Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
Entirely positive I never owned a DSLR, I went thru lots of research inquiring in forums, reviews, personal websites and actual stores to check every single camera. I think D40 is already phase out, but I was able to find a good deal, Camera is just great simple compact and outstanding. I am still a total new in this DSLR arena, but having this puppy in my hands make me feel very confident in my pictures, finally I can take a picture of my dog running at full speed in the rain and capture every single splashing drop, My Girlfriend’s pictures are so beautiful that I order some enlargements for my home. Everybody who sees the pictures is fascinated about the quality and all agree that my 6.1 MP beats any time any other 12 MP digital in image quality out there. I am not a pro and have nothing outstanding to show, we only have the normal family pictures just taken right as it should be. If I decide be more of professional photographer I Certainly will keep the Nikon line. I am really happy with my Camera. Thanks July 21, 2010
I am happy with my D 40 one best feature is I can use all my Nikon Lens from my film camera in the manual mode. Thank You July 21, 2010
Wonderful I really enjoy the product, the only thing that I wish it had (viedo) July 21, 2010
Great, fun camera I've had my D40 for a couple of years now and have found it to be an excellent product. I will continue to buy Nikons in the future as my budget allows. I am a teacher and have had a blast taking pictures of my students. My photos of school events are plastered all over the hallways so the kids can admire themselves:-) July 21, 2010
The best product I ever had This the best camera I evre had. It is easy to use, it take beautiful pictures. It wotks very well inside, outside, in sports, in the beach, in the house, under sun light or at night. July 21, 2010
This is a great camera all around This was our first SLR camera purchase and we couldn't be happier. It is great for shooting our children who never hold still. It is very easy to use and the pictures come out wonderful. July 21, 2010
This camera is very user friendly w/great pictures This is a great camera. I started just using the auto mode but now I have been experimenting with the different settings and the color and contrast is great. July 21, 2010
smart fast light with sharp colorful exposures This little camera can think for you and be the best point and shoot in automatic.When you take the controls there is no limit to what you can capture. Colorful pictures with tact sharp detail are just a click away. July 21, 2010
An excellent camera I bought this camera a couple of years ago and I really love it. It is the perfect size, easy to use and takes amazing photos. Two of my friends have much more expensive models and to be frank my D-40 does very well when you compare photos. July 21, 2010
picture quality as good as pro level DSLR I'm using D40 since Jul2007 and this is my first DSLR. It's excellent image quality with natural color tone very suit for my favorite shotting style include portrait, wedding, landscape, macro, fashion show, events, etc. Anyone who seen my photo will be impressed by the image quality produced by this camera. I can print A4 size photo even with it's 6MP resolution. Image quality is amazing. July 21, 2010
Ace Had my D40 for around two years and love using it where ever I go. Easy to use and takes great pic's. Highly recommended :) July 21, 2010
Very satisfied customer - compared with Canon - couldnt match my desired shades provided by Nikon July 21, 2010
Great camera Its a great camera ... I got almost everything I need for doing almost all types of photography... I got a 18-200 and a cpl filter, and right now i am in no need for another camera or lens. kit lens focus motor broke after 6 months though July 21, 2010
The best camera I've ever had When I decided to go for a SLR, I was unsure if I will use it regularly. Always been a photo enthusiast, but at some point I was afraid the size and weight will discourage the usage. So I went for the lowest model in the range. I've shoot more than 30K pics so far and I love it. Of course after a couple of weeks I thought oh boy this is great, I should've gone for a D90 or a D300. But I haven't after two years, for a simple reason: the pics are still great! Will upgrade soon anyway, Nikon will be for sure. The only thing I do not like about this camera: my wife, who was never interested in taking pics, now wants to use it all the time! July 21, 2010
takes great pictures I bike some of the Rails to Trails around Pittsburgh, PA. I've gotten some great pictures under various conditions on the trail and also indoors with my Speedlight SB-600 flash. I looked at the Nikon line of cameras and decided on the D40 even with only 6.1 MP. The largest I print is 8.5x11 so I really didn’t feel the need for 10 MP. I have used the pictures for wallpaper on my PC and the pictures are quite clear on my 21 inch screen. I wanted through the lens viewing when I bought the D40. Now I wish you could select between through the lens and using the screen on the back. I have been in crowds where everyone but me is holding their camera up and aiming through the screen on the back. July 21, 2010
I love my Nikon D40! It has challenged me to learn more about the art of photograpghy rather than just pointing and shooting! July 21, 2010
Great for stills and scenes!! Overall Excellent camera!!! If you are looking for high quality still pics of people or landscapes, this is an excellent choice. If action and sports shots are what you're looking for go with a higher FPS capable camera. This is great for family and baby pics as well as anything you find outdoors!! Love my D40!!! July 21, 2010
Flexibility I've been an amateur photographer for almost 40 years. I hesitated making the jump to a digital SLR because I felt that I couldn't justify the cost. Then along came the D-40 and suddenly I was out of excuses. Soon after I bought the D-40 kit I bought a 55-200mm VR Zomm Nikkor. Regardless of your expereince level you'll get outstanding results with the D-40. Most users will simply set it to program mode and let the D-40 take care of the exposure settings but it also allows the option of using aperature or shutter preferred auto exposure control or they can go full manual. The flexibility offerd by the D-40 is its most appealing feature. July 21, 2010
I love this camera I am not a pro fotog at all, and use the camera on auto. I get great photos, especially in the house with the strong flash, and if room light is good then using ambient light. Outstanding crisp color and almost never get a bad photo. Too bad there is no movie mode. July 21, 2010
The D40 delivers everything I expected. For an entry-level SLR, I picked the D40 over the competition for it's quality reputation, user friendliness and wide selection of lenses and accessories. It originally came with an 18-55mm f5-5.6 and 55-200mm f4-5.6 lens. I've since added a 35mm f1.8 for portrait and indoor use, a 70-200mm f2.8 for indoor/outdoor stop-action sports and a 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 for that long distance touch. This combination has more than fulfilled my needs as an amateur photographer for now. I'm no expert, but I sure have impressed the heck out of my family and friends...all because of the D40. Someday, when I can afford it, I'll upgrade the D40, but because of the quality of photos I'm getting now, I haven't had the need yet. July 20, 2010
Photo quality is great! My friends marvel at the beautiful pictures I take. Whether I photograph mountains, whales jumping in Alaskan waters, fall colors by a Canadian river, arches in Utah or geysers in Yellowstone Park, the pictures are fabulous! I couldn't be more pleased. July 20, 2010
Best 'Bang for the Buck'... I wanted to upgrade from my snapshot camera to a Digital SLR, so that I could add a little more Professionalism to the photos that I take. After checking out a few different brands and models of SLR cameras, it looked like the Nikon D40 was going to give me the most 'Bang for the Buck'. I've since purchased a Nikkor 70-300mm VR Telephoto lens, that combined with the Nikon D40, has turned me into what my friends now consider me to be a "Semi-PRO" . I highly recommend this Nikon D40, which is so much more than just an 'entry-level' DSLR. July 20, 2010
A great SLR for beginners and serious photographer Its easy to operate and delivers great pics. Very convenient to experiment and learn while on the go. July 20, 2010
Greatest entry DSLR Although the D40 has been replaced by several new models it is smaller than other models and takes great photos with little effort. It has a focus choice I really like for parties and group pictures "Closest Subject". This simplifies the choice you have to make and works very good. I recommend this to anyone who wants to enter the DSLR world but isn't ready for the step up to a D5000, D90, or D3. July 20, 2010
The D40 is a great camera. The Nikon D40, has so many features that even other high-end Nikon DSLR don't have. Even with it's small size, it can compete with most DSLR models more expensive than it is. Keypoints to the D40's success are: - long battery life - high ISO - user friendly controls for amature - handy and compact July 20, 2010
Good job Nikon, keep going! I use D40 for almost 2 years now and I’m completely satisfied with the quality, features and software. Once you know how to use it it’s a strong tool in your hands. Pictures are great, no complain until now. I don’t use automatic features, I have small camera for that. If I want to make good pictures, I use my D40.Thank’s to Ken Rockwell for all advices and tips. Only negative I found is just no dust removal, but for the money I paid is an excellent camera. I will definitely recommend it.Before to buy it, I made a lot of research, so I was advises with pros and cons. Good job Nikon, keep going! July 20, 2010
This product is outstanding DSLR/ This DSLR is exceptionally user-friendly with all different types of features. The price is more than reasonable with all that is offered. The only con I can think of is I wish there was more of a selection of lenses more readily available, even with the start up kit. July 20, 2010
Great Small and beginners DSLR The D40 is a fantastic camera for people just getting into the DSLR market and it is lightweight and practical to carry around for the advanced photographers as a second camera. I would highly recommend it to anyone. July 20, 2010
Great Camera, Super easy to use. This was my first DSLR, but not my first digital camera .The D40s Picture Quality blows the other cameras I have owned into the weeds ! I have owned many Nikon 35mm film cameras over the last 30+ years, so I felt instantly confortable with the D40. Excelent picture quality, very easy to use features make the D40 the most fun camera I have ever owned. July 20, 2010
love everything about it I use my camera all the time. I love taking pictures and finding new ways to use the camera. The camera is very user friendly. At first I was afraid to use it, but after a couple of times using it it was easy. The videos that came with my camera helped a lot. July 20, 2010
Page: 7 8 9 10 11 ... 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
9 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers