Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40X's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance, 10.2 effective megapixel, Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image-processing engine. Each assures you’ll get stunning sharpness and color.

High-performance 10.2-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon’s DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 24 x 36 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

Shoot at up to 3 frames per second: The D40X can fire continuously at a speed of up to 3 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

3 colorful display options: All new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper. Carefully designed color schemes help make changing camera settings easier than ever.

8 digital vari-program automatic shooting modes: Eight digital vari-program modes include: auto flash-off, portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up and night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results for everyday shooting situations. Each mode considers lighting conditions and possibilities, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, hue, tone, sharpening and more to make creative photography as simple as rotating the mode dial.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40X's newly introduced assist images help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting, as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40x's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item; just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context-sensitive help page.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40X's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Up to 520 images* per battery charge: The supplied EN-EL9 rechargeable battery will allow for shooting up to 520 images per charged based on CIPA battery testing standards.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: Beautifully styled, the D40X makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever. You'll be amazed at the power packed into a camera that weighs just over 16 ounces.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: A fast 0.18 second startup combined with split-second shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 3 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

2.5-inch, 230,000-dot color LCD monitor with 170-degree wide-angle viewing: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts with easy-to-view menus.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance, delivering outstanding results. The built-in flash is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images. In low-light or back-light situations, added illumination from the built-in Speedlight can make the difference between an average snapshot or a dazzling one.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features through the retouch menu include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. This provides greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40X's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes. The result delivers instantly and precisely determined exposures for each scene, even in challenging lighting conditions.

Image optimization options: The D40X's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening, as well as other image settings, according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

D40X 4.5 5 22 22
Amatures tool This is a great camera for someone wanting to break into photography. The manual mode has all the adjustable basics a good photographer needs to explore and refine their skill. With the advent of new cameras there will always be room for upgrades, but this is an entry level tool worth the money. Use this camera to see if you want to take photography to the next level. Great point and shoot in Auto mode for the family on the go. April 18, 2011
Great Start This was my first D-SLR camera. And I'm still using it. Took great pictures right out of the box, and as my skills grew - the camera kept pace. I'm a big believer in shoot it right - not fix it later. And this camera does a great job and helps you learn all the basics. The menus and interface are a snap to learn. Frankly when I borrow my husband's D5000 I miss that! You can't go wrong with this camera. April 15, 2011
Features and a great entry level camera Hi, This was my first SLR camera. I was very happy with the ease of use. I started with the two lens camera package and slowly added a external flash ( SB 800 ) then a 35 mm, then sold the 18-55 and 55-200 and bought the 18-200 and the 55-300 lens. Recently sold the camera and bought a D7000. April 7, 2011
All around wonderful light weight, ergonomic design, easy to use. LOVE this little camera that gives BIG photos! March 7, 2011
This camera is an amazing intro to DSLRs This was my first dslr. It was simple to use, never took a bad picture and inspired me to learn more about photography to use more creative controls. It is fast and I never missed a picture of my puppys or my kids. Highly recommend February 19, 2011
Great little lens This lens cam with my camera when i bought it and it great, give you bit of a zoom, plus wide angle. great for doing outdoor shots. January 6, 2011
Served me well for over three years I bought this camera back in August 2007 because of a need of a negligible shutter delay found in P&S cameras. A DSLR was the only way to get an instantaneous shutter release. Now, with just over 6300 actuations, I always find subjects to shoot, and I never grow tired of it. For the beginning photographer, this entry-level DSLR is nothing short of amazing, and has everything you'll ever need. The only problems the D40x has given me were a series of switch shorts (the same switch!) in the flash mode selector button. I was without my camera three times, but at least I was still under warranty. That aside, this camera has allowed me to grow as a beginning/intermediate photographer. But the Nikon D40x still leaves plenty of room for further growth! December 12, 2010
Great Camera Both my brother and my sister inlaw have this camera and they love it. Great for taking family pics and pictures of my kids playing, I looked at other cameras but love Nikon. October 24, 2010
Great first dslr This was my first dslr and it is amazing. Great quality and easy to use. The only draw back is that it does not shoot video. I would recommend this camera to anyone who shoots photography as a hobby and wants nice quality. October 16, 2010
BEst To Take EVEry waY sharpness image it surprise me when i used in first time good color for real i never give it up , now i use a the beast D700 but still have it as backup camera it is10 megapixl so it worth it. it's my best friend every where always withe me small light accurate easy to use. LOVE U NIKON ^_^ August 17, 2010
Reliable and saitsfactory I have had my D40x since 2007, so it's almost 5 years old and has done about 50 000 shots. It's never broken nor has it had any focus issues. I also used the same battery all this time and only bought a second one a year ago as a back up. Only now has it lost a pixel for the first time. It was a very good buy and I enjoy the fact that it's light and compact. I guess it's time to upgrade to more features though! January 24, 2012
Good for a starter camera... I have owned this camera for a few years now, and it has served its purpose. I still use it as a back-up to my new D7000. It takes really good pictures and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to "break in" to the DSLR market. I have never had any issues with the camera not functioning properly, although with it only having 3 AF points it doesn't always capture what you want it to. You really are better off at times going to manual focus. March 10, 2011
Bought my camer is 2007 and it is a Great Camera. The only problem is the built in flash goes after about 2-3 years. After reading other reviews I am not the only one. Cost $175 to fix. I go on mission trips and on my past trip I needed a camera while mine was being fixed. Bought a point and shoot. NO comparison. My Nikon D40X is a far superior product. I take many pictures of children during mission trips so the quick response is required for my pictures. Hopefully the flash won't need repair again. January 26, 2011
camera is excellent in every respect.it has serve me well for the last three years.the only complaint I have is with the build in flash,which has stop working three times causing me to return the camera to service under warranty.the third time is going to be expensive since warranty has expire.spite my TLC this event keep happening.other wise a great camera that gives a great deal of pleasure to a photographer. November 9, 2010
Great beginner Camera I learned on this camera. It is excellent for the beginner photographer who wants to do more than point and shoot. It is the gateway camera for a true photo addict. with 10.2mp, this camera takes great shots at a pretty entry level price too. February 3, 2011
Program Mode Flash Well not having a DSLR before I thought I was the problem till..........I bought a D60. Then I found out what a problem the Flash and Compensation was in the 40x. With everything set the same the D60 takes perfect pics and the 40X has a lot of over exposures. So i called tech support at Nokon and the 40x is going to the shop after 2 1/2 mos of light usage. At this point I can't say I'd recomend it or not. Because anyone can have a lemon. How the factory handles it will determine my recomendation (yes or no) March 4, 2013
D40x-starts better than it ends This camera was wonderful at first, but has broken twice in three years. The cost of repairs was zero for the first repair in year one, and $170 to fix it in year three. The auto focus did not work, and the manual setting did not focus. April 21, 2011
Page:2
<<prev
25 Questions | 30 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
25 Questions | 30 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
When I'm trying to take a picute I press th button and it takes a while for it to take. Its like the shutter is very slow in taking. How can this be resolved?
This is for a D40 Nikon
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
hapa
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Mine does the same thing, and im not sure why it does this. It also makes some type of rumbling noises when it wont take a picture. and sometimes it takes quite a few tries to take one, unless of course it is in manual mode, then it will take. Could this be the AF motor? Let me know if you figure it out. .
Jun 16, 2012 by
by
Kai-R
Canada
Location : 
Canada
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the same issue with mine. If I'm in a situation that I'm shooting a subject that isn't moving around a lot I use the auto focus the switch the lens to manual and it helps. However I think this issue has only come up within the last year or two, a real pain to deal with.
Aug 9, 2011 by
by
RSpring
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Are you getting focus?. Press the shutter half way till focus is achieved, or manually focus, then press the shutter button fully to take the picture. Does it happen all the time or only in certain situations ?.
May 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D40X
 
2 Answers

Why isn't my d40x recognizing charged batteries?

Dec 5, 2011 by
by
jentx
 on D40X
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Even when I put in a brand new, fully charged factory battery, I get no green area on the battery indicator. I also did it with two new after market batteries. Not surprisingly, the shutter moves very slow and takes blurry pictures as it would if I was using a dead batterty,
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
jentx
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes I tried using rubbing alcohol. No luck...
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
jentx
Houston
Location : 
Houston
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Did you try cleaning the camera's battery contacts?
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The histogram wont really tell you anything, its the exif you need to looking at, see what sort of shutter speeds etc you are getting. what mode are you using ?
Dec 8, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hard to answer without hands on camera., it is possible the sensor is dirty. What does the histogram show you?
Dec 8, 2011 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D40X
 
2 Answers

will my D40x lenses work with a D3100 body?

Mar 26, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40X
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, lenses compatible with your D40X will be compatible with the D3100. Lenses with the AF-S designation will be needed for autofocus on both models. For more information on choosing lenses for these cameras please see:
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Apr 2, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D3100 like the D40x, does not have built in focus motors so your AF-S lenses would be required for auto focus.
Mar 26, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40X
 
1 answer

on my Nikon D40X what is the best setting to take night time pictures and get good focus?

Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Texas
 on D40X
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This model offers a Digital Vari-program modes. Selecting a program automatically optimizes settings to suit the selected scene, making creative photography as easy as rotating the mode dial. In this case you can use the Night Portrait.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40X
 
1 answer

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
us
 on D40X
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
us
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This model does not have a "LiveView" feature. You would need a D3100, a D5000 or a D5100.
Apr 10, 2011 by
by
ManuelC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40X
 
1 answer

What tripods work best with a D40X camera?

Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40X
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
tripods are standard fitting - and like everything in photography it depends what you are using it for - best advice is go to a store and use some tripods
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40X
 
1 answer

Lens is too dark

May 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40X
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Even during the day when I look through the lens I can see objects, but its too dark and says "subject to dark" whenever I try to take a picture. Is there a way to make it brighter?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40X
 
1 answer

My DX40 stopped taking proper pictures

May 23, 2011 by
by
Manjari
 on D40X
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Manjari
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A bit more info required ??
May 23, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40X
 
1 answer

Best lens attachment for microscope imaging?

Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Cliff
Charlotte, NC
 on D40X
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have a D40x camera and a Nikon SMZ645 microscope. I would like a lens attachment that can slide in the eyepiece slot on the microscope and take full field of view photos similar to what you see looking through the eyepiece.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Cliff
Charlotte, NC
Location : 
Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please get in contact with Nikon Instruments:
Phone: 1-631-547-8500 : 1-800-52-NIKON (within the U.S.A. only).
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers