Loading
;

Compact, Lightweight and Easy to Use: The Nikon D50 is easy to take with you anywhere you go! From its inviting body contours to its easily accessible controls, this is a camera that makes picture taking satisfying and fun!

High-Quality Nikkor Optics including NEW Compact and Lightweight AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED Lens: The new D50 offers seamless compatibility with Nikon's extensive family of high-performance AF Nikkor lenses, as well as the expanding family of DX Nikkor lenses, providing superb color reproduction, razor-sharp image clarity and fast and accurate autofocus performance.

Incredible Battery Performance - with EN-EL3 Rechargeable Battery: The EN-EL3 rechargeable lithium-ion battery increases energy capacity to shoot approximately 2,000 images. The new Quick Charger MH-18a is smaller than the original MH-18, and is capable of charging both the EN-EL3a and EN-EL3 batteries.

High-performance digital processing: employs exclusive Nikon technology to render vivid color and clear details with all the speed necessary to freely capture those precious moments as they unfold.

2.5 Frames Per Second with Uninterrupted Shooting up to 137 Frames: High-speed continuous shooting assures uninterrupted shooting up to 137 frames*, while shutter speeds from 30 to 1/4,000 sec., and flash sync speeds up to 1/500 sec. provide the capability to capture images not possible with non-SLR type cameras. *When using JPEG NORMAL - Large settings, and a SanDisk Ultra II SD Card (256MB). The number of continuous shots possible in a single burst may be fewer depending on the type of SD card used.

New Small Picture Function: A one-button email option, this feature saves photos in the camera at the reduced sizes of 640x480, 320x240, or 160x120, perfect either for mail attachments or for use on a web page.

Responsive Performance: Shutter speeds from 30 to 1/4,000 sec. and flash-synchronized shutter speeds of up to 1/500 sec. provide a photo experience with greater breadth and creative flexibility to catch more of those important picture moments.

NikonCapture Software (Optional): Nikon Capture 4 offers a unique image-editing environment and is the only program that provides complete functionality to edit NEF (Nikon Electronic Format) files, enabling photographers to optimize output for every possible need.

High performance 6.1 Effective Megapixel Nikon DX Format CCD Image Sensor: The D50 delivers vivid color and sharp detail with high resolution for great pictures and enlargements.

7 Digital Vari-Programs: The next evolution of Nikon's scene-optimized Digital Vari-Program modes produces great results for the intended shot, while freeing you to concentrate on the moment. New Child mode makes it easier to take memorable pictures of the children with the right amount of vivid color and contrast straight from the camera. Choose from Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Child, Close Up, Sports, or Night Portrait.

Large, 2.0-inch LCD: provides immediate feedback when viewing images and aids smooth operation with a new easy-to-view, easy-to-understand menu design and instructive help dialogs.

Refined 5-Area Autofocus System: The D50 has a refined 5-area autofocus system that features speed, precision, broad frame coverage, and class-leading low-light detection that makes it easy to take great pictures in low light situations. An automatic autofocus illuminator is also provided when taking pictures with the built-in Speedlight or when using the optional SB-600 or SB-800 Speedlights.

3D Color Matrix Metering II: The D50 incorporates a 420-pixel RGB sensor for accurate exposure control in all types of lighting situations. By comparing the scene to a built-in database of various lighting patterns, the camera's light meter can accurately produce your best pictures ever.

i-TTL and Nikon's Creative Lighting System: Makes taking pictures with flash as easy as turning the flash on! Easy multiple flash lighting is possible using the new Nikon Creative Lighting System. Add an SB-600 Speedlight for more power and coverage for flash photography.

PictureProject Software INCLUDED: PictureProject is refined with an intuitive new user interface that makes image management, editing and sharing easier and more fun. Simply connect the camera to a computer to automatically import pictures. Quickly e-mail or Auto Enhance images, run slideshows, burn CD/DVDs*, and access other commonly used functions via practical buttons. Use drag-and-drop to organize pictures into separate collections, and quickly locate any file by name, keyword, or date.

Footnote:
*Configurations available at individual retailers may vary.

D50 4.6 5 30 30
An old reliable friend I purchased this camera when it first Mae out. Since then I have owned various Nikon models including the D300 which was an awesome camera. I was forced to sell my D300 togethere with all my accessories but I have kept the D50. It wasn't until I started using it again that I realised how good it really is. I can honestly say that, apart from noise issues in low light, the D50 is awesome. Easy to use, intelligent and very very reliable. It's a lot closer to a film SLR than the newer high spec models. On comparing shots taken with my D300 with those of the D50, it is clear to me that, if image size was not an issue, the D50 could win hands down. Thank the lord I didn't sell it. I still use it for weddings, christenings etc to great effect. April 26, 2012
By Far My Favorite Toy I have had this camera for several years, (my wife got it for a wedding gift to me). I have never been anyting but pleased with it. It is very easy to use and understand and I have not found anything to do with it that I couldn't accomplish without a little know how. This has been an amazing treat and I while I know that I need to get a new camera (or at least a newer one with video) This one will still be one of my first and best loves. April 12, 2012
Great Camera I got this camera used. Even though it was used I have no complaints! I love it! It is a great starter camera for anyone wanting to enter the world of dSLR's. February 23, 2012
I have enjoyed this camera for several years. It has worked as advertised with only one minor problem with was repaired. My next camera will probably be a D90. December 1, 2011
Love this camera Even though I just purchased the D7000, I still use this camera. No complaints October 11, 2011
The Nikon D50 works great! Imagine just with 6.1 megapixels, it produces clear pictures! My Nikon D50 was a hand-over last January 2011 and it was purchased by my brother in-law way back 2005. It had almost 50,000 shots at it when I got it and still working fine today. When I got it, the original lens was a Nikon 18-55mm Asphererical lens, and this lens is limited to wide angle photographs and shorter distance zooming as well. Recently, I bought two Nikon telephoto zoom lenses, Nikon 55-200mm f4-5.6 ED VR, and a Nikon 80-400mm f4-5.6 ED VR lens and both lens works perfectly with my D50! Now I am able to bird shoot at longer ranges…next time would get an 800mm lens for even farther wildlife shooting ranges. September 11, 2011
This has been an Excellent easy to use camera. It has done almost everything I have asked of it. The only time it has not produced superior photos is because I could not afford fast enough lenses for bad indoor lighting conditions at sporting events - no fault of the camera. August 18, 2011
After years as a photojournalist using Nikon F's and F2s, I finally made the transition to a DSLR four years ago. My choice was the D50 and it's still the camera I use, although I no longer make my living as a shooter. I know the D50 is no longer in production, but it's been a great, reliable camera. Matched with an 18-55 mm DX lens and a 70-300 ED-VR zoom lens, I'm ready for almost any situation. August 15, 2011
D50 rocks! Bought mine as gift to self back in 2000?... from Costco no less. Have been using it non-stop since. It is my baby and am v. protective over it. Love the prof sound it makes when it takes pic and the quality of pic is great. Def recommend for the aspiring amateur. Only had one issue, when I dropped it on concrete, lens down, lens optics broke. Overall it has been a consistent pleaser. June 20, 2011
Capturing Great Colors This is my first DSLR. a hand-me-down from my aunt. I love the colors when I'm shooting with this camera, I think it's because of the sensor. I also like the simplicity of this camera, sometimes we don't need that much of a setting to produce great photos, we just need to know the basics. Even though I also own a D90, I never go to a shoot without my D50. April 26, 2011
Have used the D50 since early 2006 and can only sing its praises. It is relatively simple, easy to use and without all the bells and whistles that make more recent cameras a complicated lesson in electronics. For the occasional amateur photographer it is ideal and am disappointed that it is no longer readily available. Compared to recent productions, the number of pixels seems low but, again for the amateur occasional user, the pictures produced are excellent. April 15, 2011
There is a reason that I own two of these My godson's wife introduced me to digital dSLR. After using another brand for a year, I came back to Nikon and immediately noticed a tremendous difference. I now shoot over 20,000 photographs a year and I can still access most of the photographs shot with my D50, although many of those shot with other cameras are now corrupted. Plus this camera uploads to my computer very fast and a fully charged battery lasts me a whole day, compared to two hours for another dSLR. Currently I have two D50 systems and I am considering the purchase of another Nikon system possibly by the end of this year. April 11, 2011
Couldn't ask for more My first camera, a D50, I had for 5 years, and created lush sharp textured landscapes of Central Oregon and beyond. I printed 16x24's for an art opening... stunning. Thanks Nikon for creating the perfect artistic camera. February 21, 2011
Excellent. Much more reliable than the D70. The D50 is an improvement on the D70 if only because it uses the more reliable SD card instead of the CF. The CF has to make 50 contact points or you get the dreaded CHR error code which disables the camera. The contact pins in the camera must be cleaned (get a kit) and the CF female contacts must also be treated to a cleaner from radioshack. That may solve the problem. There are also issues with failure to power and LCD failure. D50 appears to be bulletproof, relatively speaking. Cleaning the CCD is a tedious task, better avoided. Make sure you change the lens rarely and quickly. Eventually I got a couple of D90s which is a D50 with 12.3mp and a few other tricks too, but I paid for it. My D50s are still at hand. January 22, 2011
The Best Entry level DSLR ever I was a little afraid of purchasing a DSLR camera. But I decided to get into the DSLR world by the hand of the best brand in the world. I reviewed several options from Nikon and the competition, but decided for the D50 because of the ease of use. I was not disappointed neither was my wife who immediately embraced the camera and started taking pictures. The pictures look great no matter what we did. As we learned more and more about the techniques, the results started to look really professional. We own now a D2X and are still using our faithful D50 which by the way, have never had any breakdowns. October 24, 2010
Amazing for starters I was a high school photographer for 3 years and only used this camea. I did not like the other d- cameras out there. The only problem I rn into was with the flash attatchment. Other than it is a wnderful camera for beginners. October 23, 2010
excellent camera I purchased my D50 second hand and it takes the most amazing shots. I get lots of praise on my animal and nature shots and I am a beginner. so easy to use my chld has used it. I makes me feel like a pro! July 16, 2010
Cela m'a permis de faire des merveilles!!! J'ai acheté cet appareil croyant que c'était un semi-Pro... :-P #Vendeur# Mais a vrai dire, je suis vraiment ravis des performance qu'il offres! Je photographie beaucoup d'oiseaux, et malgré mon manque d'expérience... j'ai réussis a capter de vrai bijoux!!! Le seul hikkk! Est que le focus quelques fois est trop lent ou il perd la mire !!! Les oiseaux Ils ne niaisent pas eux!!! Très Satisfait!!! July 13, 2012
Good companion camera Although it doesn't have all the features of Nikon's D80 and D90, its still a good companion camera that can capture some nice looking images. I often use it for family get togethers. June 23, 2011
I own the standard D50 package that includes a lens marked DX SWM ED and elsewhere marked AF-S. I have screw-on closeup lenses, 3 each of 1, 2, and 4 diopters. A friend owns a Nikon 880 camera. The 880 focuses to infinity, and also allows closeups as near as 3 inches, with fantastic depth of field (I do not have a numerical measure of depth of field). I cannot match 880 performance with my D50, nor can I find an advertized lens that would match 880 closeup performance. April 15, 2011
i cant believe it is only 6 megpixels I have had this camera for quite some time. I have taken it to Hawaii and throughout the USA. The clarity of the pictures is such that my wifes new powershot with 12 megapixels is still underperformed by my Nikon. As a part time hobbiest and lover of photography, i see no need to upgrade to a newer body style as i don't even use all of the functions i have. I love this camera April 13, 2011
Good Camera - difficult to find accessories I love the camera. I have had it for a couple of years, but it is so difficult to find accessories. Everything I want only appears to be compatible with D40, D90, D3000 and D300S. That is frustrating. July 24, 2010
Great camera, hard to get info on it This camera works very well but it is hard to get info and lense compatibility. April 18, 2011
middling The D50 took very acceptable photos, even for 16X20 and up to 20X30 prints. Was replaced by a D80 when the D50 shutter failed at about 3000 pictures and the cost to repair exceeded the then value of the camera. Very disappointing after only three years of easy service! April 14, 2011
D50 Sensor cleaning annoyance It was great when I first purchased it, but as I found out I have to clean the sensor all the time to keep spots out of my photos. That is the main thig I don't like about it. I would however like to buy a D90 sometime in the future when i can afford it. September 3, 2010
Page:2
<<prev
56 Questions | 76 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
56 Questions | 76 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D50
 
3 Answers

How do I obtain a replacement lens cap for the standard ED 18-55mm lens?

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
George Keaveney
 on D50
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
George Keaveney
Location : 
George Keaveney
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You should also be able to get a replacement lens cap from almost any place that sells photo equipment. I'm always losing my lens caps and I just go to any establishment which sells photo equipment and electronics. I just ordered five online last week.
Jul 24, 2012 by
by
Photo Deacon
Baltimore, MD, USA
Location : 
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can get the LC-52 Snap-on Front Lens Cap 52mm.
 
Products related to my answer
 
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Go to your local camera shop. you should be able to get one there.
May 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D50
 
3 Answers

Will the included D50 Nikon lenses work with the D5100 and/or the D7000

Dec 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D50
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can check out this article to see which NIKKOR lenses work with which model Nikon D-SLRs: http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff2

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
BasilI

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I presume you are talking about the AF-S DX 18 - 55 mm F3.5 - F5.6G ED. Yes I believe they do.
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D50
 
3 Answers

I'm having a hard/impossible time finding any of the cards listed as compatable with the D50 that are still available.

Jan 18, 2012 by
by
hrt
Minnesota
 on D50
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Do you have any suggestions on where to find these cards since they are the only ones compatable?
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
hrt
Minnesota
Location : 
Minnesota
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have you tried your local pawn shops. Peeps always turn in their 2GB SD cards.
Feb 17, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm finding it harder and harder to find 2GB and smaller SD cards. My cards are not on the Nikon list, but they work. Often Nikon equipment is better than they are willing to admit. I have been using the Nikon D50 since October 2006 and I have not been using "any of the cards listed as compatable."
Jul 24, 2012 by
by
Photo Deacon
Baltimore, MD, USA
Location : 
Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please get in contact with the manufactures of these brands for information about availability.
Jan 18, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D50
 
3 Answers

how to change the aperture

Sep 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D50
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Also, if you are using a D lens make sure it is set to minimum aperture.
Sep 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Set camera mode to A, rotate dial top right rear of camera.
Sep 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe if you rotate the dial on rear of camera, top right should change aperture settings for you,
some models it would be dial on front upper right , but i do not see a dial there on the D50...
Hope this helps...
Sep 15, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D50
 
2 Answers

I am looking for a 50 mm lens for my Nikon D50. Does anyone know which 50 mm lens will work?

Mar 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D50
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I own the NIkon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 lens, among other lenses, and I love it. I just wish that I had it a year sooner when some of my teenagers took part in their school plays.
Jul 24, 2012 by
by
Photo Deacon
Baltimore, MD, USA
Location : 
Baltimore, MD, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see link below for more information on compatible lenses for your D50:

Answer Title: What lenses can I use with the D50?
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D50
 
2 Answers

I own a Nikon D- 50

Mar 12, 2011 by
by
phil
port angeles wa
 on D50
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Will the Nikon AF-S 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR lens work on my camera for all its functions? Thanks
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
phil
port angeles wa
Location : 
port angeles wa
Favorite Subject: Nature
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it's compatible with your camera.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use the D50 with the AF-S 70-300mm lens.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Zooty
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
F-- means that the camera is not recognizing the lens or is a non-CPU lens attached.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
IvetteC

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am not sure this will help, but I have found that if the lens is not fully seated,, you get the F--. In my case it only happened with my Tamron 18-270 lens, which Tamron fixed under warrantee as a known problem with the D90 only. In my case Manual mode would not be available nor any other mode.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
DooodleBug
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D50
 
2 Answers

can u see images through lcd before taking the picture????

Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D50
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No, suggest you buy a newer body.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, the D50 does not have liveview so unless you are going to tether it then its viewfinder only.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
gary
hartsdale, ny
Location : 
hartsdale, ny
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
you can use either AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR
70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED or AF Zoom-NIKKOR
70-300mm f/4-5.6G
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED

You can find more info in: http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Camera-Lenses/2161/AF-S-VR-Zoom-NIKKOR-70-300mm-f%252F4.5-5.6G-IF-ED.html#tab-ProductDetail.ProductTabs.Overview
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D50
 
2 Answers

I am trying to change the image settings, but cannot access the optimize image section of the menu, what can I do?

May 31, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D50
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings by pressing the Shooting mode button (left of the viewfinder) and Self-timer button. Please see page # 3 of the user's manual for the D50.
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you are in P,S,A or M mode as the optimize image menu is not available in the other program modes.
May 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers