Loading
;
COOLPIX S6100 3.8 5 122 122
Great pics, easy to use, easy to break The camera takes great pics and is very easy to use, I bought it for my electronically challenged SO. However, during a recent move the camera was damaged. I have had several SLRs and consider cameras on the fragile side so we packed the Cool Pix with the rest of the cameras. Unfortunately it did not survive the move, the lens mechanism malfunctioned and is now totally useless. June 10, 2012
Touch and go with this one It's not good for action shots or ones with low lighting if you are a photographer on the run. It also has a sticky lens cover that breaks often. If you give your camera time to work with it, it can produce some fabulous results. I would attach photos but I'm sending my nikon in again for the second time. June 7, 2012
Great camera but not what i expected... I just bought this camera for a couple days and when i try to use it stil can't get a clear picture....was so disappointment when i bring this on my friends birthday party and when i try to take a picture won't show it on the screen and its so blur and dark....just gonna return it on the store and just get a sony brand.... November 27, 2011
great camera, but breaks This is an amazing camera, and I have taken many good pictures with it, but it breaks. I got this camera and a month later it broke. COmpletely died, wouldn't charge, nothing. I had the warranty papers, got it back and was happy. Now a month later it has happened again. I am very frustrated because I love this camera, and wish I could depend on it. November 4, 2011
Shutter jammed after 2 months of use I was very happy with the features of S6100 during the first two months I could use it (before the shutter jammed). The touch screen was accessible, and the quality of the pictures was good. Imagine my chagrin when the shutter jammed open (obscuring the top right and bottom left with a diagonal obstruction) during a morning of outside shooting! The camera was neither dropped nor bumped. When I tried to get the camera fixed under my year-long warranty, I had many problems. An APO AE post box couldn't be used as a return address (until we spent an hour and finally got a name through customer service). The US store where I bought the camera didn't want anything to do with the repair because they said this kind of problem occurred often when dirt got into the mechanism, Besides, the store would have to charge me to get it into the repair system (despite the warranty). I took it to a photo store in Germany where I live. I was told that the problem was mechanical and not caused by dirt. However, I could not get the camera repaired in Germany because the warranty is valid in Germany only on cameras with an identifying German ID number. So I sent the camera (per directions) to a repair facility in the States. I was told there would probably be a cost in addition to the postage and insurance. With non-service such as I have experienced, I would not buy another Nikon. A $230 dollar camera should last longer than 2 months! October 4, 2011
ALTHOUGHT THE FEATURES OF THE CAMERA ARE NICE. THIS CAMERA IS GREAT IN THEORY BUT I HAD IT FOR ONE MONTH AND ONE WEEK AND MY TOUCH SCREEN QUIT WORKING. I HAD TO PAY TO SHIP IT BACK TO NIKON AND IT IS UNTELLING HOW LONG I WILL HAVE TO WAIT TO GET IT BACK. September 12, 2011
Battery door weak point as it bends or breaks easi The battery door is a disaster as it breaks or bends easily August 29, 2011
Disapointed The camera DID NOT read the SHHC card as to how many oics remained to be taken also the scene mode did not allow scrolling, no labels on the scene modes icons ONLY. NG August 22, 2011
Dud Battery Camera takes great photos; Battery is junk, works well for about 3 months then will not recharge. Bought camera in April, replaced battery in Sept. by Dec. battery will no longer accept a charge. December 31, 2012
Great...at first! Had this camera for a few months and it worked well apart from a small battery life. Then it refused to turn on and didn't respond to the charger! Nothing I have done fixed this. Very disappointed. June 22, 2012
Not my kind of camera! Bought my camera 3 months ago....Now it wont charge at all! The SD I have used in it(SUCCESSFULLY UNTIL NOW) since I bought it now will not work on my computer OR another camera! So my pics that are on it are just GONE! Very irritated that I spent the extra money thinking NIKON was great and now this! NEVER again will I buy a NIKON! April 22, 2012
Recurring Power Issues Crash Camera I purchased this camera while on vacation and it worked fine. The touch screen is nice but it does not respond at all like an iPad. You have to try several times to get it to do what you want. The next time I went to use this camera was for a special family event but the battery was low so I charged it. Immediately the camera stopped responding and would not turn on. The failure of this Nikon camera caused me to loose capturing those memories. The Nikon warranty information provided with the camera did not include any phone numbers to call. Because I purchased the camera on vacation, I did not have a proper receipt and had to contact the cruise line to get a special copy that met the criteria. This just added weeks to the time I was without a camera. I then spent my own money on packaging and mailing this defective Nikon camera back. Happily I received the camera back quickly and once again it worked... at first, but then when I went to use it on Christmas (the most important day for pictures) - again it FAILED!! Where could I go on Christmas day to get a camera because this Nikon camera failed??!! For Christmas my wife got a new puppy and we are now forced to take pictures with our phones. These are events that will never ever be repeated and we cannot capture them properly because of the failure of this Nikon camera. And so far, the repair people are unresponsive, cold and unwilling to send a replacement. On my recommendation, my daughter purchased the exact same camera while on vacation so when she came over for Christmas, I was able to try her battery in my camera; my camera did not respond. So I then tried my battery in her camera; her camera did not respond. So obviously both the camera and the battery are both defective!! Nikon has had the chance to fix the problem and they failed. First they sell a defective Nikon product then they fail to fix it. I am out of pocket and have lost opportunities because of Nikon's failure. Their response?? ...cold indifference. When I send this camera back AGAIN, I want them to keep it - I do NOT want this camera back. Give me a better camera that works and send me back in time to capture those memories. January 7, 2012
Second Costco Version died Bought this for my daughter's birthday. Her first REAL camera. Took a few great pics. Battery died and would not charge or turn on again. Replaced THAT one and a couple of months later we have THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM with the replacement camera. Strongly recommend you look elsewhere. January 2, 2012
BARELY USED IT JUNK, techincally I've owned this camera for 3 months, but only used it 3 times. The pictures, no matter what settings I use, all come up bad. The video quality is sub-par. The battery doesnt hold a charge. I wish I didn't buy this. December 14, 2011
Not satisfied I own a Nikon D60 which is awesome and I still use that. I owned S6100 and my first impression with this is NOT satisfied. I tested indoor and outdoor and the pictures I tested indoor using Tripod is not awesome. I checked with Automatic and also the setting with brightness but both has given different quality. I also observed noise. November 28, 2011
Failed on two fronts. First camera failed in first week: shutter that protects the lens would not close completely. Camera replaced by Sam's Club under their 30-replacement policy. Now 4 months later new camera won't charge. Nikon Customer Service rep was pleasant, but recommendation is to go to dealer and attempt to diagnose whether it's the battery, the cable or the camera that's defective; then send that part back for replacement. My experience may be one in million, but wouldn't want you to have the same problem. November 28, 2011
disappointed I have had this camera for 4 months and it has been used very little. It won't turn on and it won't charge. Was advised to send it back and they are willing to look at it to see what is wrong, Depending on the issue, they may or may not charge me. November 21, 2011
Didn't last I bought this to replace my Panasonic Lumix camera. This camera didn't last 3 months- the pictures are blurry, the lens won't open or close. Junk- November 18, 2011
Would not purchase again I was under the impression that Nikon was a good camera to buy. I bought a NikonS6100 and liked it for about 2 months. At which time the lens cover started acting up and I kept on getting "lens error." It got to the point where the cover would not retract and I could not take pictures unobstructed. When I sent the camera back to the company, it was not covered under the warranty (even though it was sent only 3 months after purchase) and the estimate they gave me was very close to the purchase price. Not worth it to me, especially when there is no guarantee the problem will not reoccur. Too little value at too high a price. I also bought my friend a different model right after I bought mine and she hated it. The picture quality was terrible. Luckily she was able to return hers to the store and exchange it for another brand. September 27, 2011
Haven't had a chance to use it yet.. Won't come o This camera was given to me as a gift 2 months ago and after following all the instructions per the user manual it worked fine. However when I went to use it over the Labor Day weekend - the camera would not come on for whatever reason. Had to send it in to find out what is wrong with it. I hope this is not a bad sign... September 12, 2011
THIS CAMERA BITES! Pain in the rear to use and pictures are blurry 99% of the time. i wish i would have bought a canon. August 24, 2011
Don't Buy I worst Nikon ever, Nikon suport does not even respond!! been a nikon customer for 20 years don't buy if you have windows vista, will not work and if you need support there is none! August 8, 2011
no flexible charging option I am not comfortable with the charger nor the cable socket ... not good so for me. August 6, 2011
coolpix s6100 I am disappointed at this point. I used the camera ONE (1) time. I turned it off, and now can not get it to turn back on.... I am in the process of returning it. I have a Nikon d70 (oldie but goodie).... that has worked flawlessly for years..... July 18, 2011
Disappointing Having had a D5000 for sometime having upgraded from a Panasonic DSLR and loving it when it was time to upgrade our compact from a Panasonic Lumix we thought lets go with a Nikon. We got it home and immediately disappointed the touch screen was good but getting a good quality picture especially with the flash was difficult so a one shot was impossible we tried it in different settings but we took it back and got a refund and I am going to get another Panasonic. July 12, 2011
Quality is awful. I bought this camera thinking that it would take great pictures/videos. ive read several reviews stating great things about it. the flash is blinding. the pictures dont really come out that great. the video quality is just horrendous. i wouldnt recommend this to anyone. Ive had canon cameras in the past and i think im going to go back to them June 5, 2011
Piece of junk When I brought this camera home, I was excited. It had many great reviews, and 16 megapixels. The camera looked great. When I went to take a picture, I was surprised. The flash was like looking into the sun. Even from the back of the camera, the flash hurt my eyes. This camera also has this box feature where it focuses in on an object. It is always there-you don't even get the option. If you don't have it exactly precise, The picture is blurry. Out of the 100 pictures I took, only about 10% came out nice. The zoom was horrible. Also, the battery (fully charged) didn't even last an hour. Honestly, this camera frustrated me. I returned it immediately. I have an older olympus. It was much better, since it didn't have that box feature, and would at least try to zoom in. I would use it instead if the button wasn't broke. To be perfectly honest, I've worked with several nikon cameras and found myself disappointed every time. I haven't written a review for the others, though May 16, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev
105 Questions | 119 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
105 Questions | 119 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
4 Answers

Does it have Auto Focus?

May 27, 2014 by
by
Amateur photographer
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am wondering if this camera has auto focus, and if so how to turn it on. I got this camera for Christmas and would like to know more.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Amateur photographer
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Location : 
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To focus your shot press the shutter release button halfway down - the camera will autofocus and determine exposure when you do this. Then press the shutter release button all the way down to take your picture. If you wish to refocus or reframe your shot, remove your finger from the shutter release and then press it halfway down again. If you need further assistance please contact Nikon Support: http://support.NikonUSA.com .
May 30, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Auto focus is on by default, you cannot turn it on or off, page 30 of the manual explains.
May 28, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have read the product manual,and user manual, neither say anything about it.
May 28, 2014 by
by
Amateur photographer
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Location : 
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the S6100 has auto focus. To better understand your camera, please read the users manual. It can be downloaded here:https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17246/~/users-manual---nikon-coolpix-s6100
May 28, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
3 Answers

S6100 - Not focused, images not clear or oversaturated, same with videos

Jun 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
United States
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I bought this camera 2 weeks ago. So far the images are saturated and not clear. The camera seems to have problems focusing on the subject. I adjusted the settings, turned the camera on and off yet my 3 mega pixel fuji seems to blow the image quality away. Any suggestions before I return this camera?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It isextremely annoying when this happens. But your best option is to hold the button down half way and just wait. It takes 5-10 long seconds but it eventually gets it.
Nov 3, 2011 by
by
EiNST3iN
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
When this happened to my Coolpix S1600, my grandson turned on the flash. It helped, but who knows why.
Jul 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

When is camera being released? I pre-ordered a while ago through Amazon, but my vaction is next weekend and I hate to not have it in time.

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Vickie
Franklin NJ
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Vickie
Franklin NJ
Location : 
Franklin NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I ordered this camera through Amazon.com and I got it after 4 days.
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Sharareh
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: 35-44

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days at authorized dealers.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

Ordered Coolpix 6100 directly from NikonUSA website, how long will it take to receive?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Sunni
GA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I ordered it online, the website stated it was in stock. With other authorized dealers, they didn't have them in stock so the delivery time was listed at 3-4 weeks. When ordering directly from NikonUSA website and selecting 2nd day air for delivery, will I recieve it within 1 week?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Sunni
GA
Location : 
GA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The most time it should take is a week. Even less time then that. I got my camera for Christmas, (which is the busiest time of the year) and got the camera within 3-4 days. Not that long of a wait at all. And if you're willing to pay extra, I'm pretty sure you can get it within 2 days.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you order your camera during weekdays with exception of Thursday and Friday, you may receive the camera within the time frame specified by the carried once the order is completed.
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

When will this camera be back in stock?

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of March and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after release date. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
I'm not sure, but if I were you I would save your money and buy a DSLR. You can get one for under $600!
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JacobC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

can i use this camera as a web cam

Jun 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have tried tethered shooting many times but I have never thought of using any camera as a web cam.
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
Izzie
Missouri
Location : 
Missouri
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
No.
Jun 26, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

is there a printed manual supplied?

Jul 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
The user's manual for the COOLPIX s6100 is available in a CD with printing rights and is alsoavailable for download in our website.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
The manual is on a CD. It is also easy to find it on the Web with a Google search.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera charge? Everything is plugged in correctly, but it still won't charge.

Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
It is a coolpix s6100, I've only had it 3 or 4 months.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine did the same thing. Apparently, according to a service bulletin, you need to press the "on" button after plugging it in. However in my case this did not solve the problem and I had to send it back for repair.
Aug 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that that you have the correct option selected for the Charge by computer, MENU > SETUP MENU > Charge by Computer. Also, try it with a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

how to set language feature on coolpix s6100

Aug 21, 2011 by
by
luby2883
Rogue River Oregon
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
intial language setup was not done. How do I set it now?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
luby2883
Rogue River Oregon
Location : 
Rogue River Oregon
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
on screen menu
 
Products related to my answer
 
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Tap the bottom tab > Tap SETUP > LANGUAGE. Please see page # 164 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX s6100.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

what kind of computer system will it corporates with?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
george
portland or
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
For example: windows vista won't respond to the camera.
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
george
portland or
Location : 
portland or
Age: 18-24
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wndows 7
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The problem is in your OS, not the camera. There seems to be a problem with your PnP device manager.
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
BrennenP
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers