Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
Great all round camera I've been using Nikon since around '74 or so and purchased my first digital a year ago. A D2x which is a great camera at ISOs up to around 400. I wanted to take advantage of my FX lenses especially the wide angle ones and have better low light performance. The D 700 delivers. a nice size, enough weight to stabilize long lenses hand held, but not so heavy it causes fatigue carrying it around all day. I read the complaints about the hot shoe, but I learned way back in the '70s not to put a big honking speed light on a hot shoe, use a bracket and there are no problems. Pros: build quality, weather sealing, size and feel. Focus is fast and accurate. works with all my older AF Nikors as well as my AI/AIS manual focus lenses. Cons; None that I've found. In short the D700 delivers what you expect from a Nikon January 27, 2014
Problem child camera, hot shoe can fry the circuts, did to my first, replacement doing the same This is a problem child, when I first got the D700, it was great, no issues, SB900 on hot shoe will loosen then short, starts with LCD screen on SB900 flickering and no flash output, this during a wedding is a no go, or any event for that matter, Nikon replaced mine after it shorted out the circuit and they could not fix it, it was a case of pointing to the grass below me and taking a photo of a cat laying down, Ginger in color, cloudy day, everything reset to make sure camera was set correct, and the exposure was 8000 of a second at 1.5, on cloudy day looking at deep green grass, but then the image was over exposed by three stops at least. Got a refurbished D700 with just 65 shutter count, got to 6500 shutter count, same thing happening at a very expensive and high end event we were paid for. I am done with D700s, not good, and not reliable and the camera cannot hold its own, even so grainy at ISO 400 and 200 with perfect exposure. Requesting Nikon replace with another model, I have been dealing with this with Nikon since April 2011 to today July 2013 yes those dates are correct. I cannot tell you how many times the D700 let me down on very important jobs and I had to rent a better camera and use my backups and not trust the D700 again. Without going into too many details other than above, Nikon along with the D700 has cost me so much money and work since 2011 I am constantly trying to fight my way back up to where I was when I started the business! Nikon let me down and still does until they replace with a better model for the damage they have done to my business and my clients and my pocket for all the rentals I have had to do. And I will be shocked if they post this as its damaging to Nikon and Nikons past good name that I have stood by, so when are Nikon going to stand by me for loyalty of years now they have cost me so much in so many ways July 10, 2013
Siesta Key, The #1 Beach in the World. The camera is great. This is a picture of Siesta Key, The #1 Beach in the World. March 31, 2013
Sitios importantes de investigación natural usan este modelo Aurea boreal, paisajes, y muchas cosas mas tienen una calidad perfecta de imagen. February 21, 2013
Best Nikon I've owned, and Used! I have had the D700 for two years now, and it has been a wonderful camera. I travel alot and this fits perfectly with me. I have taken it to Canada, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Germany without any hiccups. The performance is phenomenal, the autofocus is fast and precise and even though it only has 12.1 megapixels it produces great looking, extremely enlargeable pictures. I will only purchase a new camera when this one fails to meet my expectations. It been two years and she's still going strong! Thanks Nikon for the Best Camera I've ever owned! Nikon for Life! December 28, 2012
Great camera !!! I bought this D700 to replace my D2X for a year after spend lots and lots of hours read and compare it with its brother D3 or its competitor the Canon 5D Mark II. I never regret my choice of excellent image quality and perfect built quality of this monster. October 24, 2012
Long-term Review I have owned and used two D700 bodies since 2008. Even today I have D4 and D800 in my bag, D700 still never fails to do a fine job. The only issue is that its rubber grip materials needs to be glued once in a while. Both of my D700 bodies have been sent back to Nikon for grip replacements a few times. Here is a low-light image captured recently with D700 at f/3.5 1/500 ISO 12800 October 24, 2012
great camera this is mt second review. i love this camera. had it 2 years now. still learning new things about it every day. i moved from the d 3000 to d 700. best choice i ever made. cant say enough about it. looked at the d800. nope not yet. at the d4, not yet, still learning the 700. i want trade or sell it. the best and most fun ever. 24/36 and 30/40 posters r easy with the 700. September 25, 2012
Great camera I use it very often in low light (6400 ISO): beautiful raw shots in all difficult situations. Lovely camera in a pros system that cover all what you need. I have been a "Nikonist" since 1968 (F) with great satisfaction! September 12, 2012
Finally at peace Not sure what I can say other than this camera fits my needs perfectly well. I didn't purchase a D3 because of cost and because of the D700. This camera show great colors, photos exactly what you see and works well with my other Nikon lens'. I had a D300 as my backup and it was not good enough to use when I needed two cameras strapped to me, so I purchased another D700. August 19, 2012
Great Enough to buy 2 of them!! We are primarily wedding photographers and it works great in low light situations. This is our second D700. Nothing else compares!! August 15, 2012
Camera breakes down frequently I make my living as a photographer and I'm a member of NPS as well as ASMP The image quality is great. The noise is great. I can shoot at high ISO and the noise level is minimal. The auto focus is slow. My D 300 wins every time. Doesn't work well with my SB 800 flashes. My D 300 works well with the SB 800. It's been back to Nikon 4 times for the auto focus, poor flash performance, poor color quality. I just got tired of sending it in for repair. Been using it as a backup for my D300. It's performance has improved a bit with the new firmware upgrade, but overall I would avoid the D 700. Perhaps mine is just a lemon and the rest are great. August 15, 2012
Perfect for Commercial Work The D700 is a great camera only limited by the glass you use with it. The files produced are suitable for full page ads and I've enlarged them to 22" wide with great results. And people photography, I find the skin tones are very good. I recently purchased the D800 with the idea of making larger personal prints. And after using the D800 a number of times, I'm still impressed with my D700. It just produces great files. Even high end architectural photographs look beautiful at 800 ISO. The D700 still has a worm place in my camera bag. August 14, 2012
Bang for your bucks I love this camera.... The speed and clarity is spot on. The only thing that needs a little work is the AF. August 13, 2012
Best all around camera on the market for anyone to use and love! The D700 is without a doubt the most versitile all around camera I have ever used! It produces the BEST LOW LIGHT photography with the best resolution. My accessory lighting gathers dust because i seldom use it because this camera does a superb job without the addition of artificial light. I have used this camera under all types of light and it is outstanding. This FX produces the absolute best resolution with great speed for anything from extreme sports to landscape. August 9, 2012
Much superior focusing compared to my D800 I kept this excellent camera when purchasing my new D800, which focuses to different points depending on whether the left, center, or right focus points are used. Good thing, since Nikon does not seem to recognize that many people are disappointed with trhe D800 and has no substantitave fix for the problem. August 9, 2012
Can't find a reason to let go. I shoot alongside other photographers at events ranging from local T-ball to NCAA Division 1 to NASCAR to PGA etc. etc. While I like to drool over some of their cutting edge gear and fantasize about hitting the lottery and going on a major shopping spree, in reality, I can not think of a good reason to trade in my loyal companions, a pair of four year old D700's. I don't pamper my equipment. In fact I shoot a ton of dirt track racing where the dust can get so thick I wear goggles and a dust mask and have to leave my clothes on the porch for a good dust off before putting them in the washer. But after hundreds of thousands of shots in that environment the D700's have never needed anything more than routine, annual clean and checks. On top of that, shooting at iso 6400 and 1/200th to get the right exposure still leaves room for a touch of unsharp mask in post processing. After four years that still amazes me. August 9, 2012
Powerful camera Amazing camera capable of creating wonderful images only limited by your skill and creativity. August 9, 2012
Everything in a small package Best camera ever owned, I was looking for a full frame (FX) camera and the D 700 fit perfectly. I am very impressed with the functions laid out, high ISO performance and the continuous shutter speed. The picture quality is excellent. August 9, 2012
Best camera ever for serious enthusiat The D700 has all the features a serious enthusiat needs. Focus response, fast shutter speeds, silky smooth portraits, outstanding low light capability, the list goes on. Even with the new models out the D700 still is unsurpassed in quality professional photos. August 9, 2012
Great Camera for Enthusiasts & Pros! I've had the D700 for almost 2 years & it continues to amaze me with the Image Quality, Speed & Features! August 8, 2012
I love this camera! I was fortunate enough to get one of the first 500 of this camera made. I absolutely love it! I love the clarity, how it feels in my hands and the ability to shoot hand held with the ISO dialed up and still get a nice image. I'm not a technical person. I don't get into all the hows and so on. I'm a very creative person and I can't always tell you what settings I used on an image but what I can tell you is that they turn out and although I realized it's not just the camera, I believe the camera and I are a team and with my creativity and Nikon's D700 technology we do some pretty amazing things. August 8, 2012
D700 rocks The D700 is far superior to my previous camera - the D7000. Even after sending in the D7000 to Nikon to address focusing issues, and fine tuning the focus on my lenses (premium glass like the 85 1.4), the hit/miss rate on the D7000 was sorely disappointing. My keeper ratio with the D700 is extremely high (i tuned my lenses) in terms of focus. It rocks! Yes it is only 12 megapixels; i don't make prints that require more megapixels. But i'll take 12 megapixels of beautiful, spot-on focus over 16 or 32 megapixels of soft stuff anyday. If money permits, i'll buy another one i am so happy. August 8, 2012
Very good Camera I am a retired armature photographer with a desire to take good pictures. The pictures I take are primarily in two areas: family and landscape. I transitioned from Canon to Nikon when the full frame technology became a reasonable purchase for a person of my ability and need. Over time I purchased all three 2.8 Nikkor lenses. I have taken some outstanding pictures with the 12 to 24MM and 70 to 200MM lenses but the bulk of the pictures I take are with the 24 to 70MM lens. If I were making the purchase today the first lens I would buy would be the 24 to 70MM lens. The on board data base is extensive but cumbersome to drive from the camera controls. This is probably true for all cameras at this level. It would be very supportive of the customer base if a PC/iPAD based, user friendly, operations system was supplied with the initial purchase to facilitate training, display and update of the shooting and custom data banks. For a new user of the D700 I would recommend purchasing the D700 e-book documentation by Thom Hogan. Bottom line, I would buy the D700 again. August 8, 2012
Rock solid performance, clean files, durable, reliable. Moved from Canon for the reliability and durability of Nikon. Files are best in the business other than the D3S for retaining detail in shadows and signal to noise ratio. Wish the autofocus was as fast as D3 and I REALLY wish I could turn up the volume on the focus confirmation beep so I could actually hear it (beep on the D3 is fantastic in this regard). Md-10 battery pack allows shooting two full weddings without worrying about power - priceless. Best bang for the buck in the industry. August 8, 2012
The True Digital F100 As long as you're not into megapixels and video, this is the camera. It's the first camera in the digital era where I said if things never got better I would be satisfied here. D3 quality at D300 prices. Pro auto-focus, pro frames-per-second, pro build, pro high-ISO performance. I wish Nikon would continue to make this product or make a D700s with the D3S sensor. Uses EN-EL3 and EN-EL4 batteries though, those have been deprecated by Nikon. August 8, 2012
Great features in a much lighter package I wanted a D3 but my budget could not support my wants. Got the D700 as a second choice and was not disappointed. Have been using it for over two years and it still satisfies my needs. August 8, 2012
Wonderful camera This box is a nifty compilation of what works best for nikon. I've given up finding a better SLR in the same price range. I put a 24-70 / F2.8 glass on it and I haven't been disappointed. The lighting matrix is fantastic on all levels of light. I dont even bother using a speedlight anymore. My complaints: sensor really loves dust- impossible to clean. Setting the timers for multiple exposures can be a bear. Last program (for exposure) usually resets to default after going on "sleep mode". No wireless remote exposure capability (as is available in D70S). August 8, 2012
A truly amazing camera that produces virtualy limitless creative photos! Simply put, I LOVE. This camera. I have used this camera in many adverse conditions throughout the state of Florida, California, Utah and many other states where climate conditions can vary from extremely wet, cold and windy. The body is extremely durable and weatherized to deal with virtually every condition. The features and functionality are very easy to use and navigate through. I am able to vary my custom settings to any situation on the fly. I highly recommend the D700 to anyone who enjoys photography and professional reliable quality camera body. August 8, 2012
pro camera at a pro-sumer price! The best bang for your buck camera on the market! Beautiful! August 8, 2012
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
52 Questions | 91 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
52 Questions | 91 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 1 month ago
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers