Loading
COOLPIX S6100 3.8 5 122 122
No manual?? Love the camera! So easy to get started and the pictures are great so far! The quick start guide is helpful but you really need the use's manual to get to the less obvious functions and having to dig up the pdf is not helpful. I want a book I can take with me, that I can reference when I'm out and using my camera. Otherwise, love this camera so far! July 26, 2011
Great features - intuitive interface The good: Outstanding camera that yields sharp photographs. Great battery life. Easy learning curve. Complete kit in the box. The other: Came with defective SD card - could not be read. Clunky case. July 25, 2011
A great product! I've owned a few compact digital cameras and this one is, by far, the easiest to use and has given me the best, most satisfying results. It is thoughtfully engineered and the touch-screen is an especially nice feature. July 25, 2011
fantastic, dont listen to the bad reviews. I just got this camera as a graduation gift. I have a larger SLR but I needed a small point & shoot to carry around when I didn't want to lug the bigger one around. This camera is just as great as my bigger Nikon Digital SLR. The pictures are almost exact. Same great features too. To the reviewees that say the flash is too bright...get sunglasses? The flash has a normal brightness. It won't blind you. Overall, I would reccommend this camera to anyone, beginners and semi-experienced photographers. July 24, 2011
Awesome product This is my third Nikon camera and my second cool pic. It is very easy to use and I love the features. I would recommend this camera July 19, 2011
I love this camera. I only have had a problem with the lense, but mailing it into Nikon was simple. July 18, 2011
Outstanding! Great camera for the price AND size. 16 megapixels provides details that are impressive. July 18, 2011
Excellent...BEST DEAL FOR YOUR MONEY I just bought this camera the other day and have used it a lot. A few weeks ago I spontaneously bought a Sony Cybershot camera and it was terrible so I sold it to a friend for next to nothing. I was doing my research and this camera was one of the best I could find for the price. The zoom is incredible and if you like going to concerts or like taking action shots, this camera is perfect. You can't find a camera with this much zoom and high megapixels for this price, anywhere. I didn't think I would like the touch screen, but it is phenomenal and it works like a charm. This camera is also very simple to use if you're afraid of technology. Definitely recommend this camera to anyone that loves taking pictures and good video. The video is HD and it also zooms while recording, which is fabulous. July 17, 2011
Great features, ease of use I just received this camera as a gift to replace an older Nikon. It has lots of great features and it is really easy to use. It is light weight and really offers more features then the other Nikon that I had. July 12, 2011
Very nice camera for the price. Just got back from a motorcycle trip through Alaska. Took hundreds of pictures with our new COOLPIX S6100 and couldn't be happier with the results. July 11, 2011
Easy to use, great features for the price. I purchased this camera to carry around on vacation instead of my D7000. It takes great photos considering it's size and price. Much easier to carry around and still be able to put it in my pocket. For those "must have" keepsakes, it's no replacement for something like the D7000, but it doesn't cost near as much either. Took over 15 minutes of video with this and it seems to be very capable for those unexpected events one wants to capture. I would definitely recommend this camera to someone as a point-and-shoot. First full day, I took over 200 photos and the camera displayed "battery depleted". In all fairness, a lot of those were indoors and did require a flash. The following day, I took just as many photos and never ran out of battery power. I did, however, keep the wife from constantly reviewing EVERY photo that was taken. I didn't read the manual one bit (what guy ever does?) and was still able to operate this camera with ease. Only issue was upon initial power up, it booted in a language other than English. July 11, 2011
Perfect Pics I was always the one that got the "How to improve your pictures", but got this camera recently and every single picture has been a very nice photo. No more blurry photos. July 4, 2011
Don't listen to ANYTHING negative I am not a professional photographer, and this is not a professional camera! It is a POINT AND SHOOT. It POINTS, and SHOOTS. It is not made to catch every glimmer on a butterfly's wing, however it does take nice pictures of butterflies. I know that it is hard to decide what type of camera to buy when you are looking for a new one because for every 5 good reviews there is one AWFUL one. If you are looking for a lightweight, easy to use (minus the touch screen which takes some getting used to but is overall really cool) camera with good quality 99% of the time, this is it. I took it with me to Wyoming and except for the fact that it died half way through and we saw a wolf that day, it really didn't dissapoint me! Also, If you are looking for a case, Lowepro has VERY high quality, even tough they aren't that pretty... :) June 30, 2011
good and simple takes great pics, easy to use and packed with features. I considered it a good purchase June 25, 2011
New features in this product worth upgrading Color and clarity are enhanced in the upgrade from a two-year old camera. A+ for Nikon June 20, 2011
love it! I just got this camera and I am psyched!!! GREAT quality and WONDERFUL features! June 19, 2011
Great and Simple I found the quality of the pictures and amount of options to be far beyond a point and shot camera. The access to the different settings with a touch screen keeps it simple. June 9, 2011
excellent camera After many years of use my antique digital camera died on me, so it was past time to upgrade. After much comparison I decided on the Coolpix S6100. Very stylish and smaller than a pack of smokes, the Coolpix takes excellent pictures and has latest touchscreen technology. Much recommended. June 7, 2011
Excellant easy to use camera This camera has a number of improvements that takes great pictures and actually eliminates the need for a flash in most pictures. The battery life and storage features enables this camera to keep on going all day. May 24, 2011
Dust and fiber inside lens I love the s6100. The quality of the pictures are great and takes close-ups of our flowers. I only had the camera for a week and happened to look at the lens, it had dirt or something inside the lens. I look it back to Walmart to exchange and the second camera also had things inside the lens. We traveled to another town and another business only to find their s6100 also have dirt, lent,or something inside the lens. I am wondering if all these camera are like this. I do love the camera but think this will soon show up on the pictures. Please check into this problem and they all might need to be recalled. thanks May 5, 2011
Design change I'm slightly sad about the design change. Recently, my camera was broken by one of my friends. I was hoping just to buy another camera since trying to get it replaced it so time consuming and stressful. But, I have noticed the change in the camera and just disappointed about it because I was very satisfied with the original camera. It was simple, ease of use, took really great pictures and I was thoroughly impressed by it. I'm willing to accept change but just don't understand why they would try to change an already great camera. So, hopefully I can get my camera replaced and that they still have this model of camera. The new Nikon S6100- not impressed. The old Nikon S61000- loved it! I will post pictures of how amazing the original camera was.(I am only 13, but I do show a serious passion for photography) April 29, 2011
Exceptional image quality... A great camera camera that takes incredibly sharp shots and has a remarkably powerful zoom. Just cannot understand why its designer (s) made such a poor judgment of placing the flash where the left index finger helps to firmly hold the camera... Just DOES NOT MAKE ANY SENSE! Consequently, many shots are wasted as a result of our finger preventing the flash to pop up. Uhmmmm February 13, 2011
Excelente cámara!!!! En lo personal me encanta esta marca, tiene equipos muy fácil de usar, en lo particular la cam que tengo me super gustó, no cambiaría de marca. June 2, 2013
Excelente! acabo de comprar la cámara, y a pesar de que es una compacta de las de menos rango de la gama 6000 puedo decir que es increíble, enserio, hace macros impresionantes, es de facil uso, el asistente de panorama, si bien necesita un poco de trabajo extra, me ha regalado panoramas que no se igualan en el de barrido sin cortes o malos ajustes, la pantalla touch es medio insensible, pero aun así lo es suficiente para darle un uso muy ágil, ademas de que hace ajustes en las fotos para no perder la calidad anexare las fotografías mas ejemplificativas May 23, 2012
Excelente Esta camara es excelente, la calidad impresionante y la nitide inmejorable, quiza el touch un poco insensible tomando en cuenta el de iPhone, fuera de eso la mejor compra que pude haber hecho y ademas a un exelente precio en Palacio de Hierro. 1000% recomendable esta camara. Anexo una prueba rapidisima que hice con los macros. March 26, 2012
Decent for the price. I have owned this camera for about 6 months now. Daytime and outdoor pictures are great. It takes a dump when you use it indoors in relatively low lighting. Front shutter has a protective cover that suppose to be covering the lense while the camera is not being used, it worked for about 1 week and then it gets stuck doesn't cover properly sometime not at all. Battery is decent and options are good for a Point & Shoot. January 8, 2013
High qualiyt pics I baught this camera for a road trip across the country. It took amazing pictures on the go and was great for quick pictures. I loved the way it adjusts to horrible backlighting, its landscape pics, and the ability to take high quality movies. I was most impressed on how great my pictures came out, (Beautiful colors and crisp images.) I did have some issues with the battery not holding a charge. Minor setback, but was able to cope by just charging more often. November 25, 2012
Nice Camera! Great camera, BUT the wire burned out in my camera after just two months. My husband bought me the camera for christmas and by the end of february the camera would no longer charge. I looked up the solution online as it is a common problem with this camera. August 30, 2012
Nice and compact. Good Quality. S6100 is light, compact and good quality camera. Its perfect for beginners who have basic photography needs and use it for occasional photo clicking. Liked it. June 11, 2012
Great value and extremely durable! This camera provides amazing quality photos for the price. They are great resolution and generally do well while moving. I have used this camera primarily in outdoor settings and it has served me well consistently with its great battery life and durablility. I've literally dropped it on rocks and down trails and even with a few plastic pieces missing it still works like new. My one complaint is that it generally takes poor photos in low light (flash too bright and no flash way too dark/blurry). Overall, this is a great camera for a casual photographer that wants good photos without spending a fortune. May 8, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
106 Questions | 120 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
106 Questions | 120 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
4 Answers

Does it have Auto Focus?

May 27, 2014 by
by
Amateur photographer
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am wondering if this camera has auto focus, and if so how to turn it on. I got this camera for Christmas and would like to know more.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Amateur photographer
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Location : 
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To focus your shot press the shutter release button halfway down - the camera will autofocus and determine exposure when you do this. Then press the shutter release button all the way down to take your picture. If you wish to refocus or reframe your shot, remove your finger from the shutter release and then press it halfway down again. If you need further assistance please contact Nikon Support: http://support.NikonUSA.com .
May 30, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Auto focus is on by default, you cannot turn it on or off, page 30 of the manual explains.
May 28, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have read the product manual,and user manual, neither say anything about it.
May 28, 2014 by
by
Amateur photographer
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Location : 
Macomb, IL 61455, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the S6100 has auto focus. To better understand your camera, please read the users manual. It can be downloaded here:https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17246/~/users-manual---nikon-coolpix-s6100
May 28, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
3 Answers

S6100 - Not focused, images not clear or oversaturated, same with videos

Jun 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
United States
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I bought this camera 2 weeks ago. So far the images are saturated and not clear. The camera seems to have problems focusing on the subject. I adjusted the settings, turned the camera on and off yet my 3 mega pixel fuji seems to blow the image quality away. Any suggestions before I return this camera?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It isextremely annoying when this happens. But your best option is to hold the button down half way and just wait. It takes 5-10 long seconds but it eventually gets it.
Nov 3, 2011 by
by
EiNST3iN
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
When this happened to my Coolpix S1600, my grandson turned on the flash. It helped, but who knows why.
Jul 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

When is camera being released? I pre-ordered a while ago through Amazon, but my vaction is next weekend and I hate to not have it in time.

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Vickie
Franklin NJ
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Vickie
Franklin NJ
Location : 
Franklin NJ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I ordered this camera through Amazon.com and I got it after 4 days.
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Sharareh
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: 35-44

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days at authorized dealers.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

Ordered Coolpix 6100 directly from NikonUSA website, how long will it take to receive?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Sunni
GA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I ordered it online, the website stated it was in stock. With other authorized dealers, they didn't have them in stock so the delivery time was listed at 3-4 weeks. When ordering directly from NikonUSA website and selecting 2nd day air for delivery, will I recieve it within 1 week?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Sunni
GA
Location : 
GA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The most time it should take is a week. Even less time then that. I got my camera for Christmas, (which is the busiest time of the year) and got the camera within 3-4 days. Not that long of a wait at all. And if you're willing to pay extra, I'm pretty sure you can get it within 2 days.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you order your camera during weekdays with exception of Thursday and Friday, you may receive the camera within the time frame specified by the carried once the order is completed.
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

When will this camera be back in stock?

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of March and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days after release date. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
I'm not sure, but if I were you I would save your money and buy a DSLR. You can get one for under $600!
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JacobC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

can i use this camera as a web cam

Jun 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have tried tethered shooting many times but I have never thought of using any camera as a web cam.
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
Izzie
Missouri
Location : 
Missouri
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
No.
Jun 26, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

is there a printed manual supplied?

Jul 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
The user's manual for the COOLPIX s6100 is available in a CD with printing rights and is alsoavailable for download in our website.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
The manual is on a CD. It is also easy to find it on the Web with a Google search.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera charge? Everything is plugged in correctly, but it still won't charge.

Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
It is a coolpix s6100, I've only had it 3 or 4 months.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine did the same thing. Apparently, according to a service bulletin, you need to press the "on" button after plugging it in. However in my case this did not solve the problem and I had to send it back for repair.
Aug 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that that you have the correct option selected for the Charge by computer, MENU > SETUP MENU > Charge by Computer. Also, try it with a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

how to set language feature on coolpix s6100

Aug 21, 2011 by
by
luby2883
Rogue River Oregon
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
intial language setup was not done. How do I set it now?
3 years ago
by
luby2883
Rogue River Oregon
Location : 
Rogue River Oregon
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
on screen menu
 
Products related to my answer
 
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Tap the bottom tab > Tap SETUP > LANGUAGE. Please see page # 164 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX s6100.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S6100
 
2 Answers

what kind of computer system will it corporates with?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
george
portland or
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
For example: windows vista won't respond to the camera.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
george
portland or
Location : 
portland or
Age: 18-24
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Wndows 7
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The problem is in your OS, not the camera. There seems to be a problem with your PnP device manager.
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
BrennenP
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers