Loading
;

6.1 Effective Megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD: Optimized to deliver a wide dynamic range that produces great pictures with high resolution and sharp details, the DX Format CCD sensor's 6.1 effective megapixels yield 3,008 x 2,000-pixel images that are suitable for making large prints, or for creative cropping to bring out detail.

7 Digital Vari-Programs: Digital Vari-Program selections automatically optimizes white balance, sharpening, tone (contrast), color, saturation and hue settings to best match the selected scene, making creative photography as simple as rotating the mode dial. Choose from Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Close Up, Sports, Night Landscape, or Night Portrait for automated performance that makes the Nikon D70s the right choice, whether you are still learning how to make great pictures or an experienced photographer simply in a hurry to capture precious moments.

New Large 2.0 inch TFT LCD Monitor: Playback options on the new 2.0-inch LCD monitor include single frame, 4 or 9-image thumbnail display, zoom with scroll (up to 4.7x), automatic slide show, histogram indication and highlight point display.

3D Color Matrix Metering: The 1,005-pixel RGB Exposure/Color Matrix Metering Sensor evaluates brightness, color, contrast, selected focus area, and subject-to-camera distance information, references the results against an onboard database of 30,000 scenes from actual photography, then uses high-speed processing to deliver consistently dependable automatic exposures.

iTTL and Nikon's Creative Lighting System : Makes taking pictures with flash as easy as turning the flash on! Easy multiple flash lighting is possible using the new Nikon Creative Lighting System including the SB-800 and SB-600 Speedlights.

Fast - 1/8000 sec. Maximum Shutter Speed & 1/500 Sec. Flash Sync: Shutter speeds from 30 to 1/8,000 sec. and flash-synchronized shutter speeds of up to 1/500 sec. provide a photo experience with greater breadth and creative flexibility to catch more of those important picture moments.

Nikkor lenses: The D70s employs the Nikon F lens mount for seamless compatibility with the comprehensive lineup of high-quality AF and AF- S Nikkor lenses long favored by professionals around the world for their superb color, high contrast and razor-sharp images, as well as for outstanding autofocus. The increasing family of DX Nikkor lenses designed for use with Nikon digital SLR cameras make the options even richer, delivering a wider variety of picture angles, higher performance, and outstanding center-to-edge -to-corner image quality.

NikonCapture Software (Optional): Nikon Capture 4 offers a unique image-editing environment and is the only program that provides complete functionality to edit NEF (Nikon Electronic Format) files, enabling photographers to optimize output for every possible need.

Near-Instant Power-Up in 0.2 Seconds: Turn the D70s on and with a power-up time of a mere 0.2 seconds, it’s ready to shoot. Pictures are processed and recorded extremely quickly. Preview images appear on the LCD monitor almost instantly.

Increased Battery Performance - with new EN-EL3a rechargeable battery: The new EN-EL3a rechargeable lithium-ion battery increases energy capacity to shoot more images while maintaining the same form factor as the EN-EL3 battery. The new Quick Charger MH-18a is smaller than the charger it replaces, and is capable of charging both the EN-EL3a and EN-EL3 batteries. When the need arises, the Nikon D70s can also be powered using CR2 batteries. (Requires the optional CR2 battery holder, MS-D70)

3 fps Continuous Shooting - for up to 144 consecutive shots*: High-speed continuous shooting means never falling behind the pace of the action or missing the moment. The Nikon D70s can shoot a rapid 3 frames per second for a continuous burst of 144 pictures* thanks to optimized systems throughout the camera.*When using JPEG Normal – Large setting, and a SanDisk SDCFH (Ultra II), SDCFX (Extreme/Extreme III) or Lexar Media 80X WA CompactFlash(TM) card

Refined 5-Area AF System - with NEW All-Area Search: Nikons advanced 5-area Multi-CAM900 autofocus system continues to feature a cross-type sensor in the center, broad frame coverage, as well as the same class-leading low light detection and convenient AF-assist illuminator that aid shooting in dark situations. New for the Nikon D70s are refinements to deliver greater precision with fast, more consistent subject acquisition and improved focus tracking when using Closest Subject Priority Dynamic AF or Dynamic AF mode with predictive focus tracking and Lock-on (TM).

Wider Coverage from Built-In Speedlight to 18mm: The built-in Speedlight automatically pops up and fires when natural lighting is inadequate, or to add Balanced Fill-Flash when there is strong backlighting. A new, optimized design for the Nikon D70s increases flash coverage to support lenses as wide as 18mm.

Enhanced Menu Display, Now Easier to Read: A new menu design combining a carefully selected color scheme, the right amount of contrast, and larger fonts makes the user-friendly keywords of the menu displays easier to view and quicker to recognize.

PictureProject Software INCLUDED: PictureProject is refined with an intuitive new user interface that makes image management, editing and sharing easier and more fun. Simply connect the camera to a computer to automatically import pictures. Quickly e-mail or Auto Enhance images, run slideshows, burn CD/DVDs*, and access other commonly used functions via practical buttons. Use drag-and-drop to organize pictures into separate collections, and quickly locate any file by name, keyword, or date.

Footnote:
*Configurations available at individual retailers may vary.

D70s 4.1 5 15 15
had this d70s ever since it came out its amazing using this beast in minus 40 it still kicks drop it down stars its fine if you want a good beginner camera that you can manually control but has 6 mp small screen get it . April 10, 2012
Might be old but still good Besides the 6megapixel sensor it is a fantastic camera it has a big steady grip,i have managed to take so many good pictures.Even in low light the photos are very good March 28, 2013
Highly recommended for first-time DSLR users! Although this camera is "old" , It works great. I used it for about 8 months and I had an amazing run with it, despite a few minor flaws - 2in. Screen - FOR problem with some CF cards - Mirror gets dirty easily It is still a great camera Love the feel of it in my hands, and its' two rollers are designed perfectly. June 10, 2012
awesome performance hello i bought Nikon D70S 5 years back, i am a professional photographer, i like this camera very much, compared with latest only the problem is fixels expect that great perfornance. January 6, 2012
Good old friend! I purchased my D70s over 6 years ago and continue to share great time and memories with it. Works under all sorts of conditions and never failed to capture great shots. Would be considered slow by today's standards though, but overall, for a nature enthusiast, who really needs more than 3 fps? The intrinsic design flaw that keeps on displaying errors from time to time is rather irritating. Despite the newest generation of faster 12 and 18M machines I bought since then, I still prefer to cary my good old rugged friend outside when conditions get rough. Just like an old love affair! December 2, 2011
I love it! I was going to get the canon rebel as my first camara but my dad gave me his company's camara and I love it! It takes a while to take a picture though, you have to hold down the button for a while. I have lots of great shots, I need to find a program like photoshop but not as expensive. It's kind of hard to though. There are lots of settings to manage with. November 16, 2011
Good camera This is a good camera, has a very good performance and nice features. Perhaps with continuous photographing a bit slow..Some software problems sometimes with the memory cards. I recommend it for amateur photographers not for pros April 18, 2011
Nikon D70s First Hand Impressions As you may already understand from the title of this review, I use to work with for several years with wonderful film photo material such as Nikon F-series (from F original up to the 5) and superb Leicas M and R. Professionally speaking Nikon has been my main 35mm furnisher and we have a long loving affair even if I was not always following them instantly on their move. I was found of their Nikon F3HP and F4 and of their always charming Nikkor AIs like 24mm, Micro 55mm, 105/2,5 and 300/4,5. AF lenses such as 20/2.8, 85/1.8, 80-200/2.8 and 300/4 have got my full respect for the maker. This is a long introduction to indicate by background references. Digital evolution even from the yearly years appears to me as inevitable. Such as technological, communication and pollution issues has gradually put films out of the business especially in professional fields. So during the last two years I have made the commitment to go on digital for taking my pictures instead of scan negatives and slides. After a long way of searching and with the kind help of other professional friend fellows I did in buying a new Nikon D70s along with the DX AF-S NIKKOR 18-70/3.5-4.5G ED. Today I will give you just a first hand impression. The camera and the lens seem to be well built. The handling is very good and the camera/lens combination is light. Controls are following the traditions of all Nikon electronics cameras since F801/N8008. The viewfinder is good but you have to adapt ourselves to the tunnel effect view which took me a couple of days. Doing the focus manually doesn’t give any problem in particular but make sure to set camera and lens to the “M” position. Information’s inside viewfinder are non-obstructive and done in a simple direct manner. For exposure setting the camera controls are very user friendly and most of all very intuitive. In low light conditions I have found that the D70s metering system has a tendency to underexpose the subject especially when using the matrix exposure pattern. In that case I have used instead the center lecture option with success most of the time. Manual metering is a pleasure to work with but indications are showed only into the inside reflex viewer. The battery pack has an amazing longevity. With the D70s you will become a happy multiple-trigger-man in a short time. I have read the full and instructive manual that come with camera and it have gave a profound impression of what are the real possibilities of the D70s. And let me tell that I am not even in professional area that this camera will use fully. For example you can really do exact color metering by using the “WB” white balance option without any traditional use of expenses color meter and not practical color correcting filters. I have also begun to appreciate the flash system which seems to be very flexible. When using the integrated flash be sure to pull out the lens hood to prevent dark bottom spot. Menus are well presented and can be sophisticated as you may wish or not. Even the Nikon Picture Project software offer with the camera is useful but I am hoping to get and try the Nikon Capture 4 in a near future. In brief for these first impressions, I have really appreciated from the beginning to work and take pictures with the D70s. I am looking forward to get a “picture quality” point of view. (This review has been previously released in February 2006) July 21, 2010
so so I have used the DF-70 for several years for work. I have had the D-70 serviced by Nikon about three years ago due to FORMAT problems with the memoiry card. I have purchased several chips for the D-70, all resulting in FOR problems. It seems the small prongs that connect to the chip inside the camera go bad after several years of wear and tear. This seems to me a poor design on Nikons part. Very hard camera to get serviced. Iam looking foa a new Nikon DSL camera, and will probably go with the D3000....and or d300? November 17, 2010
Great Camera if it worked all the time!!! I had the D70s for a couple years. I use it for Home business. I have taken care of and never has had any drops or anything else. It just started to have FOR error and CHR error. Looking in the internet I found out that it is a commen problem with the D70 and D70s. I have had a Nikon N60 film camera for years and have never had 1 thing go wrong. My D70s has been used about 1/4 of the amount of the N60 film camera. I would not buy the D70 or D70s. October 29, 2010
Page:2
<<prev
7 Questions | 10 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
7 Questions | 10 Answers
All Questions
1 of 1
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D70s
 
3 Answers

What is the maximum compact flash card size for the Nikon BM-5

Oct 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D70s
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
4GB Kingston works great. Picked it up for $8.86 on 12/15/2012
Dec 23, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Use sandisk extreme III 2 gb compactflash. I think max is 4gb.
Nov 24, 2011 by
by
Photo Bug
Chicago,IL.
Location : 
Chicago,IL.
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Nikon BM-5 is a LCD cover. If you are refering to approved memory cards for the D70s, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: Approved CF Cards - D70 / D70S
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
D70s
 
2 Answers

Is the SDK available for this particular model?

Feb 25, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Pakistan
 on D70s
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am a developer and I own this camera I want to control my D70s with my computer for that I need to know about the SDK
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Anonymous
Pakistan
Location : 
Pakistan
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
SDKs are available for certain models and can be accessed by filling out the application found here:
https://sdk.nikonimaging.com/apply/. Unfortunately there is no SDK listed for a D70s.
Feb 26, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon does not provide system developers with access to their software or hardware.
Feb 25, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D70s
 
1 answer

what is the price

Jul 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D70s
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
What ever you can find one for, it has been discontinued for a long while now and the only ones you are going to find are on the used market.
Jul 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D70s
 
1 answer

my flash is not working help!!

Aug 20, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D70s
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our technicians.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D70s
 
1 answer

Connecting Nikon D70s to laptop computer via USB connection.

Jul 5, 2013 by
by
Kat
New Zealand
 on D70s
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
06/07/13

Hi there,
I connected my Nikon D70s to my laptop but it does not recognise it. It comes up as "USB device attached to this computer has malfunctioned and Windows does not recognise it". I click it and the properties comes up as "No Driver Details". I dont have the software CDs, and was wondering where I can go online to install the required Driver Software, and the recommended software "Nikon Capture 4" and "win Driver"?

Thanks.
11 months ago
by
Kat
New Zealand
Location : 
New Zealand
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Start out by downloading View NX2 it will allow you to download to your computer and will do basic photo editing. If you want to add Capture you will have to purchase have it.
I would also suggest you purchase a USB card reader to do your downloads, they are very inexpensive and you download directory from the sd card.
Jul 5, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D70s
 
1 answer

Can the body of the camera function or Does it need attach on Lens?

Nov 4, 2013 by
by
Intrested in Buying A Good Camera
Belize, Central America
 on D70s
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can the D70 take great pictures without the additional 18-105mm lens? Or does it need the bigger lens to function correctly?
7 months ago
by
Intrested in Buying A Good Camera
Belize, Central America
Location : 
Belize, Central America
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The camera body will not function without a lens. The 18-105 will work fine with the D70s unless you you more reach(subject is quite a distance away), then you would want something like the 18-200 or 18-300.
Nov 4, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D70s
 
1 answer

d70s which compact flash cards

May 4, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D70s
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9601/~/approved-cf-cards---d70-%2F-d70s
May 4, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
1 of 1
1 of 1

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers