Loading
COOLPIX S9100 2.9 5 225 225
Camera Locks up I bought the SL9100 for a trip to Alaska. At times the camera would not focus. The zoom did not always work. It would lock up and even the ON/OFF did not work. I would have to remove the battery; then it would shut down. I would insert the battery and it would be OK for a while; maybe, 1 day or 10 minutes. I took over 1700 photos with varying results, but can you imagine that special photo getting away because the camera locks up. July 5, 2011
Terrible, Terrible, Terrible! Please do not waste your money on this product. I have had two of these cameras and both have had serious problems. The first one would freeze up after about 5-10 pictures and the only way to fix the problem was to take the battery out. After having the second camera for a month or so, it has a lens error. I did not drop this camera. I did not get sand or dirt near the lens. Now I have to pay to ship it to Nikon and hope it's covered under the warranty. July 5, 2011
Faulty Zoom Within weeks of purchase, the zoom began to freeze and the only way to correct the problem was to remove & reinstall the battery. Needless to say, pictures were lost due to all this fiddling around. The worst news was when I went to the dealer where I purchased it, expecting that they would replace it immediately. They would not ... they told me it would have to be shipped back to Nikon for repair which could take 2 - 6 weeks. They said that that is their "agreement" with Nikon. So after paying full price for this camera, I'd end up with a repaired/refurbished camera that may or may not work when I need it to. So I'm buying a different camera, anything but a Nikon. June 27, 2011
Stopped working within 3 weeks of purchase I really loved this camera from the moment I had it out of the box, but I just set myself up for bitter disappointment. You see, I've pampered this thing like a doting father with a new baby. I put a screen protector on it within 5 minutes of opening the box (I hate scratches). I've even carried it around in double cases - a smaller one and a larger one with lots of padding on both. It's never been within a dozen miles of moisture. However, it's only been 26 days since I purchased it and now the camera is no longer working. The battery is fully charged and the camera will turn on, but the controls will not respond in any way, shape or form. I can't even turn off the camera; you have to remove the battery to power it off! I'm hoping to convince [PlaceOfPurchase] to let me return this lemon. If not, I'll have to pony up the shipping and packing costs to get it repaired under warranty halfway across the country and I'll be without a camera for however many weeks it takes to get it back. I'm very disappointed. June 27, 2011
Would have been good if it WORKED! I was liking my new S9100, but after approximately 35 days of ownership, it just decided to not turn on anymore. I had to pay $9.98 in shipping to send my new camera back to Nikon. Total bummer. I'm still without it and won't have it for a vacation this weekend. Not happy at all about that. But, when it was working, things were going pretty good except for the fact that I kept hitting the on/off button instead of the shoot button because they are side by side. I lost at least a handful of great moments that way. My recommendation is to put the on/off button on the other side of the camera. I'll try to add an updated review once I get my camera back and give it some time to hopefully not 'fail' again. June 21, 2011
This camera cannot take a focused picture We purchased this camera to take pictures of our new born. After returning the first one due to being defective right out of the box we exchanged it for a new one only to find that when taking pictures inside the pictures are blurry. Reading other reviews it appears that I am not the only one who has experienced this. Very dissapointing and I would not reccommend, thanks Nikon for the blurry memories that I will never have the opprotunity of re-capturing. You have lost my trust and I hope that if I can prevent 1 person from experincing what myself and wife have went through... I will take some comfort in that. June 13, 2011
Do not buy... I bought this camera for my husband and on the third time we used it, it stopped working. It turns on, but the screen does not work...then it will work; takes one or two pictures and then dies again. It's after the return period, so I must send to Nikon to repair. Very frustrating. Leaving on a trip in 2 weeks, so we need to buy another camera (obviously) a differrent brand. The few pictures we did take were fine, although it sometimes has trouble focusing. June 6, 2011
STAY AWAY poor pictures most of them blurred auto ISO is terrible I took it back the day after ! STAY AWAY May 23, 2011
Camera in shop more than in hand Very disappointed with this camera. It has been sent for "repairs" to have it sent back to me with another problem. Have had Nikon cameras before than have worked perfectly and gave me great photos however I am very discouraged and annoyed with this product. July 25, 2012
recurso do zoom, fotos em movimento Achei maquina S9100 literalmente uma porcaria minha nota é -1. Gente onde já se viu uma maquina que diz ter Flash automático e vc ter que levantar o flash. A assistência técnica de Moema - São paulo , na época minha maquina estava na garantia ela não deixou eu dar entrada na minha maquina a qual eu alego que tem problema no mecanismo de zoon e estabilidade de imagem, ela foi extremamente deselegante me diz que a maquina da Nikon é perfeita fez 5 disparo em objetos e disse que o problema sou eu e não a maquina. Passei a maquina para outros usuários que estão acostumados com a maquina NIKON e nenhum deles conseguiu tirar fotos legíveis com o Zoon. Agora estou com uma maquina fora da garantia e é um pepino. Comprei uma maquina a Canon também compacta com zoon de 20x Gente é 10 não tive problema nenhum e não precisa levantar flash e olha todas as fotos saem perfeita . NIKON reveja o seu atendimento e o seu produto pra mim a nota para vocês é ZERO June 5, 2013
Page: 5 6 7 8 9
<<prev
137 Questions | 179 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
137 Questions | 179 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
8 Answers

Is a firmware update going to be coming out soon?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
VA
Has staff answer
+16points
17out of 18found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful17unhelpful1
My camera is very slow to focus and many of the photos come out blurry even at close range
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
VA
Location : 
VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Same issue started a few months ago, of course right after my warranty expired. On last trip a week ago finally when trying to focus, the LCD screen "crashed" and read system failure. When turning it back on it worked again but was able to replicate failure a couple times. Camera is extremely slow to actually snap the picture after holding the shutter halfway down. What are the alternatives Nikon?
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It gives blurry pictures and the problem is with the sensors and the software. The software scans for the most appropriate focal length thru a range of distances, when the shutter is half pressed and choses the optimum distance for the user to click to get a sharp picture. Some how the software does not stop the lens at the correct focal distance and hence the blurry pictures. This happens especially at close ups and low light. Nikon does not want to fix this bug.
Aug 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think a firmware upgrade is really required for this product. The features are good and at times the picture quality is good. But most times, it comes up with unpredictable results. For a amateur photographer like me who uses auto mode all the time, this camera has been a big disappointment. Pictures are blurry, skin color reproduction not good etc. and answers to my queries to Nikon support who suggested a few things didn't help. My previous cameras which included a sony and pentax which were 5 and 10 years old had produced better results.
Feb 25, 2012 by
by
Dheeraj
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Use high speed (at least 15 Mb/s) sd-card.
Sep 4, 2011 by
by
ekillian
Haiti
Location : 
Haiti
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
My S9100 has the same problem. Especially at high zoom levels, the focus just goes back and forth and refuses to lock on. It appears to really have problems locking onto performers moving around on stage during a concert.
May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Encino, CA
Location : 
Encino, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1
Answer: 
My S9100 is also has the same problem. And, yes, Nikon, I hold the shutter button down half-way. This is a problem with the camera, as many users have reported.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Andy
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months

-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5
Answer: 
My S9100 does too. I don't think a firmware update would help. I didn't have the problem with my S8100.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-81points
13out of 107found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful94
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for this camera.
Make sure to press the shutter release half way in order to achieve focus and the all the way to take the picture. In that way it won't a delay. Also you can do a reset all to restore settings on your camera.
You press MENU > Setup > Reset All.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
12 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Power Sources
One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

Charging Time
3 hours and 50 minutes (when using Charging AC Adapter EH-69P) (Approx.)

Battery / Batteries Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12

Battery Life (shots per charge) Nikon Rechargeable: 270 shots (CIPA)
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Under "Tech Specs" it lists battery

One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

yes it comes with it and Nikon will sell it or they list retailers that will have it...

hope this helps.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery.
YES. one is included :)
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
LGuillo22

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It uses the EN-EL12 which is included.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

480p or 720p video?

Mar 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
In the Tech Specs only 1080p movie format is listed. Does the S9100 support other video formats like 720p or 480p?
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, 720p and 480p (and a lot of other formats) are supported by this camera. I have it myself. The reason why it only lists 1080p in the specs is because Nikon's specs pages only list the highest quality camera and video modes.
Aug 20, 2011 by
by
ChaosMew161

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it does 1080p,720p,i540,640x480,320x240 at normal speed.i540 is 960x540 at 24fps...it also supports video at hs...for full detail go to:

http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/noprint/S9100_ENnoprint.pdf
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supports 720p as well
1080p at 30fps
480p at 60fps
HDMI-Out port
does not come with Mini-HDMI Cable though only AV Cable
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This 12.1 megapixel Nikon camera has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9.
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
According to numerous online specs, the S9100 has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9, and does not offer 3:2 ratio. (I am also too lazy to put in my user guide disc when I can ask google! Hope that helps someone.)
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please see page# 47 for more information on Image Quality and Size.
Answer Title: User's Manual - Nikon COOLPIX S9100 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

download firmware for nikon coolpix s9100

Sep 20, 2014 by
by
pela
Argentina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I need to know where to download firmware v1.0 for my coolpix s9100 since it has serious problems with focus and 90% of the photographs are blurred, and inform me if you can load the firmware v1.3 of the S9300 model. but above all where to get the factory firmware that brings the camera, thanks
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
pela
Argentina
Location : 
Argentina
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Suggest you contact service and support, you can find your nearest contact here:

http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Sep 21, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
thanks for replying, if I need or if the firmware v1.0 brings the camera to reinstall as I correct the defect out of focus photographs coming out? must have a solution, it is not common that most cameras of the same model have reported that problem
Sep 20, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for the S9100. No, you cannot use a firmware update from another Coolpix camera.
Sep 20, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Does the S9100 have GPS?

Mar 2, 2011 by
by
Beembar51
USA
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Beembar51
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can supplement with an Eye Fi card, however, which has some GPS features (make sure it's rated 6 or above). I've not tried the GPS features, but have been pleased to be able to upload my photos as I take them without having to connect to a computer (either all of them or just ones I "protect"--favs).
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This camera doesn’t have a GPS feature.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

when will the S9100 be available? I want to purchase one

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Location : 
Fredericksburg, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Now Available in Best Buy Stores Nationwide!
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

does the nikon s9100 have a date stamp feature so every photo i take would have the date and time in the corner?

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it's in the setup menu, Print Date
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the date imprint feature (date and time).
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

What is the country of origin for this product?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine was made in Indonesia.
Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Bob
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operates to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Autofocus Problems?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
+9points
11out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful2
Are there known issues with autofocus on this camera? Will a firmware update be available to fix/improve autofocus? I bought this camera on Wednesday and took it on a weekend family event and it was just short of unusable indoors. I was using out of the box settings although I eventually adjusted the autofocus options some, to no avail. It would just attempt to focus for infinity and the only way I could get it out of its vaporlock would be to either power off/on or tap the zoom control one way or another. And that wasn't a guarantee that it would work at that point versus going right back into vaporlock. Outdoors it was naturally better but it still happened fairly often. And even the "focused" photos indoors weren't really great.

I am planning to return this camera to Best Buy soon unless you can provide a reason not to. I'm certainly not expecting miracles here, just basic "higher quality" point-and-shoot functionality. I have a Canon DSLR but just wanted something compact to take snapshots and video with and do macro-photos that the Canon doesn't handle very well. I have an old Sony p&s digital that takes better photos, quite honestly.
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
Location : 
Irving, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't understand where to get the firmware for the S9100 especially since the first post of this forum says there is no firmware update... Is this something posted since that statement was made? I know there's a significant firmware upgrade for the P7000 which is maybe where the confusion comes in. This question is for the S9100 so is there an upgrade or not? When I check the support areas, I see nothing offered.
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
Answer: 
have you upgraded the firmware to v1.1? this makes a very big difference in terms of autofocus and also write times for raw images. i won't say it is perfect afterwards, but you should do the firmware upgrade before making a final decision. i find that for the way i use a p&s camera that the p7000 does the job, with the known weaknesses...i kept it instead of a g12 which i was using at the same time. the g12 is definitely snappier, but i like the extra reach and some of the features on the nikon...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cohenfive
sf bay area
Location : 
sf bay area
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers