Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
The D40 was a good jump from a point-and-click After 2 years of shooting photographs with the Nikon D40 and learning about art and photography I felt it was time to take the next step in DSLR cameras. My Nikon D40 was not holding up to what I expected in a DSLR. It was sluggish to respond (take photos) and never did take 2 photos successfully in 1 second. There are a lot of issues with the camera wanting to focus on a subject then go out of focus then refocus before taking a shot. Many times I had to work around it by switching it into the manual focus mode to get a shot. Some people were out shooting me with cheaper cameras and were getting photos than me. And six mega pixels is not enough when I need to crop a lot of my shots. (Unlike the people that write about photography I do not have hours to set up my shots. I have to work a real job to have the money to pay my bills. I am lucky to get a couple of hours per week to devote to my art.) I did a lot of comparisons between Canon and Nikon DSLRs and read a lot of reviews. I spoke to several amateurs that are shooting DSLRs and Nikon came up short in the feature that I felt was most important to my style of photography. For a little less than a Nikon D90 I purchased a Canon T2i that does circles around my Nikon D40 and it has 18 mega pixels. Nikon does not have anything in that price range that has anything remotely close to 18 mega pixels. I am keeping my Nikon for when my wife and I go on another vacation. She will have a camera and so will I. Who knows. Maybe in a few years I will purchase another Nikon, if you have a superior camera to Canon at the price range that I can afford. July 19, 2010
I would only recommend this if seriously discounted in price. Now, you can buy a better Nikon for the same price I paid. This camera is not easy to use to get good pics. July 19, 2010
On/Off The camera has a lot of good features for point and shoot photography. All work well for my use. But often times the camera will freeze like it doesn't want to take the picture. I have to turn the camera off/on. Very frustrating when you want the camera to take the shot. July 19, 2010
Bad Power Supply After about a year of use the camera stopped working (would not power up). Took to a shop for repair and they had to replace the power supply board which was expensive. I am very careful with my equipment and it should last much longer before repair is ever needed. July 19, 2010
no not like changing lens a good camera but to get one good overall lens cost is stupid,not enough range with kit lenses,did not use full range of settings,usually left camaera in auto mode,sold it July 19, 2010
The camera works fine in general, but I had to repair it 3 times, in a lenght of 3 years, spots on the inside mirror, flash stoped working & lens automatic system failed, I used my warranties that I purshased for 3 years. I hoped that repairs would had to be done for longer use. I am in doubt in buying another nikon after my experiece. July 19, 2010
Great on Automatic, Poor on Manual In full automatic mode, the D40 is simply great. It's hard to take a bad snapshot. I use it for bar photos with an auxiliary flash with excellent results. The quality of construction, battery life, and ease of use are excellent. The camera has a great feel. It is very difficult to get predictable results with manual settings. For example, I took the D40 to the beach last weekend for a series of test photographs. I put the D40 on a tripod and attempted to photograph water running back into the Gulf of Mexico after a wave. I wanted to determine the optimal shutter speed to give just the right amount of blur. At the minimum ISO of 200, no shutter speed slower than 1/30 of a second would produce a usable picture at the smallest aperture of f/22, even for test purposes. There is no straightforward way to produce a controlled photograph with this camera. July 19, 2010
It was a good camera, it lack some things I was looking for. I would recomend an upper end Nikon. That is what is on my wish list, possibly the D90 or D5000 in that order. July 19, 2010
Good but a bit long in the tooth. I enjoy using my Nikon D40 but feel it is near the time in which this model should be retired. The focusing, for example, utilizes only three areas, which makes it not particularly functional compared to the newer model DSLRs. A recent update of its firmware, however, has improved other aspects of the cameras features. This was a pleasant surprise as I have a Nikon dedicated film scanner that the company has completely abandoned, which has been extrememly frustrating. I use my D40 with the relatively new 18 to 200 mm VR zoom lens. There is quite a bit of barrel distortion and pincushioning, etc. with this lens, but when used in the mid range it works quite well. I do suggest that anyone who is serious about photography purchase a full format model, such as a D3 or even the D700. What I am hoping for is that the next truly pro model is as rugged as the D3 iterations but small and light like the D700. Also, a pro lens that approaches the range of the 18 to 200 mm, but of better quality, would be a joy, if this were possible. I would imagine Nikon is working on such a thing. July 19, 2010
light wt easy to use I love the camera and am learning all the time about different features. I do get frustrated when I click and the sutter does not go. Still struggling to figure this one out. I will be purchasing a wide angle lens soon for my trip to P.E.I. July 19, 2010
Great product for newbies to digital photography! I've been a fan of Nikon since 1954, when I bought the Nikon version of the Contax -- was it Model S2 or F2? -- at an Army PX in Tokyo, and when that marvelous camera was stolen from my car, I turned to a Nikormat FTN with a 1.4 lens. In 2001, when I decided to switch from a lifetime of analog photography to digital, I bought the D40, the bottom of the DSLR line. I've found its photographic results superb. HOWEVER . . . my major problems have been with the instruction book: THE PRINT IS JUST TOO SMALL, AS ARE THE ILLUSTRATIONS! It's all too hard to see for this geezer! For example, it was very easy to use the self-timer on my analog Nikormat -- but I've never been able to do so on this D40 -- the instructions seem too complicated and the illustrations in the manual too small. In fact, I can't keep using a magnifying glass every time I have a question.Also, downloading photos to my computer seems very complicated -- so my wife does it on her computer without some of the intervening steps described in the D40's manual! I still have not been able to make out all the items on the D40's screen and I stick to Auto mode! And I'd really have preferred that the screen be available to compose on, rather than just to see the finished photos -- so I'm forced to uise the optical finder to frame and compose. I appreciate the very short time lag between pressing the shutter release and the photo being taken; in fact, I don't bother with pressing the release halfway -- I press it ALL THE WAY, and I still get my pictures. The bottom line is that I use my D40 to point-and-shoot, and forget all about the other things I can do with this camera, I find that regrettable!! It's come to the point where I use my Sony videocamera more often than my D40! This longtime Nikon fan of more than 50 years now feels sorry to tell you this -- but this is the fact! The camera takes second place in my camera bag. July 19, 2010
Very good camera for my purposes Sometimes I am surprised how detailed and clear photo's I have made with this camera July 19, 2010
This is a pretty good camera Wish I had bought the D5000 instead. I like the screen viewing before pix taken, and the D40 is only thru the lens viewing,and framing, using the screen only after the pix have been taken. July 19, 2010
Affordable entry level DSLR Overall it has been a great camera. All the features and short learning curve. Sensor developed a red line and had to be replaced. Luckily it was just inside the 1yr warranty. No problems since then. Would not have been happy with the camera or Nikon if it wouldn't have been covered. July 19, 2010
this product is easy to use the "P" mode associate with the white balance correction is very practible. July 19, 2010
Great camera when the auto focus works. I have had this camera for 3 1/2 years. I have used it for all types of pictures in a multiple places and taken almost 6000 pictures with this camera. It is very easy to use and get high quality pictures. The only issue I have is the autofocus lens. About 2 years after the purchase, the lens had to be repaired. It stopped "autofocusing." Now it is again acting up. If not for that I would give it a very high mark. July 19, 2010
a good starter system I've purchased D40's for both the wife and son. It's a great basic system that delivers excellent photos. Basic enough for a complete novice to use, but includes enough features for someone to actually start to learn photography. It's been replaced by an inferior system, IMHO...I'd like to see Nikon bring back an updated D40. July 19, 2010
It's easy to use low price for a nice good camera. It is not difficult to operate. nice good Quality of pic and good size of pic in jpg July 19, 2010
simple but simple The word is simple, there is a BUT. All of it must be done bij the menu. Battery use is good. Hand holding is also nice. I have used the camera for four years, the service of Nikon is fine. Therefore i had chosen for my new camera. There is al acccesble by one step, but the camera is about 700 gram. When you don't know al lot of photographie, the D40 is a pretty camera (digital hard working) when you have a lot of knoledge the D40 is working hard to get your picture. July 19, 2010
Flash does not work This is my third Nikon and I like the quality and ease of operation etc. The problem with my D40 is that just over a year after I purchased it the built in flash quit working. It was not dropped or damaged in any way. To repair it I have to send it back to Nikon and be without a camera for several weeks plus pay for the repair. I have a Nikon hot shoe flash and it's much bulkier so I have to use that instead. The problem is with the electronics in the camera and I feel it should be repaired for free or at least I have a loaner camera during that time. July 19, 2010
Great for beginners My first SLR camera ever. User friendly and light weight. I personally think its great for tourists who want to capture moments at a better quality. July 19, 2010
good entry level camera a good entry level camera, very easy to use and flexible. great quality shoots at a reasonable price. my d40, however had an electrical short and froze up. So I bought a d5000 body since i already had several lens that fit either the d40 or d5000.... July 19, 2010
Good for beginners...but you'll quickly move on. Great for starters and for learning camera functions. .AF doesn't work with other lenses which is a huge deal if you want to advance your skills. I had one for about 2 months and wanted a new one. I still have it, but I never use it after upgrading. Sort of a waste of $450. July 19, 2010
Unsatisfactory performance Camera has been sent to Nikon repair 3 times. We have paid over $170.00, but Nikon has not been able to fix the problems. July 18, 2011
Depends on why you want it. If all you're going to do is take snapshots with the lens that comes with the camera, then all is fine and well. However, this is not a good camera to use if you are planning on taking action pictures or anything that might require buying another lens. This camera lacks a motor which allows automatic focusing of lenses. As such, any lens you buy for this camera needs an internal motor within it, making each lens you buy more expensive. If you're planning on getting serious about photography, then you may as well spend the extra money on a decent camera body instead of paying for it in lenses later. June 23, 2011
this product is very short onfeatures first of all i make my living with a cemera. secondly i have been very disapointed with my D40 I purchased it as a back up for my older D200. to begin with it dors not it does not transmit a picture from lens to lcd screen a feature that has been an intrigal a feature that has been standard on most cameras for years also the memory menu takes as many as three times to take i have had to use your service dept twice just to program it at all July 21, 2010
this product has flaws you should of recalled this camera and fixed the auto focus.this was is a major problem July 20, 2010
not worth the money it's not a bad camera, but it has some not so good features for a photographer. it would be great for a home use camera, for taking pics of family, the dog, or a reunion. but it lacks a lot of the better qualities needed in a camera for anyone interested in being a real photographer. the flash is terrible, not enough megapixels. July 19, 2010
Not enough pixels Although the D40 can use different lenses and allows manuel focus the low pixels make it hard to enlarge the pictures. I shoot wildlife, mostly birds and even with a 55-200 lens the pictures can get grainy. It seems that the only way I can get a camera to do what I want is to spend a lot of money that I do not have. July 19, 2010
The product broke :( My nikon d40 decided to stop working. Timer mode will not turn off for some reason. Its almost like the camera has frozen or some thing. Before this happend i love the D40. All I'm left with now is a camera that doesn't work. July 19, 2010
Page: 39 40 41 42 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years ago
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
7 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers