Loading
COOLPIX P7100 4.3 5 52 52
The P7100 Delivers Photo Quality Beyond My Expections I bought my P7100 hoping that the operation and photo quality would be good enough so I could leave my much larger and heavier Nikon cameras and Len's at home once in a while. I like to go into the city of Portland, OR. and just shoot architecture and other subjects I happen onto without having to haul all my camera gear with me every time. I have used all the functions and it amazes me what it can do. I can't believe how well it does in close-up mode. Even the HDR function surprised me with how well it did. I have printed some 13x19 photos from the P7100 and they turned as well as shots from the D200. Ive' shot professonaly in the past and I know quality. The P7100 is quality shooter ! August 6, 2012
Great features for small camera! Great little camera! I shoot RAW most of the time and use it as backup to my bigger DSLR...and the pics are almost as good! Can shoot brackets, which I use often. It is small enough to carry around and have it handy whenever needed. The quality of photos is awsome!! And as usual, the user interface and getting around the menus is simple. August 5, 2012
Many features in a small package This is a great camera. I have already reviewed it but I bought a second one because the first one got stolen. Image quality is outstanding and very close to that of a DSLR. There are many features. I like that I can shoot raw, set the camera in manual mode if I need to. I have used this camera extensively in all light conditions and I have to say that low light is handled well by this camera provided one knows how to use it. I like that I can change settings quickly from outside buttons. I particularly like the built in ND filter because it allows me to do long exposures, which I like to do. Of course, in order to fully appreciate the value of this small camera, one has to learn it and get a feel for all the features that are offered. It's a really serious compact. The coolpix P7100 has been with me in many difficult environments from dusty to icy places and performed very well every time. It's the camera I take when I travel. I love the 200mm zoom lens. And even though I don't use the long zoom on a regular basis, it has come handy very often. The quality is very good at 200mm too. July 29, 2012
Awesome point and shoot camera This camera is great. It is exactly what I want. I don't want to carry around a big SLR or a bunch of lenses and equipment. I just want something that is small enough to take everywhere, and that will take great pictures. This camera does that. It gives me all the flexibility I need with almost all of the adjustments you get in an SLR. July 6, 2012
fantastic camera My CoolPix 7100 does everything and more than my non -Nikon D SLR does. I love the light weight, compact design, easy to change settings. The zoom saves lugging extra lenses and the view finder is a necessity when the sun is very bright. I especially like the flash switch...so easy to use without going to a menu . The same can be said for changing Quality settings. This is my first Nikon and I am extremely pleased with my new purchase. June 18, 2012
Its a Nikon, say no more! I purchased the Nikon P7100 because of the larger sensor and extensive manual features. I have had the camera now for close to a month and could not be happier with the overall performance. I upgraded from a 12.2 mega pixel point and shoot and I can say the dynamic range of both contrast and colors with this Nikon P7100 camera are outstanding. I have been working with all the features and noticed the controls for these features are very easy to access with all the function buttons on this camera. My passion is macro photography and this P7100 does a very nice job, no complaints. The tilting display makes it very nice to shoot at all angles, a must for macro. The low light capabilities are also a plus, thanks to the larger sensor and wide angle lense. Oh and did I mention the lens? Well it is Nikkor glass, thats what defines a Nikon and this P7100 is truly Nikon all the way. I could go on and on about the features but it is easier to just say if you are looking to upgrade to an advanced point and shoot with extensive manual controls then do not hesitate to purchase a Nikon P7100, you will not be disappointed. . June 2, 2012
Great features in a nice compact camera As a long time Nikon DSLR shooter, I was getting tired of hauling the big dslr & its lenses around all the time, especially on short trips, so I went looking for an advanced compact camera to provide most of what my dslr does without the weight. The other requirement was no lens changes. The P7100 meets those requirements plus brings more options than I had even thought about. Fairly steep learning curve; got David Busch's guide to help. Just one week into the new camera; the pictures are great & it is so much fun to shoot with! May 24, 2012
Quality Product Improved over P7000 - Faster, better white balance and color rendition (better than primary competition). Great battery life. Good feature set. Good build quality. Reliability to be determined. Expected to be good based on previous Nikon experience. Could benefit from UV haze filter and Polarizing filter. Quick disconnect neck strap would improve versatility. April 19, 2012
'Monster' of a camera! Everything the P7000 should have been, unbelievable amount of manual control options, brilliant IQ, well built, only problem I have is very yellow shots in Low Light Mode no matter what I change WB to. March 11, 2012
Extremely pleased!!! I have used both Sony and Canon products similar to this camera. I have to say that I have enjoyed this camera much more!!! All the bells and whistles are there for anyone wanting to "take it up a notch". You can put it on auto and just use it as a point and shoot. It works very well. But if you're like me, and enjoy having a little more control, you can move into a more manual operation and you call the shots. I've shot over 1,000 pics so far (I've only had it for about a week) and I have to say I'm very pleased. I have experimented with flash units on it and been very pleased with that too. I've used Pocket Wizards with flash off camera and I've used a Ray Flash on for macro shots!!! It handles them all with ease. Image quality is very good. I've increased ISO up to 3200 and found the image still usable (although I've corrected some in software for noise reduction). Out of camera images are still good at 800 to 1600 ISO. It fits extremely well in your hand. The ergonomic design is much better than other cameras I've used. It's perfect for those trips where you don't want to take along a DSLR (or for that person that just wants one camera to do it all, this one fits that bill too). I don't used video that much but have tried it out some and found it does a very good job (video is very clear). Overall I plan on using this camera for years to come. I'm very glad I purchased it (after much online searching and researching). March 2, 2012
What a surprise! I just received my Nikon P7100 and took it for a test drive. I have been an film photographer for over 40 years and am one of the last to convert to digital. I wanted a camera that would give both full automatic and full manual capabilities in a budget priced package. If this is what you are looking for then the P7100 is for you. The learning curve for the many controls is short as the camera has an excellent, intuitive layout. Nikon put a lot of thought into which controls would be most used by the advanced user. For example, one dial is dedicated to exposure compensation, a very common accessory for many photographers. Physically, this little gem is well balanced and easy to control. It feels comfy in the hand. The wide ISO range allows for shooting in a variety of lighting conditions with little loss in image quality. I was surprised! If you are the type of person who likes to do a lot of post shooting image manipulation then you won't be disappointed. This camera can record in JPEG and RAW format giving you all the latitude you could desire for computer "darkroom" play. I do wish the camera would accept additional telephoto lenses as I feel limited by the 28-200 mm configuration of the lens system. While this lens appears to be excellent, I would love to reach out with a 400 mm lens. Perhaps Nikon will consider this in a future generation. Whether you are a beginner who is looking for a camera to learn all aspects of photography or a dedicated professional looking for that "pocket back up", you won't be disappointed by the Nikon P7100. January 25, 2012
Very impressive! My wife is a professional photographer so I handed over my new Nikon P7100 for her to "check out" for me. She uses a Nikon D3s with top-of-the line Nikkor lenses for her professional work so I'm sure that she was not expecting too much from the "point & shoot" P7100. Was she surprised...especially with the "low-light" capability of this little "gem"! The photos produced were sharp, bright and the colors were outstanding. Add to that a Nikkor 7.1x wide optical zoom and HD video and she gave the P7100 two "thumbs up" with no reservations. Note: We utilized the HD video at our grandson's basketball game. Even in indoor gym lighting, the video came out sharp, bright and focused with excellent audio quality. All in all, the P7100 is a wonderful camera! I just point & shoot and it does all the work for me. January 18, 2012
Fantastic pictures and relatively easy to use My review targets the casual user who wants excellent photographs without having to use manual controls. I have always used a point-and-shoot camera and have always been disappointed when I wanted to have my subject appear closer than what the lens was capable of. The P7100 has provided what I am looking for. I like that I can use the automatic controls and the zoom lens gives me the photos I have been wanting to take. The tilting monitor is very helpful for taking high and low shots . There are so many features in this camera that I am pleased with. The colors are true. The battery lasts longer than I expected before needing to be recharged. It takes videos which I haven't even tried yet. I read a lot of reviews and interviewed several cameras at my local camera shop before I decided on this one. I have made the right choice. While Nikon makes many very good point and shoot cameras, I am glad that I finally made the step up to the next level in photography. I live on an island which gives me lots of photo opportunities. I am still learning to use the features of this camera. I am sure it will take me quite some time to do it well, but I am sure having fun. The only thing that I would change is the neck strap. I don't want my camera hanging around my neck. I would prefer to have a sturdy wrist strap that could disconnect from the camera when desired. There are several available on-line, but I would like to see Nikon provide their own. Click on my photos below to see what features I used. January 17, 2012
Am very happy I am learning to be well pleased with the Cool 7100. I have read one review and agree with the author. I like to tilting screen also and find that the angles which are available make using the Cool 7100 a pleasure to use. It fits in my hand comfortable. I have found the learning of the different programs to be easy to use and the result of the fine quality of pictures is exxcellent. I am planning on using the 7100 on a regular basis. I have shot portraits using the camera and have received good comments. The cameras ability to focus in low light condtions is enjoyable. I use the Quality mode for selection of Fine shooting. The selection of noise off controls is good. I have set my camera in the shutter noise off and the beeping sound off and that is a big plus. As I further use the 7100 I will find the other good features to use on the camera. Love the Cool 7100 January 16, 2012
I am pleased I shoot with several SLRs, both digital and film, A view camera, and a number of compact digitals. I bought the P7100 because I use my compacts a lot and wanted a compact with RAW capability. Any camera is a compromise in one area or another and the P7100 is no exception. That being said, I am very satisfied with the image quality and the controls. The camera feels substantial and the adjustments I use the most, ISO, quality, aperture, speed and exposure compensation are very easy and quick to change. I don't use scene modes often, so I'll let others comment about that that. The camera feels good in my hands and although it is a bit heavier than my other compacts, the overall heft and fit and finish says quality. The camera feels like an image making machine, not a toy. I find the screen menus to be logical and reasonably simple to use. The tilting screen is quite useful and the display quality is excellent. I use the hot shoe and a speedlight for flash situations with excellent results. I wished for more optical zoom when I chose the P7100, but have found the 7:1 to be adequate for most situations. The digital zoom is only available in JPEG quality and is acceptable. I had an earlier Cool Pix 4300 and found the start-up time to be objectionable. The P7100 start-up time is not an issue for me. Battery life has been excellent. If you just want a point and shoot, this is too much camera for you, but if you want a good all around carry camera with a lot of capability and RAW image flexibility, take a hard look at this camera. January 14, 2012
Best Coolpix To Date The following P7100 pro/con comparison is based on taking over 2,000 shots and scores of videos at Disney World in Florida. I am a serious amateur/unpaid professional with over 40 years of 35mm experience, and an avid Photoshop CS5 fan. Pros: Solidly built. Fast start up. Quiet operation. Picture quality, tones, and sharpness rivals my Nikon DSLR's. Great for a beginner who wants to grow into photography without having to invest in a DSLR on Day 1. Total control, from automatic to manual. Basic Snapshot setting (green camera icon) gets it right about 85% of the time. Highly customizable buttons and features. Automatic scene settings usually superior to manual setup. Very good in low light settings. Raw + Jpg mode. 3 user defined settings to add to the built in automatic scene settings. Very fast and easy one finger button to delete unwanted shots as they happen. Video quality and sound recording rivals theatres when played back on high quality TV. Jack for external video mic. Continuous shots/Best shot option lets you get the best shot when the subject is moving Exposure bracketing with manual overrides is great when the light isn't. Very clear zoom at the digital end. HDMI output. Battery life. In camera recharge via USB/Wall charger too. Flash Hotshoe Power settings for built-in flash. Single button Macro mode and auto setting; focus is very accurate and easy to use. (Remember to turn it off to return to regular shooting!) Automatic shutter cap (works better than P7000 this replaces). Great manual. 286 pages long, so on pdf instead of printed. Quiet video zoom. Variable angle LCD is great to take pictures with the camera over your head. Viewfinder with diopter correction. Solid opening and closing doors for battery, mic, outputs. Cons: Not a true pocket camera. A bit bulky and heavy. Only comes in basic black. Not very chic. Strap is too thin for the weight and bulk. Get a wider aftermarket one. Not for the beginner. Too many controls and options, although most can be ignored. Factory settings need to be manually corrected to avoid yellow cast and mild contrast before taking first shot. The manual is quite long and can be complex for a beginner. Photo software is frustrating and not intuitive. Better to wait for deals on aftermarket programs. The few extra dollars will be worth it. Exposure comp dial is too easy to turn; does't lock in place. Uses proprietary Nikon batteries that are quite expensive. January 13, 2012
Now Nikon has it right... the P7100 This camera is certainly well built and has the feel of a quality item. the lens is superb and produces good images. Even the telephoto zoom has been improved over the 7000 as it is smooth and has no "fast" spots making it easy to control. I would suggest that the next iteration of this camera have more analog type controls, specifically an analog shutter speed dial.. This camera appears to have a longer focal length lens than the new Canon pro1 X which will make this Nikon the better choice for cameras in this class, January 12, 2012
Great photos with a compact camera I use the P 7100 in lieu of my D3 when carrying the larger camera would be inconveinient. Because I edit and print my images in Adobe Lightroom 3, the ability to shoot in camera raw is a great plus. I will not use a camera that doesn't have raw format capability. January 12, 2012
really impressed Received my P7100 yesterday. At first I thought the controls looked cluttered and complex but within 10 mins it was a breeze. Lay out is ergonomic and menu easy to navigate. I just have to get used to pressing the flash button when required. Picture quality seems superb. It is better than I expected.. Thumbs up - so far so good. January 6, 2012
Great camera I've owned several cameras in my life, Minolta, Canon, and Nikon. I love the P7100. Although recently purchased, I haven't used all of it's features but the ones I have used are fantastic. A great bang for the buck. Clarity is superb, colors are terrific. It's lightweight and easy to use. Love it. Thanks for a great camera, Nikon. December 19, 2011
Simply the best choice! I own a few other advanced compact digital cameras, but the Nikon CoolPix P7100 is far and away the best I have ever used. Photos are stunningly sharp, colors are accurate, metering is precise and the overall experience is such a pleasure! This camera feels solid and comfortable, and the LCD monitor is excellent. The AF is quick and accurate, and best of all, my "keeper rate" is higher than ever! Do not hesitate; this is a camera you'll love! November 18, 2011
At last a serious advanced Coolpix ... I had the P7000 for 3 weeks, and although i like the image quality and controls, I admit it had some processing tweaks, but I saw that a corrected P7000 is coming, and that's the P7100 ... Today I have the P7100 since about 90 days along the D3s and D200. With the introduction of the P7100, I can say that Nikon have for the first time a serious advanced P&S. Everything runs so smoothly in the P7100 and the image quality is excellent . I only wished that Nikon integrated a built in GPS and the 1080p video in the P7100 .... and it would be a complete cam for me .... November 12, 2011
Monter The Coolpix P7100 Vari-Angle Monitior Should be the same as the D5100 Vari-Angle LCD Monitor This would be like My Old Coolpix S10 (Assume Camera). This would allow you to get not only the Low Shot like taking Pictures of my Granddaughter Crawling but the Over Heat Shots when you go to the Zoo or Games . I Hope you Convert the P7100 Monitor to Be the same as the D5100 Monitor. His will make the P7100 the Perfect Compact Digital Camera. All the Battery Charges Should Be A Wall Mounted Charger It make Sense for Traveling making it less to Cary around. October 18, 2011
Great camera This P7100 replaces the P7000 that I had for a year. And I am glad to see that all the bugs were fixed. It was time! the P7100 is my only camera., it's not a backup so it goes everywhere, and often in the backcountry, so I like the size. I like how easy it is to use. A major improvement comes from the external adjustement dials so one doesn't have to search through time consuming menus. And most importantly I like the fact that the lens cover finally opens completely! Just like its predecessor the P7100 offers great image quality. I keep getting comments on the beautiful colors. It also has added features and special effect filters that are fun to use. I like the quick AF response. No need to wait forever for the camera to find a focus. The RAW write time is good and certainly faster than before. The long zoom is a bonus and is very good. I got very sharp photos zoomed at 200mm on moving subjects. Performs well in low light and this is a feature I love. I like the ND filter that comes handy when there is a need to cut annoying highlights in some situations such as when photographing ocean waves. I often use the camera for action shots and got good results,with sharp images on fairly fast moving subjects. I can't comment on highly technical details like some people do, and I am not a photographer. All I can say is that I am very pleased with the picture quality and what I can do with this camera. It's possible to do incredible macros too. I don't think it would be wise to compare the P7100 with a DSLR as it's not fair. But this camera can be operated completely manually if one wants to be creative. I use the manual controls most of the time. But it takes a while to get acquainted with all the possibilities offered by this camera. It's very easy to use though and a pleasure to operate. I have already recommended to friends and will continue to do so! October 11, 2011
What we wanted in the P7000 This camera makes a great travel and easy to carry camera. It is not a DSLR but it is the best carry camera I have had. The response time to focus and lock is great, that was the only problem with the P7000 and now that is fixed. The picture quality is great. October 9, 2011
Enfoque veloz y comodo uso Eficaz diseño, versatiles funciones profesionales. May 5, 2012
Gran Equipo de Fotografia Sin duda equipo con grandes capacidades y efectos dignas de una SLR (Reflex). Lo malo es que el view finder no es electronico y el enfoque manual no tiene capacidad para modificar exposicion. Sin embargo, definitivamente si es un equipo recomendable para cualquier amante de la fotografia en serio. May 4, 2012
It's almost there, Niikon. Very fine camera. It needs a fully articulated monitor and a longer zoom range and you'd really have something. Can you hear me, Nikon? August 21, 2012
EXCELLENT CAMERA FOR A HIGH PRICE The camera works fine. But the strap is cheap, rough and cuts into the neck. Really annoying. Certainly a better quality strap could have been supplied. That's why I'm rating it 4 stars instead of 5. Otherwise, the camera does just about everything a mid-advanced Nikon SLR does at less than half the weight and without fiddling with lens and exposure rates, etc. August 2, 2012
Small but with lots of control I'm pretty pleased with this camera with the exception of the speed to record to the card [and the viewfinder]. And I have a ultra fast SanDisk. It can do bracketed shots for HDR. July 18, 2012
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
63 Questions | 87 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
63 Questions | 87 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX P7100
 
4 Answers

CoolPix 7100 and CLS

Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Raul
California
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Will the popup flash on the CoolPix 7100 act as a CLS controller? If not, will a Nikon Speedlight attached to the 7100 act as a CLS controller?
3 years ago
by
Raul
California
Location : 
California
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used my SB800 as a flash and as a commander on the P7100.
The P7100 does NOT support a very few features of the Nikon CLS, most notably AutoFP (high speed sync above standard shutter speeds).
I have very easily used my SB400, SB600, and SB800 with great effect.
Last note, except for times when you need the extra "kick" of the SB600 or SB800, I would recommend the SB400 because it balances nicely on the camera.
 
Products related to my answer
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
SB-600 AF Speedlight
4.1 out of 5(35)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Dec 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes It works fine with CLS and with SU-800 just put all remote Speedlights SB-800, SB-600, SB-700 and SB-900 in group A this worked very fine with me even in close ups
Oct 28, 2011 by
by
Nabfro
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Are you directly familiar with the camera, or are you speculating based on earlier models?

The P7100 page lists compatibilty with the SU-800 Commander, and the SU-800 page list compatibility with the P7100. This infers that the P7100 does have CLS capability.
Aug 30, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
no it wont work only with DSLR
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
globalphotobank
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7100
 
3 Answers

what is the difference between the P7100 and the P7000?

Apr 3, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Differences... the P7000 had mediocre operational speed and sometimes seemed to have confusing on-screen menus. It was a camera that I looked at seriously, but on which I passed. On the other hand, the P7100 has both highly improved operational speed compared to the P7000, the very useful command dial on the front of the camera, and what sold me was the flip-out LCD screen on the rear. There are other small improvements as well, but this serious/pro level compact has not only lived up to expectations, but as an owner can say that it has surpassed them as well. The bokeh is far better than expected.

The only shortfall at this point is the apparent shortage of the EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion batteries, and one can only hope that this is just a temporary situation.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my answer
 
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
3.4 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
May 8, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The P7000 is not a speed demon of a camera and whilst neither is the P7100 (I wish Nikon had used the Expeed 3 processor) it is slightly faster than the P7000. Other differeences are the front dial which works really well and the articulated screen at the back. It also has HDR in camera capability and also you can create panaramas. The P7100 gets rid of most the problems that the P7000 had and is now as good as the Canon G12 (which the P7000, should have been). It isn't a bad camera and has many good points over cameras like the V1 (ergonomically and the ability to mount a normal flash) but the speed of the 1 series cameras put the P7100 to shame.
Apr 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Use the compare feature on Nikon's website.
Apr 4, 2012 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7100
 
3 Answers

If I mount P7100 on extension pole to photograph roofs, will wireless remote ML-L3 trigger the shutter?

Jul 15, 2012 by
by
dNd Original Photography
Pacific, MO
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Wanted to use self timer to do this but I beleive (don't know for sure) shutter release button has to be pressed BEFORE self timer activates. This sets focal length with camera in hand, not when camera is lifted up to capture roof image.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
dNd Original Photography
Pacific, MO
Location : 
Pacific, MO
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, small mistake the front IR is just below "NIKON "
Jul 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
One on the front just below the shutter release button and the other in the rear next to the menu button
Jul 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
ML-3 will activate the shutter but remember you must line it up with one of the IR receivers on the camera. Yes you are correct about the self timer shutter must be activated (and focused)when you activate the timer.
Jul 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7100
 
2 Answers

How many Frames per second can it take with full resolution?

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
Jinny
Ontario
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Jinny
Ontario
Location : 
Ontario
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For the P7100, the top Continuous shooting is 1.2 frames per second.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Conelight
Indianapolis
Location : 
Indianapolis
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Unfortunately, there was no link to let us know which camera you are inquiring about. Please reply with the model.
Aug 30, 2011 by
by
MichaelL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7100
 
2 Answers

What method of lens shade is recomended for the P7100?

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
npmfoto
phoenix, az
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
npmfoto
phoenix, az
Location : 
phoenix, az
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Longtime street shooter: I use my hand to approximately cover the lens and viewing system; not perfect nor stylish but it works. Alternatively: an 18% Grey Card.
Oct 4, 2011 by
by
Jack Spratt
Las Cruces NM USA
Location : 
Las Cruces NM USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
The new COOLPIX P7100 doesn't use a Lens shade. Please click on the link below for a list of accessories for the COOLPIX P7100.
Sep 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7100
 
2 Answers

Does the Nikon P7100 have infrared remote control capability with the ML-L3?

Sep 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Remote-Cords/4730/ML-L3-Wireless-Remote-Control-(Infrared).html#tab-ProductDetail.ProductTabs.CompatibleWith
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7100
 
2 Answers

Is there any way to order/purchase a PRINTED manual for the Coolpix 7100?

Sep 23, 2011 by
by
jbugMD
USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
If not, can Nikon publish a manual formatted for Kindle (mobi format)? The PDF is too difficult to read on a Kindle due to the small fine type - which was designed for print.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
jbugMD
USA
Location : 
USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The PDF of the docs show up very well on the kindle fire. Even the illustrations can be enlarged.
Jul 29, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
The user's manuals for our cameras only come in PDF files.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7100
 
2 Answers

Raw mode photos take a very long time to save to memory

Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Chuck88
Phoenix, AZ, USA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Just picked up a P7100. I was very excited about the P7100's raw mode capabilities. However, when shooting in raw (NRW) mode, it takes 4 or 5 seconds before the camera is ready to take another picture. I'm shooting in "raw only" mode. Is there something wrong with my camera or is 4 seconds per picture within specs for this model?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Chuck88
Phoenix, AZ, USA
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I shoot only in NRW and have not noticed any delay in writing images from buffer to the memory card. I am also using a memory card that is rated for 45 MB/s and can hold down the shutter release for a minute or more without pause.

Try a card that is rated for at least 30 MB/s and you will notice a huge speed increase.
Dec 22, 2011 by
by
kammera
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try using a SDXC class 10 memory card. Your camera is rated at 1.2 frames per second.
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7100
 
2 Answers

P7100 NRW files does not display in Aperture 3, in Photoshop 5 !!!

Nov 12, 2011 by
by
HMeYe
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I am not being able to view NRW files of the P7100 on Aperture, Photoshop , or any other software ...
What is the problem
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
HMeYe
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
As with any other new format it takes time for software developers to get a patch out that will support the new file format.

Just be glad that Photoshop 5 is still the latest version out there. When I upgraded last year to the d7000, they phased out support for the new RAW format for the older Adobe software and I had to upgrade to Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom 3 - that was an addtional $400 I wasn't planning to spend.

As long as you have the current version of the software, the developer should send out a patch in the next 60-90 days.
Dec 2, 2011 by
by
elGuapo
Sunnyvale, Ca
Location : 
Sunnyvale, Ca
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The "problem" is the software, you will have to get in touch with the relevant software makers for updates or use View NX or Capture NX2 which will handle the RAW files.
Nov 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The P7100, has an 28-200mm zoom lens (x7.1). It is very much the top of the line compact/bridge camera that Nikon make. The advantage of it is that it is ergonomically great, with lots of dials and controls on the camera. It is aimed at more experienced users, who already have a DSLR.
Dec 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
No interchangeable lenses, only DSLR's, Nikon 1 and Nikon film cameras have a choice of lenses.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers