Loading
COOLPIX L24 3.2 5 114 114
Average camera It takes awesome daytime pictures but at night the picture are more blurry...im still learning the camera and I m hoping it gets better. August 20, 2011
It's okay. I enjoy the variety of picture taking modes, but the camera is slow to snap pix and slow to zoom. July 26, 2011
Tampa shooter Great point and shoot camera, the AA battery compartment is a good hand hold. I have use it in the full auto mode and I have no complaints. July 22, 2011
I love everything except... I can only use it outdoors! For some reason, my flash never goes off! I've tried everything. June 28, 2011
It has great features One issue is that I CAN NOT enter a descripton directly on the picture as I could on the Nikon Coolpix 885. June 10, 2011
Una camara Muy Economica¡ Bueno La estetica de la camara es muy mala se ve claro que es la peor gama de Nikon Coolpix, Toma unas fotos muy buenas 14 Mp Con Su Lente CCD, Las funciones de la camara son malas no tiene muchas opciones, Solo tiene Potencial en las fotos pero Solo en Eso¡ , pero tambien es una camara muy economica April 26, 2012
Not to happy Got this camera in february of last year as a gift. The camera is fairly good but is not that great. The problem that I got with this camera is that I'm getting a message that the battery is exhausted. I replaced the batteries with new ones and still I'm getting the same message. I did check the old and new batteries with a voltmeter and they are good showing a little over 1.5 volts. Everytime I tried to take pictures I get that message and I can't use the camera. January 8, 2013
Could be a lot better. The camera takes great outdoor shots. Indoor shots come out yellow or orange, and extremely blurry. The camera doesn't capture moving objects well, either. So if you want to photograph your baby smiling or your pet wagging its tongue, this camera's not a great choice. December 11, 2012
Battery Latch Door-Broken after 10 Months of Daily Use! Under Warranty of 1 year. i will Update on Warranty Progress. I Bought this L24 Camera on October 4th 2011. it has been a Good Camera up until Now! I use it For Work Every Day Taking Pictures and movies of Jobs. i am in the Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Service business. i New From Day One That the Battery Door Was a Weak Link. it is a terrible Design, the Battery Door has So Much pressure on it When you close the Door that it just breaks over time. also the Sd card is in the same slot as the battery's, so to remove the sd card u have to open the battery door and remove battery's to remove sd card. Poor design. this is my third nikon camera. i had 2 Nikon coolpix 7600 before and it was a better designed camera and a better camera overall. only about 7 megapixel though. older technology. but great camera, but agin the battery door was the failure of the 7600 too! although it lasted about 3-5 years. Who ever is Designing the Battery Doors on these camera's ought to be Fired !!! Period!!! August 12, 2012
Best Feature is the size Image stablization is not as good as my old Olympus. Cannot even find it on the menu or on line. August 10, 2012
slow and fragile I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing this camera. Like others, the post holding the battery compartment broke after 2 months. I'm using a rubber band to keep the latch closed, but it covers all the buttons on the back. The camera is also very slow and I often miss pictures of my kids. Wish I could return it. May 15, 2012
a year ago i got this camera a year ago for my birthday and i loved it at first but i just went to turn it on after about a month of not useing it and it wont even turn it! it wont charge it wont send pictures wont don't anything. i'm going to see if we can send it back to have it looked at. trying to take a few fall pictures but only have a camera phone :( November 12, 2011
Inconsistent. Slow trigger. Batteries fall out. Performance is inconsistent. Have missed a number of good shots because of occasional and unexplained long shutter release times. It will also at times take a long time (30 seconds or more) to load up the flash. Worst problem is the battery compartment latch. Don't know if this is a common prob with the L24, but just normal handling of the unit can cause the battery compartment latch to mysteriously open. Just try composing and taking a good shot only to discover the batteries have fallen to the muddy ground while you were lining up the shot and getting subjects in-place. It is pretty tacky to take your new red L24 to a gathering with scotch tape holding it together. November 11, 2011
Very disappointed in this product! I am very disappointed in this camera because I received it as a gift last Christmas, and it has shut down on me twice! The first time the merchant who sold it to my wife replaced it. The second time I was told to mail it back to Nikon for review. I have been a photographer for a long time, and certainly expected better performance from a Nikon product than I actually got! I have used another major brand of photo equipment before, and Have gotten excellent service from their products. I am certainly glad that I did not purchase a much more expensive Nikon unit. As a professional photographer, I need my camera on demand. I cannot afford to wait until I send the unit to Nikon and have them "look it over before making a decision as to the resolution of the problem. The first problem with the camera was that it simply quit working. This time the latch that holds the batteries in place has sprung and I cannot use the camera without taping the battery latch shut. That is unacceptable to me. November 11, 2011
It takes good pictures once i really "knew how to use it well" (after about a year) but before that, or if my family uses it, the pictures turn out kinda fuzzy and kinda yellow-ish looking. A year or two after I got it, it started to do these things where it'd "freeze", after I'd take a picture and I wanted to delete it the screen would freeze on the 'deleted' screen. I also have to change the battery's so much because it goes dead soooo quickly, and just recently the battery cover broke so they just fall out. November 5, 2011
after our trip we had a problem After a big trip that the camera functioned during, we developed a problem with the battery latch. The batteries would pop out and wouldn't stay in. I tried to return to Walmart but they have a two week guarantee. I shipped to the Nikon repair center, and it was going to cost $72 to fix on a $129 camera. No way! I feel dissatisfied with the service and quality of the camera. September 2, 2011
disappointed Thought camera was great - really good quality photos, until battery compartment door broke. Compartment door always difficult to open. After it broke, read reviews on line and wish I had read them prior to buying camera. MANY people had same thing happen. Sent camera in to be serviced - still within warranty time - but of course problem not covered by warranty. Have to pay over $60 to get repaired (half price of camera when purchased). Should have just bought new camera because will probably break again. Haven't received camera back yet. Hope this review doesn't affect that! June 25, 2011
Great pixs but terrible design I don't get it. The camera takes beautiful pictures and is easy to use, but who designed the battery compartment? It keeps opening up and the batteries keep falling out. Nikon should take better care of their reputation! November 2, 2014
Junk ... But Close to Great Great pictures for three months and then the camera battery door broke. Was told that it was not covered under warranty. Now ... 15 months after purchasing, I see that it's a common problem. Very frustrated. The broken door makes the camera useless. Other than the door ... it's great. Portable, great pictures. October 23, 2012
Screen breaks for no reason BEWARE!! As stated by several people this camera breaks for NO reason. Do not have to drop it, lens/screen on the back just cracks and from what I understand Nikon won't fix it!!!! We bought another one, but looks like we will be retuning it after reading all the comments. Bad that a good brand like Nikon makes such awful products!! July 12, 2012
Do not buy this camera I bought this camera the day after my other broke; I needed something cheap to go on holiday with the next day, and just to have as a general travel camera. This was a mistake. I have only had it a few months and already the battery latch is broken. This is not just my product as I see other people have experienced the same problem. It feels cheap and plastic in your hands. Making a camera that uses BATTERIES is ridiculous. The camera eats batteries, plus makes it ridiculously heavy. The camera simply cannot focus. There is a constant whirring noise whenever it is on as it struggles to do so, however it rarely does. Photos are often over-exposed. It CANNOT take indoor photos. Even on the "indoor setting" or "party mode" which apparently just means that the camera doesn't use the flash. The photos then come out blurry, grainy and just altogether bad quality. The colours are also awful; giving everyone a weird yellow tinge. If the flash is used inside the colours become worse and everyone is surrounded by hazy darkness, yet they are unattractively washed out. The zoom is terrible. Do not even both trying to zoom in on anything. It is just a terrible camera. Do not buy! June 6, 2012
Worst camera I have ever owned! I bought this camera because we needed a quick and easy camera for field trips, etc. I should have read all the reviews. We have had this camera for 7 months and the battery compartment latch is broken. Cheap piece of junk! Not to mention it blows thru batteries. Picture quality is poor, settings are inconsistant. I take a ton of pics, and I would rather haul around my Canon and all it's lenses than deal with this one. I have always owned a Canon, and now I know why. The worst part, to get it fixed under warranty, we had to pay to ship it back to Nikon. May 17, 2012
Battery Door Breaks / Blurry Pics Very disappointed in this product. I gave it to my daughter as a gift and after a year the battery door latch is broken and requires tape to keep it closed. Also this unit burns batteries with little output. Lastly the photos are blurry and slow and you often miss the chance so to speak. I thought the Nikon name stood for quality however not with this model. Stay away from this model. My 10 year old fuji digital is a much better camera. April 9, 2012
Will Not Focus - Blurry images I purchased this camera for my daughter. I had researched the model and thought it would be perfect for her. What a mistake. This camera has a terrible time focusing, no matter what one does, 9 out of 10 pics will be blurry or grainy. I wish I could return or exchange it. What a waste of money! April 3, 2012
Apparently inconsistent Quality Control All I can say, from my own experience with my L24 and from reading the previous reviews here is that there apparently is inconsistent Quality Control when manufacturing this camera. Some people love it. Some people hate it. I am in the hating group. I am not new to camera's. I am a semi-pro and shoot primarily with a Nikon D7000 but I wanted something small to carry around in a pocket. I trust the Nikon name. My L24 was absolutely terrible. The photo's were poorly exposed and almost always blurry. I gave it away to one of my kids friends. It's too bad because I wanted to trust the Nikon name for a nice point-and-shoot camera but I won't. I'll stick with my D7000 (one of the best digital SLR's on the market) but I will never buy another Nikon point-and-shoot. February 17, 2012
Unreliable batteries drain without use or warning This is the worst camera I have ever purchased. I relied on the Nikon name but that proved unfortunate. I purchased right before 3 extended trips, wanting a convenvient small camera for easy quick shots. What disappointment endless missed shots when the batteries were discharged even when fresh batteries had only been used for a few pictures the day before. Worst purchase decision of 2012 and worst camera decision ever. December 10, 2011
SERIOUSLY!! Don't bother ! i bought this camera out of interest my whole family loves Nikon cameras so when black Friday strolled in bam i scored this cam for its half retail price but 2 days later after just setting it on my counter, i came back to pic it up and the batteries fell out, the battery latch broke like really JUST LIKE THAT. What a wussy camera my cannon( 5years old ) and Kodak(3years old) have taken more beating from our outings and children and still work perfectly , wish i hadn't bought this on a whim and read all the reviews with the same problems. now my warranty wont cover it WHAT im not paying 60+ dollars for a piece of plastic to be replaced!! . DUCK TAPE IT IS !! November 28, 2011
VERY DISAPPOINTED!!! After using the camera twice, I was downloading the pictures onto my computer and when I was finished, I unplugged it and it started clicking. There was a line across the screen that blocked out half the screen. I read another review that said it happened to them and Nikon wouldn't cover it. That is too much money to spend on a camera that you used twice. I'm going to send it in at my own expense and I hope they will repair it. I'm very disappointed in this product. November 24, 2011
Worst camera EVER!! This is the worst camera that I have ever had! Takes to long to flash and when something goes wrong with it the customer service people say "charge the battery!!" The battery is fully charged and it still does not work! November 18, 2011
worst point & shoot I have owned i have missed way to many photos cause of this camera... flash takes forever to charge... on some settings flash wont work when i need it so i get a under developed blurry shot or i get a over exposed photo when it gives to much light.. camera has been used less then 10 times & i want to THROW IT OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!! November 14, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
69 Questions | 82 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
69 Questions | 82 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
3 Answers

I recharged the battery, but later it said battery exhausted???/

Mar 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unless you have purchased aftermarket batteries for your L24, they are not rechargeable.....they are everyday AA's.......that is the beauty of this camera.....inexpensive batteries and memory, that are available anywhere! Even rechargeable AA's are inexpensive, and available everywhere.......
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The L24 does not have a built-in rechargeable battery. If you were using NiMH type rechargeable AA batteries, most will self-discharge in between 1 and 3 months, and will need to be recharged periodically, even if they are not used.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To ensure that the camera shows the correct battery level and proper functionality, choose the type of batteries you are using. See page # 103 of the User's Manual of your camera.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

how to switch from internal memory to memory card?

Apr 22, 2011 by
by
jamie
evansville
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
jamie
evansville
Location : 
evansville
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
the battery compartment has an "SanDisk" or SDHC memory card slot.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
If a memory card is inserted in the camera, pictures are automatically stored on the memory card. Remove the memory car to store pictures in the internal memory.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

can i get a copy of the manual on line?

Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Gordie
San Diego
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Gordie
San Diego
Location : 
San Diego
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
try googling COOLPIX L24 manual
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
EbbeL

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Answer Title: User's Manual - Nikon COOLPIX L24 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I have an L24 that I purchaced yesterday and the software cd does not load. How do I get the software to load so I can download my pictures to my computer?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Greusome
Fla
Location : 
Fla
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
put the disc in your computer and get your computer drives display up by pressing the start icon and then point to your drive letter and display and click on it. cd should start up
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can download from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2 in order to transfer the pictures from your camera to your pc. See link below:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

Can the Nikon COOLPIX L24 take underwater pictures?

Jul 11, 2011 by
by
Lulu
Houston
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I was wondering if this camera can take pictures underwater so I can take some pictures with my family at the pool
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Lulu
Houston
Location : 
Houston
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I purchased a Clamshell underwater housing for my L24 it is rated for a maximum depth of 130 feet---I also purchased a double handle frame setup for it from beneath the Surface and a video light from Light & Motion the sola 600 total investment was 1100.00--took entire rig to the Dominican Republic in November for a 35 day stay at Caribbean dive college in El Cortecito, first time out took it to 29 feet on top of a coral reef at Catalina Island DR and shot stills. used the sports setting and turned off flash, the pictures are beautiful--then proceeded down to 98 feet, no problems, more great hotos. 2nd dive was in 45 feet of water on the other side of Catalina Is. used same setting---got lots of colrful coral shots. adjusted the red back in with photoshop, also adjusted the white balance using the computer. a week later set the camera for photo mode and entered a freshwater cave and shot about 65 photos in 25 minutes. learned that you need to stabilize yourself more in clear water. some of the shots were blurry from motion. a week later returned to same cave and used video mode and shot a very clear beautiful video 25 mins long another two 13 mins long and a video above water at a coffee plantation... I have since gone and bought two more L24's because they are on special at 79.00 each at best buy and I like the camera
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Jan 4, 2012 by
by
chompypie
Spring City, PA, USA
Location : 
Spring City, PA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Only if you put it in some form of underwater housing.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

what size SDHC card? micro?

Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Joey
in Best Buy looking at Cameras :(
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
my $50 card from my Broken Sony won't fit. The $100 disposable Sony "Point & Cicks" break every year, so I just re-use the flash card over and over. The Camera guy at Best Buy said the Nikon won't break, but now, do I need to spend another $50 to get a different card? The internal Nikon memory only holds two or three pictures. that's crazy!
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Joey
in Best Buy looking at Cameras :(
Location : 
in Best Buy looking at Cameras :(
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sony cameras take a different type of flash memory, MemoryStick Pro vs SDHC. While the slot appears to be the same one is not compatable with the other.
Sep 4, 2011 by
by
broiled
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information on approved memory cards for your camera.
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix L24
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

Nikon COOLPIX L24.external memory upto how much?

Aug 22, 2011 by
by
nura
vellore
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
nura
vellore
Location : 
vellore
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
EXternal memory? depends on how big your memory card is. Internal memory is very small, usually less then 10 pictures at a time.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Conelight
Indianapolis
Location : 
Indianapolis
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link belor for information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix L24
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

How can I disable the flash on the camera?

Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
or put a piece of black electrical tape over it
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
globalphotobank

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page # 28 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX L24, for information about using the flash.
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

How long (in minutes) can the L24 film in video mode?

Sep 1, 2011 by
by
Pat
Michigan
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Pat
Michigan
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I got 29 minutes at a time from an 8 GB card.
Sep 8, 2011 by
by
steve
PA
Location : 
PA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The maximum file size for a single movie is 2GB or the maximum movie length for a single movie is 29 minutes, even when there is sufficient free space on the memory card for longer recording.
Sep 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

Is it possible to use it as a live WebCam.

Sep 30, 2011 by
by
Billy
Rio Grande City, Texas
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can i use the camera as a live WebCam.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Billy
Rio Grande City, Texas
Location : 
Rio Grande City, Texas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Most cameras can't be used as webcams.. you can get a cheap and usable webcam elsewhere.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Conelight
Indianapolis
Location : 
Indianapolis
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.
Sep 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers