Loading
COOLPIX S3100 3.1 5 146 146
Great for my basic needs. I want to say upfront I'm not a camera expert and am not speaking to camera experts. I'm a person who wanted a camera for the basic, no nonsense features. I'm just speaking to the people out there who take casual pictures now and then. Typically I've had trouble in the past with cameras because sometimes my hands move and the pictures are out of focus or blurry. This has not been a problem for me at all and it's easy to take "not fuzzy" pictures. The flash works well and there isn't much of a delay between when you push the button and when it takes the picture. I used to hate the cameras where you had to hold the button down and almost count to three. It's very easy to navigate the menus and this is pretty durable. I've dropped it several times and haven't had any problems. Figuring out how to zoom, focus, and flash were all very easy, and they all seem to work well. I use my camera for casual pictures with friends or to put things on Ebay. I'm never really taking action shots, so I have no comments in regard to those types of things one way or the other. If you are one of those people who are incredibly picky and high maintenence when it comes to your devices just ignore this review. I'm not saying this is a bad choice, but I am saying I don't know if it will satisfy you or not. If you want a durable little camera that does the basics fairly simply and nicely, then this is would be a good choice. It also has a lot of extra bells and whistles. Also I've had mine over a year now and it is still in great shape. I got yellow, which is metallic yellow, and in person it's more like a chartruse or citron. I think it's cool because there aren't other camera colors like it, but if ecto-cooler green isn't your thing, I'd suggest a different color. November 17, 2012
The best features on a camera. The new Nikon is amazing. It has all features a camera needs. I went to Niagara Falls with the camera and the footage it took was fabulous. Best Camera created by Nikon so far. June 21, 2012
Love it I love this camera, it makes great photos, glad to have it <3 June 12, 2012
Fantastic, Fun Camera This camera was great right out of the box. I previously owned a Nikon CoolPix. After 10 years of happily using it, it became possessed and started turning itself on and off, repeatedly. I really wanted another CoolPix, since I thought that my old one was so good and had served me for so long. I shopped around and found the S3100. I jumped when I saw the price and features. It's so easy that you could use it without doing any reading to discover everything else special that it can do. I don't understand the few negative reviewers' comments. This camera can't take a bad picture. I used it for photos for a business proposal, and everyone was so impressed with the pictures even when printed with a color laser printer on plain bond paper. It's fun and easy to take great pictures. It's such a good buy for a fantastic price. It's one of the best buys I've made all year. May 27, 2012
Great for editing and taking photos! I own this pruduct and it is great for business or home entertainment. Click Purchase NOW!!!!! May 19, 2012
Bang for the buck What a great little camera for the price. I arrived in Maui with a broken Kodak digital and popped into Costco. Look, this won't do what a full featured DSLR will do. But it fits in a shirt pocket. It's fast. High resolution. Intuitive controls and features. I've always owned and loved Nikon, and this little beauty does nothing to put me off the brand. I have a hard time with coming up with anything negative when I consider the price. March 17, 2012
mypix I have been using film cameras for years. I have a Nikon N90 and a Nilon N70 which I use for travel with a 35mm lense. Film, like fuji film professional, is by far superior to digital, whatever anyone says. My Nikon film cameras will produce at least 28megapixels, while this unit would have 14megapixels. Nikon cameras have always been in a league apart, I give them 5 stars. This coolpix is very lightweight, and I can use it as a pocket camera. I will use it to take picture shots I might not take with film. I will reserve film for the best shots, and take both cameras on my next trip. I recommend Nikon by far. They are great cameras... March 3, 2012
Nikon Coolpix S3100 Great features in a small package! Nikon Coolpix S3100 is a very good camera and i really love that. i love the picture quality and specially the cam size. February 25, 2012
Amazing I love this camera! Best one I've owned so far...I love Nikon, always have; always will! My favorite function about this camera is the focus. It takes beautiful photos! I will post one of the photos I took using this camera. February 21, 2012
one of my cameras Wow, I have 12 cameras and I like this one the best! It helps me to show memories, the pictures are very clear. I got this camera because I want to be a photographer. This is a great first step to being a photographer, it also helps for scrapbooks some of my past scrapbooks you could not see the photos that amazing like this camera! Over all this camera is my favorite! February 14, 2012
Quality at a decent price. Camera bought to take pictures of our products for a facebook page. Simple to use and the autofocus is great. Within minutes we had great pics on our page. User friendly and rechargeable battery make it a great buy. January 31, 2012
So small, yet so wonderful I highly recommend this camera. What can you say about a Nikon that isn't good anyway? For the money, this camera has great features, takes awesome pictures and is easy to use. I LOVE IT.... January 29, 2012
First time Nikon user Bought this cam last December 31, 2011, just in time for the New Year. Been deciding what to buy between Canon and Nikon but ended up Nikon when i found out that Nikon have great pic resolution. Well, good choice, I had this camera for almost 3 weeks now and I love it. Even my friends wanted to have this camera. January 18, 2012
Nikon coolpix S3100 Very nice camera. Highly durable.gray color is nice looking. Grate for kid\adult. January 13, 2012
Its very easy to use and takes great photos. I use my Nikon to get photos to import to my original iPad which, unlike the ipad2, does not have a built-in camera. It takes great photos and is very easy to use. December 6, 2011
i love my s3100! i have to say my s3100 is my favorite, it's little and easy to use! December 6, 2011
Great little camera Small enough o stick in a shirt pocket and yet big enough to take great picture! November 28, 2011
I like the features of this camera. I haven't had much time to use the camera yet, but the features it has have impressed me. I find that the pictures I have taken compare in quality to the SLR digital I have been using, with less than half the size and weight. I like the size because I can carry it with me everywhere I go. November 14, 2011
The only camera you needed In 2002, I brought my first digital camera, Nikon Coolpix 4500 with 4MB of pixels, I enjoyed taking photos with that camera for all these years, finally, I decided to “Up-Grade” to Nikon S3100. I love the small size and big LCD Monitor, 19 selective SCENEs, SMART PORTRAIT, SUBJECT TRACKING, Video modes. Nikon Coollpix 3100 also equips many functions such as White Balance, ISO Sensitivity etc, used to be only in professional DSLR camera, but now all built-in to Nikon Coolpix S-3100. What a different the progress of camera technology Nikon made in a few years. October 31, 2011
I Love my Nikon Coolpix camera. It is the best camera I have ever owned. October 17, 2011
This camera is affordable and is great! Works better than some more expensive cameras by other brands! September 20, 2011
I was SUPER SUPER satisfied with this product I bought my first nikon Coolpix cam for a Jamaica vaca. The storclerk recommended this one, and I decided to try it. The first pic that I took blew me away, it was flawless, and Sharp. Had an issue and needed repair. Nikon gladly took care of the issue. I'm Reallly glad I bought it, worth every penny. September 5, 2011
It's amazing what this little camera will do. Even a novice will beable to take great Photos with this camera. I was amazed with all the features this product has. September 5, 2011
Love this little gem Great little camera to stick in your coat pocket or bag. Takes great photos! Love it! August 22, 2011
very easy to use This camera is very easy to use and has great photo's and zoom. August 22, 2011
Handy and easy to use From day one, this camera has produced good pictures with ease. I purchased it in Daegu, Korea, and was able to register it online and download an English version user's guide. The simple "scene" feature, by which speed and aperture are represented by icons, make choosing settings fast and easy for a non-numbers brain like mine. Additional features such as panorama assist and pet and sports settings expand my ability to capture a good photo. Even the video is good. My partner, more experienced with cameras than I, has commented on our ability to capture photos during this trip, " This is a great camera." We've been posting on our blogs with these pictures, and they look great. The camera's size is convenient for pocket or purse. I didn't know it came in pink, which could have been extremely cool as a souvenir from this Korean trip. Good job, Nikon! July 1, 2011
Ease of use and portability I found this to be an easy to learn and ease of use camera. The slim compact design allows ease of portability for any event. Use a large memory card and you will have 100's if not 1,000's of photos it will carry. June 29, 2011
Perfect Photos This camera makes so amazing and perfect photos and the zoom is very good. Although the macro is 10 cm if you experiment you can focus even closer and with the zoom it gets wonderful macro photos. The HD video is also very good, but I can say that I expected more. Well, this camera is best for the price and I recommend it to anybody who wants a point & shoot and doesn't have money for a DSLR. June 29, 2011
Great HQ video and amazing zoom! i absolutely adoreee the video quality on this camera, it outmatches my actual video camera! the zoom is really great too and i love that it detects faces, its stylish and small and i would recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality camera! June 21, 2011
A little camera which takes very good pictures The nikon coolpix s3100 is one that I would surely recommend. Its small, lightweight and takes amazing pictures. I like taking photographs with my canon DSLR but for a change I wanted a small camera I could take along with my friends. This little guy is perfect for anyone who wants hassle free shots. Quite within reach financially, it provides with great image quality and ease of use. *ThumbsUp* June 14, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
123 Questions | 138 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
123 Questions | 138 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

When is the being released?

Mar 5, 2011 by
by
eagbabe
CA
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have only seen this product avalible for pre-order. when is it going to be released?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
eagbabe
CA
Location : 
CA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I bought a s3000 a few weeks ago and like it.
Mar 20, 2011 by
by
alex
Ca
Location : 
Ca
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

I Don't want the date and time coming up on my pictures when i print them how can i take this off??

Jun 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
once the date and time is on the picture when it is taken, it cannot be taken off. You must go to the settings menu prior to taking the photo and turn it off.
One option is photo shop, but would be time consuming.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
You press MENU > Setup > Print Date and turn off the option. Please see page # 143 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX s3100.
Jun 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

what is the warranty?

Jun 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
1 year manufacturer warranty. I bought the addtional warranty for 2-years. See if you can buy it because this camera definately has issues with it.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
5out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
Answer: 
Coolpix cameras warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

Can I use extra lens with this camera? If Yes, what is the suggested type/model?

Jun 8, 2011 by
by
Guru
India
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Guru
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, Coolpix s3100 just has one fixed lens.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This is a Compact Digital camera, doesn't use interchangeable lenses.
Jun 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

Can I film a video for 30minutes with this camera? Or does it only shoot video clips like a phone?

Jul 7, 2011 by
by
Greg
Lynchburg
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Greg
Lynchburg
Location : 
Lynchburg
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
30 min when VGA is selected, 8 min when HD. 8 min it´s too short =(
It´s because of the 32 GB card? idk
Mar 2, 2012 by
by
Masterlnc
Mcallen, TX
Location : 
Mcallen, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The maximum file size for a single movie is 2GB or the maximum movie length for a single movie is 29 minutes, even when there is sufficient free space on the memory card for longer recording.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

Can I use nikon coolpix S3100 digital camera as a webcam? If it does then how is it possible?

Jul 12, 2011 by
by
Babai
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I want to get all the drivers of Nikon Coolpix S3100 Digital Camera so that I can use it as a webcam in PC.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Babai
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
No you cant.
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera doesn't have the feature to be use as a webcam.
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

Error occured during installation of ViewNx2 software cd in PC!!!

Jul 14, 2011 by
by
Babai
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
During installation of the cd supplied with nikon coolpix s3100 digital camera when view nx2 is installing after some time "ClvActv- Initializefile is not found" - this error has come for 3 times... Why?? But when I click on the Ok messsage for 3 times the installation is done & images also be tranfered through usb port. But why the error message??? my PC configuration:- Windows XP Professional(service pack 2), intel pentium4, 3.0GHZ processor, 512 MB ram, over 9 gb free disk space, Microsoft visual C++ 2008 x86 9.0.30729.17, MSXML 6.0Parser, .NET 2.0......
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Babai
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your main problem is not having enough RAM, the minimum requirement is 768mb with a recommended 1gb, so with your 512mb that is just not enough, time for an upgrade..
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

How do you turn the flash off ?

Jul 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
On the round button with the "ok" in the middle of it, click the top of that circle where the icon looks like a squiggly arrow(its the flash icon), it opens the flash settings, and the third one down with a circle and line going through flash icon, is the setting to turn off the flash.
Jul 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please see page# 31 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX s3100.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

My s3100 will not power on

Aug 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The coolpix will not power on or will it take a charge. No lights are display when i plug in the powercord.
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Experience: 1-3 months
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Remove the battery and then replace it. I've had to do this to my camera several times. It seems to lock up or something, and this will reset it.
Sep 5, 2011 by
by
Debbie
WV
Location : 
WV
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please try it with a backup battery. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S3100
 
2 Answers

How do i use the s3100? is there a video i can watch?

Oct 25, 2011 by
by
BrandonS
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I just bought the s3100 Coolpix, and im not finding it overly user friendly. My biggest issue is i want to be able to take pictures and not have them come out all blurry cus i dont have a very steady hand when its comes to photography or if im walking and dont have time to stop i want to be able to take the picture as im moving. How can i do this?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
BrandonS
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
you can try looking at the different settings...there might be action, or sports, or something? if not, something i sometimes do is take a video instead, so i can be walking around and stuff, and then, when i upload it to the computer, snip out that frame. it might not be the ideal photo taking expieriance, but at least it records your memories all the same! good luck!
Nov 4, 2011 by
by
kamerakid
la, ca
Location : 
la, ca
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Oct 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers