Loading
Superior Image Quality
12.1 -megapixel CMOS sensor for high speed operation and exceptional low-light performance.
4-way VR Image Stabilization System
  • Optical VR Image Stabilization by lens shift minimizes the effects of camera shake.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO to compensate for camera shake and subject movement. 
  • High ISO up to 3200 for optimum results when shooting in low light or photographing fast-moving subjects.
  • Nikon’s Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to ten shots while the shutter is pressed, then selects and saves the sharpest image.
Advanced Functions
  • 3-inch Ultra-High Resolution (921,000-dot) Clear Color Display for still images and movies that come alive with rich detail and improved contrast. The large LCD's wide viewing angle and anti-glare coating make it easy to compose, view and share pictures. 
  • Advanced low light shooting capability.
  • Shoot still images even while recording HD Movie.
Creative Control
  • Mode Dial for quick setting of key functions.
  • ISO can be set as high as 3200.
  • In-camera editing functions include Quick Retouch, and D-Lighting.
  • Creative Slider allows adjustment of brightness, saturation and color.
High Speed Performance
  • Ultra-fast start-up, autofocus and shooting.
  • High Speed Shooting capture 5 shots in approximately one second at full resolution.
  • Sport Continuous Shooting to capture fast action (reduced image size)
  • Shoot Slow Motion Movies up to 240 fps by selecting HS Movie mode (reduced image size)
  • Subject Tracking automatically tracks a moving subject to ensure sharp focus.
10x Wide-Angle Optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens. Versatile 30-300mm lens ranges wide to capture landscapes, zooms in to get close to the action. In the NIKKOR tradition of precision optics, the high-quality ED glass lens delivers superb color and razor-sharp results.
EXPEED C2 continues to expand the possibilities of photography with improved levels of image quality, fine detail and processing speed. Custom-optimized for each COOLPIX model, Nikon’s renowned digital image processing engine ensures outstanding images.
Convenient Features
  • Smart Portrait System
    • Smile Timer automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles.
    •  In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically corrects most instances of red-eye as you shoot. You may never see red-eye again.
    • Face-Priority AF. Nikon’s face-finding technology automatically detects up to 12 faces. 
    • Skin Softening smoothes skin tones at three different levels for optimal portraits; can be applied while shooting or during playback. 
    • Blink Warning alerts you if a subject has blinked.
  • 17 Scene modes including Scene Auto Selector
  • Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene you're shooting and selects the most appropriate scene mode; offers six scene modes plus auto.
  • Macro shooting as close as 0.4 inches.
  • 220 still shots (approx.) with supplied EN-EL12 Li-ion rechargeable battery.
HD Movie Recording
  • Full HD (1080p) Movie with Stereo and HDMI Output, optical Zoom control and stereo sound recording. HDMI output allows easy in-camera playback or convenient playback on HD-TV or computer. In-camera movie editing function also available. One-Touch record button for instant Movie recording.
COOLPIX S8100 3.7 5 528 528
Lasted long and a great beginner camera! I received this camera in 2010 and have used it ever since. We bought an extra battery pack and a case cover for it. The extra battery pack was definitely worth it! It took amazing pictures even though i was a beginner with the camera. I mostly wanted to take photos at night and the flash is amazing! My only problem was taking photos of the moon, i eventually learned to set manual settings to take decent enough pictures of the moon without flash and with an extremely steady hand. about a year ago i ended up dropping it onto a tiled floor from two feet in the air while the lens was fully extended. i tried to fix the lens myself, but i had to get it repaired. The warranty "fixed" it but didn't replace the broken part with a new one. so ever since the lens sometimes will blur and for an hour it won't open or it won't focus at all. I've dropped it at least 5 more times after that and i now need a completely new camera. Don't get me wrong..i love the camera and i appreciate it and held onto it tightly wherever i wen, but what cause the camera to fall so many times was the wrist band. it's horrible and i could barely put it over my skinny wrist twice. I took my time to learn to use a camera and now i'm off to a better professional one with a neck strap. This is a perfect camera for anyone who wishes to upgrade later on. its at a great value and has wonderful features if you know how to use them! It took me 2 years to discover and dominate the features! December 25, 2012
Simple and superb Nice picture quality , natural color capture , affordable price November 6, 2012
Perfect family camera My wife and I bought this camera after our first Nikon got stolen. We wanted a point and shoot camera that wasn't too expensive and was of decent quality. After purchasing the camera and a Nikon replacement battery as a backup, two years later we are still enjoying the memories the camera helped us create. We bought a nice case and a screen protector and have used the camera at the ocean, sand dunes (Sand Lake, Florence, Winchester Bay#, I even used it to record my ATV ride up some sand hills. If you take care of the camera it will last you. We have not had a single issue as of yet. Get a backup battery, case, screen protector, and class 10 SD Cards and you will enjoy the camera as much as I did #or even more) :). Hope my review helps somebody who is in the market for a new camera. September 2, 2012
Overall great camera My husband got me this camera for Christmas 1 1/2 yr ago--it has taken great shots and I love all of its features. It is easy to use. Just as I really got comfortable and relied on this camera, I too, suffered the fatal "LENS ERROR" flaw! (had no idea till I read other reviews what a common flaw this is with this model--camera shop tried to tell me this happens when it is dropped--NOT!) What terrible timing in the middle of vacation! Fortunately we had a 2 yr extended warranty on the camera and Nikon fixed in 2 weeks so that I now have it for my son's wedding. I just hope it doesn't do it again during the wedding (I have read other reviews where this flaw has happened after being fixed). When my camera was being fixed I had to rely on other cameras and I realized what a gem this camera is--glad to have it back! Thanks NIKON! August 30, 2012
poor quality Initially, it was a great, but suddenly after several months, picture quality deteriorated, video sound disappeared and then, after a slight two foot drop, it stopped working completely. Interesting that this particular model has it's own option (#2) in the 1 800 menu! Could it be that there are a lot of issues with it? This camera does not have the quality one has come to expect from Nikon. My next camera purchase to replace this one will not be a Nikon! I have lost confidence in Nikon. The customer service in response to my situation was on par with the camera quality, poor. August 12, 2012
Excellent Camera My dad bought this camera for my birthday. I have used it constantly now for about 6 months. I have shot amazing photos and great videos. This camera replaced my old film camera. I would recommend this camera to anyone who wants to have a great looking camera, great photos, and videos. July 15, 2012
A HORRIBLE camera!!!! I would give it NO STARS if I could. I purchased 2 of these cameras and within a few months BOTH cameras broke--the display showed that there was a LENS ERROR. I then sent both back to Nikon for repair under warranty. Some 2 months after they were returned, they both broke AGAIN--displaying the same LENS ERROR code. Then Nikon wanted to charge me to repair them. A HORRIBLE experience. I would stay away from this model. If you check the internet for Coolpix S8100 and type in LENS ERROR, you will see all the nightmares. Consider yourself warned. July 15, 2012
good camera... REALLY GOOD CAMERA oh my gosh my dad bought me this camera for christmas and it was the best camera ever! it has all the things i need to take pictures of vacations and important stuff. i love this camera. i treat it dearly and i love it like its some precious artifact. love it!!!!!!!!! July 7, 2012
good camera,but the price is very high i bought this camera eight months back, quality is good but taking time to save the photo when you take the pic with flash, compare to other camera's this picture quality is good. June 28, 2012
VERY DISAPPOINTED with this camera! I purchased this camera 12/24/10. I was happy with the picture quality the few times I used it (probably half a dozen times, it mostly sat in a drawer). When I went to use it a couple weeks ago it wouldn't turn on. I ordered 2 new batteries & still nothing. I sent it to Nikon and was informed it would cost $105.24 to repair It's not like I wore it out, or dropped it, it just died. They didn't even say what was wrong with it, just a "Rank B2” repair. It appears from other reviews that this camera has some serious defects. Shame on Nikon for not offering a cheaper fix. This camera cost us $220. WHY ON EARTH would I throw another $100 at this camera? I was upgrading when I purchased it & Nikon had a good reputation. The camera it replaced had been dropped & the hinge on the door that held the SD card broke. It still worked though! In fact EVERY CAMERA I have ever owned STILL WORKS except for this one. Since Nikon doesn't care about customer satisfaction, the only recourse I have is to let others know about my experience....which I intend to do through every social media outlet available to me. I just ordered a new camera with similar options for less than they wanted for the repair and I will have another year warranty. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS CAMERA unless you intend it to be a disposable one. I will never buy another Nikon product. May 9, 2012
Good when it works it takes good crisp pictures, however on some days for no obvious reasons, pictures looks shaky and blurry. Anybody else experienced it. I have to find if Nikon can fix it or I can get a replacement product. April 22, 2012
Worked great for a few months. We bought this camera to take great pics of our first born. We were super careful with it and used it rarely. This camera was awesome until it stopped working. After turning it on it would take a single pic and then the whole thing would freeze up. All functions would stop working there after. So disappointed. Now gotta see what kind of warranty this thing has so it's not a total waste of money. I'm curious if the makers of this camera ever read the bad reviews on their website's forum. If they did, they'd see they obviously have a problem with this camera. April 15, 2012
For the most part, this camera is decent Bought the camera in September 2011, and everything on it worked great until a nice but supposedly common error developed. Lens error: which corporate Nikon told me was a common issue.....My lens never retracted back to closed. I turned it off then back on as tech support instructed, but nothing worked. I sent it off to be repaired about 2 weeks ago, and still havent heard anything. Thank God it is still under warranty. April 10, 2012
Rapid flash is annoying.. Not good for newborn/ infant pics! My husband got me the S8100 for Christmas. We have a new baby and my old kodak was on it's last leg. The stupid flash on this camera is AWFUL for taking pics of babies and animals. It flashes three times before it takes the pic causing them to squint and look away. My little guy used to be such a ham and now HATES to get his picture taken! I thought I could make it work and now it's too late to return it! 200.00 down the drain! We're not rich.. It's not like I can just go buy a different camera. It really makes picture time a drag. I hate this stupid thing! The pop-up flash is exactly where your left hand would be. It's simply an uncomfortable waste of money. Also the flash is so bright it washes out the pic half the time! January 16, 2012
Great little Point and Shoot Camera! I love this camera. The zoom has allowed me to identify birds from several feet away and most all the pictures it takes are very clear and true to color thanks to the simple to use adjustments. It's one of the best point and shoot cameras on the market in my opinion that allows for high quality and ease of use. I've had mine for a year now and use it to document all my year long travels throughout the west capturing panoramic views from desert to the Pacific, and on mountain tops of the cascades and sierras. As well as birds, butterflies and mother natures wonderful display of wildflowers in an amazing array of vibrant styles and hues. And not to forget the full moons and sunsets or sunrises that awe my heart and soul. And in low light, it's unlike anything I've ever used before. The camera captures it all, with ease of use and great quality. I highly recommend it! January 14, 2012
Takes great pictures when its not back at Nikon being fixed I bought in Dec 2010 just in time for a month vacation in the USA. One week in the camera froze "lens error". Nikon USA said "too bad you'll have to talk to Canada." Uopn return home I sent it away and Nikon repaired#?# it. In Dec 2011, just in time for family visits the camera froze "lens error". Nikon still has it. How good a camera works doesn't really matter if its broken when you really need it. January 12, 2012
Point and Pray. The camera takes beautiful photos when operating as designed. Flash is a little hot, washing out details. The unit often has issues with the SD cards, sometimes rendering photos inaccesible by fouling the file allocation info making it unreadable by PC's or the camera. Nikon's solution is to format the card in the camera only, but every few months the camera will freeze up until it decides 5 minutes or so later to access the card or a new card is swapped in. These issues are troubling since they turned up within the first year. Was hopeing for a firmware update but unit has been on market over a year and still is on firmware version 1.1. December 31, 2011
Best Camera Ever I bought this camera 2 days before Christmas to replace my Sony digital camera I had, I will say this is the best purchase I have made. The pictures are clear, and having the 10 optical zoom lens makes it all better and worth it. December 26, 2011
Great camera when it actually worked I got this as a gift and I loved the camera when it was working, then I seem to run into problem after problem. My main concern was the battery power and charging aspect of it. After charing the camera as directed with in a few months i could maybe get 2 mins of video and 40 pictures ... really was a bummer at concerts, since I was getting great quality just no time to actually enjoy the camera. Some times the lens get frozen open, usually when the battery dies. It doesnt always charge either, and when i read the warranty nothing was offered in regards to the battery. Pretty disappointed I have also gotten errors when going from turning it off and on. I dont know if i would buy this camera if I didnt get it as a gift, sadly to say I really wish it worked better December 16, 2011
Surprising performance with a few buts... Overall, after a few outings, I have been surprised by the s8100's ease of use and results. I settled on this model because reviews for newer models were mixed and there seemed to be too many quality/build issues in them. I like the 10x zoom and ability to zoom in video mode. It is enough for most P&S jobs. No, I don't like the popup flash so close to where a finger may grip, stupid, but I'll adjust. No, I don't care for the video button also where a finger may go, but I'll adjust. No, I don't care for the placement of the tripod socket on the left bottom edge, stupid! But not often used in a P & S. Oh, and no, I don't like that you have to charge the battery in the camera., stupid and cheap, but I'll adjust. Don't care for the little rubber cover on the a/v out or the goofy hdmi cover either. Why can't I set the camera to save pictures in date format so it doesn't keep creating so many folders with duplicate pic numbers? I am amazed by the lack of thought on these cheap, quirky and just plain stupid aspects. C'mon Nikon, been making cameras long? On the other hand, the team working on what's in the camera seem to have more on the ball. I can start the camera, point, shoot and most likely, get a decent shot, that when viewing on the computer, has good detail and definition as well as color. Most day shots have been surprisingly good and low light and night shots have been good as well. The macro's I've taken have been also surprisingly good. I can bump the subject with the lens and it's still in focus. Full zoom shots have been equally surprising, in that, the detail is easily above average with a simple hold and shoot. Anti-shake works. Yay. I'll update this if I am able, when i have more experience with it, but if like me, you're looking for an above average P&S camera, the s8100 is an easy choice.... December 5, 2011
Lens Error problem is ruining this camera's rep This camera takes gorgeous pictures. For the brief time that I was able to use it, I was very happy with it. Low light shots are great, video is good, and the automation level is just right for a not-too-serious-but still-appreciates-a-quality-photo photographer. Mine quit after 3 mos. of use with a "lens error" that renders the camera inoperable. I had read many other reviews complaining about the problem before purchasing, and always handled the camera very carefully. I'm very disappointed to be stuck with a practically new, useless piece of equipment. Nikon should offer a low cost fix for the many, many users experiencing this problem. December 5, 2011
Very good unless using flash. This camera works very well and produces very good pictures unless you are using the flash and then it usually overexposes very badly, sometimes to the extent that the picture is almost pure white. December 5, 2011
Very disappointed in S8100 I have owned Nikon products since my "F" model, and many more.2020, N65, D70S and several others. We recently had a party and everybody was taking pictures (cheap and expensive camers). It was my job to put them all together.At this point it became apparent that my S8100 had the worst performance. Very disappointed December 5, 2011
Super loved it! I love the camera. It's perfect for every day use. I love all the features and is easy to use. I would definitely recommend it to friends. Another great thing from Nikon. December 4, 2011
Great product- Small Package I have only had this camera for a few day, but I is so compact and easy to always to have on hand. The picture quality is exceptional and is almost comparable to my D-90 in quality. This is a great addition to any photographers tool kit. November 28, 2011
Not worth it I needed a camera to take to soccer games and all the other places you take pictures of kids. It worked great for four months the lens then would not go back in. Had it fixed and now I can't download any pictures to the computer. I also bought one for my daughter, her camera didn't work for more than 12 hours before it quit working. It does take great pictures when it works. November 23, 2011
I WISH THIS WERE A GOOD CAMERA! This camera has all of the features of being the perfect camera. But, after about 6 months I had a problem. After about 1 month, I got the camera back. Two months later, the lens stopped working. I really wished it were a good quality camera, because the first 1-3 months were amazing. One year later, I had to get a new camera... VERY ANGRY! November 22, 2011
I Love my CoolPix S8100 Being a former professional Photographer and using larger cameras with interchangeable lenses, I never thought that I would ever consider a shirtpocket size camera. But with adorable grandchildren always around, I thought that I needed something I could keep close at hand. After evaluating what was available for the investment, I chose the CoolPix S8100 for it's 10X Zoom, size convenience and Video option. I later discovered the Night shots and Backlight features as an added bonus. I am extremely happy with the CoolPix S8100. People always asked me what was the best camera to buy and my "Professional" answer was always "one that you will take the time to study the handbook and learn how to use it's features. That's still true but the S8100 does a great job with just the press of the shutter release, even if it's set on auto. The 10X Zoom allows a close up without physically geting close to the subject. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CAMERA. November 22, 2011
I can't seem to get the flash adjusted and most of my pictures are way too bright or like a blast of light covering half or all of the picture. I lost my manual, so downloaded and printed the 205 pages and I can't seem to find the right adjustment or maybe there is none, I'm very disappointed in the camera. November 21, 2011
Scratches When brand new this camera was awesome. Now that I have had it for 10 months, the lens cover has begun to scratch the lens! Sent back to Nikon. We'll see.... November 21, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 19
<<prev | next>>
149 Questions | 173 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
149 Questions | 173 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S8100
 
5 Answers

memory card full

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
So after I take around 10 pictures i get an error saying my memory card is full, any ideas? thanks!
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check your camera settings and make sure that the images are going to the card and not the camera's memory. I have had this problem with several cameras, including my Nikon Coolpix. Also, try inserting he card into a card reader on your computer and see what the computer can read. If the computer says that there are no images on the card, then your images are going to the memory in the camera.

You might also want to format the card again in the camera.
Dec 29, 2012 by
by
Photo Deacon
Baltimore MD
Location : 
Baltimore MD
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
well its an 8gb memory card, i tried resetting the factory settings so i will see if this works, thanks for all of your help!
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This camera doens't shoot RAW.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
IvetteC

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Like keith said, what size card? Also remember that if you are shooting in RAW format your card will fill up much faster. This isn't a bad thing, it just means you should dump your card pretty often. My suggestion? Go buy yourself a bigger card.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JacobC

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
What size card and what image settings are being used ??
Try formatting the card in camera before using it, this will clear eveything off and leave it empty.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

in movie mode, can we zoom in?

Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+11points
11out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes you can when recording at 1080P, 720P VGA and QVGA. but you can't zoom when using 15fps, 60fps, 120fps or 240fps.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
luissandovalmendivil
Mexicali, Mexico
Location : 
Mexicali, Mexico
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can, but in my case, as soon as i touch the zoom control, it goes out of focus, and, it does not regain focus 50% or more of the time.
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

the camera just stopped turning on - even after full charge

Mar 15, 2011 by
by
sofia
Florida
Has staff answer
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
sofia
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yeah Sofia,it's a problem...nothing ya can do except buying 2 or 3 batteries as backups..it runs 80 mins. after full charge..
Mar 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you already tried troubleshooting and still not charging, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Does it has a panoramic feature?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can it take 3 to 5 pictures making it a panorama picture?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Choose Scene mode on the dial, press the Menu button and select the Panorama Assist mode. As you snap pictures, the camera leaves a transparent view of the last image captured on the screen so you can line up your next shot(s).
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the Panorama Assist feature.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Flash too Bright

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
The flash turns everything white and washed out. Camera is Nikon Coolpix s8100.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Problem with Nikon 8100 is that the default flash is too bright.

Is there a way to reduce the flash brightness?

Someone please reply otherwise I am thinking of returning this back.
Dec 15, 2011 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
San Francisco, CA, USA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings:
Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Can you take black & white pictures with the nikon s8100?

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Pwhoel
washington,mo
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Thinking about buying this camera and was just curious.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Pwhoel
washington,mo
Location : 
washington,mo
Age: 25-34
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. The way to do this is by:
1. Turn the dial located on the top of your camera to the "Scene" setting.
2. Click on the "Menu" button that's located on the back of the camera next to the screen.
3. On the screen choose the [SCENE] tab,
4. Scroll down to "Copy" located next to a picture that looks like a sheet of paper.
5. Press "OK" on the center of the dial
Take B&W pictures.
Enjoy!
Dec 22, 2011 by
by
MsJenX
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can take black and white pictures.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

can I view pictures on my ipad?

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
Linda
22801
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
how can this camera interface with a ipad?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Linda
22801
Location : 
22801
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Linda, I hope by now you got your answer. Get an iPad Camera Connection Kit from the Apple Store. The part # is MC531ZM/A and it is about $29.00. Uploading is easy and quick to your iPad (I have an iPad2). Your pictures will look fabulous.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
geogiperl
Fresno, CA
Location : 
Fresno, CA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Please get in contact with the manufacture of your IPad for more information.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

using continuous

Apr 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
naples+, fl
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
how do you use the continuous feature on the s8100? i cannot get the instruction manual to download and i cannot figure out how to use this feature.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
naples+, fl
Location : 
naples+, fl
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Turn on your camera. On top you have a dial turn it one notch passed the green auto button, and you are in continuous mode. Press the menu button and select your particular venue you need.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
juergen
Bremerton, WA
Location : 
Bremerton, WA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Rotate the mode dial and align the Icon for Continuous Shooting mode (see page# 42 of the user’s manual). Press the MENU button and confirm or change the settings in the continuous menu.

Answer Title: User's Manual - Coolpix S8100 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The charge lamp slowly blinks green to indicate that the battery is charging. About three hours and 50 minutes are required to charge a fully exhausted battery.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
If its the first charge then it will take some time to become fully charged, leave it plugged in to charge over night and the light should eventually go out when charging cycle has been completed.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

How many pictures do you get per KB of flash memory?

Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I know you get about 220 pictures on one battery charge. I am trying to figure out how many KB of flash memory to buy.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For example if you're using a 4GB memory card and you have the Image Mode set to the highest (14M), an approximate of 650 pictures can be store in the memory card.
Please click in the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S8100
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends on a lot of things, theres no set rule for how many pics can be taken as it depends on settings image content etc.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers