Loading
Superior Image Quality
12.1 -megapixel CMOS sensor for high speed operation and exceptional low-light performance.
4-way VR Image Stabilization System
  • Optical VR Image Stabilization by lens shift minimizes the effects of camera shake.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO to compensate for camera shake and subject movement. 
  • High ISO up to 3200 for optimum results when shooting in low light or photographing fast-moving subjects.
  • Nikon’s Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to ten shots while the shutter is pressed, then selects and saves the sharpest image.
Advanced Functions
  • 3-inch Ultra-High Resolution (921,000-dot) Clear Color Display for still images and movies that come alive with rich detail and improved contrast. The large LCD's wide viewing angle and anti-glare coating make it easy to compose, view and share pictures. 
  • Advanced low light shooting capability.
  • Shoot still images even while recording HD Movie.
Creative Control
  • Mode Dial for quick setting of key functions.
  • ISO can be set as high as 3200.
  • In-camera editing functions include Quick Retouch, and D-Lighting.
  • Creative Slider allows adjustment of brightness, saturation and color.
High Speed Performance
  • Ultra-fast start-up, autofocus and shooting.
  • High Speed Shooting capture 5 shots in approximately one second at full resolution.
  • Sport Continuous Shooting to capture fast action (reduced image size)
  • Shoot Slow Motion Movies up to 240 fps by selecting HS Movie mode (reduced image size)
  • Subject Tracking automatically tracks a moving subject to ensure sharp focus.
10x Wide-Angle Optical Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens. Versatile 30-300mm lens ranges wide to capture landscapes, zooms in to get close to the action. In the NIKKOR tradition of precision optics, the high-quality ED glass lens delivers superb color and razor-sharp results.
EXPEED C2 continues to expand the possibilities of photography with improved levels of image quality, fine detail and processing speed. Custom-optimized for each COOLPIX model, Nikon’s renowned digital image processing engine ensures outstanding images.
Convenient Features
  • Smart Portrait System
    • Smile Timer automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles.
    •  In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically corrects most instances of red-eye as you shoot. You may never see red-eye again.
    • Face-Priority AF. Nikon’s face-finding technology automatically detects up to 12 faces. 
    • Skin Softening smoothes skin tones at three different levels for optimal portraits; can be applied while shooting or during playback. 
    • Blink Warning alerts you if a subject has blinked.
  • 17 Scene modes including Scene Auto Selector
  • Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene you're shooting and selects the most appropriate scene mode; offers six scene modes plus auto.
  • Macro shooting as close as 0.4 inches.
  • 220 still shots (approx.) with supplied EN-EL12 Li-ion rechargeable battery.
HD Movie Recording
  • Full HD (1080p) Movie with Stereo and HDMI Output, optical Zoom control and stereo sound recording. HDMI output allows easy in-camera playback or convenient playback on HD-TV or computer. In-camera movie editing function also available. One-Touch record button for instant Movie recording.
COOLPIX S8100 3.7 5 528 528
Does a nice job but............ We've had it for three months and are essentially pleased but wish it had more battery capacity. The auto shut off is set at 30 seconds but it still seems to have a shorter life than one would expect. An extra battery and external charger cost almost $50.00. Picture quality, versatility and ease of use are exceptional and the zoom lens range is spectacular! January 27, 2011
Basically a solid pocket point and shoot I have not experimented all features with this camera yet the basic options work very well. Great, sharp pictures even in low light. I have to spend some time to see how the camera performs with Image Stabilization. I have not had time to do that yet. Long battery life. I bought the camera to use when deep sea fishing among other uses but will have to wait for spring to see how it does out on the ocean. So far though, the camera turns out excellent pictures in both still and movie modes. January 27, 2011
jasbo I take pictures of my wife's artwork which are graphite portraits on white paper. I have trouble getting good pictures as this (and all point and shoots seem to do) tends to make the paper grey in tone. If there is a way around this or a hint I could get, please email it to me. Otherwise, I am still learning some of the settings, but so far it does a good job. I would recommend it. January 27, 2011
great camera easy to use and lightweight not a bad price. January 27, 2011
Couldn't Be Happier! Got exactly what I was wanting. A great little Point-and-shoot, simple to use and loaded with features. Couldn't have gotten a bigger bang for my buck! And with a great name. January 27, 2011
I love it! Best camera I have owned ever! I would definitely recommend this camera for someone who is looking to capture great quality photos with little experience. I am very happy with this camera. January 27, 2011
Great pics!! Video is great too But.... Clicking in audio while it's trying to live focus. January 27, 2011
Easy and intuitive to use. I have only had the camera for 4 days but initial thoughts and results are good. The best part is the zoom function and clarity of the pictures. January 27, 2011
Outstanding camera, great low noise at high ISO I am so impressed at the quality of this compact camera. What is so amazing is the low noise at high ISO. If you're worried about blurry shots, just set your ISO to 800 or higher and the high shutter speed will take care of everything. The white balance is also extremely accurate; going off of Auto and selecting a white balance to match scene lighting yields excellent results. The zoom range is also incredible, wide enough to shoot in tight situations, and long enough to get close to all but the most extreme needs. No manual controls except selection of focus point (Manual focus) - this is a great tool (although the auto focus is very good too) - pre focus on a rim at a basketball game using the manual focus mode (bad name for the feature, as you're selecting the point to focus and the camera then focuses on that point) - wait for the players to get around the rim, then snap the picture. Works great. Prints look great out of the camera, glad to see Nikon isn't engaging in the "pixel wars" - people need to understand that on similar sized sensors, if you have less pixels, the quality goes up as each pixel (photo cell site...) is larger. I'll still use our D300 for serious shooting, but for everything else, we use this camera - and it's much easier to carry than a D300 and several lenses! Great job. January 27, 2011
Good camera on every aspects except USB connection It's a great camera except weak USB connector which is velnerable if user did not plug in the cable straight forward. January 24, 2011
okay camera this camera is okay..i bought it 2 weeks ago and its already broken...getting a PowerShot SX30 IS this time because i heard its much better. kind of expensive but like i said its okay..Video is pertty HD..and its good pictures but i didn't like it. January 21, 2011
Love all the features Just got this camera a few weeks ago, I was taking random pictures just to get a feel for it, and they were all coming out blurry! I then went on some sites and realized that unlike my last camera, the modes and options are there for a reason! Now that I am a bit more educated in using it I absolutely love it. It is taking great pictures, especially in low light situations. The zoom is better than any I have seen in my other cameras. I must agree with another reviewer who said the flash pop up is in the wrong spot; when you hand the camera over to someone to take a picture, you have to explain it or risk a bad picture. The size Vs. quality is why I decided to purchase this particular camera. I needed something that I could slip into my purse for a girls night out, bring on holidays and to record my hole-in-one's at minigolf! Overall very pleased with my purchase. January 16, 2011
Love the camera. It's easy to use and the pictures are fantastic. Love the fact that I can crop the pictures right on my camera. Screen is the perfect size and the zoom is incredible. January 16, 2011
COOLPIX S8100 I just got this camera for Christmas and I have mixed feelings about it. The camera is fairly simple to operate and the pictures seem to be clear. However, the pop up flash is definitely in the wrong spot - my finger keeps getting in the way. The A/V out port seems flimsy and may not last long with continued use. The quality of pictures taken with the zoom lens is fuzzy - regardless of the setting. Last, but not least, the memory card cannot be read from my printer, so I have to download the pictures using the cable every time. I like the camera well enough, but the jury is still out. As I become more familiar with all the features, I may decide that it was worth the investment. January 12, 2011
Great & Easy To Use P&S Camera! I am not a professional photographer so I don't know a lot of the lingo. However, I am a mom of two young children and I needed a camera that would take excellent pictures indoor as well as action shots. This camera has proved to be beyond my expectations and I'm so happy that I purchased it. The pictures come out very clear and there is very little if any blur. Yes, the flash is where some might put their left index finger but I haven't had a problem with it. I appreciate how easy it is to use and how there are are so many fun options that I haven't even used yet. I think the $250 was a reasonable price for a great quality, easy to use camera. Yes, I would recommend it to a friend! January 9, 2011
Hi-qual compact w/pro-style speed and ISO range The COOLPIX S8100 comes closer to all of my needs than any compact I have yet seen. It fits easily in my shirt pocket and appears well-made enough to carry in a pants pocket, but time will tell. This is reasonably close to a good pocket camera for a pro looking for something to carry around without the hassle of the SLR bag, lenses, etc. A few more manual controls (there is ISO control in “Menu”) would make it perfect. I rate this camera 4/5 stars (in the compact class). Thanks to Nikon for sticking their neck out with the range of settings they use to enable this technology to provide such high quality results. This camera pushes the limits of high-ISO and slow speeds which, I am sure, has caused some to say their pictures are “grainy’ or “blurry.” I noticed most of my shots in “Party” mode were at 1/8 sec. They came out fine but remember to steady your grip when shooting in dim light, just like you did with film when you were pushing the slow-speed limits to capture a shot. Personally, I’m pleased Nikon set the speed and ISO ranges as wide as they did in the scene modes, however, I’m sure future versions will improve on vibration control. Also, we expected grainy results when we pushed Tri-X to 1600 and that was on 864 sq. mm of film. How much “better” can we expect a 28 sq mm sensor to be? Obviously, they are improving all the time but a larger sensor would help (see recommendations below). I have not yet evaluated the HD movie but I like the dedicated button, the zoom works smoothly and the brief tests I ran look fine. Before I purchased the S8100 I searched for reviews and found very few. The couple of decent reviews clued me that this might be a good purchase. I have been a semi-pro photographer for over 40 years (many weddings, portraits, a couple of model portfolios, etc) and maintained my own darkroom (color, B&W) when I was still into film. Early on, I used Nikon (Nikkormat, F2, F3) and Hasselblad for film. More recently, I’ve had several digital cameras over the past decade (currently own a Canon SX1is). I have been looking for a pocket digital that would: 1)provide an accurate “fill flash” for portraits and back-lit scenes; 2) provide detail in dimly light while not washing out faces with flash (provide a smooth range of zones 0-10); 3) provide a wide angle for group shots; 4) provide at least 250-300mm focal length (35mm equiv) for pulling in distant shots; 5) provide a wide f-stop of 2.0-2.5 to isolate subjects; 6) provide a small f-stop of 8.0-11 to allow a near-infinite depth-of-field; 7) provide an ISO range up to at least 1600 for low light shots; and 8) enough speed to shoot several times quickly or catch an event before it is over. I could do all this with my F3 and I want it in my pocket digital as well. PROS: Scene modes supply about all I need to capture the full range of light in most situations. Focus is fast! Fill flash works very well. Pop-up flash and software eliminate red-eye. Hi-Res display is outstanding. I like the shutter speed and f-stop displayed when the shutter release is half depressed. CONS: Improve the vibration control. Make battery indicator “always on.” RECOMMENDATIONS: There is room for improvement. Maybe this would be the “Pro” model? It would have to be NO LARGER than the current S8100. I would pay $100-150 more for this version and give my S8100 to a family member. -Increase the sensor size to 1/1.7. (Still a BSI-CMOS)” -Widen Focal length to 25-300mm (35mm equiv). - Add RAW capture (JPEG/JPEG+RAW/RAW). - Include an HDMI cable in the box. -Add ISO number to speed and f-stop data on screen before shutter release. -Add 2-3’ to the flash coverage. Maybe add a “Hi/Reg” button on the back to save battery power, although I would accept fewer shots to get more flash coverage. -Add a remote shutter control (optional). -Add a “Manual” option to the mode dial to enable the following: -A toggle on the back for metering control “Matrix/Center-weighted/Spot”. Of course, holding the shutter-release down half way would lock the focus allowing metering for a spot, then re-framing the picture. -An f-stop control on the front lower right of the lens. -A shutter speed control somewhere (I suggest replace the +/- on the Rotary Multi-Selector and put the +/- in the menu system next to ISO). January 9, 2011
Spectacular Camera I had been living with a Casio Exilim, which was a great camera five years ago, but the CoolPix S8100 is truly spectacular. The white balance is superior to my friend's multi-thousand-dollar, two-year-old Casio, and the sharpness of indoor pictures is unlike any other camera I've ever owned. Besides brand new professional cameras, I think this is the best camera on the market for the money. And even though I'm an amateur, it makes taking pictures an absolute joy. January 8, 2011
Starting to love this camera... I am still learning the ins and outs of this camera. But, after only taking a few pictures, it has proven it's worth. More later... January 7, 2011
Great One of the best point & shoot cameras I have own. I have owned more than 20 in the past 7 years. January 7, 2011
I'm pretty happy with this camera I'm pretty happy with this camera! I finally chose it over the Sony HX5, even though it doesn't have all those cool features, because there's nothing with the Nikon that is really bad (such as the audio on the Sony). The HD movie taking is cool and works pretty well, and is full-HD resolution. Continuous auto-focus in movies is not good -- has trouble focusing and makes loud sound during playback. Far better off with "single focus" feature, which maintains pretty good focus on objects at a variety of distances. Cool slow/fast motion feature with various slow speeds at various video resolutions - even switch to slow motion on the fly. Footage may be darker though due to rapid shutter speed, and flickery at max slow-mo. Can quickly record either stills or movies without changing the dial selector. Not a lot of manual control. "Auto" mode is essentially a P mode where you can make some adjustments, but no manual or shutter/aperture priority modes, and thus no way to manually control the shutter speed. And automatic shutter stays open pretty long, giving nice bright pics even in low light (sometimes TOO bright), but you tend to get more blur. But you can set the exposure and ISO manually, as well as vividness and hue. There are a couple of "night modes". I've only played with Night Landscape so far, which is without flash, and it does a pretty good job of automatically adjusting settings to get a good night shot. The burst mode is very fast, at up to 10 pictures per second, but it will only record up to 5 pictures at that speed. Unlike with some cameras, you can "notate" your pictures with date imprint and voice memos. In pictures, subjects are stretched a bit near the edges and corners. And there is a bit more noise at maximum resolution compared to other cameras I shopped. But overall, the picture quality is quite good, and I think pics may look a little more "real" (with good shadowing and detail and 3-D appearance) than with other similar cameras. I'm especially impressed with the stabilization while taking still photos, getting amazingly crisp and clear photos even at max zoom. Stabilization when taking movies is pretty good, but you can certainly see vibrations while you're walking around. With stabilization on in the movies, the scene can kind of jerk around a little as you pan around, because it's trying to stay steady at first, then realizes you're really trying to move the camera, so kind of "jerks" to the new location. Audio in movies is good. The camera's LCD screen is super-hi-res, so pics look fantastic displayed on the camera! Another thing I like is being able to charge the camera via any USB connection. By the way, the camera's USB interface is supposedly USB 2.0, but with mine at least, it copies photos/videos to the computer about 10 times slower than normal, even when using a high-speed card. Don't know why. January 6, 2011
i just love it!!!!!!! i got this cam as christmas present and i love it.An excellent cam and 1080 vid features . January 4, 2011
3-Star camera I was debating if I should give 1-one more star or not... make your decision. The Good: Pretty design, good handling on your hand, the buttons is on the right places, 3-three incher screen is excellent, responsive operation, good battery-life, I prefer not a pop-up flash but okay, auto-focus is fast, taking movie is easy, taking on and off memory card and battery is easy as well, etc. The Bad: This is were I took off 2-two stars. Photos - Mostly out-of-focus and or grainy exporsure. My correction is to turn off auto-focus assist, make the camera AF to manual and single auto-focus mode, made the exposure to fixed auto range, it made a big difference. A grainy picture to me is an automatic delete. Minor flaw but it can be annoying and should be corrected by a firmware update: If you don't have any picture saved in your memory card you cannot adjust your camera settings, no battery indicator unless your battery is on very low charge. Also when your charger is connected you cannot operate your camera, off-camera charge option should be available. January 3, 2011
S8100 Unfortunate flash placement 999 out of 1000 people hold compact digital cameras the same way. Nikon placed the S8100 flash exactly where people put their finger to hold the camera. Terrible oversight. My Christmas present is going back. January 2, 2011
So easy to use and great pictues Picked up camera and was very easy to figure out how to get great pictures January 2, 2011
Love this camera I received this camera as a Christmas gift and love has easy it is to work and takes great pictures. I my one day learn most of the great features but as of right now, just love how easy it is to take great pictures! January 2, 2011
Definite problem w/video I was impressed w/this camera until I took a video only to find review the clip and found motor noise from zooming embedded in the clip. I expected more from Nikon considering video on camera is far from new! January 1, 2011
I highly recommend this camera This camera is so simple to operate and the pictures are extremely clear. The only downfall is the location of the pop-up flash. I tend to put my finger over where the flash pops up, however, with anything, it's something you just get used to. Other than that, I love it!!! December 31, 2010
Awesome! This is a fabulous camera! The self timer is great! I have used it to take a few pictures of me and my family. This is a great point and shoot camera for all users! December 30, 2010
nice cameraRo nice camera with many good features, have only had camera a few days still learning how to use it for my needs. December 29, 2010
Poor Native Photos This camera was purchased as a gift for my wife. Unfortunately I will be returning it due to poor native photo quality. All photos are over exposed with poor detail. Of course photo editing can correct some of this, but at this price there is no excuse for the trouble. December 29, 2010
Page: 15 16 17 18 19
<<prev | next>>
149 Questions | 173 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
149 Questions | 173 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S8100
 
5 Answers

memory card full

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
So after I take around 10 pictures i get an error saying my memory card is full, any ideas? thanks!
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Check your camera settings and make sure that the images are going to the card and not the camera's memory. I have had this problem with several cameras, including my Nikon Coolpix. Also, try inserting he card into a card reader on your computer and see what the computer can read. If the computer says that there are no images on the card, then your images are going to the memory in the camera.

You might also want to format the card again in the camera.
Dec 29, 2012 by
by
Photo Deacon
Baltimore MD
Location : 
Baltimore MD
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
well its an 8gb memory card, i tried resetting the factory settings so i will see if this works, thanks for all of your help!
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
This camera doens't shoot RAW.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
IvetteC

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Like keith said, what size card? Also remember that if you are shooting in RAW format your card will fill up much faster. This isn't a bad thing, it just means you should dump your card pretty often. My suggestion? Go buy yourself a bigger card.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JacobC

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
What size card and what image settings are being used ??
Try formatting the card in camera before using it, this will clear eveything off and leave it empty.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

in movie mode, can we zoom in?

Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+11points
11out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes you can when recording at 1080P, 720P VGA and QVGA. but you can't zoom when using 15fps, 60fps, 120fps or 240fps.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
luissandovalmendivil
Mexicali, Mexico
Location : 
Mexicali, Mexico
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can, but in my case, as soon as i touch the zoom control, it goes out of focus, and, it does not regain focus 50% or more of the time.
Mar 6, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

the camera just stopped turning on - even after full charge

Mar 15, 2011 by
by
sofia
Florida
Has staff answer
+9points
9out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
sofia
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yeah Sofia,it's a problem...nothing ya can do except buying 2 or 3 batteries as backups..it runs 80 mins. after full charge..
Mar 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: 18-24
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you already tried troubleshooting and still not charging, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Mar 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Does it has a panoramic feature?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can it take 3 to 5 pictures making it a panorama picture?
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Choose Scene mode on the dial, press the Menu button and select the Panorama Assist mode. As you snap pictures, the camera leaves a transparent view of the last image captured on the screen so you can line up your next shot(s).
Aug 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this model has the Panorama Assist feature.
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Flash too Bright

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
The flash turns everything white and washed out. Camera is Nikon Coolpix s8100.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Problem with Nikon 8100 is that the default flash is too bright.

Is there a way to reduce the flash brightness?

Someone please reply otherwise I am thinking of returning this back.
Dec 15, 2011 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address
San Francisco, CA, USA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings:
Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

Can you take black & white pictures with the nikon s8100?

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Pwhoel
washington,mo
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Thinking about buying this camera and was just curious.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Pwhoel
washington,mo
Location : 
washington,mo
Age: 25-34
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. The way to do this is by:
1. Turn the dial located on the top of your camera to the "Scene" setting.
2. Click on the "Menu" button that's located on the back of the camera next to the screen.
3. On the screen choose the [SCENE] tab,
4. Scroll down to "Copy" located next to a picture that looks like a sheet of paper.
5. Press "OK" on the center of the dial
Take B&W pictures.
Enjoy!
Dec 22, 2011 by
by
MsJenX
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can take black and white pictures.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

can I view pictures on my ipad?

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
Linda
22801
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
how can this camera interface with a ipad?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Linda
22801
Location : 
22801
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Linda, I hope by now you got your answer. Get an iPad Camera Connection Kit from the Apple Store. The part # is MC531ZM/A and it is about $29.00. Uploading is easy and quick to your iPad (I have an iPad2). Your pictures will look fabulous.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
geogiperl
Fresno, CA
Location : 
Fresno, CA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Please get in contact with the manufacture of your IPad for more information.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

using continuous

Apr 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
naples+, fl
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
how do you use the continuous feature on the s8100? i cannot get the instruction manual to download and i cannot figure out how to use this feature.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
naples+, fl
Location : 
naples+, fl
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Turn on your camera. On top you have a dial turn it one notch passed the green auto button, and you are in continuous mode. Press the menu button and select your particular venue you need.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
juergen
Bremerton, WA
Location : 
Bremerton, WA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Rotate the mode dial and align the Icon for Continuous Shooting mode (see page# 42 of the user’s manual). Press the MENU button and confirm or change the settings in the continuous menu.

Answer Title: User's Manual - Coolpix S8100 - Guide to Digital Photography
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The charge lamp slowly blinks green to indicate that the battery is charging. About three hours and 50 minutes are required to charge a fully exhausted battery.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
If its the first charge then it will take some time to become fully charged, leave it plugged in to charge over night and the light should eventually go out when charging cycle has been completed.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8100
 
2 Answers

How many pictures do you get per KB of flash memory?

Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I know you get about 220 pictures on one battery charge. I am trying to figure out how many KB of flash memory to buy.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For example if you're using a 4GB memory card and you have the Image Mode set to the highest (14M), an approximate of 650 pictures can be store in the memory card.
Please click in the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S8100
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends on a lot of things, theres no set rule for how many pics can be taken as it depends on settings image content etc.
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers