Loading

12.1 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches.

New Beautiful, Bright 3.5-inch High Resolution TOUCH PANEL OLED employing Clear Color Display with anti-glare coating that enables easy touch control to all camera functions.

  • Sensitive Response Touch Panel display enables effortless use of touch panel by ensuring sensitive response to even the lightest tapping and touch for smooth operation.
  • With the swipe of a finger users can scroll through images and use a pinching motion with two fingers to zoom in or out on displayed images.
  • NEW! Touch Shutter and Autofocus simply tap the OLED display to have the camera focus and even shoot the picture.
  • Scene Effect Adjustment by using the touch screen sliders in various scene modes images can be modified as necessary.

HD movies with sound compatible with 720p HD movies for high image quality. Enjoy HD playback on your computer.

Subject Tracking will track a moving subject to ensure sharp focus. The camera will automatically track your subject – even if they, temporarily, move out of the frame.

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System:

  • New Skin Softening smoothes skin tone at three different levels for optimal portraits.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF Nikon’s face-finding technology automatically focuses on up to 12 faces.
  • Smile Timer, Blink Proof and Blink Warning makes sure you’ll always catch the decisive moment when your subject smiles and Blink Proof function shoots two pictures and automatically saves the one in which the subject’s eyes remain open. Blink Warning, when activated alerts you that the subject may have blinked and allows you to retake the photo.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.

5x Wide-angle Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens lets you zoom in on all the action.

5-way VR Image Stabilization System:

  • Nikon’s Hybrid Optical and Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake for sharper, clearer pictures.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO up to 6400* capability helps give you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. *(ISO 3200 and ISO 6400 are available at 3MP or lower resolution.)
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image.

Slim, Stylish, Metal Dual Texture surface design slips right into your shirt pocket or purse!

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts camera setting.

Macro shooting as close as 1.2” to get those great pictures of flowers and other interesting subjects.

COOLPIX S70 2.8 5 77 78
Somewhat difficult to use Had a hard time holding the camera so my thumb or fingers were not in the way. I like the large screen and idea of the touch but that's what makes it hard to handle. The pictures were not as sharp as I expected from Nikon but I am trying to learn the settings and this may improve with time. It is not as easy as other simple cameras and takes some concentration to make sure it doesn't move when you take the photo. I find the shutter release sometimes hard to move without jerking the photo. I hope with practice I can get better. I just think that some of the other coolpix models are easier to use. July 23, 2010
Good compact but touch screen not easy to use. This camera is very small with large capacity for high resolution photos. Stability is good. Zoom is hard to control by touch. Sometimes touch is very sensitive and sometimes rather unresponsive. Amazing number of options and they seem to work well. Biggest problem is the touch control. Part of this may be related to my other camera being an SLR digital (Nikon N.70) So not accustom to using touch screen. July 23, 2010
Screen Cracked First Day Bought this camera for my wife for Mother's Day. After charging she placed it in a padded pouch and in her purse. That evening at a wedding she pulled it out to use only to find the screen cracked at the corner. The dealer and Nikon have both refused to warranty it. It is in for repair estimate now. This is our first Nikon and will be our last! July 23, 2010
So compact, it is "ALWAYS WITH ME" Having had the D100 for the past 5 years has spoiled me as to having had a superb camera. Yet it's size has made it not always be handy and available wherever a good subject demanded to be 'snapped'. Now that has been fixed: acquiring the S-70 has given me quality, flexibility and portability in one elegant little package. The "easy auto mode" gives superb pictures of all types: macro, portrait, landscape are all selected without pre-consideration and yet, when focus, aperture, iso or any key parameter needs to be pre-determined it is done so with great ease and allows a photo to be created whether such is to be a work of art or a casual snap of a happy moment! It did take significant learning to acquire the dexterity needed to not only holding the camera without fingers obscuring the image but also to not touch the back of the camera inadvertently, the back being sensitive to touch-input and thus causing all sorts of unwanted action. And a further drawback, common to all cameras of the recent era, is the screen being a fixed part of the camera and thus making the lens input a function of camera position. If for example one wishes to photograph a beautiful mushroom surrounded by blades of grass, composing the shot would be near impossible short of flopping down on one's belly and getting eye level down to mushroom level! If only the screen could be detached, if not slid off of the body and be rotated, what possibilities to freedom of shot composition could be added. Are you hearing me Nikon Engineering & Design Department? Overall, a fine camera it is and worth every penny of it's price! July 23, 2010
The S70 takes great pictures outdoors. Indoor pics, however, are sometimes disappointing. They lack sharpness and true color. July 23, 2010
SUPER DOOPER CAMERA I'm progressing. I started with the Coolpix 775, then 3100, S-6 and now the S-70. I also have a D40X. The progression of quality and technology is outstanding. Lens are excellent, and the cameras are a snap to use. I'm looking forward to my trip to Alaska with the D40X and S-70. The pictures should be outstanding. Keep up the excellent work. July 23, 2010
So many excellent features built in! Yes, I am not sure what is wrong with the female who gave this a bad review. If everything is set up properly, this camera takes excellent pictures and videos. Never had a problem - once you have set the ISO correctly as recommended. There are so many different settings you can adjust on this camera - and they really do make a difference. Color and picture quality is awesome. Read the manual, those who complain about this camera. July 23, 2010
love it but its annoying sometimes i love this camera but sometimes when you touch the screen to take a pic, it wont take. and when you use the button to take a pic, it takes forever to snap. the screen is huge and i love it. its the biggest screen i have ever seen. i love that you can scroll through the pics by just swiping your finger across the screen. you can set a home screen picture that pops up when you turn the camera on. you can draw on your pictures which is so cool. but it easily breaks. you will get a lens error message and the camera wont turn on. i have only had it since christmas 09. overall i really love this camera. oh and the zoom is pretty good too but sometimes it is so blurry even if you are not zooming that far. July 23, 2010
I returned mine As a coolpix lover and user for a few years now, I decided it was time to upgrade. I bought the S70. I was going to London and had a lot of family pics to take, we had a new baby (my nephew) and my sisters, cousins and i who are not only very diffrent but diffrent generations. My eldest sister is 30 + years older . The pictures I took were awful, and all diffrent levels of awful. some were way to light others too dark, the stabelizer did not work and I could go on . The biggest dissapointment was that my sisters due to theri ages might not be around much longer, and to think that I have NO good pictures of my last visit is just to sad to think about. I have used a digital camera for years, I can't tell you how dissapointed I am July 23, 2010
Bad experience I too am very disappointed with this camera and am in the process of sending it back to Nikon for something else. This camera takes blurry photos 80% of the time and having it to document really special events has been worthless! I hate the touchscreen and when you give it to others to take photos, they don't know how to handle it. Previously, I had a Pentax camera which took crystal clear photos so maybe I got spoiled but that is what a camera should do. The Nikon support team said I needed to hold the button down half way... umm, I know that and it still is blurry. I hope Nikon will exchange my camera for a different point and shoot. I don't want it replaced with the same model. July 23, 2010
Awesome Camera I purchased a factory refurbished model and I couldn't be happier. This camera has blown us away with the features not to mention the huge 3.5" touch screen. I would recommend this unit to anyone. The only negatives are learning how to hold the camera (took about 5 minutes to figure that one out), the super touchy zoom control on the touch screen (it would have been nice to have a traditional rocker switch for that), and the pictures seem to be a bit soft but I've read that playing with the settings should clear that up. This camera may not be for the pro or hobbiest but it has totally met my expectations. July 16, 2010
Awesome This is the best Digital Camera I have ever had. My pictures turned out AMAZING! It's like it has photoshop built in. Def. made me look 100 times prettier than I am in real life. It's seriously the best thing since sliced bread... don't read that other review IDK what's shes talking about... BEST CAMERA EVER. July 14, 2010
Awful camera. Very disappointing. I got this camera for our trip to Europe. 99% of my pictures where terrible!!!. It was so upsetting that took me three weeks after the trip to even consider downloading them to my computer. I am really disappointed. I will never buy another Nikon. In fact, right after we arrived from our trip my husband got another camera. We did no wanted to take any chance with this camera on the 4th of July! July 9, 2010
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev
24 Questions | 25 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
24 Questions | 25 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
2 Answers

How do I download photos to an Apple Ipad?

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
Tom
Hilton Head SC
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Tom
Hilton Head SC
Location : 
Hilton Head SC
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Purchase the apple camera connector. It works with a SD card or a USB plug from the camera. They sell it at apple for 29.99.
Oct 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
LA
Location : 
LA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please get in contact with the manufacture of your IPad for more information.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
We tried uninstalling and reinstalling the Nikon software that came with the camera and it didn't help.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Patrick
Connecticut
Location : 
Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that you are using an approved memory card and also download from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2 in order to transfer the pictures from your camera to your pc. See links below:

Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S70
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

my camera will power on but there is nothing on the display.

Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The battery is fully charged but when I turn the camera on the display is black. If I touch the screen there is a response. I have tried removing the battery for a couple of days then reinserting but nothing has changed.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you already tried troubleshooting and still not showing anything on the LCD screen, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

Is the cd that came with the S70 compatible with windows 7 operating system

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
the handbook says "Vista"
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can download the latest version of our software from our website.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

what do i do if my camera says it has a lenses error??

Mar 31, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

Why has it stopped charging?

Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Neisha
United States
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I tried charging it using the charging attachment it came with and plugging it into the wall; however, no light comes on. I tried charging it via my computer using the usb, but it still will not charge. No light comes on, and it appears to be completely dead. I live in the US so I do not believe power in the socket is the problem. Also it had been working fine not long before.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Neisha
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that that you have the correct option selected for the Charge by computer, TAB > SETUP MENU > Charge by Computer. Also, try it with a backup battery.
If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

My mini USB does not plug into the Nikon s70

Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Kryss
Renton, WA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I just purchased a replacement USB plug for my Nikon s70, and the mini usb does not plug into the camera. I ordered the replacement directly from Nikon, off your website here. The product number is UC-56. I have a Nikon S70, as I stated. What should I do?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Kryss
Renton, WA
Location : 
Renton, WA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Verify that the USB connecot in the camera is not damaged. You are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

my camera won't take a charge with new battery. doesn't show that it is charging. with old battery it would say " battery exhausted.

Apr 23, 2011 by
by
debbie
ketchikan, ak
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
my coolpix won"t take a charge with new battery. with the old battery is would say : battery exhausted. replace with new battery & won't charge
3 years, 1 month ago
by
debbie
ketchikan, ak
Location : 
ketchikan, ak
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
First verify that you have the right selection in order to charge your battery with the charger or through the computer: Tab MENU > SETUP > Charge by computer (see page# 152 of the User's Manual). Try recharging a different battery and if the problem still persists, you are welcome to send your camera and charger for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

My camera won't turn on, even after a full charge.

May 3, 2011 by
by
Emily
Santa Barbara
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Emily
Santa Barbara
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify the settings that you have in order to charge your camera through the Computer or charger. See page# 131 of the User's Manual for the COOLPIX s70.
May 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

camra wont turn on or charge?

May 13, 2011 by
by
ellie
texas
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
i think i remember using it a while ago and then it dying on me, so i plugged it in but the light wont light up and if i slide the thing down to turn it on nothing happens not even a sound.
it wont charge in a wall outlet or in my computer but the wall outlet works.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
ellie
texas
Location : 
texas
Age: Under 18
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure that you have selected the right option in order to charge the battery through the computer or the AC adapter charger. See page# 131 of the user's manual.
May 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers