Loading
COOLPIX S9100 2.9 5 225 225
Poor Camera / Out of focus I purchased this camera through Best Buy before our first ever trip to Hawaii. Hate to say it, but the camera took more blurred pics than not. I sent it back to the factory prior to Chrismas. When it came back it displayed the same problem. I can only hope, but am doubtful, that the problem gets fixed this time. I bought the special warranty coverage from Geek Squad but have been informed It has to go back to the factory 4 times to be eligble for replacement. Needless to say, I will never reccomend this camera and hope that Nikon removes it from the market. I chose Nikon based on reputation of optics. I will never choose another one based on the performance of this model February 15, 2012
Blurry photos I had the same experience as many others. Blurry photos after a nice vacation. Sent the camera in for repairs and it seems to have improved slightly. But image stabilazation is still very poor. Not as good as a much cheaper camera I own. February 13, 2012
Awful! I am so dissapointed in this camera! The quality is comparable to my daughters Hello Kitty camera! Do not buy this camera! Should have listened to all of the bad reviews and not listened to the sales clerk who sold me this product! Thank heavens I asked about the store return policy! This baby is going back in the morning! February 9, 2012
Blurry Pictures and all out of Focus I'm in the same boat as numerous other people. Considering Nikons reputation for good cameras this one simply doesn't live up to the Nikon name. Pictures taken are consistently blurry and out of focus even when there is no movement in the subject you are taking. To me the idea of a point and shoot camera is just that, you point at the subject and click. With this camera however you consistently end up with blurry and 'out of focus' pictures, at all zoom levels. We have missed numerous photo opportunities with this camera. I cannot recommend this to anyone, I am very dissappointed with the results. I also find it dissapointing that despite numerous other people also suffering from the same problem Nikon don't appear to acknowledge it as an issue at all. February 6, 2012
Blurry Pictures This camera is terrible!!! For every 10 pictures I take, only 1 or 2 will come out clear. I expected much more from Nikon and they will not issue a refund. Save your money and do NOT buy this camera! February 4, 2012
same problem everyone else has-this camera needs to be RECALLED! pictures blurry from the start...then after a few months the lens froze up January 6, 2012
Worst camera ever! I have owned this camera for 7 months and it is w/o a doubt the worse piece of junk I have ever owned. If I am lucky I get maybe 1 out of 10 pictures that are decent. I have tried every setting there is to no avail. I have lost many precious family memories especially with my grandchildren because of this camera. My old Olympus camera never took a blurry pictures and this camera can't take a focused picture. Worst purchase ever. Don't buy this piece of junk! January 2, 2012
Very bad buy! Bought this camera for its 18x zoom. Even though I hold the shutter down before I shoot, half the pix are blurry. Worst part is we are now on vacation in Hawaii and the lens keeps going in and out uncontrollably and I get the message "lens error!" No troubleshooting info on Nikon website that's helpful. I'm bummed! January 2, 2012
Extremely Disappointed I thought Nikon had a reputation for making excellent products, (and maybe they do), but this isn’t one of them. For every clear picture there are ten to fifteen blurry ones. You can’t count on this camera for a clear picture. The camera is useless. A total waste of my hard earned money. January 1, 2012
Believe the negative reviews - blurry & unreliable Snap one pic, turns out great... snap another identical shot - inexplicably blurry. Horrible December 29, 2011
Don't You Do It I bought this camera and wish I didn't. This camera has ruined some precious memory's for our family because the camera doesn't work. The pictures are mostly out of focus and the exposures are mostly off too. It is not easy to use and the videos are also out of focus and very blurry. The store I bought it at wouldn't exchange it so I am stuck with a $325.00 paper weight. I would not buy this again so don't you do it either. I wish I had bought something else. This camera is a waste of a lot of money. I wish I could get my money back and get something else. December 29, 2011
Nikon s9100 I wanted a point and shoot since I am just learning to shoot in manual and haven't been able to master indoors with my D90 yet. However, I can say that I am so disappointed in this model. I get one clear for every 50 blurry images. I might as well saved my money and just kept shooting in manual on the D90...very sad that I choose this one! December 24, 2011
Getting more blurry shots then good ones Tried to shoot a graduation and had to use my 10 year old Cool pix to get shots this could not capture. Save your money keep your old camera! December 19, 2011
Blurry blurry blurry Unless you are as steady as a tripod, be prepared for lots of retakes!!! December 16, 2011
Used it on one trip Then went back to my old Fuji EFX-200R. Telephoto is slow, at times hangs the camera so you have to remove the battery completely to clear it. 70% of the pictures I took were out of focus, Macro was just maddening never focusing on what the subject was regardless of the focus priority setting. Wasted my money for sure. I love Nikon DSLR's but I have yet to find a compact they make that is up to the competition in the real world. December 15, 2011
Really Frustrated I'm really frustrated with this camera. Low light pictures are impossible, and action shots are difficult to capture. Everything is so blurry, and I don't understand why. I've tried the "sports" setting, and that hasn't even helped. I've also had a problem with having pictures blown up even slightly larger than a normal picture. The pixels just won't support it. I've tried adjusting the different settings, but so far, nothing is helping. The extra features are neat, and shutter release is really good, depending on what setting you have it set on. I would not buy this camera. Way to expensive to be having this many problems. December 15, 2011
Nice Camera but Blurry Pictures I bought this camera for the zoom feature and image stabilization thinking Nikon was the best. I found that when using zoom feature, all my pictures are blurry even with the image stabilization. I compared to Cannon and the Sony and both of these cameras take nice clear pictures when zooming in on your subject. December 13, 2011
This product has not worked correctly from Day 1 This product has not worked correctly from the first day. Sometimes it turns on, sometimes it doesn't - you never know when, so you can miss significant events when it doesn't work one day. Sometimes it turns on but then does not take pictures as if the shutter is frozen. It has been terrible. AND, Nikon has not simply asked me to send it back and send a replacement - no, I have to send it back for REPAIR, which may have a cost, etc. TERRIBLE PRODUCT. DO NOT BUY ONE December 5, 2011
takes to long to focus not sure why,but when trying to take a quick photo or even hand your camera over to a stranger to take a photo of you the picture will come out blurry!! why? this camera takes 2-3 sec to focus or hitting the focus button 2-3 times before you get a good shot.when the camera takes a picture they are very nice.but the fact you cant take a picture without haveing to check for a good picture,makes this camera way over priced.spoke to nikon and they had nothing for me to helo with and no update in sight. December 5, 2011
Disapointing Out of the box, the camera has a nice feel. The controls are conveniently located and easy to use. A little time reading the online manual, (can be downloaded in PDF format) help get the most out of what this camera can do. It is on the large side for a point and shoot, but still fits in a pocket. The 18x zoom is nice to get the up close shots of wildlife I like to shoot. Overall, the images this camera produces are good and what I expected. What I didn't expect was the poor manufacturing quality. After three days of owning this camera, I downloaded the first images. I noticed a spot on the right side of images, (bird in tree image below) that had a solid background. After one and a half months, the focus started to not work properly. The camera would freeze and the battery would need to be removed to get things going again. At the end of two months the lens would not retract all the way and the lens error would show. After about 20 seconds the lens would retract and the camera would shut off. When I turned the camera back on the lens would move back an forth, make an awful clicking sound, and then the lens error would appear again. At that point the camera would not work at all and was sent in for service to fix the spot and lens error. [Beware! If you buy this camera and need to return it for repair, be prepared to wait over a month to have it returned. Mine is 5 weeks out and counting.] Conclusion: This camera takes good pictures when it works, however the mechanical quality leaves much to be desired and service repair is very slow. Based on the manufacturing quality and the repair time, I would not buy this product again. November 12, 2011
Instruction Manual I am very disappointed with my purchase as it has no Instruction Manual. Sony has, and everyone else has. Why not NIKON? Eco friendly ....... Why not Customer Friendly? I am not conversant enough to watch the CD and follow. A print copy should at least be available on request. November 5, 2011
Not a good camera I bought this camera four months ago. It is now in for repairs at Nikon because one-fourth of the photos are not properly focused. It occasionally freezes up. Removing the battery gets things going again. I take two shots every time to try to assure that one comes out. To be fair, when you are in bright sunshine, the pictures are very, very nice. November 4, 2011
Lens Error Do NOT get this camera!! I got this for my birthday and I was very excited. Then less then a month later it came up as 'lens error.' I was very disappointed because it wouldn't let me take any video or photos. It also makes a ticking noise. Hopefully I can still return it. :( November 1, 2011
I really wanted this to be a great camera The camera has many very good bells and whistles. But they are all useless due to its soft-focus problem. At first I thought it was because I was still learning how to use it. Unfortunately, soft focus is inherent throughout all modes and conditions. If you want good, crisp photos, steer away from this camera. October 26, 2011
This product froze after taking 3 photo's. I bought this camera as a gift for my mother who was about to embark on a 2 month holiday. She took a few pics to check it was working and as time did not allow she thought she would have to play with all the features while on her trip. Needless to say she arrived all excited to find out what her new camera could do and capture some great memories of her holiday only to discover the camera completely froze every time you tried to take a photo. To add to this extremely disappointing story when she tried to get it fixed, she does not live in the USA, it was impossible and we now have the very frustrating, timely and costly mission of sending it back to the states. Nikon, I hope you are able to redeem your reputation. October 25, 2011
Coolpix S9100 Freezes-up Often - Very disappointin I really wanted this camera to work out well. Its got a great name and great features including the massive zoom level. But shortly after buying it, using the Zoom button would cause it to freeze and require the battery to be removed in order to reset it. Searching the internet I see this is a common problem with this camera. Ouch. I guess I'll be reviewing their customer service next, since I just returned it. I hope they can resolve this quickly and effectively. October 24, 2011
After 6 weeks, camera is in the shop I quite enjoyed this camera on my recent trip. Very easy to operate. Pictures were a bit overexposed, however--maybe we have not quite learned the proper settings. However, 2 weeks ago, I tried to use the camera, and it froze. Once I turned it on, I could not take pictures, and I could not close it without taking out the battery. So I sent it for repairs under the warranty, and now I'm waiting for it to return. The website tells me that there is a "parts hold." Now, I'm afraid the camera will freeze up next time I take it on a trip, assuming it'll be returned to me someday. October 19, 2011
expensive camera, locks up - useless!!! sorry to say... first experience with a nikon... I'm very disappointed on the quality of the product. It worked ok for a short amount of time, but now locks/freezes up when powered on. I have to reboot by pulling the battery... still locks up. time to send it back... too bad, very disappointed as a first time nikon user. October 18, 2011
This product is defective The product arrived faulty - the camera sometimes refused to focuse (only solved by turning it off and on again). After a few weeks, it just refused to turn on at all (conveniently in the middle of my vacation). Several weeks later it magically started working again, but still has trouble focusing and sporadically doesn't work. I have read many other reviews citing similar problems, so I would recommend against purchasing this camera at least until these issues have been cleared up. October 11, 2011
This product has great features but some problems All my camaras are Nikon and they are very good. I never had a problem until this camara COOLPIX S9100 The camara takes great photos but the problem is, The camara gets stuck and I have to take the battery out in order to turn it of. October 11, 2011
Page: 5 6 7 8 9
<<prev | next>>
137 Questions | 179 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
137 Questions | 179 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
8 Answers

Is a firmware update going to be coming out soon?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
VA
Has staff answer
+15points
16out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful1
My camera is very slow to focus and many of the photos come out blurry even at close range
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
VA
Location : 
VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Same issue started a few months ago, of course right after my warranty expired. On last trip a week ago finally when trying to focus, the LCD screen "crashed" and read system failure. When turning it back on it worked again but was able to replicate failure a couple times. Camera is extremely slow to actually snap the picture after holding the shutter halfway down. What are the alternatives Nikon?
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It gives blurry pictures and the problem is with the sensors and the software. The software scans for the most appropriate focal length thru a range of distances, when the shutter is half pressed and choses the optimum distance for the user to click to get a sharp picture. Some how the software does not stop the lens at the correct focal distance and hence the blurry pictures. This happens especially at close ups and low light. Nikon does not want to fix this bug.
Aug 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think a firmware upgrade is really required for this product. The features are good and at times the picture quality is good. But most times, it comes up with unpredictable results. For a amateur photographer like me who uses auto mode all the time, this camera has been a big disappointment. Pictures are blurry, skin color reproduction not good etc. and answers to my queries to Nikon support who suggested a few things didn't help. My previous cameras which included a sony and pentax which were 5 and 10 years old had produced better results.
Feb 25, 2012 by
by
Dheeraj
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Use high speed (at least 15 Mb/s) sd-card.
Sep 4, 2011 by
by
ekillian
Haiti
Location : 
Haiti
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
My S9100 has the same problem. Especially at high zoom levels, the focus just goes back and forth and refuses to lock on. It appears to really have problems locking onto performers moving around on stage during a concert.
May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Encino, CA
Location : 
Encino, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1
Answer: 
My S9100 is also has the same problem. And, yes, Nikon, I hold the shutter button down half-way. This is a problem with the camera, as many users have reported.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Andy
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months

-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5
Answer: 
My S9100 does too. I don't think a firmware update would help. I didn't have the problem with my S8100.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-81points
13out of 107found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful94
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for this camera.
Make sure to press the shutter release half way in order to achieve focus and the all the way to take the picture. In that way it won't a delay. Also you can do a reset all to restore settings on your camera.
You press MENU > Setup > Reset All.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
12 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Power Sources
One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

Charging Time
3 hours and 50 minutes (when using Charging AC Adapter EH-69P) (Approx.)

Battery / Batteries Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12

Battery Life (shots per charge) Nikon Rechargeable: 270 shots (CIPA)
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Under "Tech Specs" it lists battery

One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

yes it comes with it and Nikon will sell it or they list retailers that will have it...

hope this helps.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery.
YES. one is included :)
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
LGuillo22

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It uses the EN-EL12 which is included.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

480p or 720p video?

Mar 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
In the Tech Specs only 1080p movie format is listed. Does the S9100 support other video formats like 720p or 480p?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, 720p and 480p (and a lot of other formats) are supported by this camera. I have it myself. The reason why it only lists 1080p in the specs is because Nikon's specs pages only list the highest quality camera and video modes.
Aug 20, 2011 by
by
ChaosMew161

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it does 1080p,720p,i540,640x480,320x240 at normal speed.i540 is 960x540 at 24fps...it also supports video at hs...for full detail go to:

http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/noprint/S9100_ENnoprint.pdf
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supports 720p as well
1080p at 30fps
480p at 60fps
HDMI-Out port
does not come with Mini-HDMI Cable though only AV Cable
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This 12.1 megapixel Nikon camera has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9.
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
According to numerous online specs, the S9100 has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9, and does not offer 3:2 ratio. (I am also too lazy to put in my user guide disc when I can ask google! Hope that helps someone.)
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please see page# 47 for more information on Image Quality and Size.
Answer Title: User's Manual - Nikon COOLPIX S9100 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

download firmware for nikon coolpix s9100

Sep 20, 2014 by
by
pela
Argentina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I need to know where to download firmware v1.0 for my coolpix s9100 since it has serious problems with focus and 90% of the photographs are blurred, and inform me if you can load the firmware v1.3 of the S9300 model. but above all where to get the factory firmware that brings the camera, thanks
3 weeks, 5 days ago
by
pela
Argentina
Location : 
Argentina
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Suggest you contact service and support, you can find your nearest contact here:

http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Sep 21, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
thanks for replying, if I need or if the firmware v1.0 brings the camera to reinstall as I correct the defect out of focus photographs coming out? must have a solution, it is not common that most cameras of the same model have reported that problem
Sep 20, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for the S9100. No, you cannot use a firmware update from another Coolpix camera.
Sep 20, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Does the S9100 have GPS?

Mar 2, 2011 by
by
Beembar51
USA
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Beembar51
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can supplement with an Eye Fi card, however, which has some GPS features (make sure it's rated 6 or above). I've not tried the GPS features, but have been pleased to be able to upload my photos as I take them without having to connect to a computer (either all of them or just ones I "protect"--favs).
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This camera doesn’t have a GPS feature.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

when will the S9100 be available? I want to purchase one

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Location : 
Fredericksburg, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Now Available in Best Buy Stores Nationwide!
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

does the nikon s9100 have a date stamp feature so every photo i take would have the date and time in the corner?

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it's in the setup menu, Print Date
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the date imprint feature (date and time).
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

What is the country of origin for this product?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine was made in Indonesia.
Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Bob
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operates to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Autofocus Problems?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
+9points
11out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful2
Are there known issues with autofocus on this camera? Will a firmware update be available to fix/improve autofocus? I bought this camera on Wednesday and took it on a weekend family event and it was just short of unusable indoors. I was using out of the box settings although I eventually adjusted the autofocus options some, to no avail. It would just attempt to focus for infinity and the only way I could get it out of its vaporlock would be to either power off/on or tap the zoom control one way or another. And that wasn't a guarantee that it would work at that point versus going right back into vaporlock. Outdoors it was naturally better but it still happened fairly often. And even the "focused" photos indoors weren't really great.

I am planning to return this camera to Best Buy soon unless you can provide a reason not to. I'm certainly not expecting miracles here, just basic "higher quality" point-and-shoot functionality. I have a Canon DSLR but just wanted something compact to take snapshots and video with and do macro-photos that the Canon doesn't handle very well. I have an old Sony p&s digital that takes better photos, quite honestly.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
Location : 
Irving, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't understand where to get the firmware for the S9100 especially since the first post of this forum says there is no firmware update... Is this something posted since that statement was made? I know there's a significant firmware upgrade for the P7000 which is maybe where the confusion comes in. This question is for the S9100 so is there an upgrade or not? When I check the support areas, I see nothing offered.
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
Answer: 
have you upgraded the firmware to v1.1? this makes a very big difference in terms of autofocus and also write times for raw images. i won't say it is perfect afterwards, but you should do the firmware upgrade before making a final decision. i find that for the way i use a p&s camera that the p7000 does the job, with the known weaknesses...i kept it instead of a g12 which i was using at the same time. the g12 is definitely snappier, but i like the extra reach and some of the features on the nikon...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cohenfive
sf bay area
Location : 
sf bay area
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers