Loading
COOLPIX S9100 2.9 5 225 225
Excellent I have owned at least 8 - 10 Nikon cameras. This is the best one yet. The photos are of great quality. I usually "fix" all of my photos in Paint Shop Pro. The first 51 photos (of a wedding) required NO fixing. That's a first for me. The only downside I encountered was you BETTER use the Sports scene mode if the subjects are moving. A great camera. May 24, 2011
Excellent all around camera! If you decide to buy this camera, you will not be sorry, especially if you read the manual before using it. The zoom is great! It works will for pictures and is especially adept at zooming during video shooting. Pictures at all distances appear sharp & crisp with a quality I'd rate between very good and excellent. Battery life is quite good, although I'd still suggest buying the accessory charger and an extra battery, especially if you intend to shoot lots of video. The video quality is amazing and the camera focuses when zooming, basically the same way that my D7000 works. I was pretty amazed to find such a great feature on a Coolpix. Very cool! My only complaint is the battery compartment door. It's simply too easy to open and it often does. Generally, it's not a big deal to close, but I'm concerned about accidentally breaking the mechanism. This is definitely something Nikon should address if they decide to update the camera. Bottom line: I love this camera! May 24, 2011
the camera takes great photos with the auto settings, but I am somewhat intimidated by the 236 page instruction manual. There are too many options to remember May 23, 2011
A digital camera that finaly does the job! Other reviews I have seen (not many out there yet it hasn't been out for more then a week) are just not accurate. I have gone from camera exchange to camera exchange trying to find a camera that produces crisp clean photos. With this camera when you zoom in on a picture you have taken, the edges of let's say letters are sharp. Pictures are very natural it let's the picture taker receive the credit for picking just the right scene. Stability control is good. I can take a picture inside at night with just a few lights on inside without flash and it's amazingly bright. Just go to the store and take a picture with the Nikon s9100 and compare it to the others by taking the same shot. You'll like the s9100. I have no problem recommending this camera. :) March 7, 2011
fair camera with good features but some problems picture quality is good but sometimes images are blur(for those who say most images are blur they should learn photography)full hd quality is average not good.It gives very blur images at night(when zoomed at a subjet which is dark)zoom is great. April 13, 2012
Average pictures, not reliable I looked forward to the 18x zoom, but the steadyness while holding the camera produced blurry pictures. Recently, just before the holiday Season,it failed to open, Lens Failure is the readout and there is no cure for me except too send it in for repair. December 12, 2011
This product has great zoom capabilities I am very disappointed with this camera. We had it 5 days before it stopped working with a "lens error" with absolutely no damage done to the camera. The camera is great when it is working! November 29, 2011
Will not select Nikon next time. The camera is about 5 months old, rarely used due me being unhappy with the Autofocusing. Camera has been already repaired once, and will have to bring it in again. Does not 'track' focus in Video, and fails focusing for zooming over like 4-5x. Expected also little more from the flash. November 28, 2011
Great features poor reliability We bought was we thought was the top of the line compact but after 90 days are faced with the same problem others are having which is lock up at power on. We now have to send it in and to be honest we are concerned about what to do after the warranty runs out. If nikon would let us trade it in on a more expensive SLR we would even though we paid a small fortune for this one. We had a Sony compact that worked flawlessly for 8 years before we splurged on this. I have yet to figure out how to lock the shutter speed as I don't think you can. Pics and zoom are outstanding but blurs with motion due to shutter speed mentioned. Size, battery, effects are all great. Now will you take a trade Nikon? November 28, 2011
Poor movie capability Overall picture taking is good, but even with a class 10 card the videos when played back are always jerky, stopping and starting and therefore poor movie quality. I bought it because it was supposed to take high def videos and I can't even watch any movies taken. Plus when the camera was only one month old, it just quit working. I sent it in to the repair facility at my cost and was informed that it would take 6 weeks to repair and this was due to having to wait for parts. I would not buy this camera or any nikon ever again. October 24, 2011
Excellent Photos - poor reliability From July 23 - Oct 8 we were thrilled with this camera - one of the best we have ever used that is a point and shoot (no focus, no F stop control etc). But on Oct 9 it failed completely - no response to buttons, cannot take pictures, cannot turn off without removing battery and re-inserting to reset the lens to stored position. Had to return the camera to Nikon after less than 90 days with no abuse and very careful care. We really liked the quality and ease of use - only wished the focus was better in lower light conditions - need a very steady hand or tripod to be sure of focus and lack of blurring. That is understandable to some extent. If this camera had not gone belly up in such a short time I would be giving high praise. October 17, 2011
Great-photos I purchased the camera at the end of May and started using the camera in June. The photos are amazing. I would suggest reading the owners manual to get familiar with all the wonderful, easy to use tools that are available. Within 90 days of getting the camera I am now having to send it in for service however. After reading multiple reviews it seems this is a fairly regular occurence. I turn the power on, the lens comes out and power is on but no buttons respond and power will not go off. The camera begins to make a clicking noise. To get the power off and the lens to go pack into the closed position the battery had to be removed and then put back in place. I am hoping this is just a random issue that can be fixed because the pictures and performance otherwise has been amazing. The camera broke on the first day of my family vacation so we missed taking pictures of most of our entire trip. September 13, 2011
I loved this camera right up until it died I bought this camera (a brand new model) 5 months ago and LOVED it, right up until the point it mysteriously stopped working (it would turn on but then not respond to any button-pushing. I had to remove the battery to turn it back off). It's currently en route to the service department so we'll see how that goes. Prior to that, my images looked great, I loved the HD video capabilities, the zoom was fun and the out of the box video transfer software was actually pretty decent. Hopefully this will be an easy fix under warranty. August 15, 2011
2 issues Overall a great Point and Shoot. It was great for a recent trip across Europe, when I didn't want to lug my bigger camera. However, I am experiencing 2 issues. First, it locks up. Most days, it never happens. Other days, it might happen every 5th photo. Fixing isn't hard... just pop out the battery and reinsert it. With practice (which I have plenty of!), it only takes several seconds. I am not alone in this issue, as I just discovered with a bit of research. Second problem is that the lens barrel seems to be developing a rattle, and it is getting worse. Almost like it is getting looser with time. I'm worried that it will eventually impact the quality of my photos. I plan on returning the camera to the local store where I purchased it. I hope they are willing to take it back. August 8, 2011
Still image blurr captured at night/with low light Purchased this product hardly 1 week back. Taken lots of pictures of Niagara fall in night and in day with low light also. But the picture quality is not that good. Spent almost 330 $. But picture quality is not great. August 2, 2011
S9100 Nikon broke 2nd day of my vacation. The s9100 Nikon broke the 2nd day of my vacation, just 45 days after purchase. I had a lens error and the camera would not work at all. Sent it back to Nikon at my shipping expense. I don't think this is a all Nikon product, as my daughters Sony looks very similar! July 25, 2011
Update to my previous 1 * review I managed to convince [PlaceOfPurchase] to allow me to return the camera and get a new replacement - just in time for vacation. I've now taken over 500 images with the new camera and it mostly works great, but there were a few issues. Issue #1 - It did the same "lock up" on me as the previous camera did after charging it from the wall. Exactly the same symptoms - powers on, controls aren't responsive, and will not power off until battery is removed. I was seriously angry about it, but after about 10 minutes of messing with it, it started working again. I think it's something to do with the rotary mode selector. After that one time, it hasn't happened since *knock on wood* Issue #2 - One time, the camera refused to focus properly. I turned it off, waited a few seconds and turned it back on and it started working correctly again. Other than these two issues, I've been very happy with the quality of the pictures and the video capabilities of the camera. However, with the intermittent issues I experienced, I worry about how reliable the camera will be in the long run. July 21, 2011
LCD Issue Fix for Newbie Camera has a mechanical problem July 11, 2011 Newbie Location Los Angeles, CA Experience1-3 months RoleOccasional user, memory keeper This is my first Nikon. The picture quality is very good. My problem is the monitor frequently goes black when being rotated from the horizontal to the vertical position outdoors, which means you cannot shoot pictures holding the camera in a vertical position. Camera was returned to Nikon after 2 months of usage, but they could not find the problem.} *****Solution: If you have (Polarized Sunglasses) on while using the camera, and you turn it vertically to shoot and the screen goes black it is because of the Polarized Sunglasses. Take them off the glasses and try to shoot with camers in a vertical position, usually this is the issue. July 14, 2011
Pictures are washed out As far as point and shoots are concerned, this camera is not cheap, but I bought it because I had read the response time in taking pictures was fast and it is, that aspect is perfect. What I'm disappointed at is the quality of the pictures, they appear cold and washed out, I'm sure there is a technical phrase to explain what I'm saying, but bottom line they don't look warm, this is especially apparent when using the flash. With this camera primarily used for people photo's most often with the flash, this is a serious problem. I have contacted Nikon support and am awaiting a response. Hopefully they can resolve the problem so I don't have to return the camera. Did I say the response time is great and the zoom remarkable, well they are June 24, 2011
It's a pretty good camera... I love my Nikon S9100 from the time I got it... It takes pretty good photos. The one thing that I don't like it that moving pictures don't come out so well. The picture show up well when I upload but when I print them out it was a poor quality picture. My camera actually started going bad after only having it less than a month the shutter was slow and then it just stop completely working. I sent it in hopefully it can be fixed... Will update later on how this situation was handled. June 23, 2011
Great Camera In Low Lighting Conditions The camera works great in low lighting conditions. However, in bright daylights the pictures seem a little washed out and overexposed. The camera freezes constantly while using the zoom to the max. The battery needs to be removed to reset the camera after freezing. June 2, 2011
O.K. Camera Decided to replace my Canon SX210 with the Nikon. Picture quality was about the same but I prefer the features and stabilization of the Canon. Video shooting stabilization seemed to be non existent and the videos are unusable. If you don't take videos, it's not a bad camera. I ended up returning the Nikon and bought the Canon SX 230 and I'm much happier with it. May 23, 2011
Needs an upgrade to the features I am disappointed that this particular Coolpix (S9100) does not have the Auto Rotate feature like the previous models of Coolpix cameras do. And for some reason when I put the camera in the camera case (it is turned off) and squeeze the lens when I hold it, or even put pressure in the lens area after it is in the case the camera turns on and sometimes gives me the "lens error" screen. I also would like to have a viewfinder when composing photos, it certainly makes it easier to compose in bright sunshine and brightly lit places, this model does not have a viewfinder. May 23, 2011
Flash too powerful I liked this camera but didn't like pitcures taken indoor with auto-flash at distance of 7-10 feets. They get over exposed and you cannot see colors. I had to return it. April 30, 2011
Great Features, Bad Design! Nikon proves again and again how they excel at bringing zoom options in a compact design. Unfortunately there are still design flaws which upset me everytime. When you have a rechargeable battery DO NOT put the connector on the bottom of the camera that makes me have to place the camera on the screen or on the lens in order to charge it. Also everytime you create a new camera you still have yet to make a Burst (Continuous) Mode that makes a click noise for every shot taken I enjoy that feature in all other competitive companies cameras. I just want to hear CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK. Its that easy!! Besides those 2 flaws Excellent Camera, Love the 18X Digital Zoom!! March 6, 2011
me ha defraudado no he logrado sacar fotografias nitidas, soy un usuario comun que usará esta camara para las fiestas y viajes pero siento la necesidad de un tripode para las fotos. casi todas salen borrosas cuando tomas sujetando con tus manos. He buscado en foros buscando consejos y no encuentro como hacerlo sin él. September 9, 2012
Battery goes dead too fast after displayed on monitor I always had canon camera's but figured the nikon name would be a good try. I actually started using my old canon again, its more reliable and user friendly. The battery on the nikon goes quickly if you take a video, what's up with that? And the camera wasn't cheap either. I guess I'll stick with what works for me and thats Canon. Sorry June 23, 2012
I read all the great reviews but not for me.. I have only used Canon and love canon however I decided to go with Nikkon this time becuase this camera got great reviews and it was a great deal plus the store manager recommended it. There are a lot of features I do like about it such as the zoom. Canon does not have a camera in this size with this zoom. So big plus on this camera. I also like that I was able to figure out the special effects quite easily. I never quite got it with canon had to go through many menus. However, sometimes if I don't have the flash up the picture comes out blurry some pictures are not taken as I point and shoot it seems like it's a delayed picture that ends up coming out blurry and if I want to shoot a lot of images back to back I get blurry images as well I don't know if it's to slow. I'm not technologically savvy so maybe there's something I'm missing or have not adjusted but I'm not all that thrilled about that. I've missed many great moments because of this camera and waiting for it to be ready to take the shot. May 29, 2012
Freezes Camera freezes often. I have to remove the battery to reset and turn on again only to have it to freeze again will not allow me to turn off or any thing until I remove and replace the battery again. May 23, 2012
An "Okay" Camera. i'm sorry, but this product is just plain horrible. I only like the flash with the pictures and the HD video. Everything else, no, just, no. February 18, 2012
Page: 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9
<<prev | next>>
137 Questions | 179 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
137 Questions | 179 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
8 Answers

Is a firmware update going to be coming out soon?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
VA
Has staff answer
+15points
16out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful1
My camera is very slow to focus and many of the photos come out blurry even at close range
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
VA
Location : 
VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Same issue started a few months ago, of course right after my warranty expired. On last trip a week ago finally when trying to focus, the LCD screen "crashed" and read system failure. When turning it back on it worked again but was able to replicate failure a couple times. Camera is extremely slow to actually snap the picture after holding the shutter halfway down. What are the alternatives Nikon?
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It gives blurry pictures and the problem is with the sensors and the software. The software scans for the most appropriate focal length thru a range of distances, when the shutter is half pressed and choses the optimum distance for the user to click to get a sharp picture. Some how the software does not stop the lens at the correct focal distance and hence the blurry pictures. This happens especially at close ups and low light. Nikon does not want to fix this bug.
Aug 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think a firmware upgrade is really required for this product. The features are good and at times the picture quality is good. But most times, it comes up with unpredictable results. For a amateur photographer like me who uses auto mode all the time, this camera has been a big disappointment. Pictures are blurry, skin color reproduction not good etc. and answers to my queries to Nikon support who suggested a few things didn't help. My previous cameras which included a sony and pentax which were 5 and 10 years old had produced better results.
Feb 25, 2012 by
by
Dheeraj
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Use high speed (at least 15 Mb/s) sd-card.
Sep 4, 2011 by
by
ekillian
Haiti
Location : 
Haiti
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
My S9100 has the same problem. Especially at high zoom levels, the focus just goes back and forth and refuses to lock on. It appears to really have problems locking onto performers moving around on stage during a concert.
May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Encino, CA
Location : 
Encino, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1
Answer: 
My S9100 is also has the same problem. And, yes, Nikon, I hold the shutter button down half-way. This is a problem with the camera, as many users have reported.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Andy
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months

-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5
Answer: 
My S9100 does too. I don't think a firmware update would help. I didn't have the problem with my S8100.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-81points
13out of 107found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful94
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for this camera.
Make sure to press the shutter release half way in order to achieve focus and the all the way to take the picture. In that way it won't a delay. Also you can do a reset all to restore settings on your camera.
You press MENU > Setup > Reset All.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
12 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Power Sources
One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

Charging Time
3 hours and 50 minutes (when using Charging AC Adapter EH-69P) (Approx.)

Battery / Batteries Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12

Battery Life (shots per charge) Nikon Rechargeable: 270 shots (CIPA)
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Under "Tech Specs" it lists battery

One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

yes it comes with it and Nikon will sell it or they list retailers that will have it...

hope this helps.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery.
YES. one is included :)
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
LGuillo22

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It uses the EN-EL12 which is included.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

480p or 720p video?

Mar 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
In the Tech Specs only 1080p movie format is listed. Does the S9100 support other video formats like 720p or 480p?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, 720p and 480p (and a lot of other formats) are supported by this camera. I have it myself. The reason why it only lists 1080p in the specs is because Nikon's specs pages only list the highest quality camera and video modes.
Aug 20, 2011 by
by
ChaosMew161

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it does 1080p,720p,i540,640x480,320x240 at normal speed.i540 is 960x540 at 24fps...it also supports video at hs...for full detail go to:

http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/noprint/S9100_ENnoprint.pdf
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supports 720p as well
1080p at 30fps
480p at 60fps
HDMI-Out port
does not come with Mini-HDMI Cable though only AV Cable
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This 12.1 megapixel Nikon camera has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9.
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
According to numerous online specs, the S9100 has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9, and does not offer 3:2 ratio. (I am also too lazy to put in my user guide disc when I can ask google! Hope that helps someone.)
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please see page# 47 for more information on Image Quality and Size.
Answer Title: User's Manual - Nikon COOLPIX S9100 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

download firmware for nikon coolpix s9100

Sep 20, 2014 by
by
pela
Argentina
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I need to know where to download firmware v1.0 for my coolpix s9100 since it has serious problems with focus and 90% of the photographs are blurred, and inform me if you can load the firmware v1.3 of the S9300 model. but above all where to get the factory firmware that brings the camera, thanks
1 month, 1 week ago
by
pela
Argentina
Location : 
Argentina
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Suggest you contact service and support, you can find your nearest contact here:

http://imaging.nikon.com/worldwide/index.htm
Sep 21, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
thanks for replying, if I need or if the firmware v1.0 brings the camera to reinstall as I correct the defect out of focus photographs coming out? must have a solution, it is not common that most cameras of the same model have reported that problem
Sep 20, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for the S9100. No, you cannot use a firmware update from another Coolpix camera.
Sep 20, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Does the S9100 have GPS?

Mar 2, 2011 by
by
Beembar51
USA
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Beembar51
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can supplement with an Eye Fi card, however, which has some GPS features (make sure it's rated 6 or above). I've not tried the GPS features, but have been pleased to be able to upload my photos as I take them without having to connect to a computer (either all of them or just ones I "protect"--favs).
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This camera doesn’t have a GPS feature.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

when will the S9100 be available? I want to purchase one

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Location : 
Fredericksburg, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Now Available in Best Buy Stores Nationwide!
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

does the nikon s9100 have a date stamp feature so every photo i take would have the date and time in the corner?

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it's in the setup menu, Print Date
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the date imprint feature (date and time).
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

What is the country of origin for this product?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine was made in Indonesia.
Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Bob
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operates to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Autofocus Problems?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
+9points
11out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful2
Are there known issues with autofocus on this camera? Will a firmware update be available to fix/improve autofocus? I bought this camera on Wednesday and took it on a weekend family event and it was just short of unusable indoors. I was using out of the box settings although I eventually adjusted the autofocus options some, to no avail. It would just attempt to focus for infinity and the only way I could get it out of its vaporlock would be to either power off/on or tap the zoom control one way or another. And that wasn't a guarantee that it would work at that point versus going right back into vaporlock. Outdoors it was naturally better but it still happened fairly often. And even the "focused" photos indoors weren't really great.

I am planning to return this camera to Best Buy soon unless you can provide a reason not to. I'm certainly not expecting miracles here, just basic "higher quality" point-and-shoot functionality. I have a Canon DSLR but just wanted something compact to take snapshots and video with and do macro-photos that the Canon doesn't handle very well. I have an old Sony p&s digital that takes better photos, quite honestly.
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
Location : 
Irving, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't understand where to get the firmware for the S9100 especially since the first post of this forum says there is no firmware update... Is this something posted since that statement was made? I know there's a significant firmware upgrade for the P7000 which is maybe where the confusion comes in. This question is for the S9100 so is there an upgrade or not? When I check the support areas, I see nothing offered.
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
Answer: 
have you upgraded the firmware to v1.1? this makes a very big difference in terms of autofocus and also write times for raw images. i won't say it is perfect afterwards, but you should do the firmware upgrade before making a final decision. i find that for the way i use a p&s camera that the p7000 does the job, with the known weaknesses...i kept it instead of a g12 which i was using at the same time. the g12 is definitely snappier, but i like the extra reach and some of the features on the nikon...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cohenfive
sf bay area
Location : 
sf bay area
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers