Loading

14.2 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches

New Incredible, Bright 3.0-inch High Resolution VGA (921,000-dot) Clear Color Display makes images and movies come alive with rich detail and improved contrast.  The large LCD makes it easy to compose and share your pictures with a wide-viewing angle and anti-glare coating

New HD Movie with Stereo Sound and HDMI Output Record stunning HD (720p) quality movies at 30fps with Stereo Sound, dedicated movie-record button and HDMI output for easy playback in camera, on HD-TV or computer. HDMI cable not included

New Slim, Stylish, Metal Design packs high performance into portable convenience for the slimmest in its class. Among compact cameras equipped with an optical zoom capable of zooming in at 10x or more as of January 15, 2010 (according to research conducted by Nikon Corporation)

Smart Portrait System includes:

  • Smile Timer and Blink Proof makes sure you’ll always catch the decisive moment when your subject smiles and Blink Proof function shoots two pictures and automatically saves the one in which the subject’s eyes remain open
  • Blink Warning, when activated alerts you that the subject may have blinked and allows you to retake the photo
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes, while shooting, most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again
  • Face-Priority AF Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces
  • Skin Softening smoothes skin tone at three different levels for optimal portraits

EXPEED Image Processing ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness.  Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates the know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development and is custom-tuned for COOLPIX. Applied optimized technologies render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you won’t miss that special moment

Quick Retouch optimizes contrast and color vividness for beautiful images

D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail during playback

Macro shooting as close as 0.4”

10x Wide-Angle Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens has a versatile zoom range from 30mm to an impressive 300mm telephoto coverage that gets you close to the action while capturing expansive landscapes. The NIKKOR ED lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that delivers superb color and razor-sharp results

Quick Performance with ultra-fast start-up, autofocus and shooting.  Sports Continuous shooting enables high-speed shooting at approximately 3 fps for images up to 45 frames (3MP)

4-way VR Image Stabilization System

  • Optical VR Image Stabilization by lens shift minimizes the effect of camera shake
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement
  • High ISO up to 3200 at full resolution capability helps give you better results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects 
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image

New Creative Slider creates pictures, in camera, the way you imagine them by simply you adjusting brightness, vividness and color hue

New Advanced Flash Control delivers natural flash images even when ambient or assisted lighting is typically insufficient, such as backlight or telephoto shooting

Subject Tracking will track a moving subject to ensure sharp focus. The camera will automatically track your subject – even if they temporarily move out of the frame

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and selects the most appropriate scene mode (6) + auto mode

16 Scene Modes for optimized shooting in various settings

COOLPIX S8000 3.9 5 162 163
Great Camera!! I recently bought a Nikon D7000 < also great camera... but I still carry my Nikon S8000 with me all the time. I like to shoot in 16:9 wide screen mode. I also like the flat profile... not bulky when caring it on my belt in the leather case. CONS: The only thing I can say is that the flash is in a weird place... my finger is usually on top of it when I hold the camera. On occasion it has also locked up... so that I had to take out the battery and put it back in to "reboot" the camera. Nikon, fix a few bugs and speed it up a little at startup and you will have an amazing point and shoot camera. January 23, 2011
Firmware Update For those having problems you should download the latest firmware, v 1.1 and following the installation instructions. It fixes quite a few of the problems. January 9, 2011
More camera than I need Have had the S8000 for a week and already taking best picture of my life. January 9, 2011
overpriced I am so disappointed with both camera and service, my 10 year and 5 cameras long preferance of Nikon is now ending. initially the box contained no user manual. Annoyingly Nikon protects this top secret document so hard, i still do not have a copy. WHY do they require the serial no of a product purchased in North America to make a printable version available on the website?? Poor service, it is! And as the camera goes, it is so slow and so demanding to good light conditions, it performs well below its price. I am so sorry. January 7, 2011
Several issues I brought this camera in May for my birthday present. I was looking for a new compact digital camera with high image quality and superior zoom. Something I could use instead of my big Nikon D3000 at the time, the S8000 seemed to be the logical choice. At first, I loved this camera. It took great close up shots and it was easier to get "up close" to far away images with the 10x zoom. However as time progressed, I've had to send it 3 times now. It's only been little over 6 months. The first time, was a lens error. The camera stopped focusing. The next issue I had shortly after was a flash issue. It would take one huge flash and not save the picture, or the flash wouldn't work at all. Now it has been sent in for a third time for another lens error. Not what I wanted, I missed Christmas and New Years pictures because of it. This will be the last Nikon Compact Digital Camera I will buy. However I still am a loyal Nikon D3000 user. Pros: ~superior zoom for its size ~superior image quality ~Quick power on ~HD video cons: ~unreliable** at least for me ~Grainy indoor shots January 6, 2011
It keeps shutting off! The first 3 months this camera worked beautifully. It captured stunning photos and I couldn't have been happier with it. Around the fourth month it started shutting off randomly causing me to miss many photo opportunities. Now it won't even turn on. I'm extremely disappointed with it. January 4, 2011
very disappointed I have had my camera for about 6 months and have had very few complaints with it. Now I am in the Bahamas on vacation and it has quit working. The lens does not move in and out properly and the motor makes a funny noise. So, I am on vacation planning to take a bunch of gorgeous photos, and my camera is not working. Fortunately, I did bring along my S550, but I have gotten spoiled by the superior photo quality of the S8000. This is my third pocket Nikon in three years. I do wish they were more reliable like the old film Nikons. January 3, 2011
has some issues... I've had my S8000 for almost a year and used it mainly in the auto mode.. That said, I've gotten some good outdoor shots, but inside shots are grainy and noisy. My biggest peeve is that it's impossible to use in bright sunlight with only a screen. Without a viewfinder, I have to guess if I have the shot pointed at what I want when it's really bright outside. And living in Florida, there's a lot of sun most days. The flash is also ridiculously placed. Other models have it on the front, and this one should too. I've had other point and shoot cameras with much more successes, but I keep trading up for the maximum megapixels available. This was not what I had hoped for. January 2, 2011
Awesome, crisp, clear, great for vacations This camera is a great point and shoot, it is very easy to use yet still allows you to use custom features. It is extremely useful on vacations, for e.g. in Disney world, Orlando, this camera took brilliant crisp shots of everything, and since taking portraits are hard because of the hordes of strangers, you need a camera like this that takes fast photos. Also, some of the close-ups of birds and plants that I took with this camera came out amazing with every feather/leaf/beak coming out crisp and crystal clear, almost surpassing similar images taken by DSLRs. Also the 10x Zoom and amazing focusing helped greatly when the subject of the shot was far away (like when in a show, or trying to get a close up of something that is blocked off.) I would recommend this camera to anyone who would need it on vacations or office work. January 1, 2011
Loved it then... When I received this camera 6 months ago, I was the happiest new owner! It took beautiful shots of my mother's flowers and some family events. I noticed that the camera would only take photos when it wanted to. The focus seems to have a really hard time a lot. And to my dismay, I really learned my lesson with this camera when I went to a John Mayer concert. Some of my should have been favorite photos are blurry if not grainy because the camera wouldn't give me the green light! When I would go to shoot, I would just get the red square in the middle of the screen. Last night, I attempted to capture NYE photos with my family and again the photos were blurry. Shortly into the night, I got a "lens error" message and the lens no longer moves in and out evenly (when it closes it is at an angle) and the lens cover does not open automatically. This is the 3rd Nikon camera that I have had through the years and I have always loved the photo quality, but I do not think I have ever gotten a good life out of any of them. My aunt recently got the S8100 for Christmas so I think I will wait and see how that works out before considering another purchase! January 1, 2011
Great zoom We bought this camera for a trip to Yellowstone since our old camera did not have a good zoom. We hoped to get some good wildlife shots but needed a camera that was small and light to take on hikes. This camera is great, the zoom and image stabilization combine to allow for some nice shots taken on the fly out of the window of the car or just standing. The big high resolution screen is also very good for reviewing pictures after a day of shooting. Even taking pictures all day long the battery held up just fine. The light sensitivity also was very good which makes it possible to take hand held shots indoors with ease. The wolf picture was taken at a great distance with full optical zoom and digital zoom. Before buying this camera we never thought we could get this kind of picture with a small hand held camera. We are very happy with this camera. December 30, 2010
Love this little gem! This is my second Nikon "pocket" camera. Fantastic pics and video. Easy to use. Great on battery charge. Fantastic zoom. Great macros. Love the HDMI port. Pics load quick with photo loader. Intuitive menu. Great little timer for tripod shots. Rich color and quick focus. Hi res for great large prints. Loads down emails with more than a couple pics but to be expected with HD 14MP files. Very cool little camera! Just what I was looking for! December 29, 2010
Fast and accurate , great color , and easy to oper Fast and accurate great color and easy to operate . December 25, 2010
easy to use I can take my camera with me everywhere i go ; it´s very light ; faster if i want to use it . December 14, 2010
In response to "Nikonnation" I thought the same thing you did... in regards to the camera needing to "warm up" but as time went on it progressively got worse. Not only was it not turning on... once I would get it turned on, it would turn off automatically, or after I would take a picture or even after I would change the flash setting. I pray every single time I pull out my S8000 to take a picture. I hope yours does not get worse... but mine started to have this issue about 3-4 months after I first received it. it finally got to the point where it was not tolerable. I would have to say that when I took my camera in the 1st time, there was no improvement. I took it back a 2nd time and I can tell that whatever the service person did, it helped, however the problem is still not resolved. I think it will progressively get worse as time goes on. I'm keeping my fingers crossed! December 14, 2010
in reply to "Still not happy" I've the same problem, my camera turns off itself!! I miss some special shots! I think the camera needs to warm up coz this problem happens just when i get the camera from my pocket (when not in use for mor than 3 hours) hey nikon support team help us plz! December 13, 2010
My s8000 turns off itself! I own my Nikon s8000 (red) since 5 days and it turns off without pressing the power key. Note: it's fully charged. some times when i turn it on, in wont work, I'm trying 3-4 time then it works. what should I do?? is there is software update or a hard reset!!?? December 12, 2010
It's still turning off! I posted a review on November 28, 2010 (Not Happy At All)... I took my S8000 in for a 2nd time on Nov 29th. This time they put a rush on it since it was the 2nd time I took it in off for the same problem. I did receive the camera back by December 3rd, however.... After having it back for one week, I AM STILL EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM!!! This is unbelievable! It's as though my camera is possessed and shuts itself off automatically. I took a picture yesterday... and once it was saved onto the card, it shut down. There have been several times I tried to turn on the camera and it does not turn on. I can continue to go on about how disappointed I am with their so-called customer service. But that is a whole separate issue.... I just want a working camera. I will have to take it in for a 3rd time..... I only have 4 1/2 months left on my warranty.... I hope they can get it right. : ( December 12, 2010
This camera is superb, except for the flash Super camera in every way, except for the flash location. The flash pops up and moves the finger that is holding the left corner of the camera,causing movement and therefore a blurry photo. Total design flaw- flash should be in the middle. I had to retrain myself and think it over- to place the finger in the middle of this tiny camera- which is not natural. December 8, 2010
S8000 Review I would say the same as most when it comes to this camera. The reviews are spot on when they say fantastic camera, incredible zoom, wonderful picture quality - but the flash is awkwardly located, the battery indicator seems to be hidden somewhere and it's a bit tricky to hold. Is there another camera on the market that can compare, even with a few flaws? Don't think so. And for 200 snaps, this little point ans shoot is absolutely sterling. Really, the zoom is impressive. We were in Stade de France last weekend watching rugby - I took some pictures from 40 rows up and I could see highlights in the guys hair and muscles through the shirts. Freakishly good zoom. Some samples from the weekend attached with the review. (Edited in Apple Aperture 3.0) Great camera. Downsides definitely do not outweigh the upsides of this beast. November 30, 2010
turns on fast This would be my 10th nikon and possibly my favorite to date. I also have a D5000. The pictures are great. I used this camera specifically for underwater video and the large ED lens captures a lot of light. This camera captures video in Quicktime and my other Nikons capture video as avi. I would be great if they all used avi as the video format. November 28, 2010
It keeps turning off!!! I am so frustrated! My S8000 keeps turning off... many times it won't even turn on! I keep pushing the on button, however nothing happens. After it finally comes on, it will automatically turn off and I continue to wrestling with the camera 5 to 6 times, trying to get it to stay on. The worse part is that I've taken it in to Nikon to get this repaired. It took almost a month for me to get my camera back! It's been 2 weeks since I picked it up and guess what? The same thing is still occurring! They did not fix the issue! I can't believe it... especially now that we are in the holiday season!!! I don't know what to do! November 28, 2010
Great zoom, poor self timer, poor customer service I chose this camera because of the great zoom, high MP, as well as the compact size. It was great on my trip to Greece until it froze after using the self timer. It said memory card error and then deleted ALL of my pictures! I reformated the card and it didn't happen again until a few months later. The second time it froze after taking pictures of artworks and chaning the settings a few times. It didn't say memory card error, but it just froze and turned off. When I turned it back on all my pictures were gone. Two months later, the third time it made an error was right after using the self timer. It completely froze and wouldn't even turn off. I had to take the battery out and then put it back it. Thankfully my pictures were still there, but I was super annoyed. I looked online to see if anyone else was having the same self-timer problem but I found nothing. When I called the customer service line, the lady hardly spoke english and kept having to "look stuff up" In the end she couldn't help me and referred me to send my camera in for repair. I am unsure if I want to send it in after reading reviews of Nikon charging even when the camera is under waranty. Overall I like the camera, but wouldn't recomend it because losing pictures is the worst feeling! Proceed with caution! November 25, 2010
Amazing I just got this camera today and without even letting it fully charge I was out the door, taking pictures like crazy. I am in LOVE. I've always wanted a great P&S I could afford with macro, as I'm too poor to afford a DSLR [nikon, please, I would love to be gifted one of these!] and the Nikon DSLR's are PERFECTION. The macro on this camera is so clear and so sharp and the video is great HD. I was skeptical at first with the youtube video's I saw, but realized I wasn't changing the options to 720p. The sound and video is pristine. I recommend getting this camera or the s8100 since it just came out as well. I could honestly recommend any Nikon product and you'd be happy with the choice. November 24, 2010
Some good more bad. I paid over $300.00 and bought an additional battery for over $40.00 so that i could take pictures while one battery was charginy, only to find that you have to have the battery in the camera to charge, For another $40.00 plus I can purchase a charger. The camera does take very good pictures and fairl easy operation I lies that obout it.. November 18, 2010
Fantastic pictures and video Small enough for your pocket yet does it all like the larger size camera! U can't go wrong with this camera. November 6, 2010
Excellent Very nice camera. Takes outstanding pictures. This is the top of the line for compact digital cameras before you get into the DSLR category. I bought one from Adorama that I had to return because the images were blurry. They replaced it wihout a fuss. I'm glad I stuck with this model because the pictures are excellent and colors are vivid. The lens is fast for a compact digital and does a decent job with zoom and night shots. The video is good but you can hear a clicking noice when you zoom in and out. Minor annoyance. The camera is so small with so many features. It is a techonological marvel to see all of these features built in. You need to get used to the flash popping up on the left side but I like the placement and it is bright. This is a replacement for an older coolpix P1 camera that still works great and took thousands of wonderful pictures. This price is really low. Just a month ago, I bought from Adorama at $239 for a refurbished. November 5, 2010
Excellent low light performance I do a lot of photography in sports venues both indoors and out. Our University sports arena houses Men and Women's basketball, Women's Volleyball and Gymnastics. Up until 5 years ago I could use my full sized Nikon D70 but since then all cameras with removable lenses have been banned. For years I looked for a point and shoot camera I could use inside the arena but reviews were not promising with slow shutter speeds and noise being the problem. I decided to try the Nikon Coolpix S8000. after reading the specs and have been pleasantly surprised. Shooting at ASA 1600 and AUTO, I get very good photos with Volleyball and Basketball. There is some noise but iPhoto mostly takes care of it nicely. I have been able to shoot at 1/200 or close to it and by timing my shots to the peak of action I get some rather sharp photos. I am also impressed with using the camera in all other kinds of lighting by setting it at AUTO and letting the camera do the work. I'm glad I bought it. November 2, 2010
I really like this camera. I have had it for a few months and I got some great pictures from it. The only thing I don't like about it is that it takes too long to turn on. I love to take pictures of nature and my horse, but I miss a lot of great shots due to it taking too long to turn on. I also have the problem with the lenses not opening all the way. It leaves a small black frame on the top of my pictures and I'm really getting sick of it. I don't know how to fix it and heard it is not a cheap thing to fix. Other that than, this is a GREAT camera. It's very easy to use and focuses fast. November 1, 2010
Easy to use I have used it for six months. Only thing I don't like is time it takes to turn on. I miss lots of wildlife shots because of this. I have had a problem since it was new with the lens cover opening fully. If I forget it leaves a shadow on the corners of my pictures. I finally decided to send it in for repair. It is still under warranty but they asked for $87 to repair it. I am still waiting on a decision. I may be looking for a new camera. Response was fast and customer service is very pleasant to talk to. October 28, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 7
<<prev | next>>
27 Questions | 30 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
27 Questions | 30 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
COOLPIX S8000
 
3 Answers

MEMORY CARD SHOWING PICTURES ON CAMERA BUT WON'T DOWNLOAD

Aug 15, 2012 by
by
Mikon CoolPix s8000
Abbeville, LA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have taken pictures with my camera and when I go to download/transfer them to the computer i can see some of the thumbnails but they will not open up or they open up all "distorted and unclear" I think I have a “bad” memory card but my question is “Are my pictures gone? And will I not be able to retrieve them off my memory card? “
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Mikon CoolPix s8000
Abbeville, LA
Location : 
Abbeville, LA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Memory card recovery software.
Aug 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A recovery software for what? I will do an internet search for recovery software for pictures or for Nikon or for ???
Aug 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is recovery software, just do an internet search.
Aug 15, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
2 Answers

Camera keeps turning off.

May 21, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Every time I try to take a picture the camera turns itself off. I have changed batteries and charged the new one but the camera conitnues to turn off..
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I updated the firmware to 1.1, did a reset all and it sloved my problem.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All. Also, that you have the correct option selected for the Charge by computer, MENU > SETUP MENU > Charge by Computer. If the problem persists you will need to send the camera to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 22, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

The camera won't acess the flash setting while in regular mode, is there a way to correct without taking it in?

Mar 9, 2011 by
by
Ax5tin
USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
It works in all other modes, just not the normal point and shoot. It's permanently in the off position.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ax5tin
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings:
Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

Can't download pictures onto my comptuer, I have window XP, the screen pops up but all it does is search.

Apr 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos and verify the XP version you have. Also, try transferring the photos using the internal memory of the camera.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

the front lens cover for my S8000 Coolpix is jammed and won't open/close all the way, how do I get this fixed?

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You are welcome to send your camera for evaluation and repair.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

Back Screen Shakes Coolpix S8000

May 1, 2011 by
by
K
USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The screen viewer shakes...is this an easy repair? It takes clear pictures just the screen is shaking while you are trying to take the picture
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
K
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you are referring to the VR option verify that is ON or OFF (see page# 133). If it’s the LCD screen that is loose you will need to send it for service.
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

How can i puase while recording video?

May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You just need to press the recording button to pause and then again to continue.
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

My camera won't charge on my computer

May 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My Coolpix S8000 camera has been dead for about a month. When I hook it up to the computer to charge, the green light flashes for a few minutes and then goes off. However, the on/off button stays lit up. My computer recognizes the camera and I am able to download the pictures on it. The camera has been plugged into the computer for about four hours, but once unmounted from the computer, still will not turn on. Does this mean I need a new battery?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you can download the images with the same cable, the USB cable is not the issue, make sure that the "charge by PC" option is set correctly in your setup menu.
May 15, 2011 by
by
ManuelC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S8000
 
1 answer

My flash doesnt go down anymore, even if I push it it just stays up.

May 27, 2011 by
by
Cp
Lansing,Michigan
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Cp
Lansing,Michigan
Location : 
Lansing,Michigan
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You are welcome to send your camera in order to be evaluated by a technician.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
find that
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Harshal
Manchester
Location : 
Manchester
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
1 answer

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
Panorama maker is from Arcsoft.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers