Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
Excellent pictures and ease of use. I stepped up from a Nikon Coolpix 4500. I use it mainly for pictures of my child and nature. I like how I can go from fully automatic to fully manual with ease. Very short learning curve. Light weight and easy to cary around. Much easier and lighter than my old Nikon 6006. July 21, 2010
Best entry level DSLR, bar none I have owned my D40 for three years. To me it is a perfect entry level DSLR camera. It is light weight, easy to handle, and you can start shooting like a pro right out of the box. Being able to shoot in RAW is a bonus offered by this sweet little gem. I plan on having one at all times in my camera bag. July 21, 2010
Just takes beautiful pictures I'm no pro ... not even an enthusiastic amateur. But I'd always wanted a Nikon and treated myself to the D40 a couple years ago. I love it. I shoot everything on Auto and haven't scratched the surface of the features, but I did buy a 50-200 zoom lens and have played around a bit, mostly with outdoor stuff around my house and neighbourhood. The quality of the images - shot by a hack like me - is amazing. Love the camera. July 21, 2010
A real answer to vanished compact 35mm category. From the beginning of the digital camera area I was looking for a compact camera 35mm replacement and after a series of different attempts, I was a bit disappointed with the actual market offer for many reasons: viewfinder accuracy, on time readiness delay, zoom coverage specially in wide angle field, interface and functionalities, general result quality. I have tried over the years Samsung Digimax early models, Olympus C4040, C5050, Canon Powershot S3IS, G7 and A640 and many of those will in fact address efficiently some of the previously critiques but not really the general trend. Sometimes ago we were looking to a recent replacement of an Minolta D'IMAGE 7 of a college and after several tries we came with the idea of using a Nikon D 40 along with a 18-135mm lens. It was simply the real answer combined with a great improvement in terms of performance and easiness of day-to-day use. So a month ago I decided to take the step forward and invest in the NIKON D40/AFS 18-55mm II combination completed with a small AFS 55-200mm VR version. It was so reveal ting that the D40 is now always following me everywhere despite the more sophisticated equipment availability. Why? Because it is a "real" compact camera. The camera is very ergonomic and is permitting a very stable handling which is a very good point since it doesn’t have an in-board stabilization system. The viewfinder is very clean and mostly exempt of view through indicator that can be sometimes annoying in doing careful subject composition. Manual focusing is still possible but can be very hard if not impossible to do in low light condition with medium speed lenses. In that case you may prefer to pick up a high speed lens such as the Nikon AF 50mm f 1.8 to do portrait in existing light situations for example. All the traditional exposure modes are available. Auto ISO indexing is also a very nice touch for those who prefer to prevent as long as possible the use of the in-board flash. This small unit is very strong (in fact a bit too in short distance) and can be use as compensating light in many situation along with the exposure memory button feature. The LCD back screen is clear, informative and even can be use properly to monitor a general exposure setting. Learning curve over the camera interface is relatively easy to apprehend as other Nikon SLR. At the end photo results in term of quality and precision are at the same level as the previous Nikon D50, D70 and D70S. In fact I have found that picture are giving more spontaneous vivid color and are requiring less first hand computer enhancing in post treatment. In using the two "packaged" lenses AFS 18-55mm II and 55-200mm VR, I was amazed of their overall picture quality despite many critic preventions. The 18-55mm performs very well in most daily situations and gives very interesting results with macro subjects. The 55-200mm VR is the perfect companion of the other with the same color rendition and VR system is a real help considering the modest speed (f 5.6 at 200mm) of it. And yes you can do action photography with some limitations that only more professional equipment such as f 2.8 lenses will outstand with much greater budget and the weight and volume expensed. No battery issue regarding this camera except for the suggestion to bring an extra one along with a 220 Volts transformer if you are going in foreign areas. In one word, I am glad to finally have found a very handy and efficient photographic tool. (This review has been previously released in August 2007) July 21, 2010
The best camara I have had to date I though and research a lot before buying this camera. I am not sorry because it excedds my expatations July 21, 2010
Great For Sports Photos The D40 is great for sports photos, especially in capturing the action in competitive bicycle events, which I like to photograph. July 21, 2010
Love the ease of use and the great pics! I take photos for a few groups I belong to. I am definitely not a pro but people seem to think I am because the pictures come out so well. July 21, 2010
this is a great camera This is my first DSLR and I love it ,it is user friendly and takes great pictures worth framing. July 21, 2010
It's a very easy camera to use with great features I really like this camera, it's very easy to use, this model doesn't over power me with stuff I don't need or use, for someone who wants a lot more features you can get one of the other "D" models. But for me this is the perfect camera! July 21, 2010
Easy to use, great pictures Camera is light weight and fits in a small camera bag or purse. The D40 takes super pictures and is easy to use. It's the answer for anyone wanting to use an SLR digital without all the bulk and weight. I always keep it set on fine JPEG and can crop or enlarge pictures to 11 by 14 or larger without losing any detail. I really like this camera better than my professional camera. I highly recomend it. July 21, 2010
entry level price, all i need this is all i need in a camera, its fast, works with tons of lenses. no complaints. July 21, 2010
Handy little dslr I've had my D-40 for about 1 year now and have to say it is more than expected. All the features needed for creative shots as well as convience of a point and shoot. It's so light weight and quick to handle that I find I use it much more than my D-70. I'm very well satisfied with this product and have taken many very nice shots with it. July 21, 2010
Great camera! I purchased this camera for personal use but find myself using it a lot to photograph work functions. I work at a non-profit healthcare system, and we don't spend our resources on a professional photographer at fundraising and charity events. However, we like to have photos to post online or submit with press releases. My Nikon D40 is the perfect camera for these events. I recently purchased the Speedlight SB-600 to go along with the camera, and my photos look even better. This camera is a great product and a great buy. Thanks Nikon! July 21, 2010
Nikon!!!!!!!! I Love the D40! It is a small camera, and a very good camera! I've attached the 2161 telephoto lens to my D40 and have had excellent pics!! Nikon Products are great! Thank You Nikon!! July 21, 2010
Nikon what more do we need to say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love everything about this Camera. As alittle girl i have always wanted a Nikon,Ive always had the other brands(which were ok) But this is the best. The photo are real.The tools are great. Well worth the money. July 21, 2010
Beginner friendly with room to grow! Up until I received my Nikon D40, a loving gift from my parent, I hadn't much experience with cameras; especially digital ones. I had an HP that broke within months after purchasing and I grew frustrated with the camera and company. Still, I loved photography, capturing timeless moments to be remembered for years to come, and was excited when I was given this particular SLR. I have to admit this camera can take a lot; not that I've been trying to break it but I've had it around babies and animals alike. It goes on trips with me and while the size is a bit formidable in comparison to other compact digital cameras, it's well worth the extra hassle. There are wonderful accessories with which you can expand your camera and photography, something that a bitty palm sized camera couldn't possible do. With my D40 I have captured those memories I've dreamed of and managed to gift many memories to my friends and family. You could look for a better camera, but as a growing beginner I doubt you'd be able to find one; this is my perfect camera. July 21, 2010
Love my Nikon D40 I find this camera easy to use and have been amazed at some of the pictures is has taken. I am by no means a professional photographer or a camera expert, yet some of my friends have said my pictures look professional. Thanks Nikon. I love the auto features as well as the manual features and I am actually still learning what all the camera can do. One of my favorite features is the continuous frame mode. The ability to change lens is also a favorite. I use the 55-200mm most of the time. July 21, 2010
Outstanding camera Great camera, easy to use and outstanding performance. I would recommend this to anyone! July 21, 2010
The value-priced D40 takes great photographs. I purchased this camera four years ago because it was the lowest priced quality DSLR at the time of purchase. I recently stopped using flash for many indoor pictures. The D40's sensor does not introduce extraneous "noise" at low light levels. The sensor's 6 megapixel definition allows me to print high quality 81/2" by 11" photos. I now shoot using Nikon's RAW format and I like the color output from my home photo printer. July 21, 2010
Great little starter or walking around SLR I picked up my D40 in February of 2007. It was my first digital SLR. I've been shooting digital since 1999 and used the D40 to replace an 8 MP Konica-Minolta A2. I found the D40 to be an excellent camera that produces much better pictures and was extremely easy to use. I normally shoot with a -0.3 EV and do very little or no post processing. I've since added a D80 to my kit but kept the D40 for light weight travel. July 21, 2010
Excellent camera overall. This was my first digital DSLR. I love it! It has all the features you want in a camera. though it only has 6 megapixels, the picture quality is fantastic. I would recommend this camera to anyone thats looking for a new camera. July 21, 2010
Very versatile camera The D40 is very versatile, allowing total auto function or user control easily. I can hand the camera to anyone and they can make a good photograph. 6MP images are adaquate for printing sizeable enlargements. The optics and mechanics are Nikon quality in a lightweight package. I'm able to backpack the camera and equipment for biking and ski tours easily. July 21, 2010
Easy to operate with it's help features This is the first 35 mm camera that I have owned and the ease of operation and built-in directions removed the bit of intimidation that I felt in the beginning. I have received nothing but praise from others that have seen my wildlife photos, some even want to borrow them to do paintings. When I get a better camera, I will definitely stay with Nikon. July 21, 2010
Love my camera! Fabulous camera that makes amazing digital photos. Love it for photographs of my daughters sports events. July 21, 2010
Amazing pictures for a 6 megapixel camera Nice out of the camera result picture quality -Affordable price -Compact size and light weight -Large and bright 2.5 inch LCD -B/W, Sepia, several more in-camera editing features. -Instant power on, fast autofocus and no shutter lag -Noise is acceptable at high ISO settings. Auto ISO settings available. -Great 18-55mm II AF-S kit lens. -Great battery life -1/500 flash sync July 21, 2010
Love my Nikon I do love the features of my camera. I am still learning what all it will do for me and I purchased a telephoto lens to use when I need it. I also purchased and additional battery not knowing that the camera goes forever before you need to recharge. I am always amazed at the clarity and brilliance of my pictures when used indoors or outdoors. I recently used it for a wedding and was given many "well done" complements when was finished. My final comment would be "I Love My Camera" July 21, 2010
Nikkon D40 Our nikkon D40 is awesome. We wouldn't have anything else. We use it all the time for pictures of our horses, kids, and on vacations. We have now had it for three or four years and recommended it to everyone we know. We are not professional photographers and our pictures still turn out wonderful. I like easy to use, and this camera is very easy. I have even had my 12 year old daughter go and take pictures of our horses when I am unavailable to do it for a client or our website. Our camera sells our horses for us. Thank you Nikkon! July 21, 2010
The D40 is a great camera This is a very nice "Digital Camera"! Anyone can use it and take good pictures in the 'Automatic mode". If you understand how to make the adjustments this camera you can do some really cool stuff. When I speak of the adjustments, I'm talking changing lens's, or setting the camera up for each shot. You can set this camera to shoot in apature priority or shutter priority and if your really bold you can set it to manual mode and control everything. If you are willing to put out a few extra dollars Nikon has a software for working with photos in "NEF (RAW)". I always like to have a add on flash unit instead of using the little pop-up flash most all cameras come with. I like the Nikon SB-600 speedlight flash unit for this camera. The LCD on the back of this camera is easy to see outdoors. I like the graphic that showws the colors captured with the intentesty for that photograph just taken. The graphic represents the colors capttured along with how strong the colors actually are. I've gotten some really great shots with this camera. I do wish their was more control for the F. stops but I know this is limited by the lense. Overall the stock lense is a great starter lense. I also have the NIKKOR Lens 55-200mm. (SWEET LENS) I have been very happy with these items since I stop using my 35mm Cameras. I've had 6 other digital cameras, but the D40 will always be my favorite. July 21, 2010
Nikon's Another Legend My wife and I have been enjoying our D40 for a few years now. It has been a very reliable camera. We often travel and go to Japan once or twice a year. What has become so very important to both of us is to travel light. Surely we can carry a cheap point & shoot, but the images you are left with after vacation have much more to be desired. D40 takes wonderful pictures and Nikon's legendary metering system is very accurate. We own other heavier DSLR cameras by other companies, but D40 has become our standard issue for most of our trips. Also the kit lens that came with it at aperture of f/5.6 and above takes extremely sharp pictures rare for cheap kit lens. During the film age, I was Canon fan, but in digital age, I am a great Nikon fan because Nikon zoom lenses seem to show much less lens flaws than the competitions. Please do resurrect D40 again! Just add bracketing function which is great for shooting sunset in Maui. Flash sync speed 1/500, not available for other DSLR of any price, is userful to have for those who shoot in the daylight with fill flash. Keep up the good work Nikon! July 21, 2010
Great Camera! I am a amature photographer. My husband purchased this camera for me as a Mother's day gift. It has become very well traveled. I have gotten many compliments on the photographs that I have taken with it. It's very easy to use and very straight forward as far as applications. July 21, 2010
Page: 6 7 8 9 10 ... 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
9 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers