Loading
Superior Image Quality
12.1 -megapixel CMOS sensor for high speed operation and exceptional low-light performance.
4-way VR Image Stabilization System
  • Optical VR Image Stabilization by lens shift minimizes the effects of camera shake.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO to compensate for camera shake and subject movement. 
  • High ISO up to 3200 for optimum results when shooting in low light or photographing fast-moving subjects.
  • Nikon’s Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to ten shots while the shutter is pressed, then selects and saves the sharpest image.
Advanced Functions
  • 3-inch Ultra-High Resolution (921,000-dot) Clear Color Display for still images and movies that come alive with rich detail and improved contrast. The large LCD's wide viewing angle and anti-glare coating make it easy to compose, view and share pictures. 
  • Advanced low light shooting capability.
  • Shoot still images even while recording HD Movie.
Creative Control
  • Mode Dial for quick setting of key functions.
  • ISO can be set as high as 3200.
  • In-camera editing functions include Quick Retouch, and D-Lighting.
  • Creative Slider allows adjustment of brightness, saturation and color.
High Speed Performance
  • Ultra-fast start-up, autofocus and shooting.
  • High Speed Shooting capture 5 shots in approximately one second at full resolution.
  • Sport Continuous Shooting to capture fast action (reduced image size)
  • Shoot Slow Motion Movies up to 240 fps by selecting HS Movie mode (reduced image size)
  • Subject Tracking automatically tracks a moving subject to ensure sharp focus.
10x Wide-Angle Optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens. Versatile 30-300mm lens ranges wide to capture landscapes, zooms in to get close to the action. In the NIKKOR tradition of precision optics, the high-quality ED glass lens delivers superb color and razor-sharp results.
EXPEED C2 continues to expand the possibilities of photography with improved levels of image quality, fine detail and processing speed. Custom-optimized for each COOLPIX model, Nikon’s renowned digital image processing engine ensures outstanding images.
Convenient Features
  • Smart Portrait System
    • Smile Timer automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles.
    •  In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically corrects most instances of red-eye as you shoot. You may never see red-eye again.
    • Face-Priority AF. Nikon’s face-finding technology automatically detects up to 12 faces. 
    • Skin Softening smoothes skin tones at three different levels for optimal portraits; can be applied while shooting or during playback. 
    • Blink Warning alerts you if a subject has blinked.
  • 17 Scene modes including Scene Auto Selector
  • Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene you're shooting and selects the most appropriate scene mode; offers six scene modes plus auto.
  • Macro shooting as close as 0.4 inches.
  • 220 still shots (approx.) with supplied EN-EL12 Li-ion rechargeable battery.
HD Movie Recording
  • Full HD (1080p) Movie with Stereo and HDMI Output, optical Zoom control and stereo sound recording. HDMI output allows easy in-camera playback or convenient playback on HD-TV or computer. In-camera movie editing function also available. One-Touch record button for instant Movie recording.
COOLPIX S8100 3.7 5 528 528
Coolpix S8100 Outstanding value and functionality! I looked at several higher priced camera with larger bodies and asked the camera store sales rep for a more compact version. He recommended the S8100. I highly recommend this camera for its size. The automatic mode can take care of most situations. it is easy to shoot pictures at night with the built-in flash. The zoom and one-button high resolution video are both above my expectations. December 29, 2010
lens error in 41 days We purchased this camera expecting that it will last for years, but is has broken in just 41 days. (lens error) The lens shutter does not open up when camera is turned on. Then, after zooming in and out, the shutter might suddenly open up an let you take a few pictures. Before turning the camera off the lens error message is displayed. There was no dropping or even shaking of this camera. Yet, it stopped working properly in less than 2 months. My Sony camera still works after 5 years of extensive use. Nicon is not even close. There are a few cool features. The pictures quality is good. Camera nicely fits into pocket.Battery lasts long enough. Can take HD Movies. I really like the camera, but then, it breaks.. December 27, 2010
S8100 I have had my S8100 for about a month now and must say I am very pleased with the overall performance. I have several other digital cameras including a DSLR, but got the bug for something new. My goal was to find one smaller than a DSLR that could take great pics with a flash and in some challenging lighting environments to post to my company's Facebook page. I used my new camera in those conditions at multiple indoor Christmas events and like the results. This is my first Nikon; however it will not be my last. December 27, 2010
Very Pleased I am very pleased with this camera which I bought on the 3rd day of a 15-day Panama Canal Cruise. I used the camera three days later on a river rafting trip and got some excellent distant shots of iguanas, monkeys and birds in trees, holding the camera in one hand and a paddle in the other hand. I also got some good video going through the Panama Canal. Overall, I shot around 400 photos during the first two weeks, and found the camera a delight to use. Playback on my 60" HD TV is also great. I'm still learning the camera's features and am looking forward to using it on a 30 day cruise from Singapore to Capetown in a few months. December 27, 2010
Great Camera This camera is wonderful, great pictures and with so many grandchildren it's perfect. The only thing I need to get used to is not covering the pop-up flash. December 26, 2010
Where are my pictures Third time using camera to download pictures to the computer, the software was unable to recognize the camera and therefore I was unable to get my pictures. They are still on the camera but that is as close to useless as it gets. This appears to be the second case with this problem in a many days. Somthing to think about before you buy. Very slow to process photos, so dont expect to get a second shot anytime soon. Also, the movie feature did not download properly, extreme lag. Disappointed that I purchased this camera. December 25, 2010
Super duper good camera :) I loveeeeeee this camera, I'm in high school and I saved up my money and bought it on my own and I'm very glad I chose this one. It is a bit pricey but it is definitely worth the money. My first nikon and I love it! The zoom is great, once I was at my sisters soccer game and I thought I saw my friend 2 fields away but I wasn't sure so I just used my camera too zoom in and took a picture and it was her!! I love using the macro to take pictures of critters and plants in my back yard. The video quality is better than my dad's huge HD camcorder and I lovveeeeee the fast and slow motion video! December 25, 2010
EXCELLENT! I just recieved this camera for Christmas and it takes AMAZING photographs! I love it! The flash pops up where you usually put your left finger to hold on to the camera but it's super easy to get used to. I would reccomend this camera to anyone who likes to take pictures frequently. December 25, 2010
Out of focus This camera has major focus problems. When used in the macro mode, most of the close up shots start out in focus and then go out of focus. The same is true with the zoom. From a distance, most subjects stay in focus. But when you zoom in whether in pix mode or in video mode, the picture goes out of focus and stays that way. I tried to manipulate the "auto" focus controls but nothing works. This is a huge disappointment and will be the last "auto" focus camera I ever buy. I could load up dozens of blurred shots I've taken at concerts, in living rooms and on vacation. I am extremely discouraged and disheartened by another poorly made product. December 24, 2010
camera works until you try to download pictures i love the camera. works fine until i try to move my pictures to my pc. to fix the problem nikon wants me to send my camera and usb cable to them. i may see it again someday December 24, 2010
Great Pictures / Firmware needs Update for Video This camera does take great images that are sharp and vibrant in color. The pictures that I took outdoors on a cloudy day were very sharp and bright (as if it were a sunny day). Indoor shots were great too. I have noticed that on indoor flash shots if you are close to the subject that the flash can be a bit too powerful; however, there are white balance and exposure controls that you can manually change that can tweak that if you need too. The zoom is really good too and the camera has a robust feel and look to it. My only issue (which I have contacted customer support about and they said they would pass this on to their development department for a firmware update) is playing back the video on Windows XP. The videos will freeze at times on play choppy on Windows XP. They will play just fine on Windows 7. This is obviously a software compatibility issue that they need to address in their firmware (and I believe that they will). Since it says on the box under "System Requirements" that it will work with Windows XP Home or Professional, Vista, and Windows 7, Nikon needs to ensure that their product meets up to the advertising; again I think they will take care of this with a future firmware update. I would have given 5 stars if I hadn't had the video freezes in Windows XP. If you experience this too, I would encourage you to document it in the form of a question to Nikon to help expedite the firmware update release. I hope it will be soon. In the mean time, I would still highly recommend this camera for the beautiful images that you will capture. I think this is a high-quality camera that will be even better with the future firmware releases. For the price and the image quality its the best bang for your buck!!! December 22, 2010
Great Camera I have had many cameras in the past but this is by far the best. Now that I have had it I have been taking it with me everywhere. I would definitely recommend it. The only problem I am having with it is finding a HDMI cable that fits because one was not included. I already have an extra one for my TV, but it is too big. Other than that, this is the best compact camera I have had. December 19, 2010
the good and the not so good attributes. To unpack this Camera was quite a chore. The little cardboard or paper tag that is glued on the flash unit popped off, but after getting it all out and reattaching the tag, everything went smoothly. The main feature I like, is the 10X OPTICAL zoom and the glass lenses(s). The worst is the location of the flash. I hope to have a lot of good pictures in the future. I do wish you would consider a black and white mode as my wife is a portrait artist in graphite, and it is hard to get a good white balance. The good far outweighs the not so good. Thanks. December 18, 2010
could be great with firmware update The camera takes great pictures of anything that is not moving very much. Having no full resolution "action" mode or any direct control over shutter speed will probably result in me trading this camera in on some other model unless this is fixed with an update. Video focus is also pretty bad. I can live with this as I don't video very often, but it needs to be fixed as well. December 18, 2010
Overall great camera As a photograper I have owned many film and digital slr cameras. I have purchased several point an shoot cameras for my wife and kids. This is the best point and shoot I have seen so far. The only things that I don't like about it are the following: 1. The camera only ships with the ac charger for the battery. This means you must plug a usb cable into the camera out in order to charge it. This makes it easy to set it on a table and have someone knock it off by accident. You can buy an additional charger that you can just put the battery in and plug it in the wall keeping the camera safe. Every other camera I have bought comes with this type of charger. The nikon offers it as an accessory to purchase. I would recommend that you buy one and use it. 2. The camera has a very cheap cover for the usb charging port. If you don't buy the optional charger I'm sure that it will off in a very short time if you use the USB charger. December 16, 2010
Best Compact Yet Only had one day so have not even come close to using it's many features and settings. Although this camera has no manual settings ( i wish it did) you can manipulate a lot of the many scene variations and presets and come away with some good flexibility. This camera has the specs to deliver anything which for its size is amazing. No focusing problems yet. Sometimes on the screen it goes in and out when you are framing shots but when I push the shutter the shot comes out sharp as a tack. Color and detail are superb on everything I took. Video is fantastic, cant wait to try more. Start up and setting changes are very fast. Processing the shots is also super quick. I am using a class 10 card which may help. In outdoor settings did not hear the zoom motor when shooting video as enough ambient noise covered it. Stereo sound also a big plus and high quality. Did some very late dusk sunset shots and they came out great. Used a few settings and all worked well with no focus problems and it was almost dark. Did a panorama stitch with 3 shots. Didnt understand how it worked and I way overlapped the first two shots more than they needed to be. The software provided worked perfect on my mac. Easy and fast and lined things up for a great shot. Yes the sony hxv5 does this in camera but I would rather do it on my computer. And no compatability issues using a mac computer at all. Plug and play. Took some continuous shots of a marching band and they were perfect focus and no action blur and that was in normal mode, not sports mode and I was moving. Again , I'm not sure how in full auto mode the camera will handle the different shooting conditions but today it seemed pretty good. Also the low light shooting is the best I have ever had. Very minimal noise with dark living room with no flash. Wow, this sensor is great. I think this camera is basically the same as the p7000 but without all the manual controls and a longer lens. Also the screen is the best ever. I was in very bright outdoor light today and could see it all and from lots of angles as I was holding the camera up paparazi style at the parade. Yes the flash popping up can be annoying but after some use, you learn to keep your fingers clear. You can also program the flash to stay down if you keep the camera in that particular mode. And when you turn it on again it remembers. There really is a LOT of programing options on this camera. Many people dont bother to read the manual and so they get annoyed by things that they CAN adjust if they knew how. Now the bad. Charging connector cover is flimsy and for sure will break before to long. Nikon, really !! This connector is used for both charging and for computer connection. Also dont like the battery meter only coming on when the battery is almost dead. I like to be able to see a few steps. Dont know what "almost dead" means when it does come on. 10 shots left, 20? Manual doesnt say. If on vacation or out for the day this could be a problem. Nikon if you are reading this I would think a simple firmware update could then give you the option for a battery meter when you select it from the menu at a minimum. Please!! I'm sure I will come up with many other things I love and things I dont love as I use the camera more. Looking for some of the in depth reviews on the big review sites, as they often find more good and bad things. If you are someone who likes to use manual control then of course, dont buy this camera. But if you like to take creative photos, you can do some amazing things with this with quality that can withstand the highest scrutiny at any photo show , imo. ( and manipulate on the computer if needed.) Great photography is not always about manipulating the camera like crazy. Its about capturing the moment, framing, and clarity. And this camera can give you all that and more. All told for day 1 , I am quite impressed with the photo quality, video quality and feature set on this camera. And now the price is already down to 220 bucks at Walmart so for this price ( or near it) it is a true bargain. December 13, 2010
Great for moving kids! In the past 4 months I have purchased and returned 3 other brands of digetal cameras. This Nikon is the best purchase for my fast moving children. The anti-vibration and face detection are wonderful. I also like the auto-correcting color. Thank you Nikon for the wonderful future photos of my children! December 11, 2010
Nikon , Please fix the problems I like the feature set and the big LCD. Photos taken in daylight are usually good although shots taken with a Canon and a Casio are focused more reliably. Low light images are bright but often out of focus. Video is very good in bright light but focus and exposure are the worst that I have seen in any camera when the light is dim. I will be returning this, my second, dS8100, back unless Nikon soon releases a firmware fix for the focus and exposure problems. December 6, 2010
Sublime, easy to operate, just great. I bought in 2000 a Coolpix 990 and enjoyed many years of satisfaction. In 2007, i acquired a D80, another great pleasure to operate but heavy on my bike or when practicing sport. This S8100 is compact, has all new features and is a very nice camera. December 6, 2010
It is a camera that does it all by itself (e.g. it has no MANUAL mode, or Aperture priority). This is not at all good if you are an experienced photographer and you know what you are doing or also if you are a begginer and you want to experience more. It is good if you just hope the camera will guess what you want from that picture. Most of the times it takes good pictures, though. I am pleased around 75%. If Aperture mode would be added I would be 99% pleased. December 5, 2010
new owner I just bought the s8100 yesterday. The first photo I took I noticed the flash is in a bad place. Did the designer of this camera ever try it before it went into production? I am also annoyed that I have to go on the computer to figure out how to use it? Do they expect I will retain everything in one reading? I'll be back in a few weeks witha more in depth review. December 4, 2010
Great Camera It's a great camera, intuitive to use, only concern - flash washes out the picture. December 4, 2010
S8100 over exposed pics I heard a lot of great reviews about the Nikon S8100. I own a Nikon D50 and was looking for a smaller camera with video. I like the camera overall but it's so frustrating that the flash sometimes over exposes my pictures on auto. November 29, 2010
Great little camera! I have a D50, D90, and now this little gem, S8100. I needed a p&s and didn't want to spend a fortune on one. I thought about the P7000 but i didn't like the size, too bulky. This little baby fits in your pocket, and the image quality is awesome! It fits my needs perfect. November 22, 2010
Where's the "high-speed shutter" preset? I really want to like this camera. I really do. It's a replacement travel camera for my aging Sony DSC-T30 subcompact that's exhibiting dust bunnies on the sensor (and I've grown tired of correcting those in PP). My everyday photo gear is my terrific Nikon D90 and lenses. This camera is up to the usual Nikon high standards. Great form factor, long-reach (for a P&S) 10x optical zoom, minimal barrel distortion in wide-angle, a very inclusive "Auto" mode, plus enough menu options and scene presets for almost every photo situation. Unfortunately, there's no "high-speed shutter" scene/preset. For me, when I use a travel camera, I'm often photographing from a moving ship/boat/plane/vehicle, which requires more stop-motion help than the internal VR provided. You can delve into the menus and set an artificially-high ISO (and then remember to set ISO back to normal afterwards), or try "Motion Detection" (although that is disabled for any ISO other than "Auto"), or even "Burst" mode (which reduces file sizes to 1M or 5M depending on which continuous option you choose), but those alternatives all seem a bit cumbersome for a P&S at this price point. (On the other hand, there's a "Food" preset, which must be used by more photographers than I realize). If you're standing on solid ground, the S8100 will be a terrific choice. It's one of the best of the P&S cameras available today. November 21, 2010
Don't Drop it I too dropped mine around Halloween. After having it for two weeks. It busted open so fast. I was able to get it back together but it doesn't work right. I have dropped other nikon's with no damage but this one couldn't hang with those. I am now forced to find another Brand because I can't pay the 300.00 for another one. I am a mom of two and I think this one was maybe a little bigger then I should have gotten. It is bigger then the other Nikon I have and doesn't fit in my pocket so I was holding it when my son grabbed my hand and down it went. It was a good camera for the amount of time I got to use it. November 19, 2010
Excellent camera Just purchased this camera. Very well designed, combining function and simplicity. Intuitive operation. Good quality pictures and movies. Very flexible operation. Don't particularly like the location of the flash, but this can be worked around. November 11, 2010
I am bewildered by the service or lack of. You ask for much information but don't give me simple answers to simple questions. The camera seems good but I don't really know until I can download my pictures and edit them and can also read the manual to find out what I can and cannot do with the camera. November 11, 2010
Quality product with awesome features We just purchased this for my wife and I can say. WOW. Photo quality is super and it is easy to use. I am a professional photographer and I am very impressed,but then I am not surprised because its a Nikon November 8, 2010
Buggy Video on my PC I really wanted to like this camera - the still picture quality was excellent- but unfortunately I couldn't get the video to display correctly on my PC. I run Windows XP and maybe it is on my end- but after waiting for 3 weeks for an answer from Nikon's Tech Support (with no solution) I returned my Nikon S8100 for another brand. The video runs fine on my PC using a different camera brand. Another downer was the flash popping up right where my left finger was holding the camera. I got used it quickly- but whenever I handed the camera to someone else to take our picture the flash always got blocked down my their left finger- even after I warned them... I hope the camera works out for others! Cheers November 7, 2010
Page: 15 16 17 18 19
<<prev | next>>
149 Questions | 173 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
149 Questions | 173 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S8100
 
5 Answers

memory card full

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
So after I take around 10 pictures i get an error saying my memory card is full, any ideas? thanks!
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check your camera settings and make sure that the images are going to the card and not the camera's memory. I have had this problem with several cameras, including my Nikon Coolpix. Also, try inserting he card into a card reader on your computer and see what the computer can read. If the computer says that there are no images on the card, then your images are going to the memory in the camera.

You might also want to format the card again in the camera.
Dec 29, 2012 by
by
Photo Deacon
Baltimore MD
Location : 
Baltimore MD
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
well its an 8gb memory card, i tried resetting the factory settings so i will see if this works, thanks for all of your help!
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This camera doens't shoot RAW.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
IvetteC

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Like keith said, what size card? Also remember that if you are shooting in RAW format your card will fill up much faster. This isn't a bad thing, it just means you should dump your card pretty often. My suggestion? Go buy yourself a bigger card.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JacobC

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
What size card and what image settings are being used ??
Try formatting the card in camera before using it, this will clear eveything off and leave it empty.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

in movie mode, can we zoom in?

Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+11points
11out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes you can when recording at 1080P, 720P VGA and QVGA. but you can't zoom when using 15fps, 60fps, 120fps or 240fps.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
luissandovalmendivil
Mexicali, Mexico
Location : 
Mexicali, Mexico
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can, but in my case, as soon as i touch the zoom control, it goes out of focus, and, it does not regain focus 50% or more of the time.
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

the camera just stopped turning on - even after full charge

Mar 15, 2011 by
by
sofia
Florida
Has staff answer
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
sofia
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yeah Sofia,it's a problem...nothing ya can do except buying 2 or 3 batteries as backups..it runs 80 mins. after full charge..
Mar 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you already tried troubleshooting and still not charging, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Does it has a panoramic feature?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can it take 3 to 5 pictures making it a panorama picture?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Choose Scene mode on the dial, press the Menu button and select the Panorama Assist mode. As you snap pictures, the camera leaves a transparent view of the last image captured on the screen so you can line up your next shot(s).
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the Panorama Assist feature.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Flash too Bright

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
The flash turns everything white and washed out. Camera is Nikon Coolpix s8100.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Problem with Nikon 8100 is that the default flash is too bright.

Is there a way to reduce the flash brightness?

Someone please reply otherwise I am thinking of returning this back.
Dec 15, 2011 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
San Francisco, CA, USA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings:
Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Can you take black & white pictures with the nikon s8100?

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Pwhoel
washington,mo
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Thinking about buying this camera and was just curious.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Pwhoel
washington,mo
Location : 
washington,mo
Age: 25-34
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. The way to do this is by:
1. Turn the dial located on the top of your camera to the "Scene" setting.
2. Click on the "Menu" button that's located on the back of the camera next to the screen.
3. On the screen choose the [SCENE] tab,
4. Scroll down to "Copy" located next to a picture that looks like a sheet of paper.
5. Press "OK" on the center of the dial
Take B&W pictures.
Enjoy!
Dec 22, 2011 by
by
MsJenX
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can take black and white pictures.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

can I view pictures on my ipad?

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
Linda
22801
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
how can this camera interface with a ipad?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Linda
22801
Location : 
22801
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Linda, I hope by now you got your answer. Get an iPad Camera Connection Kit from the Apple Store. The part # is MC531ZM/A and it is about $29.00. Uploading is easy and quick to your iPad (I have an iPad2). Your pictures will look fabulous.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
geogiperl
Fresno, CA
Location : 
Fresno, CA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Please get in contact with the manufacture of your IPad for more information.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

using continuous

Apr 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
naples+, fl
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
how do you use the continuous feature on the s8100? i cannot get the instruction manual to download and i cannot figure out how to use this feature.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
naples+, fl
Location : 
naples+, fl
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Turn on your camera. On top you have a dial turn it one notch passed the green auto button, and you are in continuous mode. Press the menu button and select your particular venue you need.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
juergen
Bremerton, WA
Location : 
Bremerton, WA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Rotate the mode dial and align the Icon for Continuous Shooting mode (see page# 42 of the user’s manual). Press the MENU button and confirm or change the settings in the continuous menu.

Answer Title: User's Manual - Coolpix S8100 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The charge lamp slowly blinks green to indicate that the battery is charging. About three hours and 50 minutes are required to charge a fully exhausted battery.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
If its the first charge then it will take some time to become fully charged, leave it plugged in to charge over night and the light should eventually go out when charging cycle has been completed.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

How many pictures do you get per KB of flash memory?

Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I know you get about 220 pictures on one battery charge. I am trying to figure out how many KB of flash memory to buy.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For example if you're using a 4GB memory card and you have the Image Mode set to the highest (14M), an approximate of 650 pictures can be store in the memory card.
Please click in the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S8100
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends on a lot of things, theres no set rule for how many pics can be taken as it depends on settings image content etc.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers