Loading
;

10.3 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches. Sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements

New backside illumination CMOS sensor optimized with Nikon’s exclusive EXPEED image processing concept ensures natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you won’t miss that special moment

  • High-speed 10 fps enables high-speed continuous shooting for full 10MP images, ideal for sports and action
  • Sports Continuous shooting with pre-shooting cache option enables high-speed shooting at approximately 120 fps for images up to 1.1MP
  • Advanced Night Landscape mode combines a series of consecutive shots taken at a fast shutter speed into a single, clearer image when taking handheld shots at night
  • Backlit Scene HDR (High Dynamic Range) merges different exposures of the same scene to create an image with a range of tonal detail that could not be captured in a single photo

New Full HD movie with stereo sound and HDMI output Record incredible Full HD (1080p) movies at 30fps with stereo sound, built-in microphone, dedicated movie-record button and HDMI output for easy playback in camera, on HD-TV or computer. Record slow motion movies at up to 240fps (320 x 240) for amazing slow motion effect, or even record at 15 fps in Full HD for fast motion effect movies. HDMI cable not included

Program, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, and Manual Exposure modes gives ultimate control over your pictures

Subject Tracking will track a moving subject to ensure sharp focus. The camera will automatically track your subject – even if they temporarily move out of the frame

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts camera setting

Active D-Lighting adjusts highlights, shadows and contrast while shooting

Macro shooting as close as 0.4”

Extraordinary 26x Optical Wide-Angle Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens offers quality optics that provides exceptional images. The NIKKOR ED lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that delivers superb color and razor-sharp results. Unbeatable compositional freedom is available with its wide-angle (26mm) to super telephoto coverage (678mm). Sweeping landscapes can be captured as well as zoomed-in close-ups of the action taking place on the baseball or soccer field!

Incredible, Bright 3.0-inch vari-angle high resolution HVGA (460,000-dot) Clear Color Display makes it easy to compose and share your images and movies with brightness adjustment and anti-glare coating

5-way VR Image Stabilization System

  • Optical VR Image Stabilization by sensor shift minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • New Hybrid VR Image Stabilization by combining sensor shift and electronic stabilization minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement
  • High ISO up to 3200 at full resolution capability helps give you better results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects.
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image

Smart Portrait System includes:

  • Smile Timer and Blink Proof makes sure you’ll always catch the decisive moment when your subject smiles and Blink Proof function shoots fives pictures and automatically saves the one in which the subject’s eyes remain open
  • Blink Warning, when activated alerts you that the subject may have blinked and allows you to retake the photo
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes, while shooting, most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again
  • Face-Priority AF Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces
  • Skin Softening smoothes skin tone at three different levels for optimal portraits

Quick Retouch optimizes contrast and color vividness for beautiful images

D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail during playback

17 Scene Modes for optimized shooting in various settings

COOLPIX P100 4.1 5 182 182
It's a Nikon. 'nuff said! I've been using Nikon cameras almost my entire adult life, from the F model on up, so it was natural for me to look to Nikon for my digital photographic needs. This is not to say that I didn't spend a great deal of time reviewing what the digital market had to offer, but the market is so saturated, and the technical reviews, both professional and consumer, so ambiguous, that I decided to go with the brand that has shown me so much quality for so many years. As always, Nikon did not disappoint. Now, mind you, I have only had the P100 for a short time, but the nice thing about modern photographic technology is that it doesn’t take long to put a camera through its paces, and the bottom line is this: The P100 produces clear, sharp images, with as little or as much fuss and bother as you’d like, from ultra automatic functions right down to fully manual. This camera, and its features and functions, has been reviewed by many people, so I will simply describe those impressions which I find most important. First off, the feature that makes me jump up and down with joy is the tilting monitor screen, Now that I’ve tried it, I can’t imagine how I got along without it in my film camera days. If you want to know why I’m so excited about this, head on down to your local Nikon dealer and check it out for yourself, and you’ll see what I mean. Moving on, the camera, which I consider as being light, has a very rugged feel to it that I really like. The ergonomics are very comfortable, and functions are not just user friendly, but the controls are, what I would describe as, intuitivly placed. Since I’m “blessed” with gorilla mitts, all this is very important to me. Additionally, the same may be said for the menu functions which are also easy to find and use. Now as anyone who has been into photography for any length of time knows, the “perfect” camera is a chimera, and so there are a few faults the P100 has that I ought to mention. The main one, as far as acts of commission go, is that the zoom function is entirely too twitchy. That is, it’s too difficult to control the zoom speed. The zoom control is supposed to act sort of like an accelerator pedal. A little little pressure and the car moves slowly, a lot of pressure and the car moves faster. With the zoom control on my camera, it’s like it wants to leap up to full throttle almost from the git-go. I’m hoping that over time, I’ll be able to learn to control this better. Otherwise, my only complaints, if I may call them such, are acts of omission. A feature I would have given my right arm for would have been a cable shutter release for macro and other technical photography. Also, the ability to add a UV filter on the lens would have been a big plus. Otherwise, for my purposes, the Nikon P100 is the ideal camera which, barring any catastrophic failure, ought to serve a good long while. Thanks again, Nikon! July 24, 2010
Perfect set of features This is a terrific, easy-to-carry camera that does an amazing job, equal to that of bigger, more elaborate units. And, it creates incredible, high-def videos, viewable with QuickTime or convertible to other formats, so you can leave your video cam behind (or, forget about buying one!) If you were planning on a pocket-sized, simple point-and-shoot, I'd suggest you go for the P100 instead. And, don't let the features and menus overwhelm you. Start with automodes, then play with one feature at a time. Make learning how to add audio memos to your photographs a priority--a terrific feature. Spend a bit more, and wade a bit deeper into the "complicated camera" waters with this multi-featured bridge camera. July 23, 2010
Everthing you need in one camera. The P100 is my pet (of the three Nikons) since it has all the features in one unit. Now I just pick up the P100 and don't worry that I forgot to take the right lenes and just head off on vacation! Back in early days I had to carry two bodies and four lenes to be sure I didn't miss a picture I wanted. July 23, 2010
Just what I expected Ordered this after 2 months of research and handling several cameras in brick and mortar stores. I am not a pro but have been a photo bug since 1971 when I bought my first Nikons (FTN and Nikkormat) I also have owned Nikonos II underwater, Nikon FM and Olympus and Pentax SLRs. I love: - the telephoto, - having a choice between lcd display and eye piece view, - flash controls, and - video capability. The display of error messages when I make a mistake (don't remove the lens cap, have the flash up when shooting video, etc) is a great benefit (concise messages and easily understood). Photo quality is very good but has a little softness the farther you zoom (expected). The controls for the display and viewfinder are a little awkward for my hands but not so much as to be annoying. I have not yet mastered all the settings but what I have used is very easy to use. Some of the software (Capture NX2) is demo only and needs to be purchased. Would have liked to have the software included as art of the package. All in all this is a great camera for me when I don't care to tote the bag of lenses and equipment and still want some of the capabilities not found in simpler point and shoots. I am extremely pleased with this camera. July 23, 2010
Love! My Birthday Present My husband got this camera for me a month early so that I would know how to use it for our upcoming trip to Alaska and it has everything and more than I expected in a camera. Love the Zoom, this way I won't have to get up close and personal with a bear or whale and can capture the eagles as they soar up above. It is perfect and easy to travel without all the lenses, it's an all-in-one camera. Best of all, the photos that I've already taken are so clear and crisp, such an improvement from my previous camera. I highly recommend the Nikon P100, it meets all my needs and travels well. July 23, 2010
great camera i bought this camera to replace my Kodak Z612, which I absolutely loved, While on vacation, I am assuming from the heat, the lens shattered. I researched several cameras (Olympus, Fuji, Panasonic and Canon). While all these cameras were nice, they did not have all the features i wanted and had become accustomed to. I did want to upgrade and have a camera that was better in night light. This camera does it all and more. I love to take action shots, sunsets and landscapes. I am a novice and wanted the camera to do these things automatically. i am very pleased and as yet I haven't fully looked at all the options available. I have the camera 2 weeks and needed it to take on vacation with me, my pictures came out great! July 23, 2010
BEST semi-pro DSLR under $1000 I really wanted a DSLR with a couple of lenses for close up and long telephoto. There aren't any worth looking at under $1000. My previous DSLR had an internal lens and it has served me very well for 12 years so why not buy another one. This camera does everything I wanted in a camera including HD video and super slow motion. I have only one problem with the camera and that is that it has a limited shutter settings. I would like to have unlimited shutter times like a bulb switch on regular film SLR's I have a need occasionally to leave the shutter open for several minutes. This camera has 2, 4, 6, and 8 second limits based on ASA setting. This is the only limit and negative issue I have with the camera. So I would have to rate it 98 out of 100. And who needs 15 Megapixels when 10 is more than enough. July 23, 2010
Very nice! Being a professional filmmaker and working all day with big equipment, I don't want a fully manual, heavy camera with a long lens to carry around. The P100 is a magnificent choice to have a good quality camera with manual options, but also fully automatic point and shoot capability, all in a light, compact camera. The lens is superb, and the zoom is astonishing. The pictures are excellent with very nice resolution and detail. When you hold it and see the design and craftsmanship, you know you're holding a Nikon! July 23, 2010
Awsome Camera!!!!!!! We bought this after looking at a lot of different cameras. We were looking for a camera that had good zoom and took good pictures. We love it.....it is great. I would tell anyone I know looking for a great SLR to get it.. July 23, 2010
Professional Results yet Simple to Use I used to use a non-digital SLR with two lenses, separate flash attachment, filters, etc. Then I received a small digital camera as a gift and really enjoyed its simplicity and compactness but it lacked versatility and quality of picture. The Coolpix P100 is the answer. It produces professional quality pictures in virtually any situation and all I have to carry is the camera and a mini tripod. From action sports to portraits to landscapes to low light/back lit shots it performs flawlessly every time. And you can make it as automatic as you want. For all but the true professional photographer, its the only camera you will need. July 23, 2010
Amazing!!! My parents got me this camera for a safari in Tanzania. They both brought these huge cameras that were three times as big and three times as heavy, and after reviewing our pictures, we all agree that mine are the best! July 23, 2010
Excellent for the price ! Anyone who has ever used a digital camera can handle this one. Straight forward controls, easy symbol language, phantastic telezoom lens - all of the usual Nikon quality. It's a real pleasure to have this one in your collection. Focusing is excellent, manual override is perfect when the auto focus may not result in best quality. July 22, 2010
This Camera Truly Has Everything and More I recently have been using another Nikon product when I was first learning photography to get started. The Nikon Coolpix S202 was great, it was a great family camera and I was the one who used it most the time. Like all things the camera's life ended. So I was in need of a new camera. The Coolpix S202 was great for point and shoot but I thought I was ready for a more advanced camera, but I didn't think I needed a DSLR, so I found this camera the Coolpix P100 and my whole family loves it. The features on it are incredible! I would describe this camera as an in between camera of a DSLR and an easy point and shoot. It has great features with scene setting and I use all of them a ton, Nikon nailed these features. It also has subject tracking, sports continuous, and so many more. It really is a great point and shoot with some other DSLR features with P, S, A, and M modes. All these settings are great for me because they really satisfy my interest of learning more on how and what to do to make pictures better. I have been using Aperture and Shutter speed priority settings quite a bit, and have made pictures better just by understanding what to do with them. After buying this camera my family used it some, and they already love it, they're still using Auto mode but toying around with the other settings too. The Video is AMAZING! I've been using both 1080p Full HD video and the outstanding 240 frames per second slow motion video a lot. They both are a lot of fun to mess around with or truly recording memories for ever. Nikon truly has the coolest cameras ever, which is why the name "coolpix" is the perfect name for them, but out of all the coolpix i have or my family has owned or owns (thats 5), this one is the hands down best! Thats not because the other ones have problems, no, it's because this one has all those great features the other coolpix have and more. July 11, 2010
Very Nice I have one of this camera And is already great And the wonderful features and control I would advise everyone to acquire it July 11, 2010
Nikon, you have done it again! I have had my P100 for about a month and a half, and I could not ask for a better camera. Most of the time, a zoom's quality goes down the more you zoom in, but not for the p100. At 26x, it is perfectly clear. The Sports Continuous mode is perfect for capturing everything fast. This camera is one of Nikon's best! July 10, 2010
Great Camera! I love this camera. It takes great images. It has a ton of professional features. It takes awesome HD videos. I would get this camera if I were you. July 9, 2010
Amazing Photos I have had this camera for just under a year and I can't believe the quality of the pictures. I have taken every kind of photos imaginable from macro to moonless nightshots and have gotten consistently excellent shots. There has been the odd hiccup here and there, but so has all my other electronics, but not enough to not recommend this camera to my friends. Don't listen to the naysayers, just buy this camera. You won't regret it. December 8, 2011
Its a good step-up camera This is a good camera to have when you are tired of being limited to the small point and shoot features. This will perform alot of the same things that a digital SLR will do, but there is a small delay between when you push the button to snap the picture and when the shutter is released. Some of the other auto focus features are very complicated to try and figure out, like the focus tracker, and the switch to manual focus. Don't be afraid to use the viewfinder to take a picture, turn off the back screen when you are taking pictures. It will conserve battery power. July 3, 2011
Great little camera I have had this camera almost a year and it takes great photos and videos. Mind you,because of the small image sensor it can not compare with a SLR camera but it does well for what it has. For a while I thought of getting the p500 but decided not to,will perhaps upgrade to SLR later on. May 4, 2011
I love this camera! The only thing I have found wrong with this camera, is the speed of taking pictures. It's got a short lag to it that makes it hard to catch that perfect moment if it happens in the blink of an eye. Everything else about it is WONDERFUL!!!! May 1, 2011
Very user friendly product I love the Nikon P100 it was recomende to me by a friend I use it to take photo's for our regional newspaper. It work very well! I can really recommend this camera. Maybe I must still investigate some of the functions of the camera, but I do find that photo's tend to have a redish colour but not bad! Other than that I love it! Prints, enlarges, everything about it user friendly Perfect for what I wana do with it. April 20, 2011
I Loved my camera. My wife bought me a P100 for our 20th anniversary. It takes Great pictures - I took a picture of the moon in the day time, The moon filled the photo and you could see the craters clearly, - No tripod! I read the manual cover to cover, then parts as needed. This camera was ten times the SLR camera I had in the 1970s. I was amazed at what this camera could do as a still camera, then I started taking movies. It was a wonderful movie camera too. I didn't have to make the grand kids hold still anymore! I began to have sound problems - the movie sound was like someone wrinkling news paper next to the mic. My wife said we had a few days left on the store guarantee and we should take it back and get a new one. (NO! No not my Friend theP100! --- well ok.) We returned the P100 and received our money back, then proceeded further into the store to pick up a new P100. They were out of P100s!! I almost cried. I realized it was the best gift my wife ever gave me. April 12, 2011
It takes great pictures and it needs a good source to review them.and edit the less perfect ones. Nikon Coolpix P100 ! I will not complain, but please review and do much reading to be the best at what you do. Please take good classes to help grow stronger and you will make it the best hobby ever. too. Been there and done that, 2.5 years of schooling and you will go far and no body will ever run over YOU, Never !!! Thanks March 18, 2011
Very good for a young photography enthusiast This is a great camera if your just getting into photography and don't want to spend the money on a DSLR. I got this camera about 6 months ago and have loved it ever since. It's great for learning how to use features like f-stop and ISO. Anyone can take a nice picture with this camera but if you spend a little bit of time learning you can get excellent images. A downside to this camera is for me the flash makes things a little too bright. Also you can't shoot in RAW but to most people that shouldn't be too big of a deal. I'm really glad I bought this camera because it helped me to grow a lot as a photographer. I definitely recommend this camera, especially for a teenager looking to take great photos. February 27, 2011
The zoom is spectacular!! I was looking for a camera with as much zoom as possible in a point and shoot and I believe I have found it in the Nikon P100. I am an amateur. The camera is so far advanced for my knowledge I am having to study to try and learn all the camera can do. We were amazed at the smile detector.I also wanted a camera that took a clear picture without noise in low light.How it is able to light up a dark background from several feet away is a wonder to me. I took picture of my grandson playing basketball with the continuance motion setting and they came out very clear--able to see all the way across the gym and caught every moment of play. IF it has a negative it would be that even with the vibration reduction I still have quite a bit of shake with the long lens resulting in pics that are not as clear as I would like. I am trying to learn to use a tripod to eliminate that problem. I expect to uncover many more secrets the P100 has as my knowledge increases. February 17, 2011
I love it The only negative for me is that the lens caps has to be removed prior to turning it on, at my age I often forget. Have been taking photos of a pair of eagles and now their young at a nest I know and the photos are sharp and clear with the lens all the way out. Have used it for other situations and like it very much. January 29, 2011
happy with nikon p100 i recently purchased this camera to allow more light into my pictures through a wider lens. i took one picture with this camera at the store and knew it was what i have been looking for. i have been a longstanding nikon enthusiast with 2 of the three digital cameras I have purchased in the past being nikon coolpix. the only reservation i have had has been the low light performance of the cameras. with the p100, and the wider lens, this is making a difference in the photos i am shooting. i find that nikon has the best color settings of pictures i take. this is the reason i stay with nikon. January 24, 2011
great product this is a great camera. i have been looking for a digital camera that shoots good HD video and this does. Also, the camera has a pretty large learning curve which I really enjoy. Can't wait to continue learning and shooting great shots. December 29, 2010
So Far so Good! Needed a hybrid like the P100 so we could travel and take Pix more efficiently. Have a digital SLR, but it weighs a ton and changing lenses is a pain -and does not allow for spontaneity. So far so good! The P100 takes crisp, clear shots, provides good depth of field, and 26X zoom gets you there. Image stabilization needs some getting used to but we're learning. Plan to use a tri or mono-pod. So far so good! December 27, 2010
Great features but sensitive equipment I've had my camera for about 6 months or so and in that period of time I have replaced it 2 times. Every time is because the back display is broke. I love the ease of use of the camera but the sensitivity makes me scared to use it. December 26, 2010
Page: 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
66 Questions | 75 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
66 Questions | 75 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P100
 
4 Answers

When i use the zoom my picture is slightly to very blury.

Apr 18, 2011 by
by
Carol
North Dakota
Has staff answer
+20points
20out of 20found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful20unhelpful0
I am frustrated because i bought my camera at Best Buy and bought the service agreement. I brought it in today for the third time. The first two times it was sent in to be repaired and today the geek squad guy said there is nothing wrong with the camera a tripod won't fix. I find it will take pictures good at time and most of the time blury. What should i do? I don't trust this camera any more.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Carol
North Dakota
Location : 
North Dakota
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I've had the same problem since I got the camera in 2010. Unless I"m basically right on top of a subject, my photos are often very out of focus. I'm considering getting either the Nikon D3300 or the Nikon D3200, but am worried that I'll have focus issues again....
Feb 18, 2014 by
by
Mellie1984
Indiana, USA
Location : 
Indiana, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below so you can send us sample images. After we've reviewed your samples we'll contact you with more information:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Remember, you control the camera. If it is blurry, most of the time it is because YOU are doing something wrong. Make sure all your settings are right. For portraits, use single focus (important). NEVER shoot below 1/20 or your pictures will almost always be blurry. If you have lighting issues, buy a flash or 2.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JacobC

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
First of all check the exif on some of your images, a lot can be gained by reading this. Sometimes too much is expected of equipment and most of the time its due to settings that cause image problems.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P100
 
2 Answers

Where can I buy this camera?

Jun 20, 2011 by
by
kimchris91
whb, ny
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
The authorized dealers aren't selling it. Is there anywhere else I can buy it?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
kimchris91
whb, ny
Location : 
whb, ny
Age: Under 18
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Amazon and eBay are great places.
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Alexis09
El Paso, TX
Location : 
El Paso, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please click on the link below and then to Authorized Dealers for more information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jun 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
See if there is a metering setting. This will change how the camera focuses on objects. You likely want the setting on 3d or Matrix Metering for a generally focused shot.
Jul 1, 2011 by
by
AndrewS

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
maybe u try manual mode?
Jun 30, 2011 by
by
Josen
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P100
 
2 Answers

How can I take pictures faster

Jul 17, 2011 by
by
Jeremy
Texas
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
The camera is advertised as being able to take 10 fps in continuous shooting mode, but I can't seem to take more than one picture every 2 to 3 seconds. I have installed a high quality, high speed, name brand SDHC card, but it doesn't seem to make any difference. The only way I can shoot faster is to switch to sport mode, but then I get a string of photos every time I push the button, but I can still only push the shutter release button every few seconds. Is there a setting where I can push the shutter release and take a picture any faster, like say every half second?
3 years ago
by
Jeremy
Texas
Location : 
Texas
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can also use the green running man setting on your dial. This will give you multiple pictures but you MUST have the camera steady the eintire time. I'm unsure if you can reset how many it takes as mine takes like 30 of them :-(
Jan 25, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to shoot in continuous you'll need to hold the shutter down. Please see page # 42 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX P100 for more information on shooting modes.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
kathy
Age: 45-54
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your camera maybe set to the viewfinder setting. There is a button on the top left hand side of the monitor that has a rectangular icon...press it. I panicked the first time I had no monitor image.
Dec 8, 2011 by
by
BigMikey
Thunder Bay, ON, CA
Location : 
Thunder Bay, ON, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Nov 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P100
 
2 Answers

My P100 locks up-

Dec 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Florida
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
After some use, the P100 locks-up, nothing works - no zoom, no shutter. I can only get it working again by removing the battery. What do I do? Is it a hardware or software issue? I've seen references to this problem on other photography sites, why not here?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Is it in the green guy mode when this happens? If so that's why it's locking up - it's taking 10-30 pics rapidly. If not then sorry I couldn't help.
Jan 25, 2012 by
by
Rockswifey
MN
Location : 
MN
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Dec 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P100
 
2 Answers

Which type of memory card is apte for HD video

Aug 15, 2012 by
by
Raghu
India
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Currently I am using Sony SD HC 4 GB memory card, I recorded some video clips but when I play them on my laptop they play as if the recording is skipping the tracks.

Can you help an answer why this is happening.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Raghu
India
Location : 
India
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
currently i am using s.d hc class 4 card
Aug 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I don't know what speed rating your using but I would suggest a class 10 SDHC. Hake sure your card reader is SDHC compatible.
Aug 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P100
 
2 Answers

anyone know what's the best way to take a picture of lightening at night??

Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am using a Nikon Coolpix P100
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can't because with lightning you need to set the timing to BULB (B) and this is not available in the P100, much to my dismay!
Jul 21, 2014 by
by
wildfirejc
Lydd, Romney Marsh, Kent TN29, UK
Location : 
Lydd, Romney Marsh, Kent TN29, UK
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P100
 
1 answer

my camera isn't charging

Apr 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
what do i do?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5
Answer: 
Please verify which option you have selected in order to re-charge your battery. When connecting the camera to a computer via the supplied USB cable while Auto is selected for the Charge by Computer option in the setup menu, the battery inserted into the camera is automatically charged using power supplied by the computer. Or use the Charging AC adapter EH-68P to the camera via USB and then plugging the adapter into an electrical outlet.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P100
 
1 answer

Can the small usb port be replaced on the camera? The wrong cord was inserted into the slot and bent the prongs inside the port.

Apr 6, 2011 by
by
Patty
Oahu, Hawaii
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Patty
Oahu, Hawaii
Location : 
Oahu, Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it can be replaced. You will need to send your camera for service.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers