Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
We have not had any problems with are D-40 camera. We have used this camera every where we have went, taking picutres of everything. July 26, 2010
Makes novices like me take great pictures! I bought my D40 two years ago, after trying other DSLRs that my friends had, and they had a whole array of brands and models. Only the Nikon helped me take good pictures right away, and the controls are easy to use. It's dumb-proof! I chose the D40 because it is lightest and fits my budget. I continue to take great pictures that my friends always seem impressed about. I recently took it biking and even to a snowy mountain retreat... and it's still working just fine! July 26, 2010
Easy to use, yet fully sophisticated I have had the D40 for a couple of months and have yet to scratch the surface of this powerhouse camera. It invites experimentation and yet lets you point and shoot in it's auto mode. With all the lenses available, the possibilities of fulfilling your photo needs are assured... July 26, 2010
This product has great features I am very pleased with my Nikon D 40. I made a lot of beautiful pictures with it. I would also like to try other Nikon models: D 3000, D 5000. July 26, 2010
The D40 is easy to use for everyone This camera makes me look like a professional. It is easy to use and great for beginners or more experienced photographers. The picture quality is breath taking. It is good for photographing all situations. As a few examples, I have some excellent photographs of birds, butterflies, flowers, portraits, and action sports shots. I love this camera! July 26, 2010
D40 best digital SLR ever - why did Nikon stop? I used Nikon 35mm film SLRs for 40 years before moving to digital. The Nikon D40 has it all: low price, very fast (those big D40 6 megapixel DX pixels capture more light per pixel than a 10 megapixel DX image sensor does), fun lenses that are relatively cheap. The D40, combined with iPhoto on my Mac, quickly convinced me of the merits of digital photography, and I never looked back. Oh, but Nikon, you stopped making this wonderful camera! Now you only offer more expensive DX format DSLRs that lost the fast response of the D40, and add nothing features like swivel LCD screens and useless video capture. Too bad for you, and too bad for the friends to whom I said "If you're buying a DSLR the Nikon D40 is the DLSR to get." July 25, 2010
the camara is very easy to use I CHANGED FROM A 35 mm PROFESIONAL SLR FOR THE FIRST TIME TO A DIGITAL SRL,I FOUND I CAN DO LOTS OF NEW TRIKS WITH IT LIKE DISREGARD WITHOUT PRINTING THE PICTURES I CONSIDER IRELEVANT,I ADAPTED EASILY TO THE CHANGE. I ALSO FOUND EASY TO USE THE SOFWARE THAT COMES WITH IT. July 25, 2010
Great, everyday DSLR. The step up from a point and shoot to the D40 is like going from a Pinto to a Porsche. The light weight, though sturdy feel make the D40 a great addition to any outing or vacation. The ability to shoot with a full range of lenses and the high quality resolution make ordinary events appear extraordinary when viewed. People think I'm a great photographer, but I just rely on Nikon and my D40 to make me look good. Thanks for this affordable camera for the average photographer. July 25, 2010
Awesome Entry Level Camera For the novice photographer, this camera is a must have. There are enough features on the camera to take great pictures, but not so many features that leaves the novice never using the camera again. Also, you can use different lenses on this camera, which makes it even more versatile. Although this camera is no longer on the store shelves, a quick Internet search can help find this unit at a very reasonable price. Whether taking a long distance photo at your local sporting event, or taking pictures of a humming bird on your back deck, this camera covers all bases. July 25, 2010
overall it takes good pictures my only criticism is that i cant seem to get good low light pictures. when my granddaughter was born i could not get pictures without flash in hospital rooms. July 25, 2010
Image quality, ease of use, battery life are great My wife and I love this camera, it is always in the house for shots of wildlife and grand kids. Rick July 25, 2010
Great photos on a budget! My D-SLR life really started with the D40. I know it's not 10MP but it takes great photos, is quite fast and has a small chassis so why would anyone use a compact? With my active family, sports, acting events and graduations galore I am very pleased. I know that once I get the Nikon 18-200 lens it will get even better. I can't wait. With this camera I am finally sold on digital. I know this camera is no longer made as the 3000/5000 models took over. This camera will stay in my bag for quite some time. July 25, 2010
Great DSLR! The D40 was a great purchase for our family. All of us find it very easy to use yet has the capability of doing very customized photograhy. July 25, 2010
Excellent product for traveling Compact in size and weight Excellent in auto mode, color mode: vivid and more vivid, good WB Simple enough for newbies in the world of DSRL. July 25, 2010
Great beginner camera This camera is a great stepping stone to more advanced cameras with greater fetures. We found the auto features to take great pictures. By adding a telephoto lens with the standerd lens that came with it, it's all we'll ever need. July 25, 2010
Great little camera, does a lot more than expected The D40 is a wonderful, inexpensive little consumer DSLR. It's inexpensive, small (for those who like that sort of thing) reasonably light for its size and shoots incredible photos even with the kit lens. Honestly, once you get familiar with all it's features you can take some real pro-lookin' shots; the lens I use most is the kit 18-55mm. I have to say though, that lens does start to give problems pretty quickly. Within the first year and a half it developed AF issues which persist up to today, but with a little fiddling around it starts working again. The problems are also just more of an annoyance than a real issue. So after 3 years usage, my D40 is still going strong and has never let me down yet. July 25, 2010
This is the best camera I ever had... I bought my D40 in Luxemburg in 2006 and I was impressed with the quality, speed and the poor weigth of the camera. My previous SLR camera's had been analoge up till then and I never thought that a Digital SLR could perform as good. July 25, 2010
excellent Easy to use and you can take outstanding photos........................................................................................................................................................................................................... July 25, 2010
I love the Nikon D40. It takes fantastic photos It is an excellent camera and very affordable. Love it. July 25, 2010
Makes great pictures. Great camera. Very easy to us, even for a novice like myself. Pictures are only limited by my imagination. July 24, 2010
Great camera I love this camera. It is much easier to use than I expected and it takes great pictures. The only down side is the size--the camera I had before would fit in my purse--this one will not. July 24, 2010
Confident I will get the image I want to capture I have been active in various forms of photography for over 40 years, for personal, business, and professional pourposes. Working in the production of audio visual products, National Guard Public Affairs, and in my own studio. During these years I have used mostly film cameras. The D40 is first the digital camera that I have owned with the speed an accuracy of a file camera. I am impressed with cameras ability to react to my pressing of the shutter button almost instantly and deliver excellect quality images. I feel very confident that I will get the image I want when using the D40. I am proud to add the D40 to my collection of Nikon equipment. Now retired, the D40 is mostly being used to record the activities of my grandchildren. July 24, 2010
Excellent entry level DSLR This is my first SLR and I'm very happy with it, very responsive and robust, small size for take it everywhere, no regrets or complaints for it's price range. July 24, 2010
great starter slr digital camera this camera is a 9.5 on a scale of 10 being the highest,my only thing i hope it would have had at least 10 megipixels or having the capibility to be upgraded to more megs,other than that it stands a five star performer keep up the good work nikon July 24, 2010
Outstanding product, great value,great features. My transition from digital to dslr. Found product to be easy to use. with proper technique, produces great photographs. An excellent camera for the transition. I used Nikon film cameras and this camere follows the trend into the digital era without complication July 24, 2010
Excellent DSLR with alot of options. Being my first DSLR camera, I was looking for something that was easy to use, took great pics and was available at a great price. I found all this and more in the D40! Additionally, i love the tutorial on Nikon's website about all the features available and how/why/when to use each. I absolutely recommend the D40 to anyone looking for a great camera. July 24, 2010
Alternate B&W with color for best results My Nikon D-40 allows me to capture what my eyes see better than any other camera I've used over the past 40 years. The color balance from the exposure guides and metering system don't come close to the human eye, but they are best I've seen on a camera. The controls and Nikon SB-30 flash require some practice, and to learn Manual techniques requires the camera's cost in time spent learning photographic techniques. While this is true for every camera, the Nikon D-40 feedback loop makes it the fastest tool to learn to use. This camera is easy to use in auto mode, but for creative purposes, set the P, S, A, and M modes for B&W, leaving auto for color. Shooting in both modes alternately shows you instantly what to meter, , refocus, what depth of field to choose and so on.. Set the manual to f/16 and the Nikon sharpness on B&W is superb. July 24, 2010
Great Camera I receive compliments all the time on my great pictures, and what an "eye" I have for taking pictures. It has nothing to do with me and everything to do with the camera and editing software. I rarely take my camera off auto and just focus and shoot. Alot of times I find something in the background that I never noticed before and I end up using that as a picture as well. I highly recommend this camera. July 24, 2010
Light Weight & SLR The D40 being one of the first SLR digital camera was the plus. Being a Nikon was the greatest plus. I've been a Nikon user for 45 years. I still have my Nikon F. Thank you Nikon. July 24, 2010
Would never give it up!!! I have used it for three years. Many new and higher MP cameras have been introduced, but my reliable D40 is still always with me. The wonderful sensor coujpled with the intuitive easy-to-use features produce wonderful images. I am a senior amateur photographer, and I use the D40 to teach basic photography to other seniors in a monthly class. The D40 is a true classic and part of the reason I am a Nikon user forever! July 24, 2010
Page: 3 4 5 6 7 ... 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
9 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers