people used to use 35mm film cameras to do the moderate to heavy lifting (travel, sports, journalism). They had one or two 35mm cameras and one (or two) Medium Format cameras (film size 2.25" x 2.25") for the really heavy lifting (weddings, portraits, and public events). This was the photographer's "kit" and it worked for decades. Then the market changed - film was out and digital was in. The processing labs went away and we all switched to digital cameras and Photoshop. Nikon (and other manufacturers) finally created full frame cameras - the D3 and the D700. Now the game was back on and we could resume our craft. The D700 is as good as it gets for 35MM photography. You can do all of the things you used to do with your film cameras but now you do not have to change film to get faster speeds (ISO) and better low light performance. You have much better auto focusing (although the "through-the-lens" metering systems of the past were pretty good), and you have Photoshop to "adjust" your results just like your Photo Lab guy used to do for you. Do you need more than 12 MP? Sometimes, but not often. Are the newer models (D4 and D800) much better than the D700? They are better and faster but you can still crank out 16" x 20" prints from the D700 that are perfect even when you are standing six inches away from the print. The D700 is fast, lightweight, and with the MB-10 Battery Pack and a EN-EL4a Rechargeable Lithium-ion Battery you can shoot all day long without running out of power. June 7, 2012
Best bang for the buck I was about to plunk down the dough for the D3 two years ago when I was upgrading for my business. ( I shoot weddings, collegiate sports, portraits and commercial accounts.) But I went with the D700 with the vertical grip; the features of the D3 didn't seem worth the extra thousands to me. I went with two D700s instead and it was a fantastic choice. Two years later, I am still happy with that decision. June 6, 2012
Great Camera Enjoy being able to take low light photos without flash, it works well with large lens using extenders, and of course the quality is amazing. I like to take pictures of birds which requires fast focusing, with plenty of detail in the subject. When I purchased this camera an important criteria was that I would avoid having to upgrade in a couple of years. This camera helps me take great photos, and it makes me look better than I am. June 3, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
54 Questions | 94 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
54 Questions | 94 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers