Loading
COOLPIX S3100 3.1 5 146 146
Awesome! I got this camera for my birthday and I absolutely love it! I would recommend it to anybody who is looking for a little and stylish camera that loves to take pictures! June 13, 2011
Great price for a great camera. Does everything we need and more and it's easy to use. Would recommend the S3100 to anyone looking for a new camera that is full-featured and price friendly. May 30, 2011
Great Photos Love my camera. It took fantastic photos on our cruise. I used most of the features it has and was pleased. The only fault I had with this camera was a week or so after we got back from your cruise the little thing just burned itself up as I was downloading some photos. Sent it back and it was repaired. May 24, 2011
Camera is an extremely good value for the money Very easy to use and it generates a quality photo not just a photo.......colors are rich in quality and clarity is tremendous May 16, 2011
Great Little Camera Awesome little camera - great pictures - fits in any purse or pocket. May 3, 2011
Small Sized, Big Performer Amazing results from a small-sized platform. Extremely easy to use as far as features to capture images. Allows a broad range of flexibility. The only feature that causes a minor issue is that the cover for the image-transfer cable to be inserted into the camera is somewhat irritating. That is, the cover is quirky to get open and one has to be careful not to break the one and only pivot point for the cover. May 3, 2011
Once I read all the instructions and took about 10 pictures and then called Nikon for some additional help the satisfaction from Nikon Support and the Coolpix S3100 was outstanding. The quality of the pictures versus the size of the camera is amazing. May 2, 2011
Great Photos I have only had this camera a couple weeks, but the photos I have taken have been amazing! I love that the pictures don't lose quality after zooming in and they look even better when uploaded to the computer. Great product. April 25, 2011
All in one!!! Difícil escrever pouco desta compacta tão fascinante!!! Foram meses escolhendo no mercado qual seria a melhor, e não me arrependi... MELHOR CUSTO/BENEFÍCIO que já tive... Em um primeiro momento, adaptei ela a mim da melhor forma (ex.: ISO eu uso baixo, no máximo 400, e megapixel em 3)... Mas convenhamos tanto no modo automático quanto no seletor de cenas, ela faz quase milagres, muito inteligente encontra o melhor foco... Meu recurso favorito é a cena "animal", nunca foi tão fácil tirar fotos dos meus "amigos peludos" (cães), além de disparo automático com a detecção da face do animal, ainda permiti tirar contínuo pra não perder nenhum momento como "dar a patinha!"... rsrsrs Consigo tirar fotos a distância sem perder a nitidez com um zoom de 5x... Apesar de eu preferir fotos na luz do dia e sem flash, minha "amiguinha" S3100, fez eu mudar de opinião, com vários recursos noturnos e ainda um flash com um dos melhores alcances do mercado... Proteja suas fotos favoritas e ainda salve elas na memória interna de 45 mb... Enfim, dia ou noite,chuva ou sol, amanhecer ou entardecer, em qualquer momento minha Nikon registra bem!!! May 22, 2012
Compacta poderosa Por ser uma camera compacta pensei que seria bem fraca porém as fotos ficam ótimas com tamanho rasoavel adorei. May 14, 2012
Great camera, minus shutter lag (Read for shutter lag fix) Its a fantastic camera that has loads of features including: +720p HD video +Many modes +SDXC support Here's the shutter lag fix: Go to "Set up" > Select "Display options" > And turn image preview to off. > (Optional) You can also turn the photo info off but this is optional. October 23, 2012
Very Awesome Camera! I had this camera for about 1/2 year but it was a very good camera. It takes excellent pictures and HD (720 pixel) video. I recommend it. September 20, 2012
Good For the price, Nice look and easy to use and carry, Terrible close up focus battery is okay.. I bought this camera a day before my trip since i didn't have any digital camera and to be honest i was getting a good deal on it..! it takes good quality pictures indoor and outdoor for its price...... i would say overall it's good camera to have and easy to use, Pros; good design, easy to carry, light weight battery life is good, pictures quality is good, Cons; terrible close up focus, scene mode is just whatever movie mode button is little bit tricky... with all said, it's good camera for the price and it take excellent outdoor pictures specially on sunny day in parks, beach, city, etc.. i wouldn't recommend for people who sell stuff on internet since the close up is bad and it is hard to get a good shot, June 16, 2012
super small and really good pictures I use this camera every week am on the road alot and always fine cool things to take pictures, Have taken just over 10,000 pictures and it still takes a darn good picture!! the only problem is the fact that you are supposed to change the battery internally but I could never remember how long it is supposed to be on the computer before it is supposed to fully charged, they sell after market batteries and changers that take care of that problem. June 9, 2012
This camera's just fine I got this camera for Christmas and I've had it for almost 3 months now. It takes good pictures with flash, but it will sometimes take blurry pictures when you use no flash. The zoom is pretty useless because it has the same problem in taking blurry pictures, but be sure to overcome your anxiety because it can help give you a good chance to take better pictures. It's pretty hard to take pictures of things that are moving, such as pets, so you have to use your effort in trying to get a good shot of them. There's really no point in taking close up pictures because it turns out blurry or out of focus. If you're going to take pictures of something far away, you might have to change your ISO settings to a higher setting in order to make the picture easier to see and to avoid darkness. The videos turn out better than the videos I recorded from my Canon Powershot A495, but it's a little grainy, though. March 2, 2012
Love, Love, Love the Coolpix! This camera takes great pictures. It was a gift and I used it right away. Very easy to use. I love it! February 28, 2012
Digitals are not snaps shot cameras Most of you are having problems with poor picture quality. The this is with these digital point and shoot is that they are not instant focus. It can take one to two seconds for it to focus. You need to hold the shutter release down half way until it focuses and then press the rest of the way down. Your photos should come out much better. Learn your digitals!!! December 22, 2011
Good quality, but complex Taken only about 12 pix so far, and picture quality is good. Camera has too many options and features for a "simple" camera. Also, it seems I have to download pictures to the Nikon View and then upload to MyPicturetown, instead of to my camera's picture files (?)...and I really don't want to do that....maybe I don't have to? And then I cannot email direct from Nikon View in the computer unless I use Windows Live E-[mail, which I also don't want to use. Great camera, but you need to be up on technology. I printed out the 196-page manual, so I don't have to go back and forth on-screen with the on-screen manual. November 28, 2011
Easy to Use. I have a 5 yr old Coopix 8.1 and liked it, so when I went for a camera upgrade I decided to buy same brand. I use mostly for intenet sales and snapshots. I like the sleeker features and matte finish. It's a bit more user friendly too. I have more difficulty getting steady close ups of objects then my older Coolpix. I use mostly auto features and when it says a close up object is in focus it's not and I really have to monkey with it to get the picture I want. For everyday use however its a great little camera and would be great for someone not too camera savvy. November 23, 2011
great cam ! I needed a cam to take pic's of my grandsons berth and the coolpix s3100 is my 1st cam... at age 52 and I have had a great time with it and got 100s of great pic's and videos (was sad to find out that in main they cost over 185$ and I see that every other state has then 80 & 90 $ less ) still luv the camera . November 21, 2011
Decent camera, for the price Love the filtlers...the selective color. That is the main reason for buying this one. It's a lot of fun...could be a little better with the picture quality...all Nikon' point and shoot cameras need better picture quality. October 19, 2011
telephoto not good. too fuzy!!! small and easy to carry, not expensive therefore it's not like using a better camera. a little disappointed in the telephoto aspect of it. I realize it's not a powerfull one. October 6, 2011
Great Little camera NIce. Lightweight. Very reliable & takes great pictures. October 4, 2011
amazing camera for small size Although I am charmed by the size and features of this camera (my favorite Is the ability to control the ISO), I am infuriated by the lack of a full printed Manual! My last Coolpix came with one. Reading the manual on a computer screen is difficult for most people over 40. Naviga- Ting from p.8 to p.108 in PDF or for that matter, any computer format, is much More difficult than flipping to the paper page. So please don't be so chintzy, Nikon! I would be willing to pay if the hard copy manual were offered as an option. Meanwhile I am having some trouble figuring out how to get to the options I want. The older Coolpix (4100) is much easier for me to use- perhaps BECAUSE I HAD THE BENEFIT OF A FULL PAPER MANUAL! September 6, 2011
Good Cool Little Camera With Cool Features Just bought it........its have all major feature needed on day to day use of camera but will look forward for good after sales service........ August 26, 2011
I am still learning how to use all the great features.. way different from my old fuji. It is a cool pix alright. I'll keep on learning. August 23, 2011
the product is easy to use. It is a very nice camera that takes sharp, clear pictures. However, after just six weeks the battery died and it will not recharge. This is very frustrating especially since I cannot get the photos of our vacation off the memory card and loaded onto the computer. August 22, 2011
This product is the perfect size Received my coolpix S3100 for my b'day and love it. It is easy to use, light weight and takes good pictures! August 22, 2011
Too soon to tell but looks good I've only had it two weeks so I cannot be as fair as if i had it longer. I examined it and went through all the features and it really is a loaded device. The things I like so far are it's weight, its HD capability and the ability to charge the battery using a computer. Also the many features and in camera photo editing. i was a little leary of the low star ratings in some reviews I saw. while i know sometimes you can take them with a grain of salt some are dead on though, I guess time will tell, August 8, 2011
Over all I like it I have read quite a few reviews on this camera on various sites and it appears either those that dislike it either are used to actual professional cameras and the picts are not up to those standards obviously, they cant be. or they are not knowing how to use it. They claim the picts come out horribly,but mine come out pretty good for a $120 camera in my opinions. As you can see in my unedited picts, my pup was moving as I took the picts and they came out clear. The features are easy to navigate, the camera is very simple to use and I have zero complaints. July 26, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
123 Questions | 138 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
123 Questions | 138 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

When is the being released?

Mar 5, 2011 by
by
eagbabe
CA
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have only seen this product avalible for pre-order. when is it going to be released?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
eagbabe
CA
Location : 
CA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I bought a s3000 a few weeks ago and like it.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
alex
Ca
Location : 
Ca
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

I Don't want the date and time coming up on my pictures when i print them how can i take this off??

Jun 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
once the date and time is on the picture when it is taken, it cannot be taken off. You must go to the settings menu prior to taking the photo and turn it off.
One option is photo shop, but would be time consuming.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
You press MENU > Setup > Print Date and turn off the option. Please see page # 143 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX s3100.
Jun 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

what is the warranty?

Jun 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
1 year manufacturer warranty. I bought the addtional warranty for 2-years. See if you can buy it because this camera definately has issues with it.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
Answer: 
Coolpix cameras warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

Can I use extra lens with this camera? If Yes, what is the suggested type/model?

Jun 8, 2011 by
by
Guru
India
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Guru
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, Coolpix s3100 just has one fixed lens.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This is a Compact Digital camera, doesn't use interchangeable lenses.
Jun 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

Can I film a video for 30minutes with this camera? Or does it only shoot video clips like a phone?

Jul 7, 2011 by
by
Greg
Lynchburg
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Greg
Lynchburg
Location : 
Lynchburg
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
30 min when VGA is selected, 8 min when HD. 8 min it´s too short =(
It´s because of the 32 GB card? idk
Mar 2, 2012 by
by
Masterlnc
Mcallen, TX
Location : 
Mcallen, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The maximum file size for a single movie is 2GB or the maximum movie length for a single movie is 29 minutes, even when there is sufficient free space on the memory card for longer recording.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

Can I use nikon coolpix S3100 digital camera as a webcam? If it does then how is it possible?

Jul 12, 2011 by
by
Babai
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I want to get all the drivers of Nikon Coolpix S3100 Digital Camera so that I can use it as a webcam in PC.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Babai
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No you cant.
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera doesn't have the feature to be use as a webcam.
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

Error occured during installation of ViewNx2 software cd in PC!!!

Jul 14, 2011 by
by
Babai
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
During installation of the cd supplied with nikon coolpix s3100 digital camera when view nx2 is installing after some time "ClvActv- Initializefile is not found" - this error has come for 3 times... Why?? But when I click on the Ok messsage for 3 times the installation is done & images also be tranfered through usb port. But why the error message??? my PC configuration:- Windows XP Professional(service pack 2), intel pentium4, 3.0GHZ processor, 512 MB ram, over 9 gb free disk space, Microsoft visual C++ 2008 x86 9.0.30729.17, MSXML 6.0Parser, .NET 2.0......
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Babai
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your main problem is not having enough RAM, the minimum requirement is 768mb with a recommended 1gb, so with your 512mb that is just not enough, time for an upgrade..
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

How do you turn the flash off ?

Jul 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
On the round button with the "ok" in the middle of it, click the top of that circle where the icon looks like a squiggly arrow(its the flash icon), it opens the flash settings, and the third one down with a circle and line going through flash icon, is the setting to turn off the flash.
Jul 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please see page# 31 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX s3100.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

My s3100 will not power on

Aug 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The coolpix will not power on or will it take a charge. No lights are display when i plug in the powercord.
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Experience: 1-3 months
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Remove the battery and then replace it. I've had to do this to my camera several times. It seems to lock up or something, and this will reset it.
Sep 5, 2011 by
by
Debbie
WV
Location : 
WV
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please try it with a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

How do i use the s3100? is there a video i can watch?

Oct 25, 2011 by
by
BrandonS
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I just bought the s3100 Coolpix, and im not finding it overly user friendly. My biggest issue is i want to be able to take pictures and not have them come out all blurry cus i dont have a very steady hand when its comes to photography or if im walking and dont have time to stop i want to be able to take the picture as im moving. How can i do this?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
BrandonS
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
you can try looking at the different settings...there might be action, or sports, or something? if not, something i sometimes do is take a video instead, so i can be walking around and stuff, and then, when i upload it to the computer, snip out that frame. it might not be the ideal photo taking expieriance, but at least it records your memories all the same! good luck!
Nov 4, 2011 by
by
kamerakid
la, ca
Location : 
la, ca
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Oct 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers