Loading

Extraordinary Nikon image quality: The D40's high-resolution image quality is made possible by Nikon's high-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX-format CCD imaging sensor and exclusive Nikon image processing engine which assures stunning sharpness and color.

Nikon's smallest digital SLR ever: At just over 16 ounces, the beautifully styled and compact D40 makes high-performance digital SLR photography easier and more convenient than ever.

Includes 3x AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens: Designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX-format digital SLRs, this ultra-compact 3x zoom offers Nikkor sharpness and versatility in a wide variety of shooting situations.

2.5-inch color LCD monitor with 3 colorful display options: Playback images are easy to see and function menus are easier to use with a larger and brighter color LCD monitor. The large 2.5-inch LCD monitor enables image preview at up to 19 times magnification and has large type fonts and easy-to-view menus as well as three all-new display options: classic, graphic and wallpaper.

In-camera image editing: Highly versatile in-camera editing features include: Nikon D-lighting, red-eye correction, image trimming, image overlay, monochrome black and white, sepia and cyanotype along with skylight, warm tone and custom color filter effects. These features provide greater creative freedom, without the need for a computer, for those who prefer to send pictures directly to a printer.

Fast, accurate 3-area auto focus: The D40's advanced 3-area AF system and the refined algorithms inherited from more advanced Nikon digital SLR cameras deliver fast, efficient and precise auto focus. AF refinements deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking for consistently sharper pictures.

Built-in Speedlight with i-TTL automatic flash control: Nikon's innovative i-TTL flash control evaluates flash exposure with incredible precision to achieve better automatic flash balance and deliver outstanding results. The built-in Speedlight is always at the ready bringing beautiful exposures to darkened conditions as well as adding a flash to outdoor situations for enhanced twilight shots or an added impact to daylight images.

Automatic exposure with 8 digital vari-program modes: Eight Digital Vari-Program modes include: auto, auto (flash-off), portrait, landscape, child, sports, close-up or night portrait, each of which adjusts automatically for optimal results under varied conditions.

Easy operation with intuitive controls: Intuitive controls make the D40 point-and-shoot simple, enabling even first-time SLR users to capture beautiful memories perfectly.

Fast startup with instant shutter response: Fast startup combined with super-fast shutter response and rapid-action shooting at up to 2.5 frames per second makes it easy to freeze special moments instantly.

Shoot at up to 2.5 frames per second: The D40 can fire continuously at a speed of up to 2.5 frames per second, capturing high-quality action sequences of children in sporting activities such as soccer, baseball and much more.

High-performance 6.1-megapixel Nikon DX format CCD imaging sensor: Nikon's DX-format CCD image sensor delivers vivid color and sharp detail, great for making beautifully detailed enlargements of 16 x 20 inches and beyond. High resolution also provides room for creative cropping.

New advanced help menu system with assist images: The D40's newly introduced "assist images" help you select the appropriate settings for many camera features by showing an example image typical of that setting as well as an advanced help menu for the current item selected. The D40's question mark icon (?) indicates that help is available for the currently selected item. Just press the help button beside the LCD monitor to see a context sensitive help page.

Image optimization options: The D40's image optimize setting lets photographers adjust color, contrast and sharpening as well as other image settings according to the type of scene or output desired. Settings include: normal, softer, vivid, more vivid, portrait, custom and black and white, each of which are automatically adjusted based on sophisticated Nikon algorithms or user-selected settings for optimum results.

Bright, accurate SLR viewfinder: A large viewfinder makes composition easier, and overall viewfinder brightness makes focusing in low-light photography possible. The bright and sharp viewfinder, with 0.8x magnification, ensures precise composition.

Nikon 3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D40's 3D Color Matrix Metering II evaluates each scene for brightness, color, contrast, size and position of shadows and highlights, selected focus area and camera-to-subject distance, comparing that information against an onboard database of more than 30,000 actual photographic scenes.

D40 4.6 5 1249 1254
NIkon D40 is a powerhouse :) To the reviewer before me set your camera to "M" this lets you set both the Shutter and the Aperture at the same time for complete control. I love this little powerhouse of a camera. It is ONLY 6 Megapixels but honestly it does plenty. It takes great quality shots and it very easy to learn how to use. I'm still learning the art of photography. Replaced an old Olympus Point to shoot and this camera has by far exceeded my expectations. I've had this camera for 7 years and mostly used it for quick shots. But now that I am heading back into Railroad photography and night time shots this camera offers quite a bang for the buck. Remember the more pixels you have, the less sensitive those pixels will be. That is why a 6 megapixel will actually be MORE sensitive to light than the newer higher numbers sensors. I love how easy it is to use. For those who like "AUTO" that seems to do a good job. But those who like to take long exposures this thing does a superb job. I was actually looking to upgrade this thing but it's not really needed. I have started shooting in RAW mode which is actually better in some ways. If you shoot in RAW it does take the picture but doesn't process it at all..IE no White balance setting, or auto lighting. If you shoot in JPEG while you may get a great picture with light, if it is too dark you can only do so much to fix it. October 7, 2012
size doesn't matter!! After using my d40 for about 5 months, I won a photography contest with my opponents using d7k's, d700, and even Canon 5D Mark III. I didn't really expect great things happening since I first got this camera. I believe it's all God's will for me to have this camera. A lot of people say, my d40 is the smallest, lightest and cheapest Nikon DSLR, but hey! Guess who defeated the giants! My humble d40 took the lead. August 20, 2012
Perfect camera This camera exceeds my expectations, for a long while i favored my old canon 35mm slr over the new digital slr's. But when i bought this to replace it i quickly found that i can get great quality pictures faster and easier no 35m film required. perfect camera for hobbyist or professionals. June 29, 2012
Totally Flabbergasted By My D40 Some photographers out there (perticularly people who are new to the art) always think more is better; bigger is better. Fortunately, in reality, that is not the case. The simple design of the D40 makes it perfect for anyone from amateur to pro. It is truly capable of handling anything a professional grade camera is -if you know how to use it corretctly that is. Because it is compact and light weight it goes anywhere! (up rock walls and mountain sides!) And because it is no longer in production (sadly), it is easy to find one in immaculate condition and exteremly well priced second hand. I love mine! There may come a day when my D40 fails me and I will have to find a new camera to shoot, that will be a sad day, but until that time I wouldn't choose to shoot anything else! May 15, 2012
Nikon D40 I have this camera for 4 years and still work very good. May 13, 2012
Love this camera. My D40 I have about 2-3 Years and I am very happy with it , AAA++++ GREAT CAMERA. ;-) December 10, 2011
Great camera My first dslr. after 5000 shots indoors and out, I am still enjoying the little guy. I have ordered my 4th lens. For the money it performs great. It proves to me, you don't need a $5000 camera to shoot good photos. November 23, 2011
JUST AWSOME. 40 Thousand clicks and counting,. still like new,. love the quality of my photos,. just amazing,. can't let it go,. dont need to upgrade, some say for amateurs but i say no way jose,. well hope they say that because its easy to use, because the quality of the photos are pro,. 5 stars for this one. btw, the lcd screen 5 times better than the newer models, you start to love your photos as soon as you see them on the lcd screen, fully recommended. August 30, 2011
Love my D40 Great Camera, easy to use, wonderful results, and great company that stands behind their product August 29, 2011
real photography my dad bought me this camera. and it was my first SLR camera. i think the D40 is perfect for beginners, because this is what photography should be. there are no live-view or 50 megapixel. the camera is perfect because YOU make the photos and not the camera. July 29, 2011
good camera ive had mine for about 2 or 3 years and Ive goten some amazing pictures with this camera perfectly built for a semi-pro photographer July 26, 2011
Excellent beyond its megapixels I used the D40 as a backup camera for a couple of years, and was always delighted with the results it provided. One of its images recently won a national fishing landscape photography contest, after which I celebrated by having that shot blown up to 20"x30". It not only held up in quality, but if I hadn't made the shot myself, I never would have believed it was done by a 6mp camera. Super little camera. June 28, 2011
Simply Marvelous I've had my D 40 since spring of 2007 and it has always given me a fantastic shot. Its easy to use for people who are just getting into photography and its perfect for 1st time D-SLR users. Despite the low megapixel count compared to other products, the quality of each picture is fantastic. June 27, 2011
Nikon D40 is just great. Precision and tough construction. Just do your job! June 16, 2011
A great camera I cannot complain at all about this little power house. Yes power house. I bought mine back in September of 2007 as a hobby. I slowly, very slowly progressed. It's now 2011 and I am in full swing with this little guy. The quality I get out of my D40 is fantastic. I have prints that are 16x24 and I enjoy them, family and friends that see them on my wall enjoy them. I;m not worried about going bigger either. I am going to order a larger print and I bet it will come out fine. As I upgrade my glass to more proffesional ranges I notice even better quality. I have yet to master this little guy, so I will hold off on upgrading it this year. Unless the new line up is too good to be true. But even when I do, I'll keep this guy around for a back up. I only have 18068 on the shutter count and it is still going strong. And this is the year I'll put it to the test. I have been able to get my foot in the door and go public with my photography with this camera and I can see my weekends full this summer with jobs to shoot. I have enough confidence with my D40 that I have used it at a wedding reception, sproting events, and portraits. You just can't get a high quality, easy to use camera like this. Heck, I didn't even really read the manual untill last year. I have always refered to the information button on the camera to walk me through it. June 6, 2011
Excellent Camera The D-40 was my first DSLR. The settings are easy to understand. For the first month I shot in auto mode then began to use the manual settings to control the shutter speed and light. Practice Practice Practice and you'll love it as your first DSLR. April 18, 2011
This product is easy to handle This is the second time that I have taken my D-40 to Europe and I haven't been disappointed yet. Each time I shot 650 or more images, and each time I never had a failure nor did I ever have to charge my camera battery. I was disappointed this last time, it seems my flash assembly didn't work, but I still carried my D-40 for all daylight shots.I think the Nikon D-40 is Great. April 16, 2011
Fantastic beyond expectations The D40 was my first DSLR and will most likely be my last as I cannot see another reason to purchase another. It works flawlessly and the pictures I have taken with it have truly exceeded anything I could have ever imagined with the quality of the photos - clarity, detail, color! A fantastic camera. April 16, 2011
Great product! Awsome camera with many features. Very easy to learn and understand with lots of customizable buttons. April 14, 2011
What a Camera? The D40 represents my first venture in SLR Digital Cameras. It is one of the best investments I have made. It is easy to use and covers up a multitude of user short comings. It is rugged, yes I dropped it, and it keeps on working. Two other members of my extended family purchased the same camera with in months of my purchase and we all have enjoyed it for years. April 14, 2011
great experience excellent quality, two years with the d40 and I've only had excellent results April 1, 2011
love it left my manual in a hotel a couple of weeks after I got my D40 and been feeling my way around with out knowing the full workings of it. It is my first real camera and iI can't get enough of it. I love it February 27, 2011
It is a Great entry level DSLR Camera Option An excelent camera for a beginner amateur. I realy recommend this D40 January 28, 2011
Awesome Camera! I bought this camera as my first SLR, about 2 years ago. Just amazing. I have the 18-55mm it came with, then I bought a 55-200mm VR, and now most recently the Sigma 50mm 1.4 lens. I am thrilled with the quality with the sigma lens, and I shoot nearly every day. I am an amatur (16 years old) and I am more than happy with this camera. I recomend it to anyone looking for a nice beginers camera, I am looking into upgrading to the d700 very soon! January 27, 2011
I love my D40! This was my first DSLR and I just hit 16690 clicks on the shutter. It has been a great model to learn on. The features are rich, and the menu/interface are easy to navigate. When I upgrade (soon) I will be keeping this in my bag! January 21, 2011
3 yrs I love my D40. Have had it for three years and its great. January 1, 2011
Great Features This camera takes beautiful pictures. Very easy to use and comes with great software. Only gripe is i wish lens were a little more reasonable. January 1, 2011
excellent beginner camera this was my first DSLR camera and i got used to it pretty quick. the buttons are easy and to adjust the settings is also easy. although it is only 6.1MP i had no problem printing out 8x10 photos that were clear and crisp and vibrant in colors. as well as the 2.5fps continuous shooting did great when i shot the horses at the local race track. if youre looking into a used or new D40 as a beginner camera this is a great place to start. December 30, 2010
Great entry camera Perfect for entry level work. New moms and dads will love the "no delay" point and click qualities. I have used it to make a local name for my photography as well. i just moved up to the D300s but will keep this for my wife and for fun. December 27, 2010
Once you get the hang of it and have all the programs under your control it is a masterpiece of technology. Easy, fast, of course I took a Nikon class/seminar which I definitely recommend plus the many (if still available) reference books and manuals of D40 December 23, 2010
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 43
<<prev | next>>
65 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
65 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Verify zoom lens compatibility

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Scag
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Zoom Nikkor Lens compitable w/the Nikon D-40 digital camera? The manual states "...type G and D AF Nikkor..." are compatible
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Scag
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it is fully compatible. the af-s means it has a focus motor built in to the lens and will focus with all nikon dslrs that i know of
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D40.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

how can I use the display to view what the camera is aiming at

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
ED
Florida
 on D40
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
ED
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
with a nikon d40 you cannot. it has no "live view" like the d90 and newer nikon dslr's have
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately you cant use the rear screen to view as the D40 doesnt have live view, you have to use the view finder.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does my shutter won't work? Is it my battery or something else?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Richie
Philippines
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Richie
Philippines
Location : 
Philippines
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
just from the info given, sounds like shutter box failure and requires nikon service repair
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the battery doesn't have power it will lock the shutter and it won't allow you to take pictures. If the problem persists after you recharged your battery, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Trying to do Time Lapse Photos on my Nikon D40

Apr 27, 2011 by
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I havent seen a remote that does this online.

Suggestions?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
E.Inge
Mobile, AL
Location : 
Mobile, AL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
"Camera Control Pro 2" makes it possible.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Alex
Europe
Location : 
Europe
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 doesn't have the feature to do Time Lapse Photography.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

Why does it give me an error on every picture?

May 6, 2011 by
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
No matter what mode I shoot in, when i press the shutter button, the camera takes the pic, the gives the following error:

Error. Press Shutter Release Again.

When I press the shutter button again, it clicks, and all is back to normal.
When I review the images, the picture is there.
It in not failing to take the pictur, just throwing the error, requiring 2 presses on the shutter release for each pic.

On a side note, when I use the remote, it still throws the error, but I have to press the button on the camera, It win't accept another remote signal as another shutter release press.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
tirpider
Hot Springs, Ark
Location : 
Hot Springs, Ark
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
yup, it's an old shutter. d40 is not a recent model, so if you've taken a lot of pictures, the shutter is probably worn out. they can replace it as far as i know, but it's not going to be cheap.
May 7, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would find a nikon dealer nearest you and let them have a look. Mine did the same thing only it wasn't capturing the image. My problem ended up being shutter box failure and had to be shipped to nikon for shutter replacement.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera focus?

Jul 1, 2011 by
by
hpcoker
SC
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My D40 has started having problems with focusing. On Auto (full and flash-off) it will search to focus but not focus and will not take. It will not even take and give me a blurry picture. Zooming out does not help unless I am all the way at 55mm. The same thing happens on the Close-Up mode. When I switch to Manual Focus, I am still unable to focus clearly and get a blurry picture. I have cleaned the lens and filter. I have also tried changing the AF-area mode. Please advise
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
hpcoker
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
try another af-s class lens. if the same symptoms prevail, try cleaning the mirror (the extreme sides of the mirror send light to the AF sensors, so if they're smudged the AF system might be off).
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try a different lens or the lens in another camera body to verify if the built-in AF motor in the lens is working or not.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

What portrait lens can I use with my D40?

Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D40
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
is the 50mm AF-S compatible with my camera?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
for portraiture work i'd suggest something with a longer focus throw, like 85mm. if you can settle with using manual focus, the af-d 85mm f/1.8 lens is pretty terrific for portrait photography (and since portraits are tricky, use of manual focus is always advised). however, the 50mm f/1.8 af-s will work very well, will have autofocus as well. (when i do portraits, i tend to go out in location, in nature, and use the 80-200 f/2.8 lens on the far end (meaning: above 100mm).)
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the 50 afs will work, as will every other Nikon lens made, however some will be limited in what they will do on the body, AF, metering etc, if you want to pass up on some of these minor things then there are some superb lenses that can be used.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D40
 
2 Answers

How do I turn off the graph that appears over each image on playback

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
michelle
california
 on D40
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
This image that looks like a light graph of some sort shows up over my playback images. How do I turn it off?

thanks!
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
michelle
california
Location : 
california
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel and the histogram and related info will disappear.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHillShooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi-selector up or down until you get the display you want.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
creekrat
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the D40 works like other Nikon DSLRs, scroll up or down on the "Multi Selector" wheel until the info disappears. The camera will then be reset to leave the display uncluttered.
Aug 17, 2011 by
by
CapHill Shooter
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Press the multi selector UP or DOWN until you get the desire display.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D40
 
2 Answers

JPEG OR RAW for super enlarging photo?

Aug 24, 2013 by
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
 on D40
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I'd like to be able to blow some pictures 20 x 30 or if possible up to 36 x 24. Whatever the largest enlargement, would it be better to enlarge with a JPEG photo or a NEF RAW photo?
9 months ago
by
Jim
Center Hill, FL, USA
Location : 
Center Hill, FL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You could do it with jpeg, as long as the file is large enough. RAW would have to be converted first as you cant print directly from a raw file. I would say if you want to print that big convert your raw file to a 16bit tiff and print as that would give the best quality.
Aug 24, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You must convert a raw image to print it. You can convert raw to jpeg or tiff. Raw to tiff will give you the best image. With 6mp to work with you are going to get a lot of grain in the sizes you want to enlarge to.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers