Loading

12.1 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 16 x 20 inches.

New Beautiful, Bright 3.5-inch High Resolution TOUCH PANEL OLED employing Clear Color Display with anti-glare coating that enables easy touch control to all camera functions.

  • Sensitive Response Touch Panel display enables effortless use of touch panel by ensuring sensitive response to even the lightest tapping and touch for smooth operation.
  • With the swipe of a finger users can scroll through images and use a pinching motion with two fingers to zoom in or out on displayed images.
  • NEW! Touch Shutter and Autofocus simply tap the OLED display to have the camera focus and even shoot the picture.
  • Scene Effect Adjustment by using the touch screen sliders in various scene modes images can be modified as necessary.

HD movies with sound compatible with 720p HD movies for high image quality. Enjoy HD playback on your computer.

Subject Tracking will track a moving subject to ensure sharp focus. The camera will automatically track your subject – even if they, temporarily, move out of the frame.

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System:

  • New Skin Softening smoothes skin tone at three different levels for optimal portraits.
  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF Nikon’s face-finding technology automatically focuses on up to 12 faces.
  • Smile Timer, Blink Proof and Blink Warning makes sure you’ll always catch the decisive moment when your subject smiles and Blink Proof function shoots two pictures and automatically saves the one in which the subject’s eyes remain open. Blink Warning, when activated alerts you that the subject may have blinked and allows you to retake the photo.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.

5x Wide-angle Optical Zoom-NIKKOR Glass Lens lets you zoom in on all the action.

5-way VR Image Stabilization System:

  • Nikon’s Hybrid Optical and Electronic VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake for sharper, clearer pictures.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO up to 6400* capability helps give you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. *(ISO 3200 and ISO 6400 are available at 3MP or lower resolution.)
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and saves the sharpest image.

Slim, Stylish, Metal Dual Texture surface design slips right into your shirt pocket or purse!

Scene Auto Selector automatically recognizes the scene in your picture and adjusts camera setting.

Macro shooting as close as 1.2” to get those great pictures of flowers and other interesting subjects.

COOLPIX S70 2.8 5 77 78
I own this camera and i love it. Very good quality. I would recommend it to everyone. March 16, 2012
Disappointing purchase In April 2010 I bought an S70 in USA, but in October 2011 stopped working (now I am living in Lima, Peru), from one moment to another sounded strange and appeared the message "Lens Error". I took it for service and was told that fell through the rotor of the lens, but never dropped or wet. The repair cost me as much as a new camera and it is over warranty. This purchase has been disappointing to me. Additionally I always had problems with the pictures at night. I do not recommend this model December 5, 2011
Average quality of pic I had one L100. Recently I purchased s70, but the quality of picture taken by L100 is still better than s70 ,though it is just 10 MP. October 28, 2011
Great Camera! This camera has great picture quality. The price was good and love the size of viewing pictures. This camera comes with great features. I bought it for the protected lens, so sand does not get to it. Only Con: Not sold on the sliding door. I can see it causing problems. October 26, 2011
I love it I love this camera, I have it in red. It easy to use and has a nice big screen. Mine isn't working right now though so that has to be on the negative side. I would buy another one though. October 1, 2011
blurry pictures I bought this camera a year ago. I have always owned Nikon cameras and loved them. I was very disapointed in this camera. I get blurry pictures 50% of the time. If you want to capture precious memories do not get this camera. November 11, 2011
I love this little camera. I got this for X-mas one year ago and never used it because I had two other cameras. Took it on vacation this Sept '11 and I fell in love with it. September 24, 2011
Faulty Cable Problems This seems like a great camera at first, but if you buy it at Best Buy, get the extended warranty. After the camera quit taking a charge, Best Buy (where I bought it) recommended a new battery. The new battery still wouldn't charge. Then I bought a replacement cable at Radio Shack, which solved the problem. With compact cameras like these, neither Best Buy nor Nikon would consider working on this sort of camera, only fully replacement (in warranty). Buy a camera that can be serviced, and with a better zoom lense. July 17, 2011
Great Quality Images This is a great camera it's light weight and easy to take around, and has really good quality images especially with flowers and nature. It's also fairly good with action shots and sports. I don't have many problems with this camera it's perfect to take anywhere especially vacations. The touch screen makes it even better, by expanding the features on the camera giving you the option to snap a pic with the screen or the button. It also lets you edit photos right on the camera which is a nice feature. A problem I have with it would be the flash, I find my images sometimes turn out really bad with it on. Overall it's a good camera that takes really good pictures and takes great HD video! I'm not sure if it was worth the money, but if you are looking into purchasing this product I would go for used or refurbished to make it worth he money. July 8, 2011
Not as good as it seems thought this was a great camera until i tried to have the photos printed. The pics come out blurry when developed. They look great while on the camera but as soon as you upload they are blurry. Not happy at all because I have no pictures of my son's prom or graduation! Do not buy this camera or you will lose precious memories!!! I have a Sony Cyber shot that takes great pics and I am so upset that I didn't use it for the prom or graduation, or the many other shots that are lost....shame on Nikon for such an inferior product! June 26, 2011
Not a good buy.. I received this camera for a Christmas gift in '09. I thought this camera looked really nice and from what it showed took really nice pictures. When I got it I thought it was so great compared to what I had before. Then, I noticed the pictures weren't really that great. 99% of the time every single picture I take is blurry, even in auto mode. I'm the only person in my family that takes pictures at family events and I can't even get good pictures to give to family across the country. No matter what setting it's on, the pictures are just horrible. I will admit, I've gotten some pictures from this camera, but that's really really rare. June 19, 2011
Great at times for nature. Bad for everything else I got this camera for Christmas 2010, I thought it would be a great camera because I liked a lot of the Nikon cameras. I have taken a bunch of blurry pictures and I went to a concert and brought my camera with, but I should have just left it at home, not a single picture I took looked at all like you could see who was on stage. The best thing about the camera is the nature photos I take, and even when I hold my camera completely still the screen will shake and give a very poor picture quality. If you want to take pictures of people, and not have to retake a photo because it's blurry, this isn't for you. June 19, 2011
Bad Camera Have bought this about one and half year ago for Sister. After using we realize that this was not the one that thought. All the pictures taken by this Camera so far is blurry. The touch screen technology makes the picture shooting worse and causing blurryness. I have D5000 too which we bought together with 2 nos. of S70. D5000 is great starting DSLR but for point and shoot technology i would recommend not to by any Nikon product. I am not a professional in taking pictures but from experience I have learnt a lot. I also had Sony SR11 and Canon Power shot which i bought in year 2008. Both of these camera give a great result even in shooting vedeo. We stay about 6 month each year to India and finaly got a chance to inform Nikon Support about this issue of S70. Nikon is working on that. Hoping to get the positive result. I hope Nikon comes with conclusion the i or my sister dont know how to take the picture and S70 is not our bad choice. will post the review once the Nikon resolves the issue, but till then I would not recommend S70 or any other Point to Shoot technology to anyone. June 11, 2011
I got this camera for my daily use a year ago. After a year I can't manage to take good pictures with it, 90% of the pictures I take are blurry. I had never owned such a bad camera. June 2, 2011
Performance rapidly declined When I received this camera as a gift, I was thrilled! But, for me, it has a steep learning curve to learn all of the features and operations. Sadly, within just a few months the S70s performance deteriorated. The scene viewed on the monitor screen continuously shakes and blurs when I attempt to take a picture. Pictures taken when I first received the camera are sharp and clear and there is no shaking or blurring in the monitor. I am sorry to say, my initial joy and pleasure has quickly turned to frustration and disappointment. May 31, 2011
Don't buy that cam... I bought this cam 4 my daily use but the result is really poor :(... pictures get blur. And touch screen has complex adjustments. LCD brightness and contrast doesn't match with the result of image in PC. Flash is too bright. i won't recommend that camera. its jst da software 4 wat u would b paying for this cam. May 29, 2011
This camera takes blurry pictures I bought this camera for my wife. The pictures always come out blurry. Heed the warnings, don't get this camera. I have a Nikon DSLR, but Nikon just lost a customer with this camera. May 16, 2011
not a good buy I got this camera as a Christmas present, was super excited till i started using it. Basically the worst camera i have ever had. I bought it when it first came out and it was very pricey. I regret it so much and now don't have a good camera. It takes picture that are pixeley and blurry. I don't suggest any of Nikon's cameras. Many friends have them and none are so good! June 26, 2011
The pictures are good as long as you never drop it, luckily I had the 4 year extended warranty and they dont sell it at the place I got the warranty anymore so I get to get a different camera. I liked the touch screen however if you ask someone to take a pic of you and ur friends they touch the screen all over and end up hitting something that you then have to go fix and explain how to use the camera (even young people dont get it). Lots of wasted time May 4, 2011
Bad Camera Pictures and videos came out blurry and i am not even going to bother sending it in because i know they will ask for money. Such a rip off. May 3, 2011
Waste of money! Bought this camera for my teen daughter. Yes, she takes many pics, after 3 months of use, the camera quality of pics got worse. Blurry....sent out to be fixed (should still be under warranty). They want $105.00 to fix a camera that is under warranty, trying to say the lens has a dent! Yes, the camera has many visable surface marks, daughter loves taking pics...but the lens was not dented. Looking at other peoples reviews, looks like this is a common problem (blurry pics). And they dont want to fix it! Don't waste your money on this one. April 23, 2011
Waste of Money. Don't make the same mistake! I am a photographer, who was in a need of a pocket camera for travels. When I first started researching, people seemed to be pleased with this product initially, as was I. About one month into using the camera, every picture AND video began to come out blurry. I tried everything, but nothing changed it. It was a waste of my money. Don't make the same mistake! March 29, 2011
DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA I have had this camera for almost a year now and absolutely hate it. I love the look of it and the idea of it, but in the end it's the picture quality that you really want. This camera takes the WORST pictures.. the majority of them are mostly blurry and the scene settings just do not work at all. I wish I hadn't spent so much money on this camera. March 1, 2011
Every picture is blurry! I bought this camera after many friends had recommended purchasing a Nikon. This camera is not worth $300...every picture I take is blurry. I have messed with the setting, tried various ones and nothing seems to fix the problem. I would not recommend spending this much on a camera if the majority of the pics turn out blurry. Went on a vacation and have maybe 5 usable pics from the 300 I took...or tried to take. The pictures just arent nearly as clear as you would think you were getting from a $300 camera. I have never even dropped the camera or done anything that could have potentially messed it up. February 18, 2011
Love Nikon, But Touch Screen Really Annoying I love Nikon, and have several different Nikon cameras. This camera is well made, but poorly designed. The designers evidently wanted to wow users with the big touch screen, but overdid it. It's laid out in a way that is inconvenient, not as user friendly and not as self explanatory as some other models. You can hardly handle the camera in normal operation without acidentally changing a setting or taking a picture. I also still like to have a viewfinder on my point-and-shoot cameras, for sunny conditions where the screen is more difficult to see. I've taken some excellent pictures with it, but I've taken a lot of junk in between. All that said, I'd still choose this camera if it came down to a choice between Nikon and most other brands. Many years of excellent reliability and trouble free operation has made me a loyal user. December 31, 2010
At first I loved this camera, it was very cute and I loved the touch screen, but it broke the first time i dropped it and often my pictures came out very blurry, I happen to be in many photography classes and my teacher had also recommended not to use this camera. December 30, 2010
Love the large screen..touch screen..finger drag Just purchased this a few days ago and so far so good.... December 29, 2010
Great, great and great This is the best camera i have ever had, the touch screen is excellent and not so hard to use. It takes good pictures and with good resolution, you can zoom in while filming a video, it has smile detector, you can take a picture by screen touching, its almost incredible. For the price is the better camera you can chose. It has little features so you can take it anywhere. Love this camera!! December 27, 2010
Great Camera All in All! I have just gotten the Nikon Coolpix S70 and i love is soooo much! The touch screen spreads over the whole back of the camera another plus! And it takes the most amazing cameras! It is a very small camera so it is accessible anywhere! I would encourage others to buy this camera hope you enjoy it as much as me! December 25, 2010
ok pictures but touch screen is annoying When i first got this camera i was really excited. I loved the touch screen and the features. But as I got used to the camera i started disliking it. I started having problems with the quality of the pictures. They started to get very blurry. Then I just got annoyed by the touch screen. I took more accidental pictures than actual pictures by accidentally touching the screen. Because the screen is the entire back, you cant even touch the back. Also, when asking others to take a picture, no one understood how to take a picture and I always had to explain it. I still own this camera because it was expensive and i've only had it for a year, but I am looking for another Nikon camera December 20, 2010
Page:2 3 4
<<prev | next>>
24 Questions | 25 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
24 Questions | 25 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
2 Answers

How do I download photos to an Apple Ipad?

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
Tom
Hilton Head SC
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Tom
Hilton Head SC
Location : 
Hilton Head SC
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Purchase the apple camera connector. It works with a SD card or a USB plug from the camera. They sell it at apple for 29.99.
Oct 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
LA
Location : 
LA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please get in contact with the manufacture of your IPad for more information.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
We tried uninstalling and reinstalling the Nikon software that came with the camera and it didn't help.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Patrick
Connecticut
Location : 
Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that you are using an approved memory card and also download from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2 in order to transfer the pictures from your camera to your pc. See links below:

Answer Title: Approved Memory Cards - Coolpix S70
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

my camera will power on but there is nothing on the display.

Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The battery is fully charged but when I turn the camera on the display is black. If I touch the screen there is a response. I have tried removing the battery for a couple of days then reinserting but nothing has changed.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you already tried troubleshooting and still not showing anything on the LCD screen, you are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.

Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

Is the cd that came with the S70 compatible with windows 7 operating system

Mar 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
the handbook says "Vista"
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can download the latest version of our software from our website.

Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

what do i do if my camera says it has a lenses error??

Mar 31, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

Why has it stopped charging?

Apr 5, 2011 by
by
Neisha
United States
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I tried charging it using the charging attachment it came with and plugging it into the wall; however, no light comes on. I tried charging it via my computer using the usb, but it still will not charge. No light comes on, and it appears to be completely dead. I live in the US so I do not believe power in the socket is the problem. Also it had been working fine not long before.
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Neisha
United States
Location : 
United States
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that that you have the correct option selected for the Charge by computer, TAB > SETUP MENU > Charge by Computer. Also, try it with a backup battery.
If the problem persists you will need to send the camera and the charger to be evaluated.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

My mini USB does not plug into the Nikon s70

Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Kryss
Renton, WA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I just purchased a replacement USB plug for my Nikon s70, and the mini usb does not plug into the camera. I ordered the replacement directly from Nikon, off your website here. The product number is UC-56. I have a Nikon S70, as I stated. What should I do?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Kryss
Renton, WA
Location : 
Renton, WA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Verify that the USB connecot in the camera is not damaged. You are welcome to send your camera for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

my camera won't take a charge with new battery. doesn't show that it is charging. with old battery it would say " battery exhausted.

Apr 23, 2011 by
by
debbie
ketchikan, ak
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
my coolpix won"t take a charge with new battery. with the old battery is would say : battery exhausted. replace with new battery & won't charge
3 years, 1 month ago
by
debbie
ketchikan, ak
Location : 
ketchikan, ak
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
First verify that you have the right selection in order to charge your battery with the charger or through the computer: Tab MENU > SETUP > Charge by computer (see page# 152 of the User's Manual). Try recharging a different battery and if the problem still persists, you are welcome to send your camera and charger for evaluation.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

My camera won't turn on, even after a full charge.

May 3, 2011 by
by
Emily
Santa Barbara
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Emily
Santa Barbara
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify the settings that you have in order to charge your camera through the Computer or charger. See page# 131 of the User's Manual for the COOLPIX s70.
May 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX S70
 
1 answer

camra wont turn on or charge?

May 13, 2011 by
by
ellie
texas
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
i think i remember using it a while ago and then it dying on me, so i plugged it in but the light wont light up and if i slide the thing down to turn it on nothing happens not even a sound.
it wont charge in a wall outlet or in my computer but the wall outlet works.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
ellie
texas
Location : 
texas
Age: Under 18
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Make sure that you have selected the right option in order to charge the battery through the computer or the AC adapter charger. See page# 131 of the user's manual.
May 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers