Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
Superb camera for beginner or Pro! I have used mine for near infrared with good results, and no conversion. 1.Use infrared filter. 2.Set white balance to Incandescent +3. 3. Set ISO to 800. 4.Point and Shoot Handheld, enjoy! August 1, 2010
Light, good for every-day use. The sensor produces adequate colors and it has little noise/ disorters. It's controls are easy to manage and logical to learn. It works great with new AF-S lenses. It's AF is precise enough. August 1, 2010
D40 is excellent and easy to use I have enjoyed using my Nikon D40 for about three years now. A friend suggested to my husband that he purchase it for my birthday. Then the friend challenged me to a 10-week contest shooting a different photo style each week (i.e., reflections, perspective, candid, landscape, etc). This was his way of encouraging me to learn all of the features on my camera. I'm now very comfortable with my D40. It's a breeze using the apperture settings, white balance, and switching to other lenses. It was so easy and fun at the same time. I have so many wonderful images and many people have asked what kind of camera I used to get the amazing shots. I would definitely recommend my D40 to anyone. August 1, 2010
Great camera I am an experienced user of film cameras. This D40 was my first attempt at using a digital camera. It was easy to learn to use, and has me hooked on digital photography. I'm ready and eager to step up to more advanced models. Nikons of course... July 31, 2010
Great DSLR with options I have been very pleased with my D40 as I enjoy all the features, and use them. I know several other models have video, yet I am old school and think if I want to take movies I will buy a digital recorder. This camera has provided me with so much in quality of image, stability, durable and flexibility. So many features to use, and I've been shooting photos for over 40 years. Started off in a B/W box camera, tried many cameras and so far this is my best. Worth getting the extra lens and I always have an extra battery charged. The battery life is remarkable, but long sessions can run it down in time. Great Buy!! July 31, 2010
The best way to enter into the DSLR world! I bought my D40 sometime in November 2008. I have taken more than 10,000 shots with it by now and it has been a trusty partner in all my photographic adventures. What amazes me is it still works and feels the same way it did when i used it for the first time. Nikon has always been known for the ergonomics in its cameras and the D40 is no exception. It sits beautifully in my hands and the response is snappy. Considering that this is an entry level DSLR, the image quality can put many higher end cameras to shame. I have clicked perfectly useable shots all the way upto ISO800. Even ISO1600 works fine with some post processing noise reduction applied. This is quite a feat for a camera in this segment. If you are photo enthusiast and are just upgrading from a point and shoot to a DSLR, this is where you start. A word of advice though, if you have no intention of purchasing additional lenses for your SLR and dont know why/how to use them, DSLRs are probably not for you. You are better off with a high end point and shoot. But if you are serious, then D40 wont dissappoint you. After more than 2 years of shooting with it, i am finally planning to upgrade to a higher model, a D300s probably and use D40 as my backup. A 5 star product from trusty Nikon. July 30, 2010
Great starter camera I like the small size and compactness of the camera. I'm still learning more about how to use all the functions available. Wish I could have afforded the D40X, but 6 mega-pixels is fine for now. July 30, 2010
Excellent DSLR for the price! I am a professional photographer. My first DSLR was and still is the Nikon D40. It has everything I need to capture the perfect image. You are only limited by your imagination when using this camera. Why pay for an expensive camera when you can get the same great images. July 30, 2010
Overall great camera This is a great starter camera in the DSLR world. It's light and compact which is great for a female. The camera takes beautiful pictures with great saturation. My boyfriend who has a Canon is jealous of my saturation. I wish the camera was full frame, but you have a spend a bit more for that. I think it will take a long time for me to grow out of this camera. July 30, 2010
This product has great features I find that the D40 is easy to use. It is convenient in that I can set up different settings concurrently in order to take advantage of the conditions for the day and thus save time.The pictures are clear and in the main the resolution is fine. Sometimes I wished that I had the D40x with it's greater megapixel rating and higher Optical Zoom. However this is fairly rare for the majority of the pictures that I take. Ihave no trouble reproducing A4 prints with good results. It is easy to recharge the battery and I find I get in excess of 400 photos per charge, with occasional use of flash. All in all a great camera. I use it for a large variety of subjects. I take a large number of group photographs. July 29, 2010
An excellent camera for a beginner photographer My family have a rich history of photography, which inspired me to take up the hobby myself. The Nikon D40 is my first DSLR, and over the course of the last year and a half, I've enjoyed the experience immensely. I've learned much about the art of photography to a great extent and am still learning new things every time I use it. I've never owned another camera of it's calibur or better, but I'm confident this camera can rival more expensive models from Nikon as well as other recognised brands. Purchase with confidence! :) July 29, 2010
Great camera for the price This camera was purchased with lens for only $599. It has small body for a DSLR, lightweight but sturdy, great lens quality, good user interface and menu's. It takes excellent photo's. I would recommend it to anyone stepping up from a point and shoot but not looking to invest thousands in DSLR. July 29, 2010
Easy to use, fantastic features I've had the D40 for about 3 years and have taken over 6000 pictures with it. The pictures are crisp and clear just about every time. The features are easy to use and they make taking pictures a breeze. I love mine. July 29, 2010
The only DSLR most will ever need What can I say about this great little camera? Although I’ve bought more capable Nikon bodies because my needs have grown, I will NEVER sell my D40. Lightweight, small, rugged, easy to use, reliable, and very capable - it’s the only DSLR most people will ever need. Vari-program settings for those who want to use a DSLR but don’t want to learn about exposure and photography, but also has all the menus and controls needed to take control and perform serious photography, if that’s what you’re into. Takes beautiful, beautiful pictures either way. Still my preferred body to take on vacation and other to places where I want a serious camera without a lot of size and weight. GREAT family camera – kids in sports? The D40 is perfect for you! July 29, 2010
Great Transition Camera I purchased my D40 2 1/2 years ago. I moved up to the D40 from a point & shoot digital. I found the D40's ease of use and many features to more than satisfy my transition to a DSLR. I was not interested in shooting video so the lack of shooting video was not a problem for me. I purchased the 55-200mm AF-S NIKKOR VR lense and and extremely satisfied with this combo for shooting wildlife and aviation photos. July 29, 2010
One Great Camera ! This camera is everything I expected and more! It shoots very fast and the battery life is unbelieveable.Also its not as heavy as some other cameras.Auto mode is just fine 95% of the time .Multi modes are sure to offer you just about any option you may want! July 29, 2010
Great camera! I bought this camera after some careful research. I wanted a nice camera that is lightweight and easy to learn yet would take awesome pics. Boy did I choose wisely! I have had so much fun experimenting with all the options this camera offers. You can always get fancier, more expensive cameras, but for a newbie like me, this is perfect. Afterall, you don't want something so complicated and expensive that you are afraid to use it. Take my word for it, the Nikon D40 is a great camera! July 29, 2010
Great little camera for day to day use Best small camera. Not pocket size but it has APS-C size sensor so you get depth of field. Use it more than my D70. Not as many bells and whistles, but it is all I need. July 28, 2010
Great camera easy use and controls The Nikon D40 is a great camera for persons that want to transition into a DSLR for the first time. It control functions are easy to use and are located with in easy reach to the user. I have used this camera for about a year now and could not be more pleased with it. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone that wants a simple to use DSLR camera. July 28, 2010
Great Camera My Nikon takes great pictures and is easy to use. My son used it for the first time and took pictures at our daughter's wedding. Even without flash, it took perfect pictures of the ceremony. July 28, 2010
Awesome camera/awesome photos I purchased this as a beginner. My only regret is that it doesn't have image stabilization which is so very important when zooming. There are so many features on this camera that it's hard to remember; I understand the newer D3000 is much easier to operate. But I love the photos it produces and for a beginner, it is great. July 28, 2010
A great camera This camera is a very good choice for those who want to improve from compact ones to semi-professional ones. Quality pictures, flexibility and good price! July 27, 2010
This product exceeded my expecations for the $. I have tried many cameras and this camera is easy to use, onboard help feature makes this camera easy to setup and use without reading the manual. It is just a good camera. Have taken many pictures and without fail this camera beats the others as to quality. July 27, 2010
it's a best choice it's not very big it's very quick setup it's not difficulty July 27, 2010
Awesome Simple to use in automatic mode with just enough features for the tinkerer who likes to get in there and mess with settings (that's me) Still am amazed at how lite this thing is too!! 5 STARS from this user!! Great job Nikon!! July 27, 2010
It's a wonderful product with great features. My camera is outstanding. It takes the most wonderful pictures ever. I am thoroughly satisfied with the performance. I only wish I was ready to take a step higher and get another D?. I will keep what I have for now. July 26, 2010
Have been using this camera for over two years. I love it. It takes wonderful pictures and it is easy to use July 26, 2010
Good for DSLR beginners. I bought my D40 about 2 years ago, and it has been an excellent camera ever since. I have learned quite a bit using this camera, and I know I have much more to learn! I enjoy the quick shutter response, and the general good quality of photos that the D40 allows me to take. Since I've been using this camera, I have only missed a few features that it does not have. Automatic exposure bracketing and a higher synch speed with my hotshoe flash are a few that come to mind. However, I can still take decent photos without these features. (And any photo quality missing is my fault as the photographer, not the camera.) Don't be fooled by high-megapixel counts on point-and-shoot cameras or be swayed by a salesman who pushes you toward more advanced DSLRs. If you're a beginner to a SLR camera, the D40 is the way to go. July 26, 2010
The most reliable camera in the market! This product build quality and picture quality is remarkable for such a price. I intent to upgrade however I will keep my existing d40. July 26, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years ago
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
7 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers