Loading
COOLPIX P500 3.8 5 245 245
takes amazing pictures I have just got this camera and love it. It is so easy to use and the look of it is excellent. Much better than canon and fuji. January 7, 2013
The Only Camera You'll Need I bought this camera to prepare for a vacation where I knew I would need the zoom and have been practicing with it at home to get used to what it can do. It is amazing for catching pictures of wildlife and scenery. There is so much it can do that I haven't even tried yet and I know I won't be looking for another camera for a very long time. This one does it all. :) May 30, 2012
O melhor primeiro passo pra uma profissional Excelente câmera, de fácil manuseio, sem complicações e de fotos excelentes! September 10, 2014
essa é d+ Gostei muito dessa camera, pra ser uma semi. atendeu minhas expectativas May 23, 2012
La cámara más completa para una persona normal Excelente cámara, un manejo práctico y sencillo además de un zoom de ¡wow!. Todo lo que una persona normal sin conocer mucho de fotografía necesita para tomar fotos increíbles, fácil y con resultados sorprendentes. La cámara en sí te ayuda a elegir la mejor opción para cada toma a realizar. Es realmente la mejor cámara para viajes y vacaciones que podrás encontrar! May 23, 2012
Tres bon appareil: qualité, solidité et beauté c'est le Nikon P500 Cet appareil là, le Nikon P500 est un tres bon appareil, c'est sûr que je vais recommander le P500 à mes amis. Bravo Nikon!!! Ne change pas. Mais il faut que Nikon travaille sur la batterie pour qu'elle puisse conserver sa charge mais c'est tres bon appareil. En plus, il y a un bon service à la clientèle à Montréal. Bravo Nikon pour le P500. April 16, 2012
Great camera for beginners I love this camera so much. I enjoy taking photos with it. It is a must buy for beginners entering photographer. Only Cons that i have is that it doesn't have interchangeable lens :( if that was possible i would be complete. Overall amazing camera i give it 2 thumbs up March 2, 2014
Rookie Photographer Well, for beginners just like me this camera is awesome, picture quality, HD video, functions, etc, the only drawback is its battery, lasts less than average, so I had to purchase an extra one, but the camera itself is awesome. December 4, 2012
battery Issue Nikon P500 such a great camera but i don't understand one thing Why battery life so short i mean i cant take more then 100 photos even my cam is new so i bought another battery to take a photos even that still got Problem with battery i hope to see some solution July 16, 2012
Great pictures I have had no problems with this camera. Some minor issues with :auto focus with full zoom, but with the different choices they have been overcome. All pictures have come out great and the zoom ability is amazing. June 2, 2012
Great Overall Camera I absolutely love this camera! Pros! Zoom, focus while zooming, HD video (I took a pic of the moon and could see all the craters! Amazing) Cons! Not as good as taking a normal, non zoom picture, but an overall great camera May 25, 2012
Love It I really liek this camera! Its awseome..the only thing i dont like is that is doesnt take good sport pictures but other than that its AWESOME!!! May 10, 2012
Love the vari angle monitor! This camera takes great pictures but in my opinion the best feature is the vari-angle monitor. I'm able to get some great shots by using this feature - It has a great zoom feature but I find due to the small focus area when the zoom is fully extended it is difficult to get a clear shot due to camera movement - that may be my issue though - a tripod might fix this problem. Overall, this small camera has a good weight, takes excellent pictures and is very easy to operate. Love it. March 21, 2012
A great all-round camera except.... I like everything about the camera except....it sucks up dust like vacuum-cleaner! I'm a building inspector and take 300-750 photos per day and shoot 20-40 short videos. In the 4 months I've used the camera it's now full of dust and shows lots of 'artifacts' (ie: specks) in many of the photos. It's especially noticeable when I get a lens-flare from an adjacent light source. Looks like I'm standing in a snow-storm! If I were to hazard a guess...I'd say the long-lens is not sealing against the camera frame & barrel. Better O-rings may help. I'm going to have to buy another camera and rotate them to the local camera shop for regular cleaning I guess. OTHERWISE.... I really like the wide lens (22.5). Inside small rooms I only need 2-4 photos to get the entire room...instead of 8-10 photos that I used to take with my other camera that had a 25mm lens. This camera would rate 5-stars with me....if it didn't suck-up so much dust. I've attached two photos I took today, as an example of what I mean. The front of the lens is clean. All the 'specks' of dust you see in the photo are inside the compound lens. February 23, 2012
Takes great pics...... i love the camera. a bit cumbersome for traveling,but, worth it. I was however quite upset when after only having the camera 1 1/2 months & had to replace it because i couldn't get it to charge the second time i went to connect the charging cords- i followed the instructions too. i had to bring it all the way to nikon....it worked there but not when i got it home. thank goodness 4 pc richards because they just exchnaged it so i didn't have to send it in for "repair" and wait 2 weeks. February 18, 2012
Like a Super Computer vs 1950's To begin with, this camera has more features and combinations of features than you are ever likely to use. I was a camera salesman in the late 50's, early 60's. Developed my first roll of B&W in about 1947, maybe 1948, and never looked back. Telephoto and macros have always fascinated me. I never had a ton of money, but through my job got to use most of the top cameras. Back in 1960, to get a decent macro, I had to use extension tubes behind my lens, and then just about touch the object. I've got a great shot of a large annoyed scorpion just before s/he climbed onto my lens. (I left fairly quickly.) Lately, I've been looking for a versatile camera which can utilize both of these features, yet weighs little enough for my 74 year old, arthritic hands to hold for more than 5 seconds. Price is always a consideration, but eventually size and weight won out. Price-wise, the P500 is a great compromise between simple snapshot cameras and large, heavy professional cameras. (I suspect that most people who own these use them basically as snapshot cameras anyhow.) Also, I (and even more my wife) hate(s) when I look like a rube tourist. I had a Nikon P5100, and it was great for macros, and had outstanding sharpness. Not too much telephoto, but enough to make my macros easier. However, after 10,000 photos in 2 years, it gave up even the ghost of an image. Tried a Nikon 6000 [? Not sure of model]. It was nice and small, but a bit limited, and tended to a soft image. To cut to the chase, I bought the P500. The tele and macro are great, and one or another of it's Scene or Focusing or color correction modes will handle just about any situation. The multiple exposure feature is great for action, and the exposure bracketing warms the cockles (Whatever they are!) of my heart. The movable viewing screen also adds to the ease of certain shots, especially macros, especially if your back is older than you are. Also good for those "Over the Drowd" shots. P500 is more flexible than a ballet dancer, and not nearly as heavy, which cannot be said of some of the alternatives. Of course, once you get into the longer telephoto shots, you will almost certainly need a tripod. However, a 36x tele is seldom necessary, although it does have it's uses, and is great fun. Don't even dream of a hand-held shot with the additional digital tele extension! I'm having great fun with it, may never need another camera - still have the 6000 and my cell phone for those occasions when I (or my wife!) think(s) it best not to carry the P500 around. Just before I bought this, I was feeling sorry that I had gotten rid of my filters, but danged if this camera doesn't have them built in! I would like a slip on ring so that I could use a Skylight filter, but that's just my age showing. This camera does more internally than many amateur darkrooms could do 25-30 years ago. I do have some cons, but so far they are not very serious. I very much wish that a printed instruction manual were included. I like to handle and mark up my manuals, and to print this one out is over 200 pages if you feel you need the whole thing. Selective printing can help. I have heard that zooming while shooting video can be noisy, and it's true. You can edit it out if it really bothers you. Plenty of software around that can do that. I would have liked a slightly faster lens, and a bit higher maximum shutter speed, Also, higher f #s would be handy where great depth of field is required. The images tend to be a bit too soft for my taste, I like to blow up tiny bits of the image, thus creating, in effect, an even greater telephoto effect, but short of murals or huge posters, this gives a pretty fair enlargement. Would I recommend it? You bet, but with a couple of caveats. I would not recommend it for someone who wants it solely for the extra telephoto range. Also, you can use it as a point and shoot, but then you are paying for lots of extras which an advanced amateur wants, but you can do quite decent point and shoot with a 5mp digital phone camera, and it weighs less. Did I mention that the P500 takes great videos? I almost always shoot still, but these great videos may send me back into video mode. However, if videos are your main thing, you might consider a video camera. I love it! For the price, convenience, and flexibility I haven't seen anything that can beat it. January 17, 2012
Lack of RAW image format... This is really a Excellent Model from NIKON.... But it doesn't have the most important feature. Image format RAW is missing here. Image quality is good. But RAW is highly needed in such a model. December 16, 2011
Great Little Camera This little baby can get all the shots. From a bee on a flower to the tip of the tower with a video thrown in between. Mostly crisp, clean photos from Manual to Midnight Fireworks, the panoramas are astounding. So if you're on the go and want to shoot the show, grab one of these and blow with the wind. Along the way this camera will get all the shots. A message for Nikon. Please add threads for lens protection and the ability to shoot RAW. That's all you need to make this a perfect camera.(That is why you didn't get five stars!) December 6, 2011
It does too many things... I got this camera right before leaving for SE Asia for 3 months. So far, the only problem I've had (other that user error!) has been with the lack of focus acquisition at longer focal lengths, and lower light. It also seems prone to overexpose most scenes, but I've altered the exposure to compensate. The lens is better than my old camera, and the video is easy to use. The easy panorama isn't...takes several tries to get the camera to respond properly. The anti shake was pretty much as useless as my D80, but I can live with that. I know it sounds like I don't like the camera, but for the most part I find it just does too many things...and a few not very well. It would be great to have a good travel camera capable of quick acquisition, good low light renditioning, and eliminate all the presets...manual is also easy to use Nikon. December 4, 2011
So far the CoolPix 500 has the features I want. Have just started and do not have enough experience or chance to use the camera. December 2, 2011
An excellent camaera Overall, this is an excellent camera. Roughly 75% of it's total features are of an slr camera. I bought this camera because it has features that I need to photography and video live events of, ie concerts. Besides the variable tile screen and 36x telephoto lens that focuses great, even when fully extended, it also takes still shots while recording video. The only drawback to this camera for my purpose or for live events is the open mic. The louder the event, the greater the chance for distortion instead of decent audio in the video. It would be great if this camera had an option for an external microphone. Other than that, I recommend it. Jeff November 27, 2011
An amazing purchase a great camera! amazingly simple with astounding feature. indoor pictures are a small hassle but the built-in flash does the trick. an amazing product from nikon! small and compact and always ready to start up! November 26, 2011
Love it, but... I bought this camera about two months ago and it is perfect. I love the way it takes pictures, the zoom is fantastic, I just love it! The only thing that bothers me is the time it takes to save the picture so that I could snap another. Other than that my pictures have all been great (: November 25, 2011
Great Camera I've been told Nikon has the best picture quality and everyone that told me that was right. Ive only had Kodak and Canon .I've had this camera for about a week now and i love it. I seen all the bad reviews about the battery life but i have not had any problems with it. I've taken 300+ pictures and have not had to charge it but the first time i bought it. So i don't see where all the complaints are... It takes amazing pictures and well worth the money spent i go hiking alot where i live and it works just fine for me. When you zoom in sometimes they are a little blurry therefore i need to buy a tripod but ive had that issue with every camera ive owned. Amazing up close shots. All in all it is an amazing camera. The only things wrong with it was the video can be a bit confusing at first and it can get annoying to have to take the lens cap on and off. I've been told Nikon has the best picture quality and everyone that told me that was right. Ive only had Kodak and Canon and never again will i not buy a Nikon. November 21, 2011
The product feels good while holding in your grip Overall it is a decent camera. The video function was a bit confusing . The slow motion feature especially. The battery also does not last as long as I would like. November 4, 2011
Disappointed in Nikon My husband and I bought this camera because we were going on a photo safari in africa. Unfortunately we kept getting an error message that the card could not be read. When we returned we called Nikon and found out after going through many levels of service people that there was a firmware upgrade. We were never informed. What a frustrating and disappointing experience. The picture quality was good, the camera us lightweight. Our only complaint was in extended zoom the focus is very shaky. October 9, 2011
Many useful features. This "bridge" camera fall between a full blowen DSLR and a small point and shoot camera. It has many features the DSLR users will apprecate and is small and light enough to serve when you do not wish to take your DSLR with all the lenses with you. It has very good telephoto properties (a tripod may be required). I really like this camera and will recommend it to my friends. September 24, 2011
Great/Flexable Camera. I love the ease of use, but I have a reservation about the Battery. Every 5th or 6th time I pull it out, the camera will not power-up! I have to take out the battery and re-insert it, or change battery w/my back-up. The battery is fully charged; it just will not power-up. Frustrating! September 23, 2011
Documentation Camera is all I expected. However, since when did nikon become so cheap that they cannot furnish an instruction manual. I know you provided it on disc, however I would look stupid when I had a question while traveling to have to look it up on a lap top whic I normally do not travel wit. September 5, 2011
Battery problem solution I'm writing this in response to the battery problems other reviewers have mentioned. I had a problem with my camera draining the battery. I found a probable solution in a forum I was reading on the net as explained per the following. Nikon has a software update available for the camera. Sure enough I installed the update via the connection cord that came with my camera. Bingo! Problem SOLVED. Need be you can contact Nikon customer service and they will be happy to provide you with assistance. If that isn't the problem the camera definitely needs service. I've never found the battery drain on this camera excessive. Thanks August 31, 2011
Page: 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9
<<prev | next>>
226 Questions | 287 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
226 Questions | 287 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
10 Answers

Why does my P500 keep dying?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Chris
Eastern WA
Has staff answer
+62points
71out of 80found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful71unhelpful9
Bought the P500 last week and it suddenly goes dead and won't come back on. Prior to today, it seemed that the battery wasn't holding a charge because when I plugged the camera in, it charged again. Today, however, I used the camera off and on for a couple hours and when I went to turn it on, it wouldn't turn on. Hooked it up to charge and it wouldn't even do that!
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Chris
Eastern WA
Location : 
Eastern WA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
10 Answers

Answers

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
Just download the new update. It will work then....Finally a solution to the problem.
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
I experienced the same issue. After trying several different options (including changing the charging settings and using different batteries) I returned my camera to the store 3 weeks ago and obtained a replacement. This new unit has been perfect (even with the standard factory settings and the original batteries). My experience has confirmed (at least in my mind) that the problem is real and requires something more definite from Nikon to resolve.
Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0
Answer: 
After a few days I can now confirm that turning the "Charge by Computer" option OFF indeed fixes the battery issues. I've left my P500 unplugged for several days, and it still shows 100% battery charge.

If I turn the option to "auto" (default), it won't last a single day.

So, Nikon... how can this be user's fault?
Jun 4, 2011 by
by
Carlos
Portugal
Location : 
Portugal
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
In the DPreview forums, some users suggested this problem could be "fixed" by disabling the USB charging function (set it from AUTO to OFF). If this is the case, then it definitely proves its a firmware issue, and Nikon should acknowledge it.

I've just disabled it, and will see how it behaves in the next couple of days.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Carlos
Portugal
Location : 
Portugal
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Also having the exact same problem. I've upgrade from the P100 to the P500, and battery life is abysmal. If I happen to leave the P500 not plugged to the power, even after a single day the battery is completely dead! (And the camera was off the entire time)

How can this be acceptable?

I just hope this is a firmware issue, something not properly entering a power-save mode or sleep when we turn the camera off, that can be fixed via firmware update - but it really is unacceptable for such a brand like Nikon.

I sincerely hope this can be fixed ASAP!
May 31, 2011 by
by
Carlos
Portugal
Location : 
Portugal
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Just got the camera last week and I encountered the exact same problem a week later with the battery 60% depleted. It would not turn on until I remove battery and reinsert. By the way, the shot count I get seems to be way less than the 220 claimed by Nikon. When camera is in certain scene mode with macro AF, a continual clicking noise (focusing?) can be heard even after subject is in focus. I suspect this might be hurting battery life. This is my first Nikon superzoom point&shoot and I'm very disappointment in this purchase so far.
May 8, 2011 by
by
Matt
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am just back from my first vacation with my new P500 and have had what seems to be the same problem several times. What happens is that I turn off the camera the usual way, with a fully or almost fully charged battery, Then the next time I try to turn it on, there is no reaciton whatsoever. Only once did I mange to solve the problem by removing the battery and reinserting it. 4-5 times (in just 1 week!) the only solution was to recharge the battery, which appeared to be flat. If this appearance is true, then the camera must have discharged the battery for some reason.

I guess the problem must either be in the firmware (wrong read of battery status), or in the hardware.
Apr 22, 2011 by
by
Allan
Denmark
Location : 
Denmark
Age: 55-65
Experience: Less than a month

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Tomas, you're right. We figured it out a couple days after this post. Then it got to the point where putting the battery back in didn't work and we couldn't get it to charge at all (either with the wall charger or on the computer). So we took the whole thing back to where we bought it and got another one. This one is behaving properly so far...don't know if it's a battery or battery casing issue, but it's obvious we aren't the only ones having issues!
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Hi,
It might be same type of problem that I am experiencing, posted a question here today, I will quote my question bellow.
But in short just remove and reinsert battery and see if it does not work again.

A bit interested to see if you have the same problem as I do, I will check back for your answer later.

Regards,
Tomas

---

My question here entered today:

P500 with firmware v1.0.
Works like a charm but twice now it have not reacted on the power button when in off state.
The only way to get it working is to remove the battery and reinsert it and it will then power up nicely.
Battery is fully charged.
Is this a known problem that will be fixed in future firmware update? or send it in for repair?

No problems otherwise with this nice product.

Regards,
Tomas
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-44points
5out of 54found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful49
Answer: 
Please note that the power-on lamp slowly blinks orange to indicate that the battery is charging. About four hours and 50 minutes are required to charge a fully exhausted battery. You can charge the battery by using the charger or through the computer using the USB cable.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
7 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Closed to new answers
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
6 Answers

My Memory Card is on the Approved list (SanDIsk SDHC 16GB Class 10) but the camera rejects it after one power cycle.

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Joshua
San Diego, CA
Has staff answer
+5points
12out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful7
I inserted the SanDisk memory card while the camera was off. I powered on the camera and the memory card works while taking pictures or video and reviewing and deleting pictures. Once the camera is turned off and back on again the camera gives an error "This card cannot be used." The error is not consistent however as I am able to power the camera on and off and sometimes the error appears and other times it does not.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Joshua
San Diego, CA
Location : 
San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You probably need to download the firmware update that allows support for that memory card, found here: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17414. You might need a memory card that the camera can read in order to install the firmware though.
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
wenxwen

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
I think the answer is in the footnotes of this document :
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17202
"SDXC-I or SDHC-I Compliant Memory is a relatively new speed class and is not listed as supported at this time."
I think that SDHC-I means UHS-I
Bad news!
Jun 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have exactly the same issue: a brand new Sandisk SDHC UHS-I 8GB class10 200x card (which is in the approved Nikon P500 approved cards list) refuses to work after one power cycle. The card works fine in an other camera and the P500 works fine with other cards. The contacts are clean, I reformat it with a computer and the P500: same issue. There is a severe incompatibilty with this card.
May 7, 2011 by
by
Francis
France
Location : 
France
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have tried 2 different (new) Scandisk 16gb extreme cards in four different p500 bodies and each body eventually gave the error "This card cannot be used". I also tried an Scandisck 8GB Extreme card and was able to shoot about 250 photos (including a few videos) before it gave this error. I replaced it with an Scandisk 8GB Ultra card (sorry I don't know the classes on these. I think the Extreme is class 10 and the Ultra is obviously lower). So far the Ultra has worked fine for 250+ photos. This is obviously a firmware issue. Nikon should stop repeating the instructions in the manual and start working on a firmware update.

Note: I used the same 16GB cards in my D40 body with no problems whatsoever. It's not the cards that are the problem it is the p500.
May 1, 2011 by
by
herpbooks
Utah
Location : 
Utah
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have had the camera 1 hour "Card cannot be read" randomly, I have tried a few cards.
This camera is going back.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
M
CA
Location : 
CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-31points
0out of 31found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful31
Answer: 
Please verified that the connectors are clean and also that the memory card is correctly inserted. Try a different memory card and format the memory card. See page #200 of the User's Manual.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
4 Answers

Playing 1080P videos

Apr 28, 2011 by
by
mrollins
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The specs say this camera shoots video in 1080P, but when you hook it up to a TV using the HDMI connection, the only output options under TV settings are 480P, 720P, & 1080i. How do you view movies shot in 1080P?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
mrollins
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Most likely 1080i is your TV's capability.
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
1080p and 1080i have the same resolution and quality given a quality connection from your camera to tv... Example 1080p will run smoother video over say a wireless connection, like antenna.. while 1080i pushed into low bandwidth situations will show a jumpy jaggy picture..
Bottom line is a standard hdmi connection will be fine.. and 1080i verse 1080p would look the same through a normal hdmi cable..
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
May 13, 2011 by
by
Razrburn
san antonio, tx
Location : 
san antonio, tx
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
use an external viewer. the HDMI port on this model and the D7000 too seems to be crippled and cannot output 1080p.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
On the TV settings you can choose a picture resolution for HDMI output from Auto (default setting), 480p, 720p, or 1080i. When Auto is set, the output resolution that is best suited to the connected high-definition TV is selected automatically from 480p, 720p or 1080i.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
3 Answers

When will this be for sale? I thought it was today, March 3?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
sammy
Has staff answer
+10points
11out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
sammy
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new cameras are available at the dealers after 30 or 45 days of the release date.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
As of today, 3/5, Best Buy is showing an availability date of 3/27.
Mar 5, 2011 by
by
CheetahBoy
Tucson, AZ
Location : 
Tucson, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sammy, it has been released in the UK today for March 3, but not sure for USA yet.

Come on Nikon - when are you releasing it over here?
Mar 3, 2011 by
by
KevvyBoy
Augusta
Location : 
Augusta
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P500
 
3 Answers

How can I take or make panorama pictures on the P500?

Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Victor
Belgium
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Victor
Belgium
Location : 
Belgium
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
use the little "wheel" on the top of the camera. move it so its on SCENE. then press MENU and find panorama!
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
There are 2 options for taking panoramas:
One helps you takes pictures next to each other, so with a software (panorama maker is provided with the camera) you can stich these pictures and make your panorama.
The other option, very nice by the way, allows you to point to one point, take the picture, and move the camera to the right and left, and it will take the whole panorama in one picture directly, you have the option of capturing 180 or 360 degrees with this mode. I tried today and it works fine.
May 1, 2011 by
by
Wanderer
Barcelona, Spain
Location : 
Barcelona, Spain
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-9points
0out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful9
Answer: 
Take half a dozen shots and stich them together in Photoshop.
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

why no swivel monitor?

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Anna
San Jose
Has staff answer
+9points
11out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful2
Why was the swivel LCD monitor, like in the Nikon Coolpix 8800, discontinued? I would love to see the Coolpix S9100 or P500 with the swivel LCD.
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anna
San Jose
Location : 
San Jose
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
The reply by the Nikon staff did not really answer my question. The P500 has a vari-angle LCD but what I meant was why the LCD that swivels 180 degrees to the left of the camera (like in the old 8800) was discontinued. The newer versions won't let you mount the camera in the tripod & be able to look at the LCD while standing in front of the camera at the same time.
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
Anna
San Jose
Location : 
San Jose
Age: 35-44

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
The P500 has a vari-angle LCD Screen. Also a few other models.
 
Products related to my answer
 
 
Mar 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

Sure would like to be able to use a polarizing filter, but you guys have no filter threads on the P500?

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
JRW
Canon City, CO
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
JRW
Canon City, CO
Location : 
Canon City, CO
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I was able to purchase an adapter on Amazon for really reasonable price that attaches to the lense of my P500. It has threads on the end and I am now able to use any type of filter I want.
Jan 14, 2012 by
by
photomom
Concord, NC, USA
Location : 
Concord, NC, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-6points
1out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful7
Answer: 
Due to the extension of the lens when is zoom out completely a filter cannot be use on it.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

My new P500 will not work with a SanDisk SDHC UHS-1 card.

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
I.P.
US
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
I just got a P500. I bought two SanDisk SDHC UHS-1 Class 10 cards. I plugged one in and it worked. After shutting it off a couple times, when I turned it on I got a message "This card cannot be used." I tried to format the card but the message locks up the camera. When I take the card out or when I use an old 1 GB card it works fine. I have tried several times with the same results. What is the problem? Another person asked the exact same question about four days ago with no real answer.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
I.P.
US
Location : 
US
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
I think the answer is in the footnotes of this document :
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/17202
"SDXC-I or SDHC-I Compliant Memory is a relatively new speed class and is not listed as supported at this time."
I think that SDHC-I means UHS-I
Bad news!
Jun 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Please verify that you are using an approved memory card:

Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix P500
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

Power up problem, only solution is to remove and insert battery.

Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
P500 with firmware v1.0.
Works like a charm but twice now it have not reacted on the power button when in off state.
The only way to get it working is to remove the battery and reinsert it and it will then power up nicely.
Battery is fully charged.
Is this a known problem that will be fixed in future firmware update? or send it in for repair?

No problems otherwise with this nice product.

Regards,
Tomas
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine did the same thing, don't know why but if it happens again I will take the camera back as this usually points to trouble on down the road.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
Remove the battery from the camera and re-charge it.
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Try a back-up battery if the problem persists you're welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P500
 
2 Answers

fast pictures?

Apr 26, 2011 by
by
inkman
USA
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I am interested in the P500. How quickly does it take a picture after the button is pushed? I will use it to take action shots and want to be sure I catch the action.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
inkman
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The picture is taken very fast and also has a mode called "pre shutter" so it records the previous pictures when you have pressed the button to the half to focus, I think this one is very good for what you're looking for, but I cannot tell you so much because I haven't compared with other models, just can tell you by my own experience is a good choice.
May 1, 2011 by
by
Wanderer
Barcelona, Spain
Location : 
Barcelona, Spain
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-6points
1out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful7
Answer: 
Most of the time the shooting delay is caused by focusing. Press the button half way down (and hold it in) and let the camera pre-focus; when the subject is perfect press the button the rest of the way to shoot. With a bit of practice it is easy to get the perfect photo.
Apr 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 9
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers