Loading
COOLPIX L24 3.2 5 113 113
I love my nikon I recently took pictures of different events with my kids and they came out marvelous. I love it. It doesn't cost much and it takes great pictures! Great job NIKON!! April 14, 2011
Great Photos - SHARP! Convienient AA batteries I dropped my old L11 Nikon the other day, and after looking at different brands, I decided that the Nikon L24 had all of my favorite features. The ability to use non-proprietary, everyday AA batteries and SD cards can't be minimized. Seems that a rechargable always goes flat at an inconvienient time. You can pick up spare AA's and SD's anywhere. I use Ebay, and this camera allows great detail photos that enlarge really well...... I can't believe others gave it a less than stellar review. It is 5 stars in my book, an unbelieveably capable camera at an unbelieveable low price! April 13, 2011
Love this camera! This camera is great for travel and takes fantastic photos. I am always impressed with the quality of the photos. The small size makes it a must-have for trips. October 14, 2013
First Digital My first digital camera. Love it! So easy to use and load onto my computer. Light weight as well Directions were easy to follow and I got it on sale!! April 15, 2012
Good Camera for a low price I took this camera to Spain, and it captured some really great shots - and it was good for foreign travel because I didn't need to buy a wall adapter, just a lot of batteries because I took lots of pictures! I used all of the specialty settings (like beach, party, etc.) and they all came out fantastic. March 23, 2012
Great price,great camera,great pics. I bought this camera right before Christmas and used it with ease.It's easy to operate an I NEVER like to read instructions,so it's easy for me to figure out.I'ts easy to carry,lightweight.I chose Nikon for the reputation/experience in cameras. February 19, 2012
Nikonpro I also got this camera as a Christmas gift. We played with it right away! Used it for video, many candid shots. Have no complaints and it's fun to use. February 10, 2012
Good camera for a beginner Purchased this camera in Sept. 2011, at a Wal-mart while on a trip. This is a great little camera for someone who is just getting into photography. It is a very reliable camera that takes very good pictures. The sound quality on the video could be a bit better, but it is good for a cheap camera. I love the panorama assist, it is very easy to use. Overall, the camera is easy to set up and use. January 25, 2012
A nice camera Recieved it as a christas gift and i just love it . Pictures are bright, camera is light weight and very easy to use January 12, 2012
smart,handy ,nice display screen,battery economy Beautiful , handy product which is user friendly and has a nice screen display, battery life is sufficient for non professional users There is a problem with images transfer December 11, 2011
Still Learning I'm still learning all the features of my new camera, but I am very excited that it is so EASY to use! I love that it uses "regular" batteries and the pictures have been coming out crisp and clear. My kids bought this camera for my birthday. The only thing I wish it had was more of a zoom lens. But even at the maximum zoom of 3.5 - the pictures are nice and clear. I am very satisfied and happy with my Nikon! November 14, 2011
Great camera for the price. Good battery life, and the picture quality is great. The controls are similar to my Nikon SLR so I was able to use it right away. The software was also compatible to my SLR. November 11, 2011
Ease of use and product features at a reasonable having recently purchased the L24 coolpix I am thoroughly satisfied with it's preformance and ease of operation-The picutures taken with this camera are very crisp and lifelike-I would recommend this model anytiome October 28, 2011
Nice little camera takes good quality pictures, nice small size, easy to use. Slow recovery time between pictures. Worth the price October 15, 2011
Easy to use I bought the camera a couple of days before a major trip. I haven't used a camera a lot before, so I needed something easy to learn to use. I also wanted a unit for which I could easily change batteries--not a special battery unit. This uses 2 AA batteries, which I could buy anywhere. The photos are great, and the camera is lightweight. The photos were easy to convert from the standard SD card to my laptop. Photos and videos are good. I do need to learn about the many options available for focusing. October 15, 2011
Mostly good, one small glitch. I haven't had time to learn all the bells and whistles yet, but I like what I have been able to discover so far. It is small, but does a lot. Having trouble with the time stamp. It keeps reversing AM and PM even though I have the time zone and date set correctly. September 27, 2011
Good product for the price This product has all the bells & whistles you want for a novice end-user that doesn't want to break the bank to purchase a digital/video camera. It's relatively user-friendly. Photo quality is great. The only downfall would be the batteries. They run out too fast & there isn't an option for something different (AC vs. batteries for example). If this took a higher grade of battery, one could travel easier with it. As it stands now, one has to carry an 8-16 pack of batteries on any kind of lengthy trip to avoid making a 911-trip to the store. August 19, 2011
Overall - a nice product I bought the Nikon CoolPix L24 on a whim. It was on sale at a local super-store for a very attractive price & I thought I'd give it a try. On all functions, I have had some very impressive results. I do, however, want to add the following points. The included documentation was rather inadequate. My biggest bark about the camera is the battery door - not designed right at all - it is a hassle to open & close. July 20, 2011
I loved this camera The only problem I had with this camera was that the battery compartment opened very easily (But thats probably just because I dropped it a couple times) Clearly it was a good camera because mine was stolen. I hope I can get a new one soon as I used it fro school. July 3, 2011
Overall good camera. This camera takes good pictures and is pretty durable from what I have experienced. I have trouble getting it to take good pictures without a flash. And a few months after I got it the battery slot cover broke so now I have to use duct tape to get it to stay. But overall it takes good pictures and is a good camera. June 14, 2011
Easy use and convenience This product gives a very rich photo details when taken in bright light for a compact of 14 Mb file and very lightweight to carry around versus the DSLR a much heavier format.The prefect camera to have in the car glove compartment or carry around your waist all year round for excursions,camping,biking or for unexpected photo surprise or simply use as a second camera for indoor or outdoor shooting.Its features gives your full control of pictures light situation in manual or auto-mode.For more advanced photographer the EV is very useful to compensate to get the perfect pictures.The only cons are the missing RAW files and the connections for a remote cord release.This products is a two thumbs up for its size and features. May 17, 2011
Good Beginner Camera I have used this camera for a year and a half and have taken some very nice photos with it. Pros are the high resolution (14 MP), small size, and durability. Cons are that it is not very adjustable, photos are often blurry in low light without flash, and it has a slow response time. I would recommend this camera for a beginner. December 1, 2012
Picture Quality and Card Battery Door I took the camera on a long trip and had very good results. However, on returning home, the card/battery chamber door broke and would not stay closed. I thought I had done something wrong, but after reading all the review here with battery/card door problems I wonder. I had the camera repaired by Nikon. I thought the price was high. for example, shipping is very high. they could have shipped it for less than half of what they charged me if they had used the post offices flat rate boxes. Note: I tried ducktape, etc to fix the camera door without good results. So like the camera, but not the total experience. I think they sent me a new camera rather than repairing the old. I will test it before my next trip February 21, 2012
Not quick This camera is very slow to do anything. For a household camera I am a little disappointed. It can not be used for anything where an exact moment is wanted for capture. Honestly my inexpensive cell phone is quicker to respond to photo opportunity. You push the button and wait for it to take the picture for over a second. My Puppy was doing something cute. I tried to capture the moment. The puppy was laying down. I pushed the button. The puppy was able to get up and playfully bound out of the frame before the picture snapped. I got bare floor. January 6, 2012
Good Camera it's an okay camera, but only for certain features. Some of the pictures are a little unsteady, even if the camera is held perfectly still, and other times, the picture is perfectly clear January 5, 2012
L24 GOOD BUT BATTERY DOOR IS WEAK LINK I find the L24 to be a good camera. 2 Double AA batteries is a plus for me. Battery life is ok. My one complaint is the battery door is very fragile and has broken when camera fell to the floor when closed. Efforts should be made to make this more robust in future models. January 4, 2012
A little thick Well i got this product a few weeks ago and i do really love the picture quality. It's actually very good. I love photography and this is great for beginners or someone on a budget. But i might be exchanging it for a little thinner camera because it's a bit thick, but it's a great camera December 26, 2011
i like my l24 camera but do not like i like my l24 camera but was disterssed i did not recieve a manual with the camera. November 3, 2011
This camera is simple to use & takes fairly clear photos. My specific camera had been used a little over a week when the viewing screen quit working. To be fair, I'm not certain whether it was defective or if I did something to cause the problem. I was unable to get any help online, but by using the toll-free number VERY EXCELLENT help was given with instructions on how to send it back for repair. Will see what happens from here. October 14, 2011
overall good handy camera....good value for money...but needed more features September 12, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
69 Questions | 82 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
69 Questions | 82 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
3 Answers

I recharged the battery, but later it said battery exhausted???/

Mar 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unless you have purchased aftermarket batteries for your L24, they are not rechargeable.....they are everyday AA's.......that is the beauty of this camera.....inexpensive batteries and memory, that are available anywhere! Even rechargeable AA's are inexpensive, and available everywhere.......
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The L24 does not have a built-in rechargeable battery. If you were using NiMH type rechargeable AA batteries, most will self-discharge in between 1 and 3 months, and will need to be recharged periodically, even if they are not used.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To ensure that the camera shows the correct battery level and proper functionality, choose the type of batteries you are using. See page # 103 of the User's Manual of your camera.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

how to switch from internal memory to memory card?

Apr 22, 2011 by
by
jamie
evansville
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
jamie
evansville
Location : 
evansville
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
the battery compartment has an "SanDisk" or SDHC memory card slot.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
If a memory card is inserted in the camera, pictures are automatically stored on the memory card. Remove the memory car to store pictures in the internal memory.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

can i get a copy of the manual on line?

Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Gordie
San Diego
Has staff answer
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Gordie
San Diego
Location : 
San Diego
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
try googling COOLPIX L24 manual
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
EbbeL

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Answer Title: User's Manual - Nikon COOLPIX L24 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I have an L24 that I purchaced yesterday and the software cd does not load. How do I get the software to load so I can download my pictures to my computer?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Greusome
Fla
Location : 
Fla
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
put the disc in your computer and get your computer drives display up by pressing the start icon and then point to your drive letter and display and click on it. cd should start up
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can download from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2 in order to transfer the pictures from your camera to your pc. See link below:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

Can the Nikon COOLPIX L24 take underwater pictures?

Jul 11, 2011 by
by
Lulu
Houston
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I was wondering if this camera can take pictures underwater so I can take some pictures with my family at the pool
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Lulu
Houston
Location : 
Houston
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I purchased a Clamshell underwater housing for my L24 it is rated for a maximum depth of 130 feet---I also purchased a double handle frame setup for it from beneath the Surface and a video light from Light & Motion the sola 600 total investment was 1100.00--took entire rig to the Dominican Republic in November for a 35 day stay at Caribbean dive college in El Cortecito, first time out took it to 29 feet on top of a coral reef at Catalina Island DR and shot stills. used the sports setting and turned off flash, the pictures are beautiful--then proceeded down to 98 feet, no problems, more great hotos. 2nd dive was in 45 feet of water on the other side of Catalina Is. used same setting---got lots of colrful coral shots. adjusted the red back in with photoshop, also adjusted the white balance using the computer. a week later set the camera for photo mode and entered a freshwater cave and shot about 65 photos in 25 minutes. learned that you need to stabilize yourself more in clear water. some of the shots were blurry from motion. a week later returned to same cave and used video mode and shot a very clear beautiful video 25 mins long another two 13 mins long and a video above water at a coffee plantation... I have since gone and bought two more L24's because they are on special at 79.00 each at best buy and I like the camera
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Jan 4, 2012 by
by
chompypie
Spring City, PA, USA
Location : 
Spring City, PA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Only if you put it in some form of underwater housing.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

what size SDHC card? micro?

Aug 5, 2011 by
by
Joey
in Best Buy looking at Cameras :(
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
my $50 card from my Broken Sony won't fit. The $100 disposable Sony "Point & Cicks" break every year, so I just re-use the flash card over and over. The Camera guy at Best Buy said the Nikon won't break, but now, do I need to spend another $50 to get a different card? The internal Nikon memory only holds two or three pictures. that's crazy!
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Joey
in Best Buy looking at Cameras :(
Location : 
in Best Buy looking at Cameras :(
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sony cameras take a different type of flash memory, MemoryStick Pro vs SDHC. While the slot appears to be the same one is not compatable with the other.
Sep 4, 2011 by
by
broiled
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information on approved memory cards for your camera.
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix L24
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

Nikon COOLPIX L24.external memory upto how much?

Aug 22, 2011 by
by
nura
vellore
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
nura
vellore
Location : 
vellore
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
EXternal memory? depends on how big your memory card is. Internal memory is very small, usually less then 10 pictures at a time.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Conelight
Indianapolis
Location : 
Indianapolis
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link belor for information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix L24
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

How can I disable the flash on the camera?

Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
or put a piece of black electrical tape over it
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
globalphotobank

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page # 28 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX L24, for information about using the flash.
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

How long (in minutes) can the L24 film in video mode?

Sep 1, 2011 by
by
Pat
Michigan
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
Pat
Michigan
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I got 29 minutes at a time from an 8 GB card.
Sep 8, 2011 by
by
steve
PA
Location : 
PA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The maximum file size for a single movie is 2GB or the maximum movie length for a single movie is 29 minutes, even when there is sufficient free space on the memory card for longer recording.
Sep 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX L24
 
2 Answers

Is it possible to use it as a live WebCam.

Sep 30, 2011 by
by
Billy
Rio Grande City, Texas
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can i use the camera as a live WebCam.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Billy
Rio Grande City, Texas
Location : 
Rio Grande City, Texas
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Most cameras can't be used as webcams.. you can get a cheap and usable webcam elsewhere.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Conelight
Indianapolis
Location : 
Indianapolis
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.
Sep 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers