Loading

12.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches

Beautiful, Bright 3.0-inch High Resolution TOUCH PANEL HVGA (460,000-dot) Clear Color Display with anti-glare coating that enables easy touch control to all camera functions

  • Sensitive Response Touch Panel display enables effortless use of touch panel by ensuring sensitive response to even the lightest tapping and touch for smooth operation
  • Touch Shutter and Autofocus simply tap the LCD to have the camera focus and even shoot the picture.
  • Retouch and Draw functions for quick, convenient in-camera enhancements and personalization to any image

4-way VR Image Stabilization System

  • Electronic VR Image Stabilization minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement
  • High ISO up to 3200 capability helps give you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. 
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image

Smart Portrait System includes:

  • Smile Timer and Blink Proof makes sure you’ll always catch the decisive moment when your subject smiles and Blink Proof function shoots two pictures and automatically saves the one in which the subject’s eyes remain open.
  • Blink Warning, when activated alerts you that the subject may have blinked and allows you to retake the photo.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes, while shooting, most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again
  • Face-Priority AF Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces
  • Skin Softening smoothes skin tone at three different levels for optimal portraits

Subject Tracking will automatically track a moving subject to ensure sharp focus

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts camera setting

18 Scene Modes for optimized shooting in various settings

5 Color Options for special filter effects.  Choose from: standard color, vivid color, black-and-white, sepia and cyanotype

4x Wide-angle Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens has a versatile zoom range from wide 27mm to 108mm telephoto coverage that gets you close to your subject while capturing expansive landscapes

New HD Movie Record stunning HD (720p) quality movies at 30fps for easy playback in camera, on TV or computer

Slim, Stylish, Metal Design in a variety of stunning colors for pocketable convenience and individuality

EXPEED Image Processing ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness.  Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates the know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development and is custom-tuned for COOLPIX. Applied optimized technologies render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you won’t miss that special moment

Quick Retouch optimizes contrast and color vividness for beautiful images

D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail during playback

Macro shooting as close as 3.1”

COOLPIX S4000 4.1 5 194 194
Best compact I ever had! I bought my first Nikon S4000 in April 2010- I took thousands of clear, sharp, great pictures-then in Oct 2011, it just stopped working. The camera would not turn on. I was assured by Nikon that the life of a $150 camera is about this long, when used alot. I agree, I've had lots of other brands & they only lasted this long. It was still disappointing, but I will buy another! LOVED IT!!!! It never let me down- until Oct. of course. November 16, 2011
Good pictures, but camera did not last long. I bought this camera just before my vacation and 3 weeks into my trip across the United States the camera developed a dark spot on the pictures and the viewing screen therefore I had to borrow a camera for the rest of my trip. October 12, 2011
potentially great p&s flawed by poor usb connector Took great pictures for a few months, then the onboard usb connector failed and is not covered by Nikon's warranty, so camera is essentially useless. ($85+ repair). October 4, 2011
light weight but not worth it I got this camera for christmas 2010 and have only enjoyed using it during day. Its blurry at night and in many indoor lighting situations...no good pic of nephews baptism. Pics are slow to show up on screen after taking and now the touch screen doesnt work. Also, cant shoot video, have tried different cards but always reads "cant read card" or something like that. Will look for something else....thought Nikon would be better. September 3, 2011
I had the L18 before which was excellent. That camera fell and broke so I went and the store clerk told me that this S4000 was the best one at the right price. So far, I'm truly disappointed.... I want my L18 back. August 25, 2011
Great camera!! this camera takes amazing photos, has good auto focus, and plenty of different features and options a.e. closeup, fireworks, landscape, portrait, ect. you can also edit the picture after you have taken it to change the color, size, crop, contrast, ect.. sometimes it freezes up which would be my only issue. but it's not often. and you just have to restart the camera, which takes 2 seconds. catches great photos in action, not blurry at all. August 9, 2011
Not Great Bought this S4000 after my Canon SD900 wore out. Couldn't be more disappointed as I use camera mainly for videos. More than half the time it will not take a video and says "card cannot be read" and stops. I tried many different cards and same thing. In addition, the autofocus is very slow to respond and the image stabilization is poor at best. When taking photos, the camera usually takes 2 presses of the button and is often out of focus. Don't buy this unless it is for your kid. July 29, 2011
Disappointing I was really excited when I received this camera for Christmas. I came to find out there are a number of issues and have confirmed them here on line. The camera has trouble with dark (Christmas lights) or nighttime shots. Also, very tricky with making sure you don't get blurry shots. Very sensitive to any movement. Lastly, the most disappointing is that I can't take a short video with this camera. Have tried two different approved memory sticks (Sandisk 16gig speed setting of 4 and Lexar 8gig speed setting of 6) and still not able to take more than one video. I love the size but am very disappointed in Nikon. I have an old Kodak that is bulky but takes really good pictures compared to the Nikon. July 4, 2011
Great Camera Fantastic. Limited only by the user. The Camera has incredible capabilities that I have to explore continuously in order to gain a good use of the product. Comparing it with a waterproof Olympus of the same variety I used to have before it was stolen, the CoolPix 4000 is a Mighty Mouse. June 20, 2011
liked the touch screen, but about all baught this for the holidays (Nov. 10'). poor picture quality.... some turn out very well but using all auto settings still a lot of shaking and distortions. aftere nearly 6 months of use lens error became a problume. at eight months no longer functioning. i did how ever enjoy the touch screen focus salection feature. but hated not knowing where the batterie level was. I'll stick with my pentex and sony. May 26, 2011
Next time around I will choose something else I recently bought this camera after my other camera was accidently dropped in the water. My older camera was a Kodak and it was easy to use. I decided that I would like to just check out Nikon since I know they are a good brand. I liked the camera at first but afterwards I realized that the pictures didn't turn out half as good as my Kodak and like a lot of people said, it will not take good night photos. You can't take just quick shots either you have to hold it EXTREMELY still (even more than you should for just a little pocket camera. It's nothing special, it shouldn't need to be on a tripod for every photo), even then its not that great. I was really upset and next time around I will not go with this camera. I'm not extremely big into photography but I do like taking pictures at events and compared to my Kodak, this one is not that great and I think I will just stick with Kodak. May 23, 2011
Great quality When i got this camera, i totally fell in love!! The only bad thing is that you cant take good pictures at night. It would always turn out blurry. But during the day time- its perfect!! And the quality is SUPER!!! May 21, 2011
:) This camera takes good pictures, but it does brake real easily ! :( May 20, 2011
Expected better from Nikon I wasn't expecting DSLR quality from a sub-$200 point and shoot, but I thought with the Nikon name on it this camera would be about as good as you could get in the price range. It is not. This camera is all but useless in anything less than outdoor daytime lighting. Indoors, regardless of what setting you choose (and I've tried most of them) you are lucky to get 1 out of 3 shots to come out well. The problem appears to be with the lack of image stabilization; unless you are shooting from a tripod you just can't keep the camera still long enough when shooting in low light. On the plus side, it does take decent shots when there is adequate light, and the touch screen is a neat, fun feature. But I would gladly trade the nifty touch screen for a camera that takes good photos in most conditions. For that reason I would definitely not recommend this camera to anyone. May 15, 2011
I was expecting more from a Nikon... This camera is horrible. I realize you can only expect so much from an inexpensive point and shoot, but I thought that with the Nikon name this was probably about as good as you could get in its price range. I was wrong. This camera is all but useless indoors. After trying many different settings, I finally found one that gets about one out of three indoor photos right. The lack of image stabilization really hurts this camera. Outdoor photos with plenty of light are ok, about what I would expect from a camera at this price level. So if you only plan to take photos outdoors in daylight, this camera will work for you. Otherwise, pass it over (and I assume the same goes for its successor). May 14, 2011
Great touch screen camera I bought this camera to replace an older compact camera which only had 8 megapixels. During my recent trip to Europe, I took almost 800 pictures with this camera. Here is my honest review on this camera. The menus are accessed via the touch screen, and it doesn't take much time to get acquainted with the structure of the menus. A feature I really like is the 'touch shutter' function. This allows you to touch an item on the screen, and the camera focuses and takes the picture of the item touched. Or you can take a picture the 'old fashioned' way and use the shutter release button on the top of the camera. The quality of the photos taken did not disappoint. Outside photos were extremely sharp with very accurate color. The auto white balance struggles a bit with photos taken inside, but there is a manual white balance option. By the end of my trip, the photos taken indoors were sharp as well. I had a few blurry images, but all of them were attributed to 'user error'. At first I thought the battery life was a bit short. The first day of my trip, the 'low battery' indicator came on at the end of the day. I was a bit alarmed until I noticed I took almost 300 pictures at the highest resolution (with a few retakes). The specs for the battery life on this camera was 'approx 190 shots', so the battery on my camera exceeded the specs. Overall, this has been a great camera which I would recommend to anyone who wants a point-and-shoot camera. April 28, 2011
great camera easy to handle. good battery life, wife loves it. Not too many buttons and add ons. Great features for the price and size. Super camera. April 25, 2011
BLURRY PICTURES!!! EVERY PICTURE I TAKE IS BLURRY...I AM LUCKY OUT OF 10 PICS I TAKE 10% LOOK GOOD....SO MUCH FOR HAVING MEMORIES OF MY NEW BABY... April 24, 2011
No, thank you. I got this camera for Christmas and I thought it would be great. Well... during the daytime it's perfect. But take this camera to a concert or out at night, good luck getting a good picture. Out of over 100 pictures I took at one concert only about 30 pictures came out DECENT enough. Most of the settings sound perfect but sadly, most of the settings work best with a TRIPOD. Really disappointed. April 22, 2011
Fantastic My wife (the actual gift recipient) and I took this on a cruise, along with my D80, and her ***** compact camera. This was great! Slipped right into a pocket, was always handy, and took great pictures. The fast focus, brilliant flash, and easy menus and touch screen made it a pleasure to use. April 14, 2011
Excellent Camera Purchased this camara as a "gift" for myself, is the 3rd Coolpix I have owned, as is by far the most fun and easiest to used. Bought it mainly because of the fast flash recycle time, was tired of missing Grandchildren photos , waiting for the flash to recharge. Easy to use, intuitive controls, excellant pictures and features. The warranty is great too, damaged the optics and Nikon fixed them no charge is 3 weeks. Will continue to purchase and recommend Nikon Products. April 2, 2011
this product is easy to use the instructions were well written and the product responded to my first efforts to understand how to operate the features March 23, 2011
Poor quality pics Bought 2 of these and not happy, pictures not sharp and blurry, took my old camera instead on vacation a week ago, would not buy another camera without optical or mechanical image stabilization, READ REVIEWS FROM MAJOR TESTERS! March 23, 2011
This camera is great. I love this camera.I have only had it a week, it takes great pictures and so easy to use. March 17, 2011
Very impressed with the products capabilities. I bought this camera because my girlfriend got one for Mothers Day. I saw the pictures she took and had to have one! It surpasses a camera I have at triple the cost! I know I am going to love it! March 12, 2011
Excellent in certain light areas I got this camera a little while ago but I have already seen that it is a good camera. In the right light setting it takes amazing photos good color good sharpness. I love that the camera is so small that it is portable and has an amazing touch screen. Over all it is amazing but the reason I rate it a 4 out of 5 is because only under certain light areas it takes amazing photos. So it is super but not everything I wanted. PS: the photo included shows how in the right light conditions it can take excellent photos. March 9, 2011
great for the every day!!! first let me just note that the pictures posted to this review are actually better in full size, if you are looking at them and thinking they are choppy that is bacause they have to squish an extreamly large photo in to a small box.. dont lat this fool you these pictures are very god quality and clarity!..... now to my review .... i have an obsession with the nikonD500... i want it desperately!!! .. but woe to me i can not afford it.... my parents(knowing i needed a new camera) got me a @#%&*$ (rude to say the brand).... i hated it so i returned it... i saw this nikon s4000 and fell in love.. it doesnt take 10 seconds to take the picture after you push the button!!! it, like all digital cameras will never have good stop action.. thats just something you have to accept with digital and affordable... the touch screen is nice for viewing... not so great for taking the actual picture but the button on top works just fine... this is a camera for your every day.. your birthday... your christmas... your long walk in the woods.... understanding the limitations of photography with an affordable camera is simple... *understand that it isnt like a standard camera.. there are ups and downs... *play with it when you get it!,, try every lighting situation, try moving with it.. try getting close to things try backing off...try day time ,night time, in doors, and out doors.. at the sun at the moon... give your new camera a chance to show you where it is best used.. and accept it for that.. people that have high expectations and limited patience will never get good pictures with anything... so once again i will say: don't look for whats wrong.. just understand the limitations.. and enjoy your compact, light weight, touch screen, digital camera... March 5, 2011
This camera is a great camera!! I personally love the touch screen plus it has a bunch of wonderful features that you will enjoy such as retouching the pic right after you take the pic. The pictures are very clear and real life like!! It has just been wonderful since I bought it. I also prefer cameras that do not work off of AA batteries. This camera just has all the plus features for me. Love it!! February 17, 2011
This was a waste of $200.00! I bought this camera in October 2010 and I have had pictures that turn blue in low lighting and yellow in low lighting. Now I have an OUT OF MEMORY problem. No matter how many new SD I put in this camera I still get the same message. I wasted $200.00 of my money on this camera. I have taken better pictures on a throw away camera. I also have a freezing problem on the camera. Take 2 pictures and it is done at on time. February 5, 2011
Break This camera breaks a lot, and doesn't take great pictures. The lens always has errors. January 18, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 8
<<prev | next>>
61 Questions | 71 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
61 Questions | 71 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4000
 
3 Answers

Why won't videos save?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Leelee89
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Whenever I take a video over a minute or so, the camera says the file did not save or no file can be recognized or something. Can anyone tell me how to fix that, because time-limited videos aren't that fun.
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Leelee89
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I tried one of the approved cards (Lexar 8Gig) and had the same problem. Worked for the first video (about 3 minutes in length) then when I went to do the next video, I received the same "can't read" message. Very frustrated with this camera for video.
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Chuck

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
You are probably using a memory card with too low of a speed classification. On the SanDisk SD Card, there is a number inside a "C". If this is not 4 or more, the write speed of the card is too slow.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
SchoolBusJoe

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
Please verify that you are using an approved memory card with your camera:

Answer Title: Approved SD Cards - Coolpix S4000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

Also reset all settings to defalut:
Tab MENU > Setup menu > Reset all.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S4000
 
2 Answers

Why is it that when i take a picture without flash, its really blurry

Mar 6, 2011 by
by
YDS
California
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Every time i try to take a picture without flash, it comes out very blurry and its sometimes impossible to tell what i just took
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
YDS
California
Location : 
California
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful3
Answer: 
If the light is too dim, the shutter speed will be very slow, and any camera motion will blur the photo. Also, make sure that you are not "punching" the shutter button. Press slowly, and gently.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
SchoolBusJoe

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
make sure you have the right adjustments for exposure, like:
white balance in auto mode
ISO sensitivity auto
AF area mode auto.
(all of this if you're novice) and when taking a shoot make sure you press at half the shutter to focus and when the focus area goes green press fully the shutter. Another thing will help you is:
AF assist - auto
vibration reduction - on
motion detection - auto
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
luissandovalmendivil
Mexicali, Mexico
Location : 
Mexicali, Mexico
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4000
 
2 Answers

how to set settings for shooting at night and to my images are sharp, please help

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Rista
Serbia
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Rista
Serbia
Location : 
Serbia
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try using the "Night Landscape" setting under "Scene Mode". It looks like a little building with a crescent moon above it.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
SchoolBusJoe

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Camera settings are automatically optimized for selected subject types when using a Scene Mode. For night shooting you can select Night Portrait or Night Landscape.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4000
 
2 Answers

Where can I find the product key for a Nikon Coolpix S4000? How many digits is it?

Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Sugarpoint1
Lundar, Manitoba
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sugarpoint1
Lundar, Manitoba
Location : 
Lundar, Manitoba
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
bottom of the camera, is the saerial number 8 digits
Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you’re asking about the serial number of your camera is located at the bottom of the camera and is a 7 digits number.
Mar 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4000
 
2 Answers

All the video we take w/ our Coolpix S4000 plays back choppy. It stops then restarts not consistant at all. Please help!

Apr 3, 2011 by
by
Lisa
Home
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Lisa
Home
Location : 
Home
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure you are using SanDisk cards, and double check the speed class of the SD Cards you use. I was unaware that they had such a thing, but the Coolpix 400 requires a card with a speed class of 4 or higher. On the face of the card, right below the red part of the label, there is a number enclosed in a "C". This indicates the speed class.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
SchoolBusJoe
Rochester, NY
Location : 
Rochester, NY
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below so you can send us a sample video:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4000
 
2 Answers

Why won't my camera import photos?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
I.J.B.4662
Alberta
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have imported to my laptop before but now it won't work. Usually it shows the pictures then asks if I want to import all or select photos. It won' t show any pictures and I can't get it to work. My laptop is a Macbook. Any advice on how to fix this?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
I.J.B.4662
Alberta
Location : 
Alberta
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
How many photos were you trying to import? I use a mac as well, and it can take sometime for iPhoto to read all the photos on the camera. I had 800 photos on my camera, and it took almost a minute for my camera/photos to appear in iPhoto.
Try closing iPhoto, then connecting your camera. iPhoto should automatically open and read the photos and then give you an option to import the photos.
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4000
 
2 Answers

Tried to use macro mode...

May 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Close-ups of flowers, that kind of thing, but I can't get it to focus on the object in front - it keeps focusing on the background (background comes out clear, front object is blurry/out of focus). What am I doing wrong?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
move back a little bit. even in macro mode, there are close-focus limitations.
May 18, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send some sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am aware of pressing the photo button halfway to allow for focus, but in doing this I cannot get the image to become in focus. I have tried to reset the camera's settings, but this has not worked. The image on the touch screen remains blurry whether it is zoomed in or out.
10 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, I changed the battery last year.
Jan 15, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Have you ever replaced the battery? Three years is about the life of the battery.
Jan 14, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4000
 
2 Answers

I put a 128 MB SD card in my Coolpix S4000, why did I run out of memory at 35 photos?

Mar 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
too small of a card, settings for pics set too high. On mine with a 4GB card I can only get 250 pics at max resoulution. Recommend 2-4 GB card for this camera, unless you want to constantly download photos.
Apr 2, 2011 by
by
PhotoBud
Cleveland, Ohio
Location : 
Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Pictures taken are recorded as images files. The size of the files and with it the number of images that can be recorded, depends on the size and quality of the images. Before shooting, choose an image mode according to how you plan to use the picture. See page # 48 of the User’s Manual.

Ex. If you have the Image Mode set to 12M you can only record 5 pictures in the internal memory. If you set it for 3M you can record 46 pictures. Internal memory is approximate 45MB.

Answer Title: Approved SD Cards - Coolpix S4000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S4000
 
1 answer

Photos have a yellow tint with my Cool Pix S4000. Is there a setting I should try to adjust?

Feb 28, 2011 by
by
Kent
Alabama
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Kent
Alabama
Location : 
Alabama
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please do a Reset All on your camera to restore the settings to default. You can tap Menu > Set up > Reset all. Pag # 134 User's Manual.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers