Loading
COOLPIX S9100 2.9 5 225 225
Bad indoor picture quality Indoor picture quality is bad, take 2 photos, same object, without doing anything different and you will get 2 different quality photo's. If your lucky 1 might be usable. I would say 75% of my indoor photos are bad. The outdoor / daytime photo quality is pretty good . January 2, 2012
Video format is .MOV. All my other videos are AVI. Mov format is Quicktime and is problematic on my PC. Photos not as clear as my 7.0 Mp December 29, 2011
Disapointed I bought this camera to replace my aging HP camera. I decided to go with the Nikon because of their reputation. While this camera will suit my needs I am disappointed in the quality of the pictures. My HP has sharper images and that camera was a cheap point and shoot. I would expect that with this set on auto that the images would be at least as good as my HP. I haven't messed with all the settings as of yet to see if I can sharpen the images we take. Not being a professional photographer the settings are confusing. I hope that I can figure this out to get the images to our satisfaction. The video feature on this camera is how ever by far better than my HP. We were thinking about getting one of those small video cameras but this will do just fine. If you are looking for a simple high quality point and shoot camera this isn't it. December 26, 2011
Blurry pictures No matter how steady you are the pics turn out blurry then the next one fine. Will focus in on an object great and very clear. December 25, 2011
inconsistant image quality I replaced my Canon SD750 with the S9100 and I will reach for my old Canon more often. I can't rely on the image quality with the S9100 when the pictures count. When I use the Nikon I am messing with settings and the flash and I miss monments I wanted to capture. I really wish this camera would pop the flash up when it senses it needs more light and the user can override the flash when necessary. I would rather have a clear picture overexposed than a dark, blury unusalbe photo. This camera takes great outdoor/landscape natural light photos. Indoors, sports/motion/kids etc tend to always come out blury no matter what setting I choose. December 12, 2011
HORRID Worked great until it broke 6 weeks after puchasing. It ruined all my photos I took of our family before my husband deployed. December 5, 2011
FROZEN When it worked, I got great pictures, excellent telephoto for a compact camera. I guess we're fortunate, ours worked for about six months before it just FROZE! Reading all the reviews here I see Nikon could care less. I'll send for repair - but in the meantime no camera! No Nikon in the future either. December 4, 2011
Poor autofocusing There are many things to like about this camera and many things that are critical to good performance. One deal breaker is the autofocus. Way too fussy and frequently will not focus when zoomed in on an object. Have tried it in program and both scene modes and all too often it fails. That would be tolerable if you are only taking photos of stationary objects but trying to capture animals or moving objects you often simply lose the opportunity. Have used lots of different compact cameras over the years and this is the first time I have run into this problem. December 2, 2011
Great camera till it suddenly stopped working Camera is 6 months old. It worked great till is suddenly froze. Restart, recharge to no avail. Searched faq's, found one that said it needed to be sent to factory with the exact same issues ours has. Sent note to repair folks yesterday, waiting for response. November 28, 2011
not up to nikon's standard I have been a longtime fan and user of Nikon products. I use all Nikon equipent for my photography business. I wanted something small and light to take with me when i'm not working and dont want to haul around a heavy pro camera. this coolpix does take beautiful pictures and nice hd video. it was always very glitchy from the beginning and slow to respond. It would often freeze the first time I pressed the trigger to focus. this problem began happening more and more until finally all the camera will do is turn on. The battery has to be removed to turn it off. Sent it off for repair after having it only 5 months. Not up to the quality of my other Nikon equipment. November 7, 2011
Do not recommend this camera! Went with my heart and bought a Nikon over a Canon. I am very disappointed to say that this camera takes blurry shots, very poor shots in evening scenes with and without the flash. Tried to use it at a family wedding and it was a disaster. Would not recommend this camera to anyone and now I am actually stuck with it as the store will not let me return or exchange and it has only been a month. November 1, 2011
Juries Out! Camera in for Service after 1 Use! Sorry, juries out ! As we speak my S9100 is at Nikon service after just one significant use. After just a few practice photos, I brought our new S9100 to Italy on our Oct. '11 vacation. About 2/3 into the trip, the camera failed us without any accidents or damage on our end. It simply locked itself into a "lens Error !" mode and no more photos could be taken, no matter what I tried. A quick search on Google showed that this may be a bigger issue than just me. I found dozens of related issues online with other S9100 owners, with no real answers. The good news is, I was able to download the existing photos on the camera. The other good news is we were with friends who shared their photos. The frustrating and good news was, our existing Nikon photos were obviously superior. I hope this is not a permanent issue and is fixed soon. I love the camera functions and photo quality. I hope I get back a dependable camera. I'd love to change my review. Tonyck October 24, 2011
Great features, but quit working! Bought for a trip to SE Asia, but camera gradually slowed shutter release times, then quit altogether. Video still works. I downloaded the manual to have it with me, but there was no help for the problem. I will return to Nikon when I return. October 17, 2011
Great pictures but The pictures I have taken were great but the flash is not automatic ,so if you do not turn it on when needed the pictures are blurry. September 26, 2011
not too happy :( I was so excited to get my nikon coolpix 9100 and take it as my back-up camera on a big trip and to take on hikes so I didn't have to carry my big SLR. Unfortunately, the camera did not work - it became intermittent, the lens got stuck and it wouldn't shut off unless I removed the battery. Needless to say, i was very unhappy and bummed to have missed so many photo ops. I used it a handful of times before I left (maybe three) and had zero problems. Now, it's been at Nikon for repair for three weeks already waiting for parts. I asked if they would just give me another one for another upcoming trip but they declined. Btw, my old Canon Elph has never failed me and I wish I had just stuck with that brand. One positive note, the color quality of my successful nikon photos was excellent and the zoom lens did not disappoint for long shots. Just not too happy about a camera breaking down after three uses. August 29, 2011
It broke after 4 months Purchased the camera in mid April and by August it won't work. Camera was OK nothing special while it worked. Video was nice. Had some problems with back lighting no matter what settings I used. After 4 months the camera just started to freeze up. Sometimes I could shoot 5 or six photos before the problem showed up other times it froze on power up. Sent it to Nikon, they said that repair was under warranty but it has now been one month and still no camera? Maybe I should stay with Canon products. August 23, 2011
Bad for motion pics I used it for the first time for my daughter's 3rd birthday party and all my pictures were horrible. My sister in law who is a Nikon user couldn't even get it to take good pics. If anyone is moving at all in the picture it will be blurred. If everyone and everything is completely still the pics are great like in the store when I decided to purchase it. I can get better quality on an I-Phone/Droid. I will be taking it back August 1, 2011
60 days and it's not working Camera is ok. Bought it 2 months ago because I wanted a portable camera w/ good zoom capabilities. The shutter is a bit slow to capture action photos and the more you extend the zoom the more likely your shots will be out of focus. Wish I had done more research before I purchased online. This camera is fine for standard portrait shots or stills. If you want to get good (not excellent mind you, but good) shots of the kids playing soccer, find yourself a different camera. BTW - after 2 months my camera has an electronic fault and I have to mail it back in for warranty work. July 25, 2011
I got this camera for graduation from my parents. But I had chose which camera I wanted. It takes great pictures, but a few weeks after I recieved it, it would freeze. The buttons would stop working. I took it back and got a new one, and not even a week later it did the same exact thing as before. July 14, 2011
Camera is being sent for repair after 3 weeks use The features and ease of use make this camera a perfect fit for our family. Unfortunately, after buying it for a trip to Europe it stopped working 3 weeks after we bought it. It is being sent back to Nikon for repairs. July 5, 2011
Potential...Just Needs Firmware Upgrade, Hopefully I regret not returning this camera when I had the chance. I kept trying to justify the problems as familiarity but, it's pretty horrible. Bought this for snapshots when I can't tote the DLSR along easily. I cannot fathom a camera in this day and age not being able to autofocus, yet this one consistently cannot. (and from the buzz online, I'm not the only one) And, weird issues with the lens when the battery gets low, and so on and so forth. I've never owned a Nikon, and probably won't again. My only hope at this point is that a firmware upgrade somehow saves the day. Not sure why I'm really giving it two stars instead of one, but it does have all kinds of features...just not very good at taking photos. Kinda key for a camera. May 23, 2011
Coolpix s9100 - autofocus has gone out in just 2 yrs use! I expected great quality from Nikon, but didn't get it in the Coolpix S9100 model. Love the size, ease of operation; but the autofocus has gone and I'm spending $100 to have it fixed (I hope). The worst wear of any camera I ever owned - and not used all that much in the two years. January 10, 2014
Blurry pictures I am very disappointed with the S9100. I purchased at Best Buy (fortunately with a Best Buy warranty). A few month later we went on vacation and brought home only a few good pictures, the others were blurry. The Best Buy technician agreed that the pictures are not good. We returned it for repair when it came back it seemed ok but after a weekend in San Francisco where we had amazing weather and light to take pictures of Golden Gate Bridge we were totally disappointed with having mostly blurry pictures. Returned it again and it comes back after repair. There is some improvement but whenever the zoom is used pictures will not focus. Definitely can not recommend this camera. Nikon should not put out a product like this - it is disappointing. I have to return for repair again. The attached pictures are examples of the blurry when they should be perfectly sharp images December 16, 2012
$200 Disposable Camera Great little camera. Did everything I expected and provided the quality of picture expected from a Nikon Product. HOWEVER, 4 months after purchase it quit working, Lens Error. Complete lens with working parts were replaced. Back to new, for a while at least! Now, not even a year after purchse it's doing the same thing all over. Which is: Turn the camera on and it won't do a thing, when trying to zoom nothing happens, then when it does it sounds like crunching glass, but still won't take a picture. Nikon wanted me to send them the camera to look at, again. Thank God for Best Buy, they repaired it the first time and gave me a new canera this time. Loved it when it worked!! December 7, 2012
Lenses do not close when you turn off the camera I owned many cameras before. Nikon S9100 was the best by far in its category. I purchased it in February 2012 and it broke around or after September 19th. It didn't even last a year. First lenses, when closing started making weird sound and then didn't close at all. There is not a chance that something could get into them. As well this item never took a hit or was dropped. I think I bought a defective camera. Thinking of replacing it with similar item from Sony. November 12, 2012
Camera completely inoperable our camera no longer works after less than 4 months of use. It will turn on but doesn't fuction at all. No pictures, no video, no playback. Thank you Nikon for a horrible camera. I will make sure no one I know ever purchases a Nikon again. October 16, 2012
Good photos, poor video, poor quality I love taking nature and cityscape photos, and a compact point and shoot with a super zoom seemed like a good addition to my IPhone 4S and Canon SX40HS that I often use. The Nikon S9100 takes generally good daytime photos. It's zoom is capable of taking good bird photos as long as the bird isn't too far away...across a small pond is about the limit. On a monopod, the anti shake auto focus works well even at full zoom (for photos anyway). It takes clear shots both far away and close up. It doesn't do well in low light situations. However, it's video quality is terrible...it does a very poor job of auto focusing when changing zoom lengths, and often "stutters" or freezes even when shooting video at a constant zoom. And now, after 7 months of ownership, the camera is nonfunctional; the lenses won't fully extend and display won't come on. I think anyone who wants this type of camera wants to be able to take videos, so on that basis alone I would advise looking elsewhere...you won't like this camera. For those just taking photos, the camera performs well in daylight. If the video worked better I would consider getting the camera fixed, but it doesn't...what a waste of money this camera was. June 23, 2012
Disappointed! I bought this camera with high hopes and after months of searching back in March 2011. I don't take pictures very often, but when I do I like to have a nice camera. That being said, after taking this camera out from it's slumber since Christmas, I found that in addition to my 8 out of 10 pictures being blurry (problem from the start) now my lens is freezing up and the only solution is to remove the battery. I'm very frustrated in my close to $400 purchase, and sorry to say I switched from another brand to give Nikon a try. Nikon customer service was not very helpful, since there are no local shops, and my year warranty is up. This was too expensive a product to have these issues, and I see a year later the s9100 is already replaced and removed from the stores. They should at least offer a trade in value or something when they KNOW their product is faulty. June 7, 2012
Out of FOCUS Purchased the s9100 camera in Dec. 2011 and I'm generally disappointed and frustrated with performance. Some photos are good but frequently, perhaps even most of the time, the auto-focus does not work properly and misses the crisp focus that the optics are capable of achieving. The result is way way too many out of focus images. The improper focus is even clearly apparent on the LCD screen. Nikon should fix this problem ----- obviously many unhappy users. May 22, 2012
BLURRY I cannot believe the pictures this camera takes. 80% of the pictures it takes are all Blurry. May 11, 2012
Page: 4 5 6 7 8 9
<<prev | next>>
137 Questions | 179 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
137 Questions | 179 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
8 Answers

Is a firmware update going to be coming out soon?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
VA
Has staff answer
+15points
16out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful1
My camera is very slow to focus and many of the photos come out blurry even at close range
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
VA
Location : 
VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Same issue started a few months ago, of course right after my warranty expired. On last trip a week ago finally when trying to focus, the LCD screen "crashed" and read system failure. When turning it back on it worked again but was able to replicate failure a couple times. Camera is extremely slow to actually snap the picture after holding the shutter halfway down. What are the alternatives Nikon?
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It gives blurry pictures and the problem is with the sensors and the software. The software scans for the most appropriate focal length thru a range of distances, when the shutter is half pressed and choses the optimum distance for the user to click to get a sharp picture. Some how the software does not stop the lens at the correct focal distance and hence the blurry pictures. This happens especially at close ups and low light. Nikon does not want to fix this bug.
Aug 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think a firmware upgrade is really required for this product. The features are good and at times the picture quality is good. But most times, it comes up with unpredictable results. For a amateur photographer like me who uses auto mode all the time, this camera has been a big disappointment. Pictures are blurry, skin color reproduction not good etc. and answers to my queries to Nikon support who suggested a few things didn't help. My previous cameras which included a sony and pentax which were 5 and 10 years old had produced better results.
Feb 25, 2012 by
by
Dheeraj
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Use high speed (at least 15 Mb/s) sd-card.
Sep 4, 2011 by
by
ekillian
Haiti
Location : 
Haiti
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
My S9100 has the same problem. Especially at high zoom levels, the focus just goes back and forth and refuses to lock on. It appears to really have problems locking onto performers moving around on stage during a concert.
May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Encino, CA
Location : 
Encino, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1
Answer: 
My S9100 is also has the same problem. And, yes, Nikon, I hold the shutter button down half-way. This is a problem with the camera, as many users have reported.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Andy
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months

-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5
Answer: 
My S9100 does too. I don't think a firmware update would help. I didn't have the problem with my S8100.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-81points
13out of 107found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful94
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for this camera.
Make sure to press the shutter release half way in order to achieve focus and the all the way to take the picture. In that way it won't a delay. Also you can do a reset all to restore settings on your camera.
You press MENU > Setup > Reset All.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
12 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Power Sources
One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

Charging Time
3 hours and 50 minutes (when using Charging AC Adapter EH-69P) (Approx.)

Battery / Batteries Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12

Battery Life (shots per charge) Nikon Rechargeable: 270 shots (CIPA)
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Under "Tech Specs" it lists battery

One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

yes it comes with it and Nikon will sell it or they list retailers that will have it...

hope this helps.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery.
YES. one is included :)
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
LGuillo22

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It uses the EN-EL12 which is included.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

480p or 720p video?

Mar 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
In the Tech Specs only 1080p movie format is listed. Does the S9100 support other video formats like 720p or 480p?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, 720p and 480p (and a lot of other formats) are supported by this camera. I have it myself. The reason why it only lists 1080p in the specs is because Nikon's specs pages only list the highest quality camera and video modes.
Aug 20, 2011 by
by
ChaosMew161

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it does 1080p,720p,i540,640x480,320x240 at normal speed.i540 is 960x540 at 24fps...it also supports video at hs...for full detail go to:

http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/noprint/S9100_ENnoprint.pdf
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supports 720p as well
1080p at 30fps
480p at 60fps
HDMI-Out port
does not come with Mini-HDMI Cable though only AV Cable
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This 12.1 megapixel Nikon camera has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9.
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
According to numerous online specs, the S9100 has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9, and does not offer 3:2 ratio. (I am also too lazy to put in my user guide disc when I can ask google! Hope that helps someone.)
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please see page# 47 for more information on Image Quality and Size.
Answer Title: User's Manual - Nikon COOLPIX S9100 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

download firmware for nikon coolpix s9100

Sep 20, 2014 by
by
pela
Argentina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I need to know where to download firmware v1.0 for my coolpix s9100 since it has serious problems with focus and 90% of the photographs are blurred, and inform me if you can load the firmware v1.3 of the S9300 model. but above all where to get the factory firmware that brings the camera, thanks
3 weeks, 6 days ago
by
pela
Argentina
Location : 
Argentina
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Suggest you contact service and support, you can find your nearest contact here:

http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Sep 21, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
thanks for replying, if I need or if the firmware v1.0 brings the camera to reinstall as I correct the defect out of focus photographs coming out? must have a solution, it is not common that most cameras of the same model have reported that problem
Sep 20, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for the S9100. No, you cannot use a firmware update from another Coolpix camera.
Sep 20, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Does the S9100 have GPS?

Mar 2, 2011 by
by
Beembar51
USA
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Beembar51
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can supplement with an Eye Fi card, however, which has some GPS features (make sure it's rated 6 or above). I've not tried the GPS features, but have been pleased to be able to upload my photos as I take them without having to connect to a computer (either all of them or just ones I "protect"--favs).
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This camera doesn’t have a GPS feature.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

when will the S9100 be available? I want to purchase one

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Location : 
Fredericksburg, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Now Available in Best Buy Stores Nationwide!
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

does the nikon s9100 have a date stamp feature so every photo i take would have the date and time in the corner?

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it's in the setup menu, Print Date
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the date imprint feature (date and time).
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

What is the country of origin for this product?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine was made in Indonesia.
Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Bob
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operates to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Autofocus Problems?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
+9points
11out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful2
Are there known issues with autofocus on this camera? Will a firmware update be available to fix/improve autofocus? I bought this camera on Wednesday and took it on a weekend family event and it was just short of unusable indoors. I was using out of the box settings although I eventually adjusted the autofocus options some, to no avail. It would just attempt to focus for infinity and the only way I could get it out of its vaporlock would be to either power off/on or tap the zoom control one way or another. And that wasn't a guarantee that it would work at that point versus going right back into vaporlock. Outdoors it was naturally better but it still happened fairly often. And even the "focused" photos indoors weren't really great.

I am planning to return this camera to Best Buy soon unless you can provide a reason not to. I'm certainly not expecting miracles here, just basic "higher quality" point-and-shoot functionality. I have a Canon DSLR but just wanted something compact to take snapshots and video with and do macro-photos that the Canon doesn't handle very well. I have an old Sony p&s digital that takes better photos, quite honestly.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
Location : 
Irving, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't understand where to get the firmware for the S9100 especially since the first post of this forum says there is no firmware update... Is this something posted since that statement was made? I know there's a significant firmware upgrade for the P7000 which is maybe where the confusion comes in. This question is for the S9100 so is there an upgrade or not? When I check the support areas, I see nothing offered.
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
Answer: 
have you upgraded the firmware to v1.1? this makes a very big difference in terms of autofocus and also write times for raw images. i won't say it is perfect afterwards, but you should do the firmware upgrade before making a final decision. i find that for the way i use a p&s camera that the p7000 does the job, with the known weaknesses...i kept it instead of a g12 which i was using at the same time. the g12 is definitely snappier, but i like the extra reach and some of the features on the nikon...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cohenfive
sf bay area
Location : 
sf bay area
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers