Loading
COOLPIX P500 3.8 5 245 245
P500 is Not to Nikon Standards I am very impressed with Nikon's line of cameras, support, training and accessories including their software. I purchased the P500 for a lighter weight, point and shoot to accompany my D200. This is a great camera for the very novice photographer. It has a massive internal harddrive. It is very easy to use and it shoots MOVs in HD when a card is inserted. The zoom is fabulous especially when shooting wildlife. However, I am disppointed with the photo quality and extremely disappointed with the video quality. The video does not work in low light and there is no flash or lighting option to accommodate low light situations. The camera is also difficult to use with auto focus in the Auto Mode when shooting landscapes. The quality of the JPG images is fair. Most photos appear fuzzy even when shooting at the highest resolution and largest photo size. Another disappointing feature on the camera is the inability to operate with the lense cap on. You must removre the lense cap to turn the camera on and there is no way to protect the lense or add a haze filter. November 11, 2011
So far from what we have used it, it is not the best camera for point and shoot. The pictures are blurry or dark. It doesn't tell when you need a flash. Will take some time to learn how to use it properly. October 7, 2011
Action or Sport Image shows blur For still Photograph its awesome cam, but it lags somewhere for Action or Sports photography. October 7, 2011
not satisfied wit its video recordin feature at all. cant use zoom while video recording as image gets blurred totally.. July 31, 2011
DISAPPOINTED The Nikon brand is one of the reasons for me buying the COOLPIX P500. The zoom, megapixels size and price are other reasons. When the camera works, it works very well; when it works. Not knowing if the battery will go dead overnight is UNNERVING. The random accept/reject of the Sd card (Sandisk-Extreme) when I turn on the camera is an annoying uncertainty. The Nikon brand does not mean the same thing to me now. June 18, 2011
pure video Thigs that wasn't finished: - video stabilisation is hopeles, only electronic is not good enough with zoom more than 10x, mayby that oprucal stabilisation is very noisy. - time laps only more than 30seconds, schould be also 1,5, and 15 seconds intervals. - cmos very big distorsion on movies, shutter and stabilisation problem. In full zoom jelly effect. - loading of battery on usb cuts off camera - zooming and focus with one speed - not good mechanism of noise reduction even in ISO160, pictures are blurred without details, especialy in portrets on hair. Maybe in firmware upgrade some of this will be repaired, I hope. June 16, 2011
Would not recommend at this time Battery problem! Focusing problem on videos and stills while zooming. June 7, 2011
Frustrating camera with a great zoom First off, the zoom on this camera is fantastic. My two big complaints are the battery life and the softness of the photos. I have tried a ton of different settings and I cannot seem to capture a true crisp picture, even on a tripod. If you are going to be printing these images, this is not the camera for you, but if you are going to be resizing images to use on the internet, than it would work out just fine. The battery life is pretty bad, and you are given absolutely no warning when the battery is getting low. I took 91 shots and a 20 second video, and on my second video I made it about 2 minutes and the camera just shut off with zero warning, it just said "battery exhausted" and that was that. When I started the video, the on screen indicator told me the battery was at half power, that was pretty frustrating. When mounted on a tripod, the LCD cannot clear the base of the tripod to allow you to tilt the screen down (if you tripod is positioned quite high, this would be HUGELY useful!). If they had used the "normal" style of a tilt and swivel LCD it would not have been an issue. The audio and video quality are pretty dang good, but as I stated before, still images are just not crisp and that is pretty annoying. May 22, 2011
Awesome I really impressed when i started to use this camera, with all the function and what this machine capable of. But unfortunately i encounter with a problem about battery. Without any notification, it turn itself off and it is written that "the battery is discharged" :( April 10, 2011
GOOD CAMERA NOT EXCELLENT so far i like canon's option better in every single aspect. i think there is no improvement from the p100 photo and video experience. but first i wanna try all possible methods to get the best out of this camera. i still need to try it at night. ill post updates when i do so. March 30, 2011
Horrible focus I am a student and for my photography class i need to take pictures up close. I recieved this camera for christmas in 2011 just 9 months ago to this day. At first i loved the camera and thought it was amazing, now i cant focus on anything up close and the only way i can do that is take about 50 pictures for each subject and most of the time i need a tripod because it takes forever to take the picture. I will say sometimes i get a good picture but that is very rare. September 25, 2012
Not so great quality! I hate this camera! It freezes all the time, wont turn on if it doesn't feel like it , and takes horrible pictures. My aunt is a professional photographer and she put all my settings on the most basic easy to use settings and the pictures still turn out horrible. I definitely wish I would have spent my $400 on a different camera with a company that is easier to work with! July 26, 2012
Nice pictures most of the time, when the battery isnt dead or its not freezing up. Bought this camera in May of 2011 to be used for our wedding pictures and video in June. Most of the pictures turned out great since it was an outdoor day but the video kept stopping so have 5 clips for a 25 minute wedding what a pain. Its now in the Nikon repair shop at end of December because it was constantly freezing where had to remove and replace battery to turn it on and any fast motion sports shots totally froze the thing. They said could be in shop for 6 months and thats with a store purchased extended warranty. Wow a total disappointment in this camera. Hope it comes back unrepairable so they will replace it. January 20, 2012
Great for tourists but not for cinematographers this camera has a long zoom great for taking photos of landmarks but the lens only goes down to f3.1, and it does not have a hot shoe or mic input. the biggest let down for me was the absence of 720 60p. the photos are great (not in low light) but the video options are limited January 16, 2012
Coolpix P500 not so cool I had high expectations for Nikon's Coolpix P500. I had not purchased a camera for a few years and with the P500's 36X optical zoom, I really wanted to try it. But when I took photos of my two daughters' choir performances in the food court at the mall and at the school gymnasium, I was very disappointed with the results. On the fully automatic setting the P500 seemed to have trouble focusing on my subject. I took several photos and finally was able to capture a couple of in-focus photos. I was also disappointed in the overall quality of some of my other photos. It seemed the photo edges looked distorted, akin to looking at your image in a house of mirrors. My old camera, a Panasonic Lumix, at least does a better job of focusing on the subject. So last night I returned my P500 camera and plan on purchasing another Lumix, this time the FZ150. I hope for better results, otherwise maybe it's time to move up to a SLR. December 9, 2011
Very disappointed This is my second P500, the first I had to return due to a power issue. It takes nice pictures (sometimes). What i do not like about it- 1) The battery does not keep a charge, 2) The refresh time (between pictures) is Very slow, 3) Camara has troubel focusing in the 26->36 range, 4) In movie mode the picture is very jumpy (sound is ok), 5) Burst mode does not work as it should, nore does sport mode. If I could I would return this for another camara. November 12, 2011
Purchased two months ago- not working I would love to say this is a great Camera but since purchased two months ago it has stopped working twice! Already had to mail it back to Nikon for repair...not off on a good foot! October 29, 2011
Sadly I cannot recommend this camera I love Nikon cameras and have owned a number of them but the P500 was a huge disappointment. We purchased this particular camera to take on safari. This camera does not produce good (OR EVEN DECENT) night shots. I do not recommend this camera because it did not meet our expectations. October 14, 2011
Not a bad camera This is not an SLR by no means. It takes fairly good pictures and easy to use. But the quality of any photo you take of anything moving in front is still the same as any non_SLR camera, blurred. We bought it for its zoom lense and as an affordable sollution to be able to take this camera somewhere you might lose, have it stolen, or simply damaged. The only real downside is that the video is jumpy at intervals when played back. Maybe this camera came defective, not sure. We were already on our cruise ship when in use, so we did not take many videos as a result. We do have many great photos though, but next time, we will most likely go with an SLR instead. August 27, 2011
mediocre at best The main problem with this camera is it's inability to focus. There's no reason to have such a wide range of focal lengths if it cannot focus on them. July 18, 2011
Great zoom! Poor macro/short battery life. Love/hate, depending on photo priorities/photograhic skills. (Experienced camera malfunction, would not turn on although battery fully charged) July 9, 2011
focus not good i'm not a very happy with it right now. i have always been a Nikon fan. right now, i'm not.. July 1, 2011
The camera itself is good. If I charge the camera overnight and use it in the morning for a couple minutes, by the time I go to use it again at night, the battery is dead. I think my battery is the problem and customer service was not very nice when I called regarding a replacement battery. May 29, 2011
Wonderful lens quality, terrible flash operation Great camera to substitute for my D80 as a light weight alternative with great lens quality and flexabIlity IF the flash is not required. Flash operation is pure frustration. Slow or impossible to focus. Should never have been released. I love the D80 and the D70. Huge disappointment when using a flash. I would rate this a 5 based only on use not requiring a flash but a total failure with it. Sorry, that's not what I believed I'd get from Nikon, May 27, 2011
Lots of features but fails on what's important This camera has lots of good features but Nikon has to issue a new firmware to fix a few issues. First of all is that the camera sometimes just locks up. Will not do anything unless you remove the battery (sorts like turning off your computer when it freezes up). It also has difficulty focusing when on maximum zoom and also in minimum lighting condition like when I was taking pictures during a class stage performance. Battery performance is also poor and will just suddenly tell you that the battery is exhausted without prior warning. These can be fixed with a firmware update. Aside from these issues, a minor design issue is the lens cap/cover. You need to always remember to remove it before turning on the camera or else the lens tries to push the cover from its locked position. My Canon S1 IS lens cover will just slide off the lens once the camera is turned on. My biggest complain is that the pictures are quite soft. I am not expecting DSLR quality images but we have cheaper compact digital cameras that produce the same image quality. I am still thinking whether to keep the camera or sell it. May 22, 2011
Great camera for blurry photos We owned a lower-priced Coolpix that always took great photos easily in many lighting conditions. Unfortunately, it got stolen. We replaced it with the Coolpix 500. Although it was double the cost of the older Coolpix, we were attracted to it by its powerful optical zoom and its HD video capabilities. However, the Coolpix 500 has been a disappointment. Unless you are in full sunlight or within flash range, its pictures are always blurry, particularly when you are zooming. Perhaps a professional photographer could take advantage of the Coolpix 500's numerous manual override features to get a clear picture, but we have not figured out how to take sharp pictures in low light with any level of zoom. As to the HD video, it does better in low light than the camera's still photography features, but since the video doesn't have a pause feature, you end up shooting multiple files for the even the shortest of events. For example, a birthday party turns into a dozen 1 minute video files. Avoid this camera. May 21, 2011
features were great but battery life was poor also also for me the inability to shoot pix while plugged in when battery is on charge was frustrating there were other stuff too but I only used the camera for a week before I decided to return it for a Sony hx1 May 20, 2011
Good video easy to operate The only complaint and it is a big one is that the movies record in Quick time which many of my customers do not have or want so I had to purchase a format changer. Had I known this prior to buyng the camera I would not have picked Nikon. Twchnical support was no help to me on this issue either May 20, 2011
not worth it! i used this camera for no longer then an hour last night and when i tried to turn it on this morning the battery was dead. not what i expected for the money i paid!! very disappointed!!! April 24, 2011
Very Disappointing I wrote a full review with photos which you can probably find by googling my username. Here is the gist of it: CONS Only satisfactory image quality Poor auto focus Inconsistency in white balance Noticeable lag time between shots Aperture changes automatically even when the mode is set to Manual or Aperture Priority (this is the one that really bothers me and so does Nikon’s answer) No shortcuts for settings like ISO or metering No sensor to tell you when the lens cap is still on when powering up No RAW file format No info in the display or EXIF data showing what mode you are shooting in Does not have the ability to choose an auto focus point besides the center PROS Macro mode is fantastic Manual focus works well especially with Macro Large LCD screen Easy Panorama mode really is easy and the results are totally awesome Pet Portrait mode Menus are easy to navigate Surprisingly good performance at ISO 1600 Very light and easy to carry around It’s RED!!! April 10, 2011
Page: 5 6 7 8 9
<<prev | next>>
226 Questions | 287 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
226 Questions | 287 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
10 Answers

Why does my P500 keep dying?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Chris
Eastern WA
Has staff answer
+62points
71out of 80found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful71unhelpful9
Bought the P500 last week and it suddenly goes dead and won't come back on. Prior to today, it seemed that the battery wasn't holding a charge because when I plugged the camera in, it charged again. Today, however, I used the camera off and on for a couple hours and when I went to turn it on, it wouldn't turn on. Hooked it up to charge and it wouldn't even do that!
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Chris
Eastern WA
Location : 
Eastern WA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
10 Answers

Answers

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
Just download the new update. It will work then....Finally a solution to the problem.
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I experienced the same issue. After trying several different options (including changing the charging settings and using different batteries) I returned my camera to the store 3 weeks ago and obtained a replacement. This new unit has been perfect (even with the standard factory settings and the original batteries). My experience has confirmed (at least in my mind) that the problem is real and requires something more definite from Nikon to resolve.
Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0
Answer: 
After a few days I can now confirm that turning the "Charge by Computer" option OFF indeed fixes the battery issues. I've left my P500 unplugged for several days, and it still shows 100% battery charge.

If I turn the option to "auto" (default), it won't last a single day.

So, Nikon... how can this be user's fault?
Jun 4, 2011 by
by
Carlos
Portugal
Location : 
Portugal
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
In the DPreview forums, some users suggested this problem could be "fixed" by disabling the USB charging function (set it from AUTO to OFF). If this is the case, then it definitely proves its a firmware issue, and Nikon should acknowledge it.

I've just disabled it, and will see how it behaves in the next couple of days.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Carlos
Portugal
Location : 
Portugal
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Also having the exact same problem. I've upgrade from the P100 to the P500, and battery life is abysmal. If I happen to leave the P500 not plugged to the power, even after a single day the battery is completely dead! (And the camera was off the entire time)

How can this be acceptable?

I just hope this is a firmware issue, something not properly entering a power-save mode or sleep when we turn the camera off, that can be fixed via firmware update - but it really is unacceptable for such a brand like Nikon.

I sincerely hope this can be fixed ASAP!
May 31, 2011 by
by
Carlos
Portugal
Location : 
Portugal
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just got the camera last week and I encountered the exact same problem a week later with the battery 60% depleted. It would not turn on until I remove battery and reinsert. By the way, the shot count I get seems to be way less than the 220 claimed by Nikon. When camera is in certain scene mode with macro AF, a continual clicking noise (focusing?) can be heard even after subject is in focus. I suspect this might be hurting battery life. This is my first Nikon superzoom point&shoot and I'm very disappointment in this purchase so far.
May 8, 2011 by
by
Matt
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am just back from my first vacation with my new P500 and have had what seems to be the same problem several times. What happens is that I turn off the camera the usual way, with a fully or almost fully charged battery, Then the next time I try to turn it on, there is no reaciton whatsoever. Only once did I mange to solve the problem by removing the battery and reinserting it. 4-5 times (in just 1 week!) the only solution was to recharge the battery, which appeared to be flat. If this appearance is true, then the camera must have discharged the battery for some reason.

I guess the problem must either be in the firmware (wrong read of battery status), or in the hardware.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Allan
Denmark
Location : 
Denmark
Age: 55-65
Experience: Less than a month

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Tomas, you're right. We figured it out a couple days after this post. Then it got to the point where putting the battery back in didn't work and we couldn't get it to charge at all (either with the wall charger or on the computer). So we took the whole thing back to where we bought it and got another one. This one is behaving properly so far...don't know if it's a battery or battery casing issue, but it's obvious we aren't the only ones having issues!
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Hi,
It might be same type of problem that I am experiencing, posted a question here today, I will quote my question bellow.
But in short just remove and reinsert battery and see if it does not work again.

A bit interested to see if you have the same problem as I do, I will check back for your answer later.

Regards,
Tomas

---

My question here entered today:

P500 with firmware v1.0.
Works like a charm but twice now it have not reacted on the power button when in off state.
The only way to get it working is to remove the battery and reinsert it and it will then power up nicely.
Battery is fully charged.
Is this a known problem that will be fixed in future firmware update? or send it in for repair?

No problems otherwise with this nice product.

Regards,
Tomas
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-44points
5out of 54found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful49
Answer: 
Please note that the power-on lamp slowly blinks orange to indicate that the battery is charging. About four hours and 50 minutes are required to charge a fully exhausted battery. You can charge the battery by using the charger or through the computer using the USB cable.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
7 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
6 Answers

My Memory Card is on the Approved list (SanDIsk SDHC 16GB Class 10) but the camera rejects it after one power cycle.

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Joshua
San Diego, CA
Has staff answer
+5points
12out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful7
I inserted the SanDisk memory card while the camera was off. I powered on the camera and the memory card works while taking pictures or video and reviewing and deleting pictures. Once the camera is turned off and back on again the camera gives an error "This card cannot be used." The error is not consistent however as I am able to power the camera on and off and sometimes the error appears and other times it does not.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Joshua
San Diego, CA
Location : 
San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You probably need to download the firmware update that allows support for that memory card, found here: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17414. You might need a memory card that the camera can read in order to install the firmware though.
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
wenxwen

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
I think the answer is in the footnotes of this document :
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17202
"SDXC-I or SDHC-I Compliant Memory is a relatively new speed class and is not listed as supported at this time."
I think that SDHC-I means UHS-I
Bad news!
Jun 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have exactly the same issue: a brand new Sandisk SDHC UHS-I 8GB class10 200x card (which is in the approved Nikon P500 approved cards list) refuses to work after one power cycle. The card works fine in an other camera and the P500 works fine with other cards. The contacts are clean, I reformat it with a computer and the P500: same issue. There is a severe incompatibilty with this card.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Francis
France
Location : 
France
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have tried 2 different (new) Scandisk 16gb extreme cards in four different p500 bodies and each body eventually gave the error "This card cannot be used". I also tried an Scandisck 8GB Extreme card and was able to shoot about 250 photos (including a few videos) before it gave this error. I replaced it with an Scandisk 8GB Ultra card (sorry I don't know the classes on these. I think the Extreme is class 10 and the Ultra is obviously lower). So far the Ultra has worked fine for 250+ photos. This is obviously a firmware issue. Nikon should stop repeating the instructions in the manual and start working on a firmware update.

Note: I used the same 16GB cards in my D40 body with no problems whatsoever. It's not the cards that are the problem it is the p500.
May 1, 2011 by
by
herpbooks
Utah
Location : 
Utah
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have had the camera 1 hour "Card cannot be read" randomly, I have tried a few cards.
This camera is going back.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
M
CA
Location : 
CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-31points
0out of 31found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful31
Answer: 
Please verified that the connectors are clean and also that the memory card is correctly inserted. Try a different memory card and format the memory card. See page #200 of the User's Manual.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
4 Answers

Playing 1080P videos

Apr 28, 2011 by
by
mrollins
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The specs say this camera shoots video in 1080P, but when you hook it up to a TV using the HDMI connection, the only output options under TV settings are 480P, 720P, & 1080i. How do you view movies shot in 1080P?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
mrollins
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Most likely 1080i is your TV's capability.
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
1080p and 1080i have the same resolution and quality given a quality connection from your camera to tv... Example 1080p will run smoother video over say a wireless connection, like antenna.. while 1080i pushed into low bandwidth situations will show a jumpy jaggy picture..
Bottom line is a standard hdmi connection will be fine.. and 1080i verse 1080p would look the same through a normal hdmi cable..
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
May 13, 2011 by
by
Razrburn
san antonio, tx
Location : 
san antonio, tx
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
use an external viewer. the HDMI port on this model and the D7000 too seems to be crippled and cannot output 1080p.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
On the TV settings you can choose a picture resolution for HDMI output from Auto (default setting), 480p, 720p, or 1080i. When Auto is set, the output resolution that is best suited to the connected high-definition TV is selected automatically from 480p, 720p or 1080i.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
3 Answers

When will this be for sale? I thought it was today, March 3?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
sammy
Has staff answer
+10points
11out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
sammy
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new cameras are available at the dealers after 30 or 45 days of the release date.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
As of today, 3/5, Best Buy is showing an availability date of 3/27.
Mar 5, 2011 by
by
CheetahBoy
Tucson, AZ
Location : 
Tucson, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sammy, it has been released in the UK today for March 3, but not sure for USA yet.

Come on Nikon - when are you releasing it over here?
Mar 3, 2011 by
by
KevvyBoy
Augusta
Location : 
Augusta
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P500
 
3 Answers

How can I take or make panorama pictures on the P500?

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Victor
Belgium
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Victor
Belgium
Location : 
Belgium
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
use the little "wheel" on the top of the camera. move it so its on SCENE. then press MENU and find panorama!
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
There are 2 options for taking panoramas:
One helps you takes pictures next to each other, so with a software (panorama maker is provided with the camera) you can stich these pictures and make your panorama.
The other option, very nice by the way, allows you to point to one point, take the picture, and move the camera to the right and left, and it will take the whole panorama in one picture directly, you have the option of capturing 180 or 360 degrees with this mode. I tried today and it works fine.
May 1, 2011 by
by
Wanderer
Barcelona, Spain
Location : 
Barcelona, Spain
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-9points
0out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful9
Answer: 
Take half a dozen shots and stich them together in Photoshop.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

why no swivel monitor?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anna
San Jose
Has staff answer
+9points
11out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful2
Why was the swivel LCD monitor, like in the Nikon Coolpix 8800, discontinued? I would love to see the Coolpix S9100 or P500 with the swivel LCD.
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anna
San Jose
Location : 
San Jose
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
The reply by the Nikon staff did not really answer my question. The P500 has a vari-angle LCD but what I meant was why the LCD that swivels 180 degrees to the left of the camera (like in the old 8800) was discontinued. The newer versions won't let you mount the camera in the tripod & be able to look at the LCD while standing in front of the camera at the same time.
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
Anna
San Jose
Location : 
San Jose
Age: 35-44

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
The P500 has a vari-angle LCD Screen. Also a few other models.
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

Sure would like to be able to use a polarizing filter, but you guys have no filter threads on the P500?

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
JRW
Canon City, CO
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
JRW
Canon City, CO
Location : 
Canon City, CO
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I was able to purchase an adapter on Amazon for really reasonable price that attaches to the lense of my P500. It has threads on the end and I am now able to use any type of filter I want.
Jan 14, 2012 by
by
photomom
Concord, NC, USA
Location : 
Concord, NC, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-6points
1out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful7
Answer: 
Due to the extension of the lens when is zoom out completely a filter cannot be use on it.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

My new P500 will not work with a SanDisk SDHC UHS-1 card.

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
I.P.
US
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
I just got a P500. I bought two SanDisk SDHC UHS-1 Class 10 cards. I plugged one in and it worked. After shutting it off a couple times, when I turned it on I got a message "This card cannot be used." I tried to format the card but the message locks up the camera. When I take the card out or when I use an old 1 GB card it works fine. I have tried several times with the same results. What is the problem? Another person asked the exact same question about four days ago with no real answer.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
I.P.
US
Location : 
US
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
I think the answer is in the footnotes of this document :
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17202
"SDXC-I or SDHC-I Compliant Memory is a relatively new speed class and is not listed as supported at this time."
I think that SDHC-I means UHS-I
Bad news!
Jun 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Please verify that you are using an approved memory card:

Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix P500
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

Power up problem, only solution is to remove and insert battery.

Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
P500 with firmware v1.0.
Works like a charm but twice now it have not reacted on the power button when in off state.
The only way to get it working is to remove the battery and reinsert it and it will then power up nicely.
Battery is fully charged.
Is this a known problem that will be fixed in future firmware update? or send it in for repair?

No problems otherwise with this nice product.

Regards,
Tomas
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine did the same thing, don't know why but if it happens again I will take the camera back as this usually points to trouble on down the road.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
Remove the battery from the camera and re-charge it.
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Try a back-up battery if the problem persists you're welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

fast pictures?

Apr 26, 2011 by
by
inkman
USA
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I am interested in the P500. How quickly does it take a picture after the button is pushed? I will use it to take action shots and want to be sure I catch the action.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
inkman
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The picture is taken very fast and also has a mode called "pre shutter" so it records the previous pictures when you have pressed the button to the half to focus, I think this one is very good for what you're looking for, but I cannot tell you so much because I haven't compared with other models, just can tell you by my own experience is a good choice.
May 1, 2011 by
by
Wanderer
Barcelona, Spain
Location : 
Barcelona, Spain
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-6points
1out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful7
Answer: 
Most of the time the shooting delay is caused by focusing. Press the button half way down (and hold it in) and let the camera pre-focus; when the subject is perfect press the button the rest of the way to shoot. With a bit of practice it is easy to get the perfect photo.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers