Loading
Superior Image Quality
10.1-megapixel, large 1/1.7-inch CCD sensor
for stunning images.
5-way VR Image Stabilization System
  • Optical VR Image Stabilization by lens shift minimizes the effects of camera shake.
  • Hybrid VR Image stabilization by lens shift and electronic VR.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO to compensate for camera shake and subject movement. 
  • High ISO up to 6400 at full resolution for optimum results when shooting in low light or photographing fast-moving subjects.
  • Nikon’s Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to ten shots while the shutter is pressed, then selects and saves the sharpest image.
EXPEED C2 continues to expand the possibilities of photography with improved levels of image quality, fine detail and processing speed. Custom-optimized for each COOLPIX model, Nikon’s renowned digital image processing engine ensures outstanding images.
Creative Control
  • Dial controls for key functions including ISO, white balance, bracketing, exposure compensation and more.
  • PSAM (Program, Shutter, Aperture, Manual) exposure control, custom function control.
  • ISO can be set as high as 6400 at full resolution; 12,800 in Low noise Night Mode (3-Megapixel).
  • Tone Level Information provides photographers with 9 levels of grey scale information about the scene for fine exposure analysis according to user’s creative needs.
  • In-camera editing functions include Exposure Compensation, COOLPIX Picture Control, Noise Reduction Filter, Quick Retouch, D-Lighting and Active D-Lighting.
  • Electronic Virtual Horizon Display enables precise leveling of the camera in landscape or portrait orientation during LCD monitor shooting.
  • COOLPIX Picture Control can be customized for Image Sharpening, Contrast, Saturation, Filter Effects, and Tone.
High-Speed Performance
  • Ultra-fast start-up, autofocus and shooting.
  • Subject Tracking tracks a moving subject to ensure sharp focus.
  • Shoot Continuously up to 45 pictures at approx. 1.3 fps at full resolution.
  • Interval Timer Shooting captures images at specified time intervals
7.1x Wide-Angle Optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens. Versatile 28-200mm lens ranges wide to capture landscapes, zooms in to get close to the action. In the NIKKOR tradition of precision optics, the high-quality ED glass lens delivers superb color and razor-sharp results.
RAW file function compatible with Mac® and Windows®.
Microsoft®, Windows® and Windows Vista™ are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries. Macintosh®, Mac OS® are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries.
Advanced Functions
  • 3-inch Ultra-High Resolution (921,000-dot) Clear Color Display for still images and movies that come alive with rich detail and improved contrast. The large LCD's wide viewing angle and anti-glare coating make it easy to compose, view and share pictures.
  • Large Optical viewfinder with diopter adjustment dial.
  • Remote control operation with optional wireless ML-L3.
  • Optional Wide Angle Converter (WC-E75A) for 21mm coverage (requires UR-E22 adapter ring)
HD Movie Recording
HD (720p) Movie with Stereo, Mic Input Jack and HDMI Output
. Records at 24 fps with Zoom, Autofocus and stereo sound. Mic Input Jack allows for optional microphone to be used during recording and HDMI output allows easy in-camera playback or convenient playback on HD-TV or computer.
Convenient Features
  • Smart Portrait System
    • Smile Timer automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles.
    • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically corrects most instances of red-eye as you shoot. You may never see red-eye again.
    • Face-Priority AF. Nikon’s face-finding technology automatically detects up to 12 faces.
    • Skin Softening smoothes skin tones at three different levels for optimal portraits; can be applied while shooting or during playback.
    • Blink Warning alerts you if a subject has blinked. 
  • Built-in Flash plus i-TTL Flash function when used with optional Nikon Speedlight System.
  • 18 Scene Modes, including Scene Auto Selector, for optimized shooting in a variety of settings and situations. 
  • Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene you're shooting and selects the most appropriate scene mode; offers six scene modes plus auto.
  • Macro shooting as close as 0.8 inches.
  • 350 still shots (approx.) with supplied EN-EL 14 Li-ion rechargeable battery.
COOLPIX P7000 4 5 312 312
Non-Intimidating Small High Quality Camera+Video Wanted a smaller camera to carry without all the fuss - wanted the same zoom range as my 18-200 Nikkor and same qualitiy as my Nikon SLRs. This camera has it all, mine has been updated to latest firmware and works just fine, no focus problems. What I really enjoy is that it does not intimidate people like a big SLR even when using video and it works perfectly for smaller events like family celebrations, etc. You can keep it on the dinner table and not worry about how much room it takes - having something you carry with you is always better than something to big to carry for the event. The camera in a good bag with spare battery is the same weight and size as 50mm lens with hood. It has many great features which allow it to shoot in maunal or auto modes plus use my 400 or 600 series flashes. February 4, 2011
Excellent point and shoot. Exceptional point and shoot that is easy to carry and a nice substitute when you don't want to carry your DSLR. February 4, 2011
Awesome quality shot, even my wife can make! I purchased this camera for taking photos and don't want to carry around my D300s. I love it. The picture quality is excellent. The menu's and set up are user friendly and the camera feels great in the hand. Even my wife can pick up this camera and take great photos, unlike with other point and shoots! February 4, 2011
THIS is my number one A REAL WINNER,,DOES IT ALL WITH EASE...MY STABLE OF OTHER CAMERAS.(ALL GOOD), ARE JUST WAITING..MY P7000 IS #1 TAKE ALONG,,NUFF SAID !!!!!. February 3, 2011
COMPACT PROFESSIONAL Purchased the NIKON COOLPIX P7000 camera with intention of carrying COMPACT PROFESSIONAL DIGITAL CAMERA...very satisfied with acquisition! Would appreciate still faster RAW IMAGE CAPTURE despite install and upgrade to version 1.1 firmware for COOLPIX P7000! Perhaps NIKON could market similar size camera but with LARGER IMAGE SENSOR coupled with RAPID RAW IMAGE CAPTURE? February 3, 2011
Excellent travel camera I am fortunate to be able to travel widely and have carried film and digital cameras all over the world. As I have grown older, this burden ( two Nikon camera bodies, half a dozen lenses, tripod, flashes, etc.) has become too much for me and I hate to share it with my spouse. While planning for a trip to Japan and Singapore recently, I decided to lighten my load and do more photographing and less schlepping.. Enter the Coolpix P7000! Light in weight, feature-filled and beautifully made. Perfect for travel photography with its wide angle lens and while it is not SLR-quick, it is faster than having to get that big puppy out of the bag and shooting. The pictures are great, the wife is happy and I have discovered a new realm of photography! February 3, 2011
Excellent product Excellent product! Has all the features imaginable and not just through menu operations, but with external buttons and dials. Ideal second camera! February 2, 2011
Best compact camera, that I have ever used. I honestly recommend the P7000. It has exceed my expectations. The quality of the pictures are outstanding. February 2, 2011
Outstanding Small Camera. The Nikon P7000 is an easy to carry and easy to use digital camera. You can set it on auto mode for casual photography or use the full range of controls to make professional level photos. The P7000 is a step above your average point and shoot but is small enough to take anywhere. While it has a built-in flash, I also use my Nikon SB400 when I need more light. The P7000 can easily serve as your only camera or as a backup to your DSLR. You will not be disappointed with the Nikon P7000. February 2, 2011
Nice, compact, and easy. I have owned Leica for most of my professional career, and I was reluctant to switch to Nikon for digital. Since I purchased the D700 I was captivated from the instant. I now proudly own a P7000 as a walk around camera. Easy to use, and more compact than I could imagine. The image quality is rich and colorful as if I'm shooting a full frame! Well done Nikon. February 1, 2011
Awesome coolpix Fantastic camera for everyday use, I use it in JPGE and Video HD, I´ve made greats pictures and movies. It is strong, lovely design and a lot of features, it has a firmware 1.1. Fast focus, a little slow processing but this O.K. To me. It is nice carry it in my belt everytime I want to. February 1, 2011
Takes great pictures. I wanted a camera smaller than my Nikon D5000 to take with me skiing and biking. The regular point and shoot cameras, although smaller than the P7000, have too few adjustment to address different lighting conditions; have a very small sensor; and mediocre lenses. The P7000 has a very nice lens, larger sensor and enough adjustable features to address most conditions. It is a great second camera for light travel. February 1, 2011
This product is exactly what I needed for travel. I purchased this camera for my trip to Europe. I did not want to have to carry my D300 with me while touring. This camera is easy to carry but has all the features needed to take great pictures in a variety of conditions including no flash for indoor pictures in museums, etc. It is ready to take pictures instantly and the battery has a very long life. I am extremely happy with my purchase. February 1, 2011
His weak points but overall excellent First - I have absolutely no regrets about buying this camera. I am a DSLR User - an avid amateur. I am a member of the Delaware Photographic Society (DPS) and a member of the Photographic Society of America (PSA). My review is from the view point of someone who wanted a camera I could easily carry with me wherever I went, not as someone who bought the camera as a primary camera — my D300 fills that role. Pros: The camera has a viewfinder which is my preferred method of shooting. The camera will take pictures in the RAW format (NRW type files) which is my preferred format for shooting. The P7000 is compact, easy to carry with me and unobtrusive when I am wearing it on my belt. True it will not fit in my pocket, but that is not the kind of camera I wanted. In my opinion, this is a serious camera that avid amateurs and professional photographers alike will find very useful. The pictures coming from the camera are beautiful. The camera has 3 user defined modes which when I set them up enables me to set the camera for my standard shooting situations without having to play in the menus. I find that feature to an enormous time (and picture) saver. I also like the ability to set the camera for the various shooting modes (aperture or shutter speed priority, manual mode, and the program mode). I don't usually use the fully automatic mode, or the scene modes. I like the ease with which I can set the ISO Sensitivity, white balance, and quality (file format). The on camera flash is effective, but since I can use Nikon's creative lighting system I can also use my SB400 AND SB800 flash units to make my flash pictures better yet. There are some more advanced features of the Lighting System that are not available, but this is not the camera to use them with from the outset, it simply was not designed to work that way. Simply stated the speed lights work well with the camera in all their basic functions (including TTL) and that is very good. Also the flash operation selector is very easy to use (fill flash, full flash, slow synch, and rear curtain synch). The lens is good and the zoom factor 28 - 200 mm is more than adequate for any normal use. I both like and dislike the exposure compensation wheel on the top of the camera. I like that it is so easy to set the exposure compensation, but I dislike that the wheel turns so easily. I would have liked to see a positive lock for the wheel. On the other hand since I shoot raw so adjusting the exposure in post processing is easy so that is not much of a problem to me. I find the large LCD to be wonderful, and very easy to use — better in some ways than my D300 especially in bright sunlight. To me the controls are easy to use and well placed. Cons: There are four for me. As I mentioned the ease with which the exposure compensation wheel can be turned accidentally. The view finder can be somewhat clunky to use, but not prohibitive. The next is really applicable to all point and shoot type cameras and that is shutter lag. I found that for action type photography I had to hold the shutter button half way down to allow the camera to set itself up and then anticipate when I wanted to take the picture. I have been spoiled by my DSLR whose shutter lag is so short as to be virtually instantaneous. However, as I said, shutter lag is a characteristic of these cameras and this one is better than most I have used in that area. Lastly I would have loved to see some sort of a battery meter in the camera. Not just - oops I am dead but something like my D300 - percentage of the battery charge remaining, where it possible to do so - perhaps added in a future firmware upgrade (please Nikon ???). Conclusion: a very nice camera and well worth the money I paid. Were I to break this one, or perhaps to drop it into a stream I would buy another to replace it. In short I highly recommend this camera. February 1, 2011
Wonderful piece of machinery It's great to have a handy little camera with all the hi tech settings available that the best SLR'S have and not be burdened lugging around all the equipment they require. Unfortunately I missed out on the free remote. It would be greatly appreciated if you would be so kind as to send me one. Thanks. February 1, 2011
Great camera Before purchasing, I compared with the Canon G12. My prior experience with a Nikon P&S, led me to purchase this one instead of the Canon. The feel in your hands is great. For my first real outing, I put a wrist strap on the camera and shot for 3 days in San Francisco. The quality of the photos are really good. I was able to do many, more advanced shots than with a normal point and shoot. I highly recommend to anyone who wants more than a point and shoot camera. February 1, 2011
A nice "pro" point and shoot Got this right after my P6000 was stolen. Glad I did. Adjustments and settings more intuitive, easier. Longer lens than the 6000. A nice travel and carry camera that's at home in my pro bag. February 1, 2011
Great RAW compact A great pocket camera when you can't carry your DSLR. The zoom range is great. The focus is a little slow as is the RAW capture but heck it's not a DSLR. February 1, 2011
Easy, fast and accurate The ergonomics of this camera are well thought of. All important functions are instantly available from the large knobs on the case making them quick and easy to use even with small gloves. The quality of close ups, up to 800 ISO is impressive. The manual White Balance setting is excellent. The optional focal length presets that you can switch on are a great idea. The screen is powerful enough so that you can adjust the settings for your next shot if need be, very clear. Extra light and easy to use making it a great small camera with big capabilities that you can take anywhere you go. February 1, 2011
Excellent companion! I recently purchased this camera to have as a scouting camera to scout locations for pre and post wedding and engagement shoot, now I don't leave home without it. It has a great range in focal length and the resolution and low light rendering is just awesome. Very good HD video capture makes capturing high quality videos a breeze. Easy to use controls is one thing that I personally have a hard time finding in a compact camera and I would say this is the answer to that. The only thing I miss from my dslr is the constant (fixed) aperture, other than that this is a light weight pocket camera and makes an excellent companion to my D3 and D700. February 1, 2011
The perfect camera. I've owned many cameras over the last 45 years, Minolta, Pentex, Canon and other SLR Nikons. But I think this is the best so far. Smaller than a DSL but heftier than a compact, just the right weight and size for me. The images are extraordinary and it's very user-friendly. I would recommend this camera to anyone, whether they're a serious photographer or just want to step up from a compact model. February 1, 2011
Best yet A very well designed product that performs marvelously. Glad I chose this product; have not been disappointed. If it had a f1.8 or 2.0 lens, it would be perfect! Extremely flexible, and it takes great pictures! February 1, 2011
Great camera I bought this camera after using the P6000 for 2 years. I like the 10mp instead of 14mp offered with the P6000 because images are sharper. The 200mm zoom is excellent. I shot some pictures of planes taking off from the airport and I was amazed to see how sharp they were. I mostly take landscape and travel pictures. This camera is compact, strong, and I like the manual settings, which I use very often unless I am in a hurry. But, since it's still a small camera, it's easy to be confused and hit the wrong button. But that's what happen with a small camera and I still don't mind because size is important to me. When I first bought the P7000 I had numerous problems with the camera "freezing". I had to remove the battery for the camera to restart. The problem was severe but I returned the camera and never had the problem happening with the new camera. Occasionally I experience some difficulty with the focus. My understanding is that the new firmware fixed that but I have not had a chance to test it. I did install it, but had no opportunities for picture taking the the new firmware. The RAW file is slow to register, but I new that and I accept that since this camera is still not a DSLR and will have some limitations, obviously. The new firmware seems to have reduce this lag time. Overall it's an excellent point and shoot camera with many settings allowing the photographer to be creative. Pictures are very sharp and the zoom is excellent. In general it's a pretty fast camera, and an improvement over the P6000. The P7000 can hold battery power much longer. One more point: I kept my P6000 for the GPS. I miss the GPS on the P7000 and that's because I like to do field work with the camera sometimes. February 1, 2011
Excellent camera. Great camera. Im using it more than my D80. would highly recommend this camera. February 1, 2011
Great addition to my gear i love the features and quality of this camera. It has been a great addition to my D700. Love it!! February 1, 2011
Nice Compact Camera I bought this as a light camera to use on vacations instead of lugging around my DSLR gear and to my pleasant surprise it took excellent pictures. Just as good as the Canon G12 I have, which I am debating about selling as it is a toss up between these two cameras. I recently took the P7000 on a trip to Santa Fe New Mexico and was amazed at what the camera produced, very similar shots to the Nikon SLRs I own, personally I think they got this camera right in comparison to the older P6000 which I sold a few months back. No Camera will ever be perfect, but this is getting close in its category. February 1, 2011
Nikon provides a glimpse of the future Simple to operate yet more full featured and customizable than the highest level of digital SLR. The perfect companion to the pro or semi-pro on the move or the serious street photographer who never wants to miss the decisive moment. This wonderous machine has the traditional Nikon feel in your hand - the controls are just where they ought to be and quickly accessible as circumstances change. There are special features rarely seen elsewhere: true optical eye level viewfinder, rear display where the details can be switched off, stunning low light capability, a Nikon zoom lens and color rendition that delivers. Great battery life, custom settings and it all fits in your shirt pocket or purse. My family owns 3. January 15, 2011
P7000 This is one slick camera. Does everything except wash the dishes. There is a learning curve to this, but it does put all point-shoot camers to shame. Plus, here's the best part. It has a viewfinder that works. Pricy, but I think it will be worth it. January 5, 2011
I've owned the Coolpix 5700 for 7 years & had eagerly awaited an upgrade. This P7000 is everything I had hoped for. It was slow in the making and I almost bought a Canon. Glad you decided to focus on those of us between "trying to look cool taking pictures" and "professional." December 27, 2010
This camera is amazing! I have read some of the reviews and got a little nervous about the purchase because of some of the freezing and locking up on the lens. I must say though after now owning the p7000 I am over joyed by the quality of pictures that it has produced. This camera with out a doubt has taken the point and shoot to a whole other level . The best of both worlds point and shoot and pro controls make my experience with the p7000 amazing light and easy. December 15, 2010
Page: 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12
<<prev | next>>
45 Questions | 83 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
45 Questions | 83 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7000
 
6 Answers

Does the P7000 have a black-and-white shooting mode?

Apr 8, 2011 by
by
Loren
Chicago
Has staff answer
+8points
9out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful1
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Loren
Chicago
6 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Go to Picture Control menu to find your answer.
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does. And its found in the Picture Control menu where you enable 'Monochrome' to begin your black-and-white photo assignments.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Lawrence
Singapore
Location : 
Singapore
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is a selection in the Picture Control part of the Menu.

The camera gives you a Standard, Neutral, Vivid, and Monochrome selection in Picture Control.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BCA
Southeast Alaska
Location : 
Southeast Alaska
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. In the Shooting Menu, you choose Picture Control and then Monochrome. It offers several nice features including the ability to add B/W filter effects approximating the use of a yellow, orange, red, or green filter. You can also control the final result so that it renders the monochrome image with a warm sepia tone or a cooler, selenium-toned look.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
P7000 Owner- Pro
Favorite Subject: Travel
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does, but if you shoot in raw you have the option for both and can choose later using a raw processing application like photoshop or capture one, even the nikon view software can do it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it does have the feature call Picture Control that will allow you to shoot in black and white (monochrome), Standard, Neutral and Vivid.
Apr 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7000
 
5 Answers

Is there a recall of the Coolpix P7000? If so what is the problem and is there a solution?

Mar 9, 2011 by
by
Tonyjz
Albany, NY
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
I read the reviews for this camera and was interested in purchasing it. I went to my local camera shop today, Wednesday 3/9/11, to purchase a Coolpix P7000, as it was on sale, and I was told that Nikon had recalled all of the P7000 cameras in that store, and all P7000 cameras in all of the stores in the chain nationwide.
I do not own the camera yet.
Thank you
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Tonyjz
Albany, NY
Location : 
Albany, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Read my review. That explains why the recall happened. I wish I had been as cautious as you. I bought one about the time you were looking. No one said anything about a recall!
Jun 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The only answer I can think of is that there is a firmware update available for this model that addresses several minor issues. I couldn't see Nikon issuing a recall for that though.
May 5, 2011 by
by
bfaling
Columbus, OH
Location : 
Columbus, OH
Age: 35-44

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
I was at a camera shop today (3/14/11), the sales associate told me the same thing. Hopefully there won't be too long of a wait for a comparable model to come out, I'm in the market right now.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
b truck
Orem, Utah
Location : 
Orem, Utah
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Seems like you got some bad info, there are no issues with the P7000 and it's still shipping to all of our dealers.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
New York

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like you got some bad info. There are no issues with the P7000 and it's still shipping to all of our dealers.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7000
 
5 Answers

Does i-ttl work with the SB-800 speedlight

Mar 18, 2011 by
by
Steve
Cape Cod
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Steve
Cape Cod
Location : 
Cape Cod
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It certainly does and quite well. The Nikon speedlight system is one of the real advantages this camera has over the Canon G12.
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
kjessop
Mountain West
Location : 
Mountain West
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The P7000 works great with the SB800. The flash tracks the lens. I believe it will work just like the SB900 in all features, except what is new on the SB900.
Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Ray
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The P7000 works with all current Nikon I-TTL Speed lights. I use the SB-400 with my P7000 and it works perfectly.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
UlyssesRider
Manassas, Virginia
Location : 
Manassas, Virginia
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it works on i-TTL Flash function when used with optional Nikon Speedlight System.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
What is the purpose of the removable ring at the base of the lens?
Is the lens removable for cleaning? By MFG or customer?
Is sand in the lens covered by warranty?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Ted v
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The removable ring can be detached to allow for usage of e.g. a fisheye converter. The lens is not removable and thus cannot be serviced/cleaned by the user.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I purchased a tube that attaches to the camera where the removable ring goes. The tube allows me to mount a circular polarizer. Corners are cut off in the image at wide angle settings but being able to use a polarizer is key.
Mar 29, 2011 by
by
PorkChopKid
Lancaster, PA
Location : 
Lancaster, PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The removable lens ring is to mount optional wide angle lens attachments. The lens is not removable. Sorry about the sand but sand and cameras generally do not mix unless the camera is completely sealed such as for use under water. I am afraid the warranty would not cover sand.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
GEA
Sacramento, CA
Location : 
Sacramento, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sand damage is not a manufactures issue so it won't be cover under the warranty. The ring at the base of the lens is to attach the Wide-angle adapter.
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7000
 
4 Answers

Can I use Adobe Bridge to download and view p7000 raw images?

Apr 7, 2011 by
by
George
Harleysville, pa
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
George
Harleysville, pa
Location : 
Harleysville, pa
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've only found this possible in the latest version of Photoshop (CS5)
Jun 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am not familiar with Adobe Bridge. I use an updated version of Capture NX2, version 2.2.6 to convert the P7000 "RAW" pictures to high quality JPEG format.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Greg
Washington DC
Location : 
Washington DC
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: How do I get my (third party) software to open Nikon NEF images?
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Go to Picture Control menu to find your answer.
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
In the Picture Control selection in Menu, you can select Standard, Neutral, Vivid, or Monochrome.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BCA
Southeast Alaska
Location : 
Southeast Alaska
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in either the P, S, A, or M settings.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it has both.
Apr 7, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7000
 
4 Answers

what is the best type of memory card for the p7000?

Apr 30, 2011 by
by
dan
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
i notice some mention *class* numbered 2 thru 10 and some say extreme and some say *Raw*
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
dan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am using Lexar SDHC 8GB, class 10 cards in both the P7000 and my D7000 and have no problems with them.
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
RMaze
Homer Glen, IL
Location : 
Homer Glen, IL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you shoot in Raw, get the fastest card you can afford. Also perform the firmware update. Without these two improvements the Raw read speed to the card is excruciatingly slow. I started using an Extreme III and it works great.
Jun 30, 2011 by
by
NormP
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Location : 
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Class 2 – SD video recording
Class 4 & 6 – HD and Full HD video recording
Class 10 – Full HD video recording and HD still consecutive recording
UHS Speed Class memory cards have full higher potential for recording real-time broadcasts and capturing large size HD video.
May 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix P7000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P7000
 
3 Answers

How can I get my P7000 to work with studio strobes?

Apr 18, 2011 by
by
John
Vt
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have tried a PC cord adapter in the hot shoe, but can't get the flash to fire. If there is not a way to do this currently, can this be addressed in a firmware update? This is a much needed feature.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
John
Vt
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I tried with an old Honeywell Stobonar. I used a slave on the strobe and used the Nikon built-in flash. I lowered the built-in flash to 1/64 power, just enough to set off the slave.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have you tried setting the camera to manual exposure and altering the flash settings in the menu? Havn't tried but I guess that's how you'd do it. May not be firing because the flash is set to the built in flash.
Jun 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You coud use pocket wizards or those cheap radio triggers that can be found on the auction site.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7000
 
3 Answers

Dark area in lower corner in frame

Apr 23, 2011 by
by
Evan
Cleveland Ohio
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I just got my P7000. LOVE IT!

I just got back from a trip and noticed one corner was developing a dark gradient. This is appearing on numerous pictures at different focal lengths. Any thoughts on why this is happening?

I included a picture with a red arrow to show where the problem is developing. This happens in vertical and horizontal pictures.

Thanks!

Evan
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Evan
Cleveland Ohio
Location : 
Cleveland Ohio
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Looks like you have the same issue I had. The lens...cover? blades? do not open all the way. Mine is back at Nikon for service. Note the same black gradient on my photo.
Aug 11, 2011 by
by
Mr. Robato
New York, NY
Location : 
New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
EVAN ,I HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, SOME TIMES THE LENS COVER BLADES STICK I HOPE WITH TIME THEY WILL BREAK IN. I THINK THIS IS IT.CHECK IT NEXT TIME YOU SHOOT,HOPE THIS HELPS.
May 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P7000
 
3 Answers

On the main screen it says lens error is there anything i can do to fix this?

Jun 6, 2011 by
by
Jamila
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Jamila
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've seen this too. So far, I've had to turn the camera off and back on to resolve it.

This message seems to come up when I've tried to focus in a tricky situation.
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
NikonBug
Seattle, WA
Location : 
Seattle, WA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If it shows lens error you are still on the initial firmware,you need to up date.
At times when it refuses to work the focus put the camera off and put on again,it should work the first time,if not press again.
The camera has a tendency to focus slightly behind the confirmed focus point.
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
R.D.I.
INDIA. Mumbai
Location : 
INDIA. Mumbai
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for troubleshooting information:
Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers