Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
This camera is excellent for capturing action shots at sporting events. I love it! July 19, 2010
good product I love my D40. It takes great pictures and is easy to use. even though it has only 6 mps, the lenses more than make up for this. On the negative side, I sometimes feel that it may not have all the fancy features available with later generation Nikon SLRs, but for my purposes, it's great. July 19, 2010
D40 Review I've been shooting with my D40 for a couple of years now and have had a relatively good experience overall. Metering has been somewhat of an issue and the standard 18-55 kit lens has been somewhat limiting as well. Other than that, the camera takes photos that are consistently clear and bright. I've upgraded my lens and I believe I've now outgrown this body. I would like to upgrade but the other camera bodies are just out of my price range at this time. I would like to see Nikon go the way of Canon in that the motors are all housed in the body. I have found my lens choices are limited because of the need to find AF-S lenses for the D40 lens. I recently purchased the 35mm 1.8 lens and have been pretty happy with the overall performance since that time. July 19, 2010
This is primarily a beginner DSLR I really have had good experiences with the Nikon D40. Although I am looking to upgrade to something like the D90, the D40 has done some great things. The biggest downfall is the 6.1 MP sensor. The resolution is not as high as I would have hoped. If you want a good beginner DSLR with a higher resolution image sensor, I would recommend going for the Nikon D3000 or even the Nikon D5000. But the D40 has lasted a long time. It was passed down to me from my Uncle who put a lot of use into it and it still works like new. It lacks lower ISO speeds (200 minimum) but I have been able to work my way around that. If you are an experienced photographer and know how to use a DSLR camera well, then I would recomment going for the Nikon D90 or D300s. Or even the D700 up to the D3. The price goes up with value though. But overall, I love my D40 and will be sad to see it go. July 19, 2010
This camera has all that I was looking for. I purchased this camera with the thought that I could take the ever important Family pictures which I can print out on my computer. It gives me everything I could ask for. I am still learning how to work the many settings it has, but I am really satisfied with the results. Thanks again for putting out an excellent product. July 19, 2010
A great first time digital DSL I used this camera for abour 6 months and upgrated to a D-60 I loved the camers but needed pixels for larger prints. The person who bought the D-40 loves every aspect of it July 19, 2010
This is a great camera for beginner This is a great camera for a beginner. I has a lot of manual features that allow you to advance your photography talents as you grow with the camera, but by using the "auto" function you can take fantastic pictures from day one. My only disappointment was when the shuuter quit working after 2 years of use. July 19, 2010
Excellent beginner camera Excellent camera for beginners or for those stepping up from compact point-and-shoot cameras. July 19, 2010
The best of it's class NIkon D40 is one of the best SLR cameras that I have used so far. July 19, 2010
Good entry to DSLR The D40 takes very nice pictures. I taken a lot of 35 MM pictures and the D40 is better. The only problem I've had is the LCD on the back. Some pictures may look good then when I put them on the computer they maybe out of focus. Other then that the overall operation is as simple as you want and it will let you explore the manual settings us older guys knew with regular SLR cameras. July 19, 2010
My D40 Re-entry It had been several years since I had an SLR, and my last used film. I've had my D40 for 1.5 years, and really like it. Even though it is considered an 'entry' level camera, I can do things with it I could not have imagined with my top-of-it's-line film camera. It is very easy to use, and even my 12-24mm diesn't feel out of place on it. My only wish is that it had the tilting screen of the D5000 with the resolution of the D90. July 19, 2010
My Nikon D40 is a great camera. I like that it gives you the flexibility of either using the various digital-vari program modes or expanding your photography skills with the other modes: apperature, shutter, manual or programmed priority modes. It's a great basic SLR camera for the beginner like me, and I imagine appealing to those with more experience. I'm currently learning more about my camera by viewing a D40 training video. Once I've mastered this camera I look forward to upgrading to the D90. Thanks Nikon! July 19, 2010
I am more then satisfied with its features. The camera is a prized possession for me as it gives me great results and is easy to use. It truely is user friendly and most satisfying aspect is its long lasting battery which makes it more then its worth. Over all a great buy for the amateurs and to some extent the pros. July 19, 2010
Ups and downs downer - the camera doesn't always want to take pictures. Both my sister in law & I purchased this camera & we both had the same problem with the shutter button. If I tap the side of the camera it begins working again. upper - the camera takes great photos & is user friendly. It's a light weight camera, which is nice when you are out and about. July 19, 2010
best first entry dslr I used this camera almost everyday for 4 years and still going perfect.Light and easy to use.I love it July 19, 2010
Great entry level digital SLR I bought the Nikon D40 when graduating from roll film to digital. I didn't think digital would be anywhere near as good, but I was pleasantly surprised. Not only can I get excellent photographs, I don't even have to do much in the way of thinking to do it. In it's simplest form I get excellent quality and it has the versatility to give me a lot of creative scope too. An all round good performer, highly recommended for quality digital SLR on a budget. July 19, 2010
Good starting camera D40 was the first one consumer dSLR from Nikon. As a result of this there are some features that could be added and design decisions that could be made differently. However, as a beginner's camera it is great. It is still a very good dSLR. It will let yo learn how to make good interesting photos. After that, once you acquire enough experience you can go to more expensive ones. July 19, 2010
Lens jams. We bought the D40 after reading a stellar review by Ken Rockwell. We have been pretty happy with the quality of the camera and photos so far. Some photos come out hazy but that may be operator error. We keep it in a nice padded case and really don't use it that much but somehow the lens broke on a road trip, jammed up and wouldn't zoom. Did some research on the internet and jamming seems to be a trait for this lens model. Luckily we had the extended warranty and sent it to Nikon for repairs. Don't know what we'll do if it breaks again in three years. Had it back in a little over one week! Probably would have given it a five star rating if we hadn't had a problem. Would like to upgrade the lens to a Nikon 18-200mm VR someday but it's more than the original price of the camera kit. We have a friend that has the VR and it is a fantastic lens for zoom shots. He was able to get the shots we could only dream of. July 19, 2010
Solid, usable camera. The only issue I've had is the 18-55 lens, which Nikon has repaired twice under warranty. The body is fine as is the 70-200 lens. No complaints. July 19, 2010
Good enthusiast DSLR I am very satisfied with my first Nikon DSLR camera. Although, I wish I had a live preview mode on the LCD screen. Also, there is no movie mode on this camera. All in all, I am very satisfied with the picture quality and ease of use of this D40 DSLR camera. July 19, 2010
Great camera w/ some limits and some advantages The D40 is a great budget DSLR that has some features which make it an appealing option for pros with nicer cameras. The Good: **Great feel and Nikon build quality: When I was making the switch to digital from my film camera, I spent a lot of time poring over interface reviews as well as time in stores to see how the different brands felt. For my price range, the tech specs on competing cameras were similar or slightly better on other cameras, but the D40 felt so much more usable. It's not a camera that will get in the way of your shot, and it's hard to state how important that is. **Electronic shutter: This is the "feature" that makes this an important camera for even the pros. It states the maximum sync speed for the flash is 1/500 of a second, which is true for the pop-up flash. However, if you connect a flash to the hotshoe via a PC cord, you can get it to sync to the maximum shutter speed, 1/4000 of a second. Consider that this is 15-20x faster than a lot of professional cameras, and you've got a fantastic camera with a lot of versatility for freezing action. And to think, it probably has this as a cost-cutting feature! The Bad: **Needs more buttons: The downside of the D40 being a smaller DSLR is that there's not much room for versatile buttons (such as for changing the ISO quickly). It's not a problem for beginners, but it can slow you down at times if you're looking to grow as a photographer with the camera. Because of the good software design, it's not a huge problem, just a small hindrance at times. **Auto White-Balance can sometimes drift yellow: It's not always a problem, and it's trivial to prepare for/ correct afterwards, but I'd describe the auto white-balance as "Pretty good" moreso than "Spot-on". The Ugly: **No auto-bracketing: If you want to take a bracketed sequence of pictures, you'd better be sure it's on a sturdy tripod, because you're going to have to adjust the settings after each shot. I understand that more expensive cameras have more features and you have to make some tradeoffs, but this is an incredibly frustrating one. If the camera had this feature, I can unequivocally state I'd give it 5 stars. **No lens motor: To use autofocus with this camera, you have to have AF-S lenses. This limits your options drastically for finding cheap older lenses unless if you want to use them with manual focus. Nikon has a huge library of old lenses that are compatible with their new cameras, so it can be frustrating not to have easy access to them. However, given the cost of the camera, this is an understandable trade-off. Overall: I love this camera. It's let me grow as a photographer in so many ways, and it's let me get some great shots along the way. July 19, 2010
I have had my D-40 for about 3years. It has been a very reliable and convienent camera that has gone with me where ever I have gone. It responds quickly & easily. I have two lenses and both perform admirably. The colors the camera produces are very rich and I think overly saturated. That is corrected in printing. This is my first digital SLR. I do have a Nikon Coolpix 995 that started my digital work. I previously had Nikon FTN, Nikkormat FTN, FE and F2 and Hasselblad. The D-40 is the lightest, quickest, and most versatile to use. I think I am ready to step up to a 3000 or the next generation compact digital slr. July 19, 2010
Great camera, but not for beginners This camera will do well with a person who likes photography and not gadgets. It's 6MP, which some will scoff at, but it still takes great photos. Base ISO is 200. Pluses: 1/500 flash sync, 6MP, base ISO 200 Minuses: only 3 AF points, no built-in AF motor, no remote flash commander mode Subjective: No video, no live view July 19, 2010
Great DSLR entry level camera. This camera is easy to operate, fits my hands better than any other camera I tried, enough features to keep me interested but not overwhelmed. Teamed with a good lens it's capable of taking photos anyone would be proud of. July 19, 2010
Nikon D40 produces fantastic quality pictures I concentarte on Black and White pictures and, mostly of landscapes. I get much better pictures with my Nikon D40 than I used to get with Nikon 35 mm or other large format cameras. I like all the features available. This is a great camera. July 19, 2010
Pros: Size and weight. Synch speed Cons: No CLS for remote flash July 19, 2010
A winner It's a great camera that takes great photos. I don't take photos for a living by selling for card stock and hardly print over 8 X 10's so I don't need the extra mpixels. It's a small enough form factor to carry around and easy to use but has many of the extra features you'll want in a dSLR. It has grown with me as i've gotten more into the hobby by acquiring more lenses and accessories. The only reason for not giving it 5 stars is the lack of a motor in the body which means you need to purchase lenses with the motor. What does that mean to you? lenses with a motor cost more money and some older Nikon lenses that have great glass can't be used on the D40. So I have a D50 as a spare which has a motor. I understand the tradeoff for Nikon. If you add the motor, the price goes up for the D40 and you might miss the newbie market. So if you want to use old glass or buy lenses without motors then be sure you know the caveat of the d40. If you need this capability, grab a used d50 as well or go up to the d90 or higher. Despite this one issue, it is consistently the camera I grab going out the door and I'm glad I took kenrockwell's advice and got the d40. July 19, 2010
easy to use great pictures good lense selection well balanced July 19, 2010
Good, but issues The pictures this camera takes are extraordinary, however in the relatively short period of time I've had it it's had to go in for a major repair to it's internal power, and now the auto focus on my regular lens is beginning to malfunction. Too many big repairs required in a short period of time (about 3 years) to give it the excellent rating I would have given it right after purchasing it. July 19, 2010
Page: 37 38 39 40 41 ... 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
7 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers