Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
Great Little Camera I purchased the D40 to have a smaller body to carry at times I did not want something larger. I didin't want to give up the use of intechangeable lenses, or I would have gone with a P6000. The size and weight of the D40 lends itself to placing inside a small should bag, the backpack or in the stroller. I like the features and ability to quickly access data and change settings through the rear LCD or function (Fn) button. Great camera for an introduction to DSLRs and Nikon. December 9, 2010
I love this camera. I have a Nikon 35mm so chose a Nikon as my first digital SLR. This camera takes fantastic pictures and is easy to use. I have owned the camera for several years and the camera is still doing great. The lenses are interchangeable with my 35mm film camera. November 29, 2010
d40 its more than entry level. the shooting options of this camera will make you a pro.haveing own this camera for 1 month and over 2000 shots mostly nature and water and not one problem except not putting it away. my kids are enjoying the simple functions that are displayed and the different modes of shooting that it enables anyone to do.very well made accepts the best of lens and is quiet and comfortable to use all day. November 18, 2010
Excellent Product My wife and I have literally shot thousands of photos and many different venues we are very happy with our Nikon D40 November 16, 2010
Easy to use, very good features, great photos Improvements have been made in DSLR cameras since I purchased the D-40; however, I have been extremely pleased with its performance. Added a 70-300mm tele-macro lens and strongly recommend it. the Nikon ML-L3 remote controller is very handy to have for close-up photography. Have used the camera for different subjects and can only give it high marks. October 13, 2010
Great little camera I got this camera a few years ago and shot it for almost 3 years without a single issue. Once I upgraded cameras I considered selling this one for some extra money. But after traveling all summer and using this camera as a backup or as a hiking camera I wouldnt sell it now. Its fairly lightweight and reliable. However I don't like that a lot of the options are hidden in the menus. It can make it a little frustrating to change settings on the fly. But overall I would tell anyone to buy this camera as either a transition camera or a hobby camera. Like I said, I still use it to this day without any issues. September 27, 2010
I love this camera. It takes beautiful shots. Just need another lens. September 17, 2010
Perfect bridge camera from a point and shoot! So this camera was my first dive into SLR photography. I had no previous photography experience besides point and shoots which I didn't really count. I had grown frustrated trying to take pictures of our infant son.... the delay time in taking shots insured I would always miss the expressions and events that I was witnessing. Besides the fact that besides the 5% of shots that were shot in ideal lighting, the remaining 95% were either "deer in the headlights flash photos", out of focus shots due to lack of flash, ambient light and a slow shutter speed or super grainy / noisy photos.... Enter the D40. Man oh man what a difference. Upon reading some stellar reviews on D40 I decided to take the plunge! I have not looked back since. At first I began by using some of the preset modes i.e. sports, kids, night shots etc. Eventually as I developed confidence I began to experiment with the manual mode and have since mastered this camera! Our photo library has just reached just over 22k photos in a year and half's time. We have stopped paying for expensive photo studios to take pictures of kids. It's crazy how much fun it has been to learn photography on this camera! I eventually purchased a 35mm 1.8 prime lens. and an ultra wide lens along with the two lenses I got with this kit! Simply amazing! Also get at least the SB400 so you can bounce flash for indoor photos!!! August 27, 2010
By far my favorite camera Between friends and family, I have handled many different brands of cameras. Without a doubt, my Nikon D40 is my favorite. The price of the camera is great and you can get really high-quality pictures out of it. I also own the 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED, which was a great add-on because I use it all the time (also a great price). The D40 is a really durable camera without being too heavy, and it's very easy to tote around everywhere - even with the extra lens. It's really easy to learn how to use. I haven't learned everything there is yet, but I can still take amazing photos. I have been asked to do senior portraits and wedding photography with the quality I get from my D40. With my old point and shoot, I had to constantly edit my photos on my computer to make them look decent. Now that I have the D40, I've gotten rid of Photoshop because I really don't need it any more. The Nikon D40 is a great camera, especially for beginners. If my dad can use it (and he only uses the automatic settings) and get great pictures, you definitely can! Happy photographing! August 22, 2010
I love my D40 I feel like a professional photographer with this camera. I know that is a stretch but, the clarity, the flexibility of settings, and the speed are very impressive. August 19, 2010
This camera is a great Starter SLR This camera the D40 was my first SLR, It's a great camera to learn before you buy a bigger SLR. August 18, 2010
The D40 is great camera. Without knowing a lot about digital SLR's I relied on some consumer reviews and haven't been disappointed. The D40 is an excellent camera for anyone. The features of the camera make it easy to use and customize to meet your needs. I have smaller compact camera's and always prefer to use my D40. Once you appreciate this camera it will be hard to use anything else. August 17, 2010
Light-fast-best value The D40 that I own since about 4-5 years has done it's job more than nicely. I switched to a 18-200 VR lens and it provides excellent results, in a package that I can leave in a 'banana' from LowePro to hike or ski. Thousands of pictures taken in Europe, Canada, Thailand. Inside or outside. Very nice. Excellent colors, excellent battery life (I did a full 400 photos in a party with only the minimum bar of battery left - switching the screen off between photos...) Problems : the focus has only 3 targets so that sometimes you need to give it attention or it will not focus on your subject. Missing-to improve. A little more sensitivity, megapixels, more focus zones, same weight, maybe liveview, maybe a GPS tracker built-in. August 16, 2010
Great For Fun I love my camera I'm still learning about it but i enjoy every photo more and more.. August 13, 2010
Very easy to use w-pro results I have owned several point and shoot cameras and a few advanced cameras, both film and digital. From Cannon SD-750, AE -1 and Nikon Coolpix, all of these remained on the “auto / program” mode. I just did not grasp “f stops” and adjustments. I really just wanted to stop missing those great photo moments because the camera wasn’t quite ready. With advice from some pro’s about camera selection I’ve picked up the Nikon D-40, which they assured me, with little practice a novice would get professional results. A quick visit to consumer reports confirmed what they were saying. The LCD display really makes understanding this camera very easy because you see what you’re doing at every adjustment. In the short time I’ve owned this camera (about 4 months) I have the results I’ve been searching for. If you’re looking for great results with an easy to use, high quality camera, stop wasting your money on the pocket camera’s and go for the Nikon D-40 (x), it won’t break the bank and will produce great results. I have the pictures to prove it ! August 11, 2010
excellent product, stores wouldn't print my personal photos because they thought they were taken by a professional! August 11, 2010
This product has great features Nikon Pro. a job well done on this Product! You have out done yourself. August 10, 2010
The Nikon D40, a professonal camera, a great value The ease fo use and quality of the photographs under a wide variety of conditions was outstanding. The reach of the led flash in night photos at accident scenes far exceeded expectations. August 10, 2010
Have Kids? this is a must have... Purchased camera to get pictures of 2 growing kids, and all we do is aim and click. 98% of the time all pictures have come out well beyond expected. Many friends have stated the pictures appear to have been done by a pro. Even the store where we get them developed has requested to see the camera. August 8, 2010
Professional power in a light-weight body The D40 is my "take it anywhere" camera. Hiking, biking or on the water, it is always ready for that perfect shot. It fits in my bike bag or backpack with ease and is ready when I need it. I get professional results without having to work around unneeded amateur features like "modes" and "video" or the added bulk of a fragile pivoting LCD. I also have a D90 and a D5000 for specialty work, but the D40 is the one I grab when on the move. August 7, 2010
i am thrilled with my first Nikon D40 I am Very Happy with my first Nikon,It Truely Makes taking Pictures a FUN and Exciting Experience.... I am EXCITED That Nikon Makes a Wide Range of PRO cameras And would Truely love to get my hands on one of those BAD BOY'S.... So Nikon you Have My Thumbs Up ..... August 7, 2010
I love the camera takes really good pictures and very easy to use. Took on Cruise and had no problems out of over 200 pictures not one bad in the bunch. August 6, 2010
easy to use, great pics Bought the camera 18 mos ago to take pics of son playing basketball. I love the VR lens. Great action shots in low light of gym. It is easy to use like a point and shoot or my husband can use the manual settings. Would buy again in a heartbeat. August 6, 2010
Great Camera Great quality pictures, easy to use, excellent features, value for money August 5, 2010
Love everything about it! I have purchased a telephoto lens for it and it's a blast! August 5, 2010
Light and easy to handle. Great features. Light weight. Easy to use. Doesn't have unnecessary features as far as I am concerned. 6 MP sensor is big enough. I use this camera with 60 mm micro/R1C1 for dental photography. I like it so much I tried to buy another for home but couldn't find one, so I had to buy a D60. I have 18-55 and 55-200 VR; the 60 above and a 105 mm Micro VR 2.8 (too long for work). Next I want to buy a 10-24 wide zoom and maybe a 35 mm prime. August 5, 2010
Excellent Amateur DSLR This is an excellent camera for anyone starting out in the DSLR world. It eases you into some of the more complex and technical aspects of photography, and has more than enough power to keep up with your demands. Where the D40 really shines is in its versatility. For the amateur, it offers a huge step up from a point-and-shoot in terms of control of the shot, quality and performance. You can pick up this camera and use it for almost anything - I personally have used it for wedding shoots, studio shoots, parties and just general photography as well. If you're starting out in the DSLR realm, this camera won't disappoint. It'll keep you shooting, until you eventually grow out of it as a budding photographer. Even with other Nikon bodies in my bag, my trusty D40 is always within easy reach. August 4, 2010
I would highly recommend this product. Very happy and will enjoy using it to take family and nature pictures. August 4, 2010
Great product Great product. Lightweight, clear pictures, fast, robust, I take 25.000 pictures and the performance is the same. August 3, 2010
This camera takes great photos This camera is widely used at my workplace for events, staff photos, outdoor photos in all kinds of weather, equipment and facility photos. Typically when it's time for someone to use the camera it takes time to track it down because everyone wants to use it. We put money in the new budget to buy another one. August 2, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years ago
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
7 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers