Loading
COOLPIX S4100 2.4 5 173 173
Very Simple & Easy To Use Touch Screen Function Simple, Have Large Fingers & Makes Unit Easy to Use. Layout Is User Friendly February 22, 2012
Good Choice for a Camera Takes very clear detailed photos. I enjoy the touchscreen features as well. Camera in purple is very pretty and elegant for a lady. The product is very light and easy to carry. Doesn't freeze up. The time delay for pictures is really fast and accurate. I absolutely love this camera and would recommend it to anyone. Also has the video camera feature, which is awesome. It is a great camera to have handy especially when you want to take good pictures of your children and pets. A++ Review from me! February 20, 2012
professional camera for advanced users I have owned this camera since the day it came out and have had no problems at all with charging it or its features. this cam has advanced features and once you know how to use them it takes amazing pictures and is great for both professional photographers like my self and every day use i just recomend you read the owners manual before use or you will find your camera taking an array of different quality pics. so remember this is an amazing camera just advanced to read up before use. February 13, 2012
Great Camera, Easy to use So far this camera is taking stunning, clear, vivid color pictures, and the video has great sound with adjustable volume, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase, however ...i really wish it would have came with a LCD screen cleaning cloth. I love the little stylus pen that hooks on to the camera strap.The review that said was" terrible at taking pictures of animals"...aaaah did ya have the animal setting on?? February 6, 2012
camera takes excellent pictures, is very easy to learn camera's program. love the touch screen & ease to the tools program. a little disappointed in the time it takes in between picture although it is not a big problem. thank you nikon December 6, 2011
THIS CAMERA DOES IT ALL. THIS CAMERA AT FIRST SEEMED COMPLICATED. I READ THE MANUAL ,2OO PAGES AND FOUND A PLETHORA OF GREAT FEATURES. I HAVE A SLR AND ITS GREAT FOR SHOOTING SCENES OUTDOORS. THIS CAMERA CAN DO IN AND OUT EQUALLY AS WELL. IM HAPPY WITH IT ,AND IT WAS A REASONABLE PURCHASE. November 15, 2011
I took this camera with me to Israel and had a no problem using it and loved the pictures I took and how easy it is to use!!! October 17, 2011
high quality The S4100 is an extremely good value. I was very pleased with the ease of handling and the usefull features. I strongly rec ommend this camera. October 4, 2011
Compact with excellent picture capability and convenient controls. September 13, 2011
SMARTEST CAMERA EVER OWNED COOLPIX S4100 is small, handy and smart. It is always ready, easy to shoot and shows exact image. It possesses all the input needed to produce a perfect product. It makes taking shots fun and exciting. August 29, 2011
Great camera Bought this camera on vacation having forgot other at home. Time for a new one. I wanted this style, it was on a great sale, so I bought it. Usually shop around more reading reviews. Easy to use. Spend time looking through the various menu to get acquainted with it. Use the scene selector. Point and shoot will produce both great and fuzzy pictures. The menu is easy to understand. Landscape and portrait are not the same in real life and not the same in a camera shot. It is easy to haul around, have a cool pix 4500 that is great but a chore to lug around. It is what it is. Do not expect $1000 abilities. Have fun with it! August 25, 2011
I really enjoy this easy to use and carry camera. This is a replacement for an S4000. I like both and would buy another Nikon. July 12, 2011
Just love it The easiest camera I have ever had. Just love the touch screen, don't have to try to figure out all the buttons.. July 11, 2011
Really like this camera This camera is just perfect for travel. fits into a small purse and takes really great pictures. good both out doors and in. Love, Love ,Love it June 27, 2011
It was a great buy My old Insignia camera fell off the bed onto the hardwood floor, and the screen went whack so I was in desperate need of a new camera. I've always wanted a Nikon, and was happy to finally get one. I opened up the box and was amazed at how small and sleek it was. Pictures turn out wonderful, but occasionally you do get that blurry photo in there when you're holding the camera up with one hand, but that's expected. The file sizes are huge, varying from 2.70 MB to 3.09 MB, when you choose 14 MP. I honestly don't mind resizing them if needed :). I enjoy all of the features of the camera, and once you play around with it you'll find what works for you. I like to leave it on the "Close-up", because it provides a flash and the pictures turn out great. Sometimes I don't wanna wait for the Scene Auto Selector, and sometimes it picks the wrong one. It's a wonderful little camera. June 22, 2011
I love it. Easy to use and great pics! I made a great choice! Thanks Nikon! This camera is so easy to use and the pictures are so crisp! June 10, 2011
Works Great! Excellent product easy to use! Works with all SDHC memory cards, which means you can capture a whole wedding or graduation. May 31, 2011
simplicity to operate a great camera I really really like this new camera. I am in my 60's and am able to operate the camera. It has some great features. My only wish is that a users manual booklet would have come with it. I printed all 200 pages and am able to correct error messages, etc.when I refer to the manual. May 25, 2011
Keeping on with S4100 I had another Coolpix and replaced it with the S4100. The S4100 is easy to use and has more features than my previous camera. I did not "ditch" my original camera, I passed it on to my husband. I expect years of service from this product. I have gotten good photos with this camera, even under low lighting conditions. May 23, 2011
Travel I bought this camera to take to Ireland because I wanted a small camera rather than my big one. I was very impressed with this camera and the pictures it took for the money. Easy to use and compact enough to slip into a pocket. April 14, 2011
Excelente Câmera A melhor câmera que já tive até agora, além de fazer fotos excelentes, grava vídeos em HD, tem muitos recursos, muito nítida e com muitos detalhes, as fotos ficam perfeitas em uma televisão full HD. Sem dúvida que minha próxima câmera será Nikon. March 31, 2013
Excelente Camara Muy buena y a un excelente precio, me a sido muy útil December 15, 2012
Excelente Estou começando com meu hobby de fotografia, e escolhi a s4100 pra ser minha primeira camera. Ótima, compacta e está fazendo tudo o que preciso nesse começo. Sem dúvida futuramente comprarei uma camera profissional da Nikon, os produtos são ótimos ! November 6, 2012
"Compacta e Elegante no tamanho, Grande e sofisticada em imagens e recursos" Uma das melhores se não a melhor experiência de imagens e vídeos em HD (720p) que já tive até então, muito Boa, nitidez e contrastes excelentes nas fotos, Resolução 14Mp perfeita com seu sensor CCD, sem contar com a sua tela de Touch que faz toda diferença no seu tamanho de 3.0." Adorei esta Câmera!! July 23, 2012
EXELENTE Estou adorando a camêra até o momento. Muitos recursos de automação, o touchscreen é exelente recurso para fotografar com velocidade, ela é pequena mas se encaixa bem às maõs. June 29, 2012
Exelente Muy Buena calidad de video e imagen, colores vivos, lejos la mejor camara comparandola a otras de similiares caracteristicas May 11, 2012
Video muy bueno Increible calidad del Video, no se requiere de una videocamara April 26, 2012
works great, somewhat. When i first bought the camera i thought it worked really well. But eventually it just randomly stopped working. After several months it just started working again. I thought i was going to have to take it back to be fixed. But now after a year of having the nikon coolpix s4100 i have to say its great. I will not go any where without it. August 20, 2012
Coolpix S4100 No issues with this Nikon product until about 6 months into ownership. Suddenly not working at all and will be returning to Nikon for repair, under warranty. Not sure what the issue is as the moment, but will assume that either battery not taking a charge or something internally has frozen. July 23, 2012
Nice overall for the price Bought camera to take on business trips & is first compact digital Nikon owned. Likes- touch screen, movie mode, impressive still photos and able to use high capacity memory cards. Dislikes- slow recycle time between shots, time delay after pressing trigger, proprietary USB adapter (not standard mini or micro). Haven't had the time nor patience to read through the owner's manual yet, but am sure there are many more capabilities that I will get to use. Proprietary USB adapter cord caused dead battery on recent trip as forgot to pack the cord for the AC adapter & local stores did not carry replacement. Overall, a very nice point and shoot for everyday pics. Still addicted to my 'old' real film SLRs though for creativity, but what do you expect from an old dog who still has working Betamax VCRs?. March 20, 2012
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 7
<<prev | next>>
88 Questions | 101 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
88 Questions | 101 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
7 Answers

I've only had my camera for a couple of months, and I can't get it to connect so I can charge it....

May 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
5out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful5
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
7 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks everyone. I was having troubles with mine charging also a couple months after my husband got it for me for Christmas. So I purchased a new charger and it worked for a few months and now I couldn't get it to charge again. I decided to google and see if there was something I was doing wrong and came across all of this. I read what you all had to say and took my memory card out just to try it and it worked and is charging as I type this. So thank you everyone for your comments to help this person!!!
Dec 6, 2012 by
by
sistafriend
pf, wi
Location : 
pf, wi
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
My daughter had not used her camera since Christmas because it wouldn't charge. Thanks to the forum and your answers, I removed the memory card and ta da, it's charging, thank you! Now to see how long it lasts... I'm just thrilled at this point to see it charging.
Mar 16, 2012 by
by
Andrea
SC
Location : 
SC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
To the Nikon Staff's answer. I recently purchased the S4100 and have had the same issues.

I just looked at page 161 of the manual and did not see anything listed regarding this issue.

Also, the camera can not be turned on to change settings since the battery will not charge.
Feb 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thank you!
Just called Nikon and reported the problem- they said to take into store and troubleshoot
but I decided to try taking out the memory card- it looks like it may be charging--- the light is at least blinking!
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've had problems charging my camera too! After the original one I purchased simply wouldn't charge as explained in the manual, I exchanged the camera for a different one, hoping that I had had bad luck with the battery or something. I just experienced the SAME problem today with my second one. I carefully followed all the instructions for charging the camera, but it simply wouldn't charge. My husband started playing around with it before we were going to return the camera, and one of the things he tried was removing the additional memory card we had been using. All of a sudden the camera started charging! We are now going to use the camera and drain the battery again, to try to confirm whether removing the additional storage media is the secret to charging these cameras, or if this was just a strange fluke. If anyone else has any ideas or feedback to share, please do! We really like this camera, but obviously need it to charge when necessary!
Jan 1, 2012 by
by
The one known for capturing "the moments"
Seattle, WA, USA
Location : 
Seattle, WA, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Wow! Glad I am not the only one with this problem. I wondered if this was a problem with the camera. Mine is doing the same thing. I actually called to day and I have to send the adapter, they said, to be replaced. Since they know this, you think they would just send me one instead of me sending them the "bad" one. Call Nikon, and if you can return the camera where you bought it, do it! Wish I did.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-8points
8out of 24found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful16
Answer: 
Please verify the settings that you have in order to charge your camera through the Computer or wall charger. See page# 161 of the User's Manual for the COOLPIX s4100.
May 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
12 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S4100
 
3 Answers

Lost my USB cable--where can I get a replacement?

Feb 10, 2012 by
by
Tom
Dallas TX
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Tom
Dallas TX
Location : 
Dallas TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Noticed that the S4100 uses a proprietary USB adapter, not a standard mini or micro. Tried numerous electronic & camera stores while on business trip as forgot the special adapter at home, although they carry the camera, they do not have the specialty adapter cable. To make sure this does not happen again, I bought 2 Nikon OEM cables from a dealer on-line & will make sure they are labeled as Nikon cables &keep one packed with the laptops. Hope this helps
Mar 20, 2012 by
by
Gatorbill
Florida, USA
Location : 
Florida, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Be sure it has mini USB connection on one end. While the standard USB connection on one end is universal, manufacturers were notorious for using all types of proprietary connection scheme on the other end, not unlike cellphone manufacturers with their chargers until recently as dictated by change in the law. No such law exist for camera manufacturers so far as I know. Nikon is good about using standard mini USB for their connection.
Feb 12, 2012 by
by
JuhanK

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Anywhere, any usb cable will work in it.
Feb 11, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
2 Answers

Broken Screen

Apr 10, 2011 by
by
rick
nyc
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can the LCD screen be replaced? And what's the cost if possible?
S4100
3 years ago
by
rick
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, I just had my screen replaced at a cost of $91.
May 10, 2011 by
by
Alan
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our techs in order to provide you with an estimate to repair it.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
2 Answers

images are underexposed and cant focus subject well.. vedio goes blur with zoom in

May 9, 2011 by
by
aman
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I bought a new nikon s3100 recently based upon the success of its predecessor model nikon S3000 which nikon claims to be the best seller for europe. Photos i shoot with my camera were under exposed, dark and subject cant be focused well... it was not expected from the renowned brand worldwide nikon at least...

moreover, while shootind vedio if we zoom in.. it gets blurred..so finally i would not suggest this product to anyone..i will be thankful if nikon support team can help me for the issue..
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
aman
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
This obviously is a problem with their cameras now, as I too have the same problem. I thought at first I just wasnt using the camera correctly or the settings. Well too late to return now and it has only been a month. If you can get yours fixed with that blurriness let me know. I wonder if it is just the camera. I feel stuck with this terrrible camera. I too had a 3100 series and it was better than the 4100S.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
2 Answers

How do I raise the ISO setting level?

May 23, 2011 by
by
Flora
United States
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am getting very blurred picture in rooms that aren't lit to well. How do you raise the ISO level? I can't seem to find the settings on this camera?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Flora
United States
Location : 
United States
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The camera in general does not work well in dimly lit places, like performances. There is a slider bar that when you touch the screen, it will pop-up on the right side to adjust the lighting. Also if you go to the menu, there is a place to change the shutter which should help.
Jun 3, 2011 by
by
SanTan
Arizona
Location : 
Arizona
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
While on Auto mode you Tap the bottom tab > ISO sensitivity. See page# 53 of the user's manual of the s4100.
May 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
2 Answers

Does this camera have selective color

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
United States
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
United States
Location : 
United States
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes it came with three choices...black, red, and blue.
Jul 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this camera has the selective color feature.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Windows 7 home premium
View NX2 v2.1.2
plug camera into usb. It appears in devices and printers window but with the yellow triangle stating that the drivers are not installed. It is identified as "NIKON DSC COOLPIX S4100-PTP" The camera is not in "My computer" I just purchased a little over a month ago from Costco and I am finally trying to download the memory card. What do I do now?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Dave
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try running Windows update while the camera is plugged in, it should find and download any available drivers.
May 8, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Try downloading from here, make sure you pick the correct version! 32bit or 64 bit Windows 7. Not sure click start, right click computer, then click on properties and look at system

http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17737/related/1
May 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
1 answer

Are you able to print the time & date stamp on a printed photo?

Mar 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the date imprint feature (date and time).
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
1 answer

Is there any way to change the video format to something other than a .avi file?

Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Beginner
Maine
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Beginner
Maine
Location : 
Maine
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You would need to use a 3rd party application to do that.
Mar 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4100
 
1 answer

how do i shut off the flash?

Mar 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Tab on the Flash Mode Control in order to displayed the menu and choose OFF.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers