Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
Too bad it has been discontinued! This is a great camera for the price. There is nothing entry-level about the image quality. This camera is so much better than the new D3000. The flash sync. speed is 1/500 which is so much better than 1/200 or 1/250. It also processes much faster than the 10mgp. cameras do. Change is usually good except when you go backwards. Put a 50mm f1.4G on a D40 and portraits are awesome!!! July 19, 2010
Good ol' camera The D40 has served me well, and so I've chosen to spend my photography funds on lenses rather than a newer camera. Mine still meets my needs, though I'd like some of the advanced features of its brethren, such as video and multi-parameter setting presets. When the D90 is upgraded to match the capabilities of the competition, in regard to video and other features, I'll think about a new camera. Or perhaps it will be the 5000 that acquires a prism and a hi-res display? I don't need a motor in the body. In any event, I do like one feature of the D40 that has vanished from the newer cameras: the 1/500 second flash sync. July 19, 2010
Best First DSLR Great Photo Quality, Easy to use.White balance and exposure can be make better. no dust-reduction system. July 19, 2010
Compact, easy to use with great pictures Even though the camera only has a tad over 6 meg, the pictures are still 300 pixels per inch which makes all the difference. It's ready to use quickly and has never let me down. Has plenty of features, most I don't really need but it's nice to have them if the need arises. My only complain would be way too much red on longer exposure night shots. July 19, 2010
This camera is great The camera is great, but I wish that there were more accs.available, such as lens x1.5 or 2.0 and some other things. July 19, 2010
Very Pleased with My D40 The D40 is my first digital SLR, after 30 years of film photography. I've had it for three years, and have used it in every environment except underwater. I'm very, very pleased with it. 6.1MP is not a limitation in any way -- the resolution is limited by the printer or monitor at sizes up to 8x10. The quality of the lens is far more important than the number of megapixels in the sensor. My only complaints are: One, scenes which include the sun or other very bright source of light show obvious gradation and are not "smooth." This seems to be a common problem in digital photography, I see it everywhere, not just with my D40. Two, exposure is consistently too high, with frequent "blow-outs." This is easily avoided by keeping exposure compensation at -0.7 at all times, and using "D-Lighting" in Capture NX to restore the right exposure. This is not a great drawback, as anyone with a digital camera should have Capture NX or similar editing software -- it's the first accessory you should buy. Overall, I absolutely love my D40. July 19, 2010
Best Camera Ever except.... Fantastic camera meets and exceeds all expectations but has one niggling problem. With the chronic "Lens Not Attached" problem that many have blogged about. Am using the 18-135 lens that came bundled with the camera. Wiggling solves the problem and a dry wipe and repeated depressing of the contacts and fingers resolves for a while. I wish the factory would offer a fix. Five stars without that problem. July 19, 2010
Good entry level DSLR camera Easy to use, fast auto focus. The most annoying thing to me is that it can't take more that 3 pictures in a row i.e. after 3 pictures it slows down significantly. Though, I guess, you get what you pay for? The form and finish of the camera is outstanding - fits into my arm naturally. I actually like the way it's shaped quite better than Canon does. July 19, 2010
Small, compact and usability The D40 is a really interesting device despite its 6 million pixels and its performance limitations. It allows me to carry around everywhere, it is friendly and easy to use. It is small and easy to transport. I have a lot of fun taking pictures with ... Too bad it will be more available, the others (D50-D60 and D3000 et D5000) that are too big ... July 19, 2010
Mostly satisfied I've had this camera for some months now, and I'm really pleased with the overall result. I've had time to tinker with it a lot and it's a very easy camera to use. I would discard some of the automatic options, I only use the P,A,S,M modes and the other ones I just don't need. The bad thing is I have some sunset photos ruined by some blooming, (a series of horizontal aberrations in hard light). They tell me it's a sensor thing, so I guess there's not much fixing it. July 19, 2010
i love this camera, every amateur photograph should start his career with this one. July 19, 2010
little camera big possibilities Its small. Its tiny actually. After upgrading to a full size DSLR, the D40 almost feels like a toy. But when I look back at the pictures I've taken with it I find that the camera has performed very well. In sufficient light and the image quality is good. ISO 800 is acceptable, but noise starts to be noticeable. The coolest discovery I've made about the D40 and why I will keep it around is the fact that it can flash sync at ANY shutter speed. If you use a cable to fire the flash you can sync at max shutter speed and make noon day look like night. That is an extremely cool and fun trick. and can make your small flash look like a powerful monobloc July 19, 2010
Good solid backup to my D-60 I have started a semi-pro business and needed a back up camera. The D-40 serves my purposes well and is very reliable. July 19, 2010
Great for begineers I personally think it's a great for begineers, it's pretty easy to use and for all those that read the instructions can catch some good tips easilly. General good performance and great price. July 19, 2010
Great Camera for the money Hi bought this second hand last year and have been very pleased with the pictures. It is simple and easy to use with out being combersom. Ideal for an entry level camera for a novice or some one trying to convert from Film. July 19, 2010
I enjoy the clarity of the pictures. the ease of using the camera July 19, 2010
D40 is a great beginner model I like the D40. I think it has many features that a beginner photograper will like. Having auto programs that take care of all settings is great. It is like having an advanced point and shoot, as you can make many adjustments on the fly. I use the D40 as a backup to my D80. The only issue I have had (and still have) is the on-board flash has now failed. The camera is out of warranty, and I have several off-camera flashes that I use instead. All in all, the D40 is a great value for the price. July 19, 2010
I have good pictures without too much practice with this camera July 19, 2010
Some great features and a couple of gotchas For this price range, the only down side I found was the autoexposure, in S mode....things nearly always came back too bright. However, for a hobby camera, and an entry level unit, the camera is exceptionally well made and mine has traveled half the world. July 19, 2010
Great Buy The D-40 is sharper than many of the cameras with more mega pixals. Good all around unit with a good price. No problems with 3 years of use. July 19, 2010
Good intro camera This was my first digital camera, recommended to me by a photojournalist. It has taken some getting used to, not because of the camera but because of the jump from film to digital I assume. I like the crisp photos the camera produces. It's light and easy to hold. I don't like the shutter delay when taking photos in quick succession. It's irritating. You don't get the photos you actually take, especially if you are working in automatic mode -- even if you have it set on the action automatic setting. It's also more difficult than it should be to get the shots you want in low light settings on automatic. The camera is more difficult to learn to use than the point and shoot digitals, of course, but, for someone willing to put in a little effort this camera works well for the more advanced hobbyist. July 19, 2010
It's a fine DSLR if your starting out as photographer. July 19, 2010
Great entry level DSLR. I was looking for a good relatively inexpensive DSLR. The D-40 fits the bill in spades. The picture quality is excellent, and it is easy to use. July 19, 2010
This camera has realy great for beginners. The best camera for all begginer users. Simple and with great results. Sometimes I just give my camera to my yong brother (5 years old) and he take amazing pictures. JUST TRY IT! July 19, 2010
Great Photos, Light Weight The D40 is an awesome camera. Its size and light weight allow you the flexibility to take it with you everywhere. I'm an avid hiker and photographer, and the D40 has been the perfect camera for these hikes. The image quality is superb! prints up to 8x10 look absolutely amazing. Although low light photography is a little difficult handheld, snap this camera onto a tripod and you're golden. All in all I think the D40 is a great entry level/fast and light weight camera. It is a shame they replaced it with the D3000, which from my own comparisons and the reviews of friends, does not hold up against the D40. July 19, 2010
The D40 is a great camera for the price The D40 is a great entry-level DSLR. The body is very light-weight but does not feel like it will fall apart (something I've felt with various P&S cameras). The image quality far exceeded my expectations. The lack of an internal focusing motor should not prevent anyone from purchasing the D40 because there are many lenses that can be used with this camera body. July 19, 2010
Great Beginner Camera I have had this for about a year and it sure made it easier before jumping to an upgrade. This sure taught me a lot about the controls, what I need to pay attention of, and the things I was really confused about. As I jumped to a D80 later on, it became a breeze and there's really not a lot that I should know about because this, the D40 served as a good training ground. Now in terms of learning about photography, that's another story. We have to go out and practice! July 19, 2010
EXCELLENT CAMERA AS FAR AS PICTURES GOES. DISSAPOINTED THAT FLASH STOPPED WORKING AFTER ABOUT A YEAR AND A HALF. $165.00 REPAIR BILL. BUT HAD TO HAVE IT WORKING NO ONE OFFERED ANY ASSISTANCE FOR REPAIR July 19, 2010
Great and low cost. Great camera, good resolution, basic professional functions, superior quality of the lenses, compatibility with non digital nikon lenses. July 19, 2010
Great starter DSLR Bought this for my wife. She was tired of missing shots with a point-and-shoot. Very light and easy to use. I sometimes use it instead of heavier Nikon DSLRs I own. Some of my auto-focus lenses don't work with it, but I knew that when I bought it. All-in-all, I'm very satisfied. July 19, 2010
Page: 38 39 40 41 42 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
7 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers