Loading
;

12.0 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches

Big, Bright 3.0-inch LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures with a wide-viewing angle and anti-glare coating

High Quality TV Movies with Sound records 640x480 at 30fps movies for easy playback in camera, on TV or computer

ISO up to 1600 capability helps give you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects.

AA Batteries for ease of mind with long battery life plus easy, anywhere replacement

Macro shooting as close as 2”

EXPEED Image Processing ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness.  Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates the know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development and is custom-tuned for COOLPIX. Applied optimized technologies render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you won’t miss that special moment

3.6x Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens has a versatile zoom range from 37mm to 134mm telephoto coverage that gets you close to the action while capturing expansive landscapes

Easy Auto Mode with Scene Auto Selector simplifies your picture-taking experience by letting the camera automatically select the best setting to get great picture

3-way VR Image Stabilization System

  • Electronic VR Image Stabilization minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image

Smart Portrait System includes:

  • Smart Portrait Mode makes sure you’ll always catch the decisive moment when your subject smiles.
  • Blink Warning, when activated alerts you that the subject may have blinked and allows you to retake the photo.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes, while shooting, most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again
  • Face-Priority AF Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 3 faces

16 Scene Modes

5 Color Options for special filter effects.  Choose from: standard color, vivid color, black-and-white, sepia and cyanotype

COOLPIX L22 3.8 5 273 273
I like this camera so much. And I would like to recommend it to my friends... May 29, 2011
Don't buy Bought this at Christmas on sale for $89.95 at Amazon for my 14 year old granddaughter.... she used it 3 months and had it on her wrist and it bumped the door as she was closing her closet door.... Nikon wanted $103.18 to repair it... thanks a lot Nikon.... this was my 6th Nikon camera and I just switched and bought a new Sony, wow what a camera! May 25, 2011
Takes photos like the pros. I am very impressed! This is an amazing camera. This one takes photos like the pros. May 22, 2011
Very Handy I bought this camera while on vacation, it is very easy to use and takes great photos. The size is perfect, also you can view and dispose of a bad photo without having to download them to your computer first. The only thing I would change is the amount of time the camera stays on. It shuts down on it's own a little too soon for my liking but overall a great camera. I bought my Son one too, that's how much I like it. May 21, 2011
This is my third Coolpix and I have been pleased. This is my third Nikon Coolpix and I have been very pleased with all. I especially like the Scene selections. Would recommend Nikon to anyone as a first rate camera. May 8, 2011
Cheaply made I received this camera for Christmas and 4 months later I noticed a dime-sized spiderweb crack in the monitor which I suspected was there (only smaller) when I got it. I always keep it in a padded camera case and had not dropped it or anything. When I sent it back for repair which should be covered by the warranty, I was told it wasn't covered and the estimate was high. This is my 2nd Coolpix. My first I had for 5+ years and loved it before the lens got stuck. I am so disappointed in the quality of this camera that I don't think I would ever buy a Nikon again. 0 May 6, 2011
the camera doesn't always open when turning it on probably would not buy this camera again; have had nothing but problems since date of purchase...wish we would have returned it. May 3, 2011
Coolpix L22 This is the second Nikon I have had. The other was a twin for this one but had a different model number. This one and the other had the same problems...the battery door broke after minimal use. It goes through batteries vey quickly... I am disappointed...especially after reading other similar reviews.... This camera now has tape holding the battery door shut.... Hey Nikon improve your products...your name is not what it used to be...sad... April 30, 2011
Superb bang for the buck! As a photographic novice I used other reviews to chose this camera. The size, weight, features, reported quality, and price all came together. I wanted something easy, reliable, and portable for traveling. I got more than I expected. This little camera delivers on all fronts at an unbelievably low price. It took me all of 5 minutes to figure out, and the picture quality - both inside and out - is quite good. For the not-so-serious photographer on the go, this is a beauty. April 29, 2011
Nikon CoolPix L22 I Like It! This is one heck of a camera for its' size. It zooms for close-ups I want with clarity I need for my purposes. It is small, easily carried, and simple to use. The battery lasts a good long time, I have not had to change it from running it flat yet, only as a boost for going out on a photo trip. I like it, and can recommend to anyone looking for a Nikon branded camera that is super small and takes good photos. The price I paid was just about $90.00 in December 2010, and it is worth it. April 18, 2011
Excellent I think this camera is perfect for someone who is looking for a nice camera with good quality of picture. It can record videos. It can also play back the videos that you record with it, but the sound quality is very low. It is a all around camera. It requires a SD Card or Micro SD Card. April 16, 2011
Great photos for a great price! Nikon has always meant quality and results for me. I bought this camera for my wife to keep in her purse so she can capture that "Pulitzer Prize" photo when it happens. We're still waiting for that, but she is having a ball with this easy to use, compact camera taking pictures of everything imaginable. April 14, 2011
this is the worst camera which NIKON made. very bad compact digital camera ,not thing to compare to other compact digital camera. April 14, 2011
DO NOT BUY!!! CHEAPLY MADE! Purchased this camera less than 2 months ago as a easy portable camera. Always stored in a hard sided belt case. Lens jammed up halfway out upon going to standby mode. Will not reset and is now completely useless! Do a search for Nikon Coolpix L22 lens stuck and you will literally get 29,000 results!! April 13, 2011
Great As A Back-up, Very Good Quality I use my Nikon Coolpix L22 primarily as a back-up when I don't have my D60 with me. It is always hanging on my belt, ready to go. I find that the quality of the images are, most generally, excellent. As it does not have VR for use of the extremes in zoom mode it is limited unless I have a mono or tripod. But for times I visit a museum where they do not allow large cameras (or, as one exhibit told me, anything with a detachable lens) this L22 works quite well, capturing images in all sorts of different lighting. The available settings (flash, no flash, sports, portrait, etc) are a nice feature for an inexpensive quality unit. There is even a "museum" setting. The 12mp image size is great. I typically use AA batteries (Duracell or Energizer) and they last for an extremely long time, probably a good 200-300 shots, maybe more. It is very easy to get used to and operate, with a nice size preview screen. Overall I am very pleased with the Coolpix L22 and would recommend it for amateurs, enthusiasts, or anyone needing to have a back-up for, as I said, times when larger gear is not allowed. April 8, 2011
Product Manual Not complete I was very disappointed that the product manual that came with the Nikon Coolpix L22 was not complete. Having to download and then print out the entire manual costs $$ and makes this camera not worth the price. April 3, 2011
Poor Design I purchased my camera in November. It was extremely difficult to close the door to the battery/memory card compartment. The batteries had to be held down with one hand while pressing the door down. Eventually the edge of the door chipped off and the door stopped closing completely leaving a sharp edge. I'm returing it to Nikon (not expecting any response) with a note that they can keep it because it's a piece of junk. I'm going to buy another Sony. My last one, from 5 years ago, is still going strong. I just wanted to upgrade. March 30, 2011
Excellent little digital camera My ailing E3100 finally died, putting it out of it's misery (and me as well!). Of course, I needed a camera at that point in time. Slight panic. A quick search of current Nikon products turned up this L22, seemingly perfect for what I needed. Problem was, no local dealers stocked it. I found one listed in Toronto, sold! The camera arrived the next day and I was able to put it to work immediately. I found that it was very easy to set up and use. The pictures were much better than the E3100 had been, plus the viewing screen was huge by comparison. A view months in, and with semi-constant use, this camera has endured itself to me. It's reliable, dead easy to use with very few surprises. In fact, I'm still on the original batteries while using the flash about 30% of the time at 800 shots. That is amazing. I also use 35 mm film SLR cameras, and tend to think along those lines (full manual). This camera doesn't get in the way for getting the shots I want in automatic mode. Although this is an inexpensive camera, I can't help but recommend it to anyone who needs to document objects or simply take fun pictures. The only thing that I noticed was that taking rapid motion pictures is not something this camera does well. You will end up with substantial delays in the "shutter release", and some out of focus pictures as well. You need to take your time with this one. Beyond that, I find no faults with it for it's intended use. Unless you really need some advanced features or a rapid series of pictures, buy this one. It restored my faith in Nikon's inexpensive cameras. March 28, 2011
Good Pictures - Poor Design Great camera except for one thing. The cover to the battery and card slot is made entirely of plastic, tiny and easily broken because the batteries tend to pop up. When broken the batteries are constantly popping out. Very poor design for battery and card cover locking mechanism. March 20, 2011
Great pocket digital camera for the money We just used the camera for a 3 week vacation taking over 500 pictures with it. We had an older Kodak digital camera we had planned on using too, but the Nikon outperformed it. The Nikon took excellent pictures, was very easy to use and when in low light displayed camera speed to warn when a stable mount was necessary. One set of NiZn batteries lasted over 4 days without recharging at 40 pictures per day. My only major complaint was it wouldn't auto focus correctly when near the max optical zoom and had no way to manually focus it. Otherwise a slight annoyance was having to wait a few seconds when making setting changes before a picture could be taken. March 15, 2011
Very nice camera I purchased this camera for my 76 year old mother and she loves it. It's easy to operate and takes great photos. It's just the right size. I would recommend it to others and I might even buy one for myself even though I already have a digital camera. March 12, 2011
This camera is great! This is the sweetest little camera. I got mine in a deep red color. not only is the camera itself picture perfect but the pictures it takes are perfect! I bought this camera for a photography class and it is just the Best! March 6, 2011
love it!! Love my new camera. Easy to use. big enough for my hands yet small enough to fit in my pruse. I would recommend this camera. March 6, 2011
Awesome! This camera is great! I love the easy auto mode on it so you can take the perfect picture. It has so many cool features. I love taking pictures ever than I did before. I really would recommend this camera to everybody. A picture never looked so perfect. March 4, 2011
I love my Nikon CoolPix... This is fun, convenient, easy, fast, and a joy to own. It was recommended to me by several people as a sturdy and very versatile little digital camera, and although I have only had it a short while, It has proven to be everything it was promoted to be. It suits my needs quite well at the moment, and is all I could ask for in a camera. March 2, 2011
LOVE It I've only had this camera for five hours & already love it. It's extremely user friendly and the quality of the photos is amazing. Can't wait to see how the videos are. Great product for the price, will recommend it to anyone. February 27, 2011
Fantastic This camera is Tough, easy to carry and takes beautiful pictures. Everything about this camera is simple - from set-up, to use, to down-load,- this camera is for the technology challenged. One cannot take a bad picture. February 23, 2011
It's okay.... I purchased this @ walmart for the fourth of july and I found out after I took multiple pictures that it has an actual setting for Fireworks which works great. However my camera is always in my purse and is beat up from probably throwing things in my purse and putting my purse on the floor and now it says lens error and I have a warranty but don't know who to call to use it? I wish I would of saved the money for a better one. Something that doesn't consume so much battery life. Or that could possibly come with a charger. It would also be nice to have a case that's not like covering it in a blanket. It's pretty cheap, so don't get all excited cause it says it comes with one, it doen't protect it. The videos on the camera you can barely hear when you play them & if someones moving too fast (like the video of my son dancing- looks like he's jumping back and fourth really sketchy. February 22, 2011
Simple and great pics Great value for under $100.00 It even has a movie mode which I haven't tried yet. February 21, 2011
Piece of garbage After 2 month and the second time I used the camera, Battery compartment Broke. Nikon refused to service the camera under qhe warranty period. Terrible camera over, all Never will buy another Nikon. February 18, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 10
<<prev | next>>
59 Questions | 67 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
59 Questions | 67 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L22
 
3 Answers

why do i get so fewer photos with my sd card than i did with my previous camera?

Aug 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have a 250 mb SD card and was able to get more than 100 photos with my previous camera and now I only get about 66 with this one. Is there something wrong with the camera or what should I do to get more photos?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You are getting fewer pictures on this card because the pictures you are taking now have a higher resolution setting than your previous camera. If you want more pictures on your card, you are going to have to turn the resolution down to get them.
Nov 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dare say you are getting less because the file size is bigger. When all said and done nothing in this day and age, I would consider getting something bigger, along the lines of at least 2gb
Aug 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please see page # 74 and 75 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX L22 for Image Mode (Size). Also, click on the link below for information on approved memory cards.
Answer Title: Approved SD Cards - Coolpix L21 / L22
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L22
 
2 Answers

L22 Coopix question on moving pictures from camera memory to storage card

Mar 22, 2011 by
by
John
Kennedy Space Center
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
On a L22 Coopix how do I move pictures from the camera memory to a storage card and how big can the storage card be 16GB?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
John
Kennedy Space Center
Location : 
Kennedy Space Center
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Go to MENU > Setup > Copy. Then you can copy your pictures from the Internal Memory (IN) into the memory card. (Thanks to the support staff)
Jun 7, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Go to MENU > Setup > Copy. Then you can copy your pictures from the Internal Memory (IN) into the memory card.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Click "Computer", Then scroll down to "Portable Devices", Click "L22", then "100NIKON". That should take you to your photos and videos.
May 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Either 1) Make sure the laptop has both the camera driver and Nikon software installed and updated - or - 2) Use a SD card reader.
Apr 3, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L22
 
2 Answers

CAN I DATE STAMP MY PICTURES

Sep 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I WORK FOR A REAL ESTATE OFFICE & TAKE LOTS OF PICTURES FOR THEM OF THEIR PROPERTIES. ALL THE PICTURES HAVE TO BE DOWNLOADED TO THEIR COMPUTER & THEY HAVE TO BE DATE STAMPED FOR FANNIE MAE TO SHOW WE WERE AT THE PROPERTY ON SUCH A DATE. DOES THIS CAMERA DO DATE STAMPING OF ALL PICTURES. THANKS. BOB.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can. Click the MENU button on the back. Go to SET UP menu which is indicated by the wrench graphic. First scroll down to DATE and set the Date if you haven't done so. Then scroll down to DATE IMPRINT and set to ON.
Sep 30, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the COOLPIX L22 has the Date and time Imprint feature.
Sep 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L22
 
2 Answers

how do I view internal pictures?

Nov 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Take your memory card out if you have one, and then hit your preview button. they should come right up.
Nov 27, 2011 by
by
Bubblez'Nikon
Delaware, Ohio
Location : 
Delaware, Ohio
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to view pictures that you have stored in the internal memory of the camera, you will need to remove the memory card.
Nov 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is one picture that was taken after choose default settings.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
May 2, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All. Also, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 1, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L22
 
2 Answers

Usb Cable?

Jun 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I went to plug in my USB cable, it wont no longer fit. I also went and purchased a new one and have the same problem. How do I fix this?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our technicians.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Jun 22, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like a piece of the connector broke off in the usb slot or you bent the female connector in the camera.
Jun 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L22
 
1 answer

About f/3.1-6.7 .

Mar 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have read f/3.1-6.7 in specification , it is about aperture or f stops ?
can we adjust it manually ?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The range of aperture settings is f/3.1 - f/6.7, and the camera chooses the aperture automatically with the L22, and there is no manual aperture selection option. At the widest zoom, the maximum aperture possible is f/3.7, and at full telephoto, the maximum aperture is f/6.7.

If you would like more manual control of your camera, then I would recommend having a look at the P-series COOLPIX, which offer the photography much more control.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
New York
Location : 
New York
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I never lose pictures on the SD card. I contacted customer support and went through the process of removing the batteries and SD card for over 24 hours and did a reset as customer support suggested. I also reformated my SD card which is a SanDisk SD card on your approved list.

Is this a known issue and are there any software updates that might fix it?

Thanks in advance for your help.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Al
Little Falls, NJ
Location : 
Little Falls, NJ
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I've used the new rechargeable NiZn 1.6V batteries and had no problem. You might want to try them. I can take over 200 pictures without charging them.
Mar 16, 2011 by
by
TACL
Austin, TX
Location : 
Austin, TX
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX L22
 
1 answer

how meny pictures can it hold without a memory card

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Dave
Ohio
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My new Coolpix L22 can only hold 2 pictures at a time.Ive had several different digital cameras and they held atleast 10-20 pictures before I had to off load them.Just wondering if this camera has to have a memory card just to use it when you are more then 10 feet away from my PC?I do realy like this camera has great features and takes amazing pictures.Just this one thing I have issues with.Thank you for answering this one question on this great camera.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Dave
Ohio
Location : 
Ohio
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Pictures taken are recorded as images files. The size of the files and with it the number of images that can be recorded, depends on the size and quality of the images. Before shooting, choose an image mode according to how you plan to use the picture. See page # 74 of the User’s Manual.

Ex. If you have the Image Mode set to 12M you can only record 2 pictures in the internal memory. If you set it for 3M you can record 16 pictures. Internal memory is approximate 19MB.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers