Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
I found this camera to be an excellent entry into a little more serious digital photography than the point and click variety of cameras. There are enough pre-sets that you can start taking pictures right out of the box but also enough custom functions and settings to allow you to expand your skills as a photographer. July 19, 2010
Great features except for flash I purchased the D40 in August 2008. For all outdoor photographs in good light it takes exceptional photographs. Close-ups and landscapes under these conditions are crisp, true to color, and vivid. The one feature that is disappointing is the flash. Indoors, and under medium to low- light conditions outdoors, the flash produces bleached out/washed out colors and uneven-lighting. In low-light, only half the room is illuminated, as though the flash is going off a moment behind the shutter. Overriding by turning off the flash leads to bluriness, as would be expected since the ISO is not high enough for low-light conditions. July 19, 2010
my results are fair. I had better results with my Nikon 35mm. not the same picture quality. July 19, 2010
Nikon D40 - Great Stepping Stone or Family DSLR I got the Nikon D40 as a step into photography above what a point and shoot could provide for me. It was a much more capable camera than I thought it would be and well above my experience level at the time. Even though I have since went with the Nikon D300s, I still miss my D40. It seemed to know what I was thinking and just worked well for me. The size was great too, not bulky and still felt pretty good in my hands (I'm 6'2). The camera was durable, yet light and very fun to use. A great camera for a first DSLR, even today. One piece of advice for anyone who buys one of these, if you decide to upgrade - keep the D40 in your kit as well, you'll enjoy it for many years! July 19, 2010
RECOMMEND love the camera. is for people who like photography, without being professional, is economical but very good camera, I recommend. July 19, 2010
This camera has been great! Great little camera! Light weight, fits well into my hands. Novices could easily pick up on its many features, and you don't have to be an expert to use it. I've done weddings, landscapes, portraits and holiday shots. I've even sold one of my pictures to a tourism calendar! How great is that! Be prepared to be wowed by this camera. July 19, 2010
Great photos great photographs large image sensor not enough focus sensors July 19, 2010
D40 Great camera. Wish the extra lenses were not so expensive. Also wish the camera did video. July 19, 2010
Was a great starter, but lenses can be expensive I only owned my D40 for 3-4 months before I up (down) graded to the D80 for it's autofocus motor for older lenses. Still a great camera, and the 'stock' 18-55 lens can't be beat. July 19, 2010
good stuff it's a pretty reliable product. i've been using it since 2008. never failed. great in outdoor, good for indoor. i recomend it for beginners. January 9, 2011
This is a great entry level camera I found the Nikon D40 to be a great starter camera. It is conveniently sized, easy to use, and the pictures, for the most part, are right on. The only problem I had was that highlights were sometimes blown out. I have since learned this to be a fault for most Nikon DSLRs including its replacement that I just bought; the Nikon D90. I guess i'll just have to learn to dial in less exposure on the meter. December 6, 2010
Just okay If you dont have on auto then I feel it is not really user frendly September 7, 2010
I have one complaint about my D40 My eyes are going bad, so I needed a self focusing camera. My problem is that in the second that I want to take the photo, I miss the shot, because the camera has a delay while focusing. Plus I dont have a manual, and need to read up on its features. August 25, 2010
for the price, it's a good introductory dslr I really have no complaints about the camera. It's a good "starter" camera for digital SLR. I would like a camera with more iso selections, shutter speeds, etc. But then I'm sure Nikon makes those, too.... July 31, 2010
This product is disappointing. The camera does not focus quickly enough and does not take the picture quickly enough. Also, it doesn't take many pictures one after the other except sometimes. July 29, 2010
dirty camera I know two other peaple who had dust get into the camera....I have a full 4 year warranty and still coast 30.00 to seng it in to clean it July 24, 2010
Beginners Pride The perfect companion for amateur photographers which include features like light body weight, high shutter speed and large LDC display resulting in ease of handling. Nikon Photography’s real Icon July 21, 2010
85% Overall good value for money. Have had trouble with dirty CCD from time of purchase. On auto setting most photo's tend to be dark requiring Photoshop touch up. Megapixel level not great but good for the price ... although it is kind of depressing to see some of the pocket models at lower prices with higher pixel density. You can't get the full manual control though with those pocket models. I find that I miss having f-stop control on the lens which is handy for foreground focus control in landscape shots. Excellent on power. I average 700 to 800 shots on a charge making this an excellent on the go travel camera for high end shots. No port for an external flash cord. Light weight and easy to control. Overall an excellent entry level SLR. July 20, 2010
Ilike the camera but the flash is t easy to go out on it need to make it easer to buy replacement parts. It is much easer and cheaper just to buy another July 20, 2010
complicated I got the D40 because I wanted the options: I wanted to be able to set my own focus, aperature, iso and all the rest. I can do this with my camera; but, after two years, I'm still learning all the buttons. There must be an easier, more intuitive, user interface. At the very least, the manual is in need of an English major. I have another gripe. Apparently, the only way to update the firmware is through a 32-bit Apple or Windows computer. I run 64-bit Linux. I don't like it that the company should exclude my access to updates for the camera. This is my first DSLR. I've gotten some good photos from it, and I feel like I am learning by using it, but for the most part I am learning what to look for in my next camera. July 20, 2010
Good pictures but technical glitches I take many pictures with 3 three young children and have gotten some really great shots with my D40. However, I had to send the camera back in year 1 (luckily still covered undert warranty) for issues of the camera not reading the lens (that it came with) attatched. Now about 3 years later I have occasional problems that when I press the shutter release button nothing happens. Again and again I press the button but nothing happens. I basically have to wait turn it on and off and eventually it starts taking pictures again. It does not happen all the time but occasionally. July 20, 2010
Many features and took beautiful pictures This Nikon took beautiful pictures and the ease of changing lenses is great. I have owned this camera just over a year now, but now the pictures turn out blurry when you press the shutter button the frame goes blurry and there goes the shot. July 20, 2010
Great features The only think that I dislike about this camera is that I can't see what I am shooting on the screen. Other than that I think it's a great camera, takes awesome pictures and the rez is awesome! July 20, 2010
This product is excellent for casual users. . . I purchased this camera after doing quite a bit of shopping around. Sadly, I missed one rather obnoxious aspect: no in body metering. I had thought this camera was aimed at students, but I soon found that it was made with home users in mind. The camera body requires D-series lenses with built-in metering to have capability to measure light. What's more, due to that limitation, all modes save for Manual are non-functional unless a D-series lens is attached. Thus I state, that as the camera comes packaged, it is intended for grandparents, mothers, family vacations, etc. However, this camera can attach almost the entire back-catalog of older manual Nikon lenses. And this provides an interesting option for people such as myself. A full manual, non metering camera. My personal preference is to attach the fast old manual 50mm ƒ1.8 Series E to augment the camera's already respectable (for it's price) low-light handling. This pairing makes the camera, while not perfect, quite suitable for almost any lighting in which I might want to snap a portrait. Additionally, without auto-focus and metering, this setup maxes out the camera's frames per second capability and never leaves me waiting on the camera to recover from caching to the SD card. Sadly, the camera is starting to show it's age when compared to other models. Regardless, for anyone who will seriously push their hardware, this light easy-to-use little number is straight forward and reliable. Recommended for anyone who will only use it with D-series lenses, or anyone who wants a low-cost and highly portable camera to push to it's limits. July 20, 2010
This is very good for normal user but not for professional. July 20, 2010
compromised quality although my initial impression was one of excitement, after about a year it turned to disappointment. picture quality is well above average and ease of use is excellent. some bright colors tend to be overblown but that was easy to work around. what was unacceptable to me however was the amount of technical difficulties that i encountered with the d-40. the standard kit lens motor quit working just after the 1st year was up. i replaced the lens after speaking to service dept. only later did i find out that i had an extended warranty on the lens which helped to ease my pain. nikon repaired the lens at no cost when i sent it to them. i only wish service would have told me that the warranty was 5 years. less than a year after that my flash completely quit firing and here was the real rub. i sent it in for repairs and after what seemed like an extra-ordinary amount of time called to find the status. you can (by the way) track the status of your repair online but the use of some cryptic codes sometimes makes it difficult to understand exactly what the hold up is. upon calling for an explanation i was actually told that an entirely new, (standard i might add) flash unit had to be ordered from japan. i found it difficult to believe there is no parts inventory here in the US but that seems to be the case. the camera still fits my needs and seems to impress almost anyone else who uses it, but sadly after 30 years of nikon use, i think my next purchase will come from the competition. July 19, 2010
Great in it's time but surpassed in most ways The D40 is great. Small, light weight, and a fantastic 1/500th of a second flash sync. But it tends to overexpose pictures, forcing one to roll back the compensation, and it doesn't have D Lighting. The perfect entry level DSLR is a D5000 in a D40 body with the 1/500th flash sync & D5000 image quality. If they ever get video that autofocuses, that would be nice too. But with rumors of a D3000 upgrade coming, I'd hold off buying a used D40 if you can live without the 1/500th flash sync (although that annoys me like crazy when I use my 35mm f/1.8 lens). July 19, 2010
Great for beginners Even with the simple features it has I think this is an awesome camera for someone that wants to learn about photography. There could be some other stuff that would be lovely to have as bracketing and some more non CPU lenses support... but anyways there are other models that suit those needs July 19, 2010
Very disappointing I have always used Nikon cameras in my lifetime. At first, this was a great product, but then the auto focus stopped working, then I could not get it to even take a photo at all - the shutter release just did not work. This all happened JUST AFTER THE WARRANTY ENDED. So I had to send it back and pay for the repair myself. The camera was expensive enough without this added expense. Since I have had it back, it has sometimes opted out of doing certain functions at certain times. Bogus. July 19, 2010
Not Sure I am not sure that I would buy this camera, if I had the choice again. I have used some other digital cameras that offer good quality with ease of use and also had SLRs before. With this camera, I wanted the control of the SLR and better picture quality. I haven't had enough time to fully learn this camera but it seems to have less features than my digitals and harder to use, plus it doesn't seem to have the control I enjoyed with my old SLR film camera. One oddity is that it doesn't display the scene on the display and allow it to be used to compose the picture. It has automatic features that defeat my trying to run completely manual, like night time photography; it keeps wanting to use the flash. I hope to learn this camera more and perhaps will become more satisfied with it. But at this point, I am not sure if I made the right decision to buy it. July 19, 2010
Page: 39 40 41 42 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
7 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers