Loading
COOLPIX S9100 2.9 5 225 225
Fotos perfeitas Fotografias profissionais em tamanho de bolso. A qualidade sempre prevalece e o custo/beneficio a de se relevar após tira uma foto perfeita, sem desfoques e com brilho e sombra perfeitos. March 17, 2012
Turn off Auto Mode I understand the frustration with blurry pictures with this camera. When set to Auto Mode, I have the same experience. I've been able to overcome this by: 1. Take it off "Auto Mode." 2. Turn off "Digital Zoom." 3. Turn the dial to "SCENE" (not Scene (Auto)). 4. Press the Menu Button and select the type of scene you're shooting. It does a remarkable job when you tell it what you're shooting. If you want a true point and shoot, this probably isn't the camera for you. If you're willing to take the time to let it know what you want, I think you'll be pleased. I purchased this camera for backpacking and have been happy with the results. If it were possible to give multiple ratings, I would give: 1 star - Camera in Auto Mode 5 star - Camera in SCENE mode 0 star - Nikon for making no effort to clear this up with firmware update. June 21, 2012
Awesome Camera Takes Great Sports Pictures. Has a littel trouble focusing with low like but will eventualy get there. 18x Zoom is awesome. I really like this camera April 18, 2012
Excellent camera, I just wish it had a RAW mode. I'm not quite sure why so many people have so many difficulties getting beautiful, sharp pictures from this camera. Perhaps it's the long lens, which in anything but bright light requires near tripod-level stabilization to not blur, but I've never had any issues taking a multitude of photos, some in very low light, with no blurring. My favorite use for this camera is concert photos - I've taken this camera to many concerts and have been able to take spectacular shots from several rows back that make you feel like "you are there.," though I usually need to set the auto exposure to -0.7 stop to avoid washout of highlights. I just wish that the camera could shoot in RAW mode as there are times I know post-processing could produce better images than the JPG encoder built into the camera. February 21, 2012
My very own wonderful digital Cam. I thought this was great, I'm still learning alot about it. It's so useful to me, as an outgoing college student. Photos are sharp and easy to edit. I video edited for the first time and the video came out great ! Oh my goodness, I can't wait to try out other things with it . The thing I don't like is that the manual isn't very helpful, because if I tried to mimic the procedures, I wouldn't get the results that the book said I'd get. So, sometimes I have to manipulate it differently to get the results I want. This just means, there are no short cuts. Some options I wont use, because .... I clearly have no idea what it's used for, or I feel like it was the same as the last option. Overall, this was worth the price ! =] I'm going to treat this thing like a baby, because I love it . =] January 23, 2012
Into the future... After having a Casio camera for 6 years, I got this COOLPIX S9100. Though I only have my old Casio to compare it to, S9100 is crazy! Sure, you can get a blurry picture if you rush the shot, but if you press down on the shutter slowly, wait for it to focus, and then complete or fully press the shutter, your pictures will come out great! The menu is user friendly and the effects are great. Since I got the camera (2 weeks ago), I took over 800 pictures (had a lot of events to attend)...indoors and outdoors all came out great. The 18X zoom, however, is a hit or miss but I'm used to that b/c the digital zoom had the same results with my Casio. I think any digital zoom will have the same results because it's just too sensitive to motion. Perhaps if you have a tripod and you use digital zoom, you may have more hits than misses. Taking pictures with the camera facing the sun...no longer a problem. If you adjust your settings, the S9100 can overcome this problem. Video is also a plus, sound and video quality almost as good as real time. Overall, I'm not a professional photographer so I'm not looking for absolute perfection, I'm very satisfied with this camera. January 17, 2012
The camera fails to come with the User's Manual. The camera does not come with the "User's Manual", available only on the computer. A compact hard copy is necessary to have when you are using the camera and for ease in looking among pages. The "Quick Start Guide" is manifestly inadequate and is only a start. It is inexcusable that you do not provide a compact hard copy of the "User's Manual". December 12, 2011
excellent closeup and night, blurry long distance Took this camera to Europe. Great clarity for closeup shots, wide angle and incredible night shots! Sorry to say that when you use the full telephoto, it gets cloudy - way too much atmosphere and it all turns out a hazy blue (but a nice effect for far away castles,etc). Movies done with the zoom are completely blurry, but average distance they look great. Also, camera DOES NOT SHOW UP on my Mac using Snow Leopard. Have to download pics to my external drive on my husband's pc laptop and then bring the external drive over to the mac to get the pics there. NO drivers for mac are found online, it says to use the CD, which we lost on our trip. Is great to photograph my artwork, stained glass in closeups November 28, 2011
Product as advertised Except for some focusing problems, it has worked very well. November 7, 2011
Good but lacking in a few key areas It takes great pictures. The manual is usually well written so you can figure out how to best use the extenstive features. The package does not incude an external batttery charger. You have to charge the battery through the camera which is a real hastle so you have no way of charging a back up battery while you are using the camera. You can buy one for an additional cost, but it should have been included in the basic package. When you charge it though the USB port of a computer, it never seems to register fully charged; maybe I didn't leave it plugged in long enough. It takes movies, but playing them on a computer is a nightmare. I sent a note to the Nikon support team and got back a 3+ page of everything that I might be doing wrong or need to change. They should have tested some of the popular configurations so they could say for WMP you need these options, for Quiktime .. these ... Totally unhelpful in getting my movies to play on my PC at the high resolution. They want me to test using lower resolutions. It doesn't sound like they ever tested or got it work themselves. September 26, 2011
OVERALL A GREAT PRODUCT Love almost everything about this camera! The zoom is incredible and I have a whole collection of 3 or 4-shot series going from wide angle to the most racked-out tele shot of a subject like a far-off building, a bird sitting in dense woods where you don't even see the bird in the first two shots, and hilltop shots of a complete village, or an entire harbor, where the most extreme tele shot shows you the stars & stripes on a single flag on top of just one building, or let's you see all the rigging details on just one sailboat among hundreds in the far-off harbor. Wow! For example, last time I was in DC, I stood in the middle of Pennsylvania Avenue on a traffic island and shot a wide-angle photo of the capital from more than a half-mile away, then a medium telephone, then the biggest regular (optical) tele, then the biggest digital tele. Wow, my friends were so impressed later! By the way, the biggest tele shot was a couple of gold-plated gargoyles on the top of a Victorian-looking, historic building about 3/8 mile away from me. The detail of the gold figure was incredible. (Without a tripod, I had to wrap my arms around a signal/lamp post to keep the camera steady for the final shot.) So, yeah, I brag about this camera's optics a lot. My biggest complaint is the function wheel at the top of the camera (the little wheel that includes a green icon for full automatic operation). It turns from one function to another very VERY easily...too easily! Because I keep my camera in a cargo pocket of my pants most of the time for ease of removal whether sitting or standing, I do not keep the camera in its case, but have the strap hanging outside the pocket flap so all I have to do is unsnap the flap and pull the camera out by the strap, and I can be shooting instantly. Lots of people do the same type of thing to carry their camera. Unfortunately, more than half the time, with only the light friction of the cargo pocket on the wheel, it spins the operation to some other function on the wheel and I end up with photos out of focus ...which I usually only discover a dozen or so shots later, after I lower the camera once the specific opportunity has been photographed. This is really aggravating and I think it could easily be changed/corrected by Nikon with a tiny change in their manufacturing operation when making the camera. Those click stops are just, after all, something like small bumps on the underside of the plastic wheel for each setting, and a corresponding dimple in the frame so the wheel will stop at each setting. Make the little bumps fractionally bigger, and the dimple fractionally deeper, and the problem will be solved. I'll bet there are a lot of photographers out there like me who do not use the leather case for everyday work, because there is no place to keep it once you take it off, i.e. it'll get dropped or lost in no time. But losing several shots that can never be shot again is a high price to pay, and Nikon could demonstrate concern for its customers by making this small but important improvement. Such small manufacturing improvements represent a microscopic cost to Nikon ...selling just one extra camera ANYWHERE in the world would likely recover that cost for Nikon....and it would show that the phrase "continuous improvement" is more than just an empty slogan at this outstanding camera maker. September 5, 2011
Fast, wide-angle, good HDMI movie, easy to use Purchased as a point-and-shoot for my wife's business trip to Rome. With minor DSLR knowledge and no experience at all on the S9100, she picked up on its usage very quickly. Was very impressed with its "Museum mode" which was able to capture good images in very low light situations. The extra wide angle was also very useful for travel, architecture, and landscape shots. The LCD screen is excellent. The macro mode also allowed for good close-ups. All around, a surprisingly versatile camera in a shirt-pocket size. We've had some pleasant surprises with this camera: fireworks came out well along with night shots of fountains and street scenes. Skin tones look good even when using a flash at night. The "instant" panorama was fun to use also. Things to be aware of: 1) The 18x telephoto zoom is only useful with a tripod. 2) The placement of the flash is a bit awkward. 3) It often chooses an unintended focus point. 4) The polarized LCD screen is very good - but you must remove your own polarized sun glasses to view it. 5) No RAW support 6) No manual focus Besides what I've listed above, the main reason I do not give it 5 stars is that it occasionally froze up - the only fix that we found was to take out the battery and re-insert it; at which time the camera returned to normal functioning. Nikon offered to have us send it in for repairs - but we declined. Seems like Nikon's service dept is good too. September 4, 2011
So far, so good... I haven't had this camera long enough to give it a complete review, but so far, I like it. I've never had a point & shoot, so I am still getting used to handeling it...but the photos I've taken so far are excellent. I did a lot of research on the point & shoot camera with optical lense over 10x...this one is a 12x and I took a photo of a slowly moving object using the full range of the optical zoom and was very pleased with the results, I didn't use a tripod, just did the point & shoot. It seems easy enough to use, the menu is easy, and for anyone that isn't sure about what they are doing, full auto is just the ticket. Do order an extra battery...and a memory card, and be sure to read the user manual beofre yuou use the camera...it comes as a CD. It also comes with a photo organization CD, which I did install, decided I didn't like it, and now I'm back to using Picasa and photo bucket to store and/or edit my photos. Check around for the best price...I ordered mine from Beach Camera, a very good place to do business. August 30, 2011
Great zoom, good speed, small, really like it! The only improvement i would suggest is an eye piece. It is hard to see the screen in sun sometimes, although that's true with any screen. The zoom is great, the battery life is decent, the pictures are beauiful. And the camera can take great pix out of a moving bus!! nice! August 29, 2011
generally good pictures We took camera to Europe and Asia. Most pictures turned out good. However, we had trouble shooting overhead at churches and museums and at an angle on paintings, rugs, etc., on walls. Got quite a few blurry pictures. Also, telephoto lens shots turned out really bad. Telephoto feature is really bad. Hardly any good shots with the telephoto feature. Manual that comes with camera is hard to read due to small print, etc. I was thinking of buying another one, but after the many lousy reviews, freezing stories, etc,, I am reconsidering. Nikon should correct the issues people are having including the lousy job the telephoto lens does. Also, sometimes the color does not replicate the true colors. Took a lot of pictures of hydrangias, petunias, roses, etc. and the true colors are often not replicated in the photos. Photos show faded and lighter colors than actual objects, even in good light conditions. August 20, 2011
Nice camera, nice images but... I've owned the S9100 for about 2 weeks and find that it takes fines pictures and is very easy to use. But it could use a a real battery charger instead of the somewhat useless camera power supply that lets you charge a battery ONLY if it is in the camera, a view-through viewfinder, and a bit more exposure control than just over or under exposure. Also, since there are warnings about turning off vibration control when using the camera on a tripod, it seems that Nikon could have put a switch in the tripod screw socket of the camera to turn vibration control off automatically when it was placed on a tripod. Raw capture would have been a nice plus. August 16, 2011
Overall the features are good(see below). The three things I didn't like: 1.The flash has to be raised manually 2.The macro feature is difficult to use 3.The battery has to be charged in the camera August 16, 2011
This product takes beautiful pictures I love the camera, but am upset that after 4 months of use and the camera got some particles which i assumed to be sand from my daughters bag the camera start to malfunction and now I had to pay Nikon Over one hundred dollars to fix. I am not happy with the warranty. August 16, 2011
very clear pictures I just got back from vacation, and a very happy with the quality of the photos. Did extremely well taking pics while in motion as well as being stationary. The zoom is awesome. I did have a little trouble with the movie recording. It seems to skip a little during playback. I will have to test that feature more, but at first glance the video quality is good, but does skip during playback. This is the reason for 4 stars August 15, 2011
Easy to use disappointed with the "freeze glitch" I bought this to take on vacation because of its size and features. The camera worked great during my vacation and I was able to capture some incredible pictures in all kinds of lighting. Overall we love the cameras automatic features and ease of use. That said...after 3 months the camera froze up with the same symptoms that everyone is reporting. HOW I FIXED IT... First I removed the battery after it froze up, to shut it down. Next I put the battery back in to let it finish retracting the lens. Do not turn the camera back on yet. Remove the battery again. Now put the battery back in and turn it on. This has fixed mine both times it has frozen up good luck July 31, 2011
Great Easy to Use Camera It is an awesome camera. It has a lot of cool features. It takes great pictures. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I had to send it to Nikon to get it fixed. Other than that it is a very good camera and is worth the price expecialy if it's on sale. I would recommend getting it. July 29, 2011
Great product - fun to use My first digital camera. Bought it to take pics of our first grandbaby. Works great, small enough to carry it in your pocket, or pocketbook. Simple to operate and download pictures. I have had some trouble with it and am in the middle of dealing with getting it repaired or replace through Nikon Service. So far that has been a good experience..... but time will tell. July 25, 2011
Overall great, but small-ish I bought this camera because of nikons reputation and experience with other nikon products. The first time I bought this camera I absoultly loved it, it takes awesome pictures, great quality video, though, I started to notice a few problems, the camera would jitter when it zoomed, and there was a spot in the picture that was darker than the rest, I tried cleaning the camera, but it didn't work. So I took it back to the store and had it replaced. And the new one work perfectly, the lens zooms smoothly, and no dark specs. There is ssosososososo many reasons to love this camera, it has a great zoom, and the vibration reduction works great to take advantage of that zoom. The pictures always come out clear and sharp. And all of the modes help a ton when taking pictures of pets, which it does automatically, even has a snow setting. The controls are easy to use and very intuitive the selector wheel is great for scrolling through photos, and doubles as a selector pad. What I really like about this camera os the CMOS sensor that is much better than conventional ccd sensors that most of this cameras competitors use, this camera is quicker to respond than any other point and shoot camera I use. And low light shooting performance is excellent. The only gripe I have is ist not really small, just small-ish. Pocket-able but its awkward to carry doing so. July 15, 2011
Very capable point and shoot camera. This is a very good camera for someone that wants a lot of automated features and doesn't want all the manual controls. Good pictures, easy to learn, feels solid built, I wish it would have come with an external battery charger also, since I would think most people will buy a second battery, and using the camera as the charger ties it up even if you get the second battery that would let you keep going. So you end up getting a second battery for $25 and a wall charger $40, adding $65 to the camera price to make it an all day shooter, although one battery will last through a day, I still feel more comfortable having a spare.. July 14, 2011
Camera has a mechanical problem This is my first Nikon. The picture quality is very good. My problem is the monitor frequently goes black when being rotated from the horizontal to the vertical position outdoors, which means you cannot shoot pictures holding the camera in a vertical position. Camera was returned to Nikon after 2 months of usage, but they could not find the problem. July 11, 2011
Great camera Overall I'm pleased with the camera. I've taken about 100 pictures and am still learning how to best use the camera. I like the light weight and small size...I think I will use this camera considerably more than my older, larger digital camera. The camera seems very easy to use with just a quick read of the getting started sections of the manual. The lack of a good print manual is a negative but seems to be typical now. The in camera battery charger is very frustrating. How can you recharge an extra battery and use the camera at the same time. This is a major flaw that could easily be corrected by Nikon. I purchased a Nikon MH-65 external battery charger and was dismayed to discover that the charger does not plug directly into a wall outlet. I cannot understand why Nikon elected to require the use of a separate electrical cord with the external battery charger. This forces me to pack another piece of equipment when I travel. Again, this should be corrected by Nikon. Overall, I plan to use and enjoy this nice little camera for many years. July 11, 2011
Love it so far I got this camera a couple of weeks ago. I really like it, but I have a lot to learn about it. It takes great pictures! I think once I learn how to use it, I will be taking fabulous pictures! July 4, 2011
Great features, zoom problems I purchsed this s9100 to replace my s 8000 which is at the bottom of a spring here in Florida :-( after a kayak trip. This camera has good features but zoom definitely requires a tripod for stability. Still in learning curve as to other features but believe it will be favorable. June 29, 2011
I wish I could get a manual. I'm going on vaction and will not have access to a computer to read the CD. A manual should be made if requested. I understand the going green concept, not everyone wants a manual, but for those of us that do, it should be available when requested. June 6, 2011
Great take-along camera First thing to know: I received this camera from my wife for my birthday. She went to the store to purchase a full sized digital camera for my many photo "needs". I had planted hundreds of subliminal messages directing her to get me something like a Nikon D7000 with Nikkor lenses. The salesman helping her, after effective inquiries, convinced her I'd use the S9100 more. He was right. I'll bet the store's owner would not agree, but I do. So, after 6 weeks of very heavy use, here's what I think about the CoolPix S9100: The versatility and convenient carry size of the Coolpix S9100 combine with excellent quality to provide surprising value. It is easy to use, requiring for me just a few weeks of daily practice. The user manual is an essential element in this process. My opinion; camera company product development teams should ensure their collateral materials (especially user manuals) are as robust and user friendly as the primary product. Video quality is good. Sound quality is adequate for all my needs. I am particularly pleased the zoom features can be operated while shooting videos. Panorama features are excellent. The "assist" setting makes shooting panorama absolutely simple - even without a tripod. I'm eager to get a print made and see the results of this excellent feature. The HDR feature (high dynamic range) is terrific. The manual says very little about it or the way it works. It should. It is a good feature. I tried to determine, before first use, if this camera had automatic exposure bracketing. The reason for that inquiry was simply to ensure I could use the HDR software on my computer to create better photos. (one needs about 6 shots at various exposures) Imagine my surprise when I discovered the S9100 used software inside itself to make HDR photo for me. Now, that's something folks should know. The flash location and functions are good. Backlighting features are very good. "Scene" settings are good. It takes more than 6 weeks to really test them all thoroughly so for now I can only say, "my limited use seems to indicate these factory settings are good". Macro hasn't been as easy for me to use because the camera is very small and more difficult to hold than a larger bodied camera. I think it would be wise, if the user can manage it, to use a tripod with Macro. The size of the camera is one of its features. It is also one of its shortcomings. I have large hands. I found the addition of a pocket sized tripod gave me something to hold and helped me produce better shots. My mini tripod is about 4 inches long with legs like a "snake light". I leave it on the camera all the time. The view screen is terrific. However, like all screens, outdoor viewing can be tough and glare can be a real problem. I am going to test the anti - glare screen protectors sold for cell phones and PDA's. That may help. Recharging is a snap using the USB / 120v adapter with long wire. I prefer to recharge small batteries by removing them from the camera and placing them in a dedicated charging dock. That allows me to put the camera body back in its case (for safety) while the battery is charging, but I've adjusted to the S9100 system and have no complaints. I just have to be more careful. Overall, after 6 weeks of use, the salesman was right, my wife bought a great product, and I'm pleased with the pictures I'm creating. Compact digital cameras tend to be point and shoot devices for an audience that frankly doesn't require much else. But Nikon did right by their brand with the S9100. It's a whale of nice little camera. Of course, I doubt the D7000 would have disappointed me - but don't tell my wife. May 30, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9
<<prev | next>>
136 Questions | 175 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
136 Questions | 175 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
8 Answers

Is a firmware update going to be coming out soon?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
VA
Has staff answer
+15points
16out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful1
My camera is very slow to focus and many of the photos come out blurry even at close range
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
VA
Location : 
VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Same issue started a few months ago, of course right after my warranty expired. On last trip a week ago finally when trying to focus, the LCD screen "crashed" and read system failure. When turning it back on it worked again but was able to replicate failure a couple times. Camera is extremely slow to actually snap the picture after holding the shutter halfway down. What are the alternatives Nikon?
Sep 13, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It gives blurry pictures and the problem is with the sensors and the software. The software scans for the most appropriate focal length thru a range of distances, when the shutter is half pressed and choses the optimum distance for the user to click to get a sharp picture. Some how the software does not stop the lens at the correct focal distance and hence the blurry pictures. This happens especially at close ups and low light. Nikon does not want to fix this bug.
Aug 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think a firmware upgrade is really required for this product. The features are good and at times the picture quality is good. But most times, it comes up with unpredictable results. For a amateur photographer like me who uses auto mode all the time, this camera has been a big disappointment. Pictures are blurry, skin color reproduction not good etc. and answers to my queries to Nikon support who suggested a few things didn't help. My previous cameras which included a sony and pentax which were 5 and 10 years old had produced better results.
Feb 25, 2012 by
by
Dheeraj
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Use high speed (at least 15 Mb/s) sd-card.
Sep 4, 2011 by
by
ekillian
Haiti
Location : 
Haiti
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
My S9100 has the same problem. Especially at high zoom levels, the focus just goes back and forth and refuses to lock on. It appears to really have problems locking onto performers moving around on stage during a concert.
May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Encino, CA
Location : 
Encino, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful1
Answer: 
My S9100 is also has the same problem. And, yes, Nikon, I hold the shutter button down half-way. This is a problem with the camera, as many users have reported.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Andy
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months

-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5
Answer: 
My S9100 does too. I don't think a firmware update would help. I didn't have the problem with my S8100.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-81points
13out of 107found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful94
Answer: 
There are no firmware updates for this camera.
Make sure to press the shutter release half way in order to achieve focus and the all the way to take the picture. In that way it won't a delay. Also you can do a reset all to restore settings on your camera.
You press MENU > Setup > Reset All.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
12 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Power Sources
One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

Charging Time
3 hours and 50 minutes (when using Charging AC Adapter EH-69P) (Approx.)

Battery / Batteries Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12

Battery Life (shots per charge) Nikon Rechargeable: 270 shots (CIPA)
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Under "Tech Specs" it lists battery

One Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL12 (supplied)

yes it comes with it and Nikon will sell it or they list retailers that will have it...

hope this helps.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery.
YES. one is included :)
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
LGuillo22

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It uses the EN-EL12 which is included.
Jun 17, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
3 Answers

480p or 720p video?

Mar 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+8points
8out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
In the Tech Specs only 1080p movie format is listed. Does the S9100 support other video formats like 720p or 480p?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, 720p and 480p (and a lot of other formats) are supported by this camera. I have it myself. The reason why it only lists 1080p in the specs is because Nikon's specs pages only list the highest quality camera and video modes.
Aug 20, 2011 by
by
ChaosMew161

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it does 1080p,720p,i540,640x480,320x240 at normal speed.i540 is 960x540 at 24fps...it also supports video at hs...for full detail go to:

http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/noprint/S9100_ENnoprint.pdf
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supports 720p as well
1080p at 30fps
480p at 60fps
HDMI-Out port
does not come with Mini-HDMI Cable though only AV Cable
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This 12.1 megapixel Nikon camera has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9.
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
According to numerous online specs, the S9100 has aspect ratios of 4:3 and 16:9, and does not offer 3:2 ratio. (I am also too lazy to put in my user guide disc when I can ask google! Hope that helps someone.)
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please see page# 47 for more information on Image Quality and Size.
Answer Title: User's Manual - Nikon COOLPIX S9100 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Does the S9100 have GPS?

Mar 2, 2011 by
by
Beembar51
USA
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Beembar51
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can supplement with an Eye Fi card, however, which has some GPS features (make sure it's rated 6 or above). I've not tried the GPS features, but have been pleased to be able to upload my photos as I take them without having to connect to a computer (either all of them or just ones I "protect"--favs).
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This camera doesn’t have a GPS feature.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

when will the S9100 be available? I want to purchase one

Mar 4, 2011 by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Has staff answer
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
George
Fredericksburg, TX
Location : 
Fredericksburg, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new Coolpix models were release at the beginning of February and it’s usually available after 30 to 45 days. You may want to check with your local dealer or keep visiting our Nikon store.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Now Available in Best Buy Stores Nationwide!
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anthony
Jacksonville, FL
Location : 
Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

does the nikon s9100 have a date stamp feature so every photo i take would have the date and time in the corner?

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it's in the setup menu, Print Date
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the date imprint feature (date and time).
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

What is the country of origin for this product?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mine was made in Indonesia.
Feb 17, 2012 by
by
Bob
Washington, DC
Location : 
Washington, DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operates to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Autofocus Problems?

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
+9points
11out of 13found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful2
Are there known issues with autofocus on this camera? Will a firmware update be available to fix/improve autofocus? I bought this camera on Wednesday and took it on a weekend family event and it was just short of unusable indoors. I was using out of the box settings although I eventually adjusted the autofocus options some, to no avail. It would just attempt to focus for infinity and the only way I could get it out of its vaporlock would be to either power off/on or tap the zoom control one way or another. And that wasn't a guarantee that it would work at that point versus going right back into vaporlock. Outdoors it was naturally better but it still happened fairly often. And even the "focused" photos indoors weren't really great.

I am planning to return this camera to Best Buy soon unless you can provide a reason not to. I'm certainly not expecting miracles here, just basic "higher quality" point-and-shoot functionality. I have a Canon DSLR but just wanted something compact to take snapshots and video with and do macro-photos that the Canon doesn't handle very well. I have an old Sony p&s digital that takes better photos, quite honestly.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Doug
Irving, TX
Location : 
Irving, TX
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I don't understand where to get the firmware for the S9100 especially since the first post of this forum says there is no firmware update... Is this something posted since that statement was made? I know there's a significant firmware upgrade for the P7000 which is maybe where the confusion comes in. This question is for the S9100 so is there an upgrade or not? When I check the support areas, I see nothing offered.
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
Answer: 
have you upgraded the firmware to v1.1? this makes a very big difference in terms of autofocus and also write times for raw images. i won't say it is perfect afterwards, but you should do the firmware upgrade before making a final decision. i find that for the way i use a p&s camera that the p7000 does the job, with the known weaknesses...i kept it instead of a g12 which i was using at the same time. the g12 is definitely snappier, but i like the extra reach and some of the features on the nikon...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
cohenfive
sf bay area
Location : 
sf bay area
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S9100
 
2 Answers

Can the S9100 use the new eye-fi cards?

Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Lynne
Florida
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Lynne
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used it in mine with no problem and read of other Amazon users also. I am not sure that it was on the list when I checked, but i wanted the Wi-Fi and GPS features so much that I tried it anyway. Would be great to get an official word from Nikon to have this put on the list...it makes the camera much more competitive!
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information regarding approved memory cards for this model:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S9100
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers