Loading

12.1 Megapixels for stunning prints as large as 20 x 30 inches. This is plenty of sharp resolution to capture the finest details, crop creatively and produce incredible enlargements.

Huge, Bright 3.0-inch Vari-Angle High-Resolution LCD and Electronic Viewfinder makes it easy to compose and share your pictures with family and friends. The vari-angle LCD will tilt and rotate out on a 90-degree angle enabling you to get those high-angle and low-angle shots. The incorporation of the high-resolution electronic viewfinder enables you to see through the lens in any type of lighting condition. No more missed opportunities because the light is too bright to compose your picture!

4-Way VR Image Stabilization:

  • Nikon’s Optical VR Image Stabilization compensates for the effects of camera shake by moving the image sensor. This produces clearer, sharper results in lower lighting or unsteady conditions.
  • Motion Detection automatically detects moving subjects and adjusts the shutter speed and the ISO setting to compensate for camera shake and subject movement.
  • High ISO 6400 capability gives you sharper results when shooting in low light or capturing fast-moving subjects. This creates new opportunities to take sharper, more natural-looking photos in lower light conditions. ISO 3200 and 6400 are available at 3MP or lower resolution.
  • Nikon’s original Best Shot Selector (BSS) automatically takes up to 10 shots while the shutter is pressed and then saves the sharpest image.

New Sports Continuous Scene Mode for shooting at up to 15fps, up to 45 frames, when you set the resolution to 3MP or lower. These high-speed capture settings help you stay ahead of the action. Whether it is a swift golf or baseball swing, or the fast action on the soccer field, at 15fps you will capture that action.

Amazing 24x Optical Wide-Angle (26-624mm) Zoom-NIKKOR ED Glass Lens - quality optics provide exceptional images. The lens is built on a proud heritage of producing precision camera optics that deliver superb color and razor-sharp results. This amazing lens offers unbeatable compositional freedom with its wide-angle (26mm) to super telephoto coverage (624mm). Sweeping landscapes can be captured as well as zoomed-in close-ups of the action taking place on the baseball or soccer field!

New EXPEED image processor ensures high-quality pictures with stunning color and sharpness. Nikon’s comprehensive digital imaging processing concept incorporates know-how and technologies accumulated throughout our long history of photographic and digital imaging development. EXPEED is custom-tuned for COOLPIX and applied optimized technologies render natural-looking pictures of incredible quality and quick response so you will not miss that special moment.

Program, Shutter Priority, Aperture Priority and Manual Exposure Modes give you ultimate control over your pictures. The D-SLR-type mode dial on the top of the camera provides quick access to greater personal and creative control. Now, you can adjust the camera’s settings for any type of light conditions and get as creative as you want!

Nikon’s Smart Portrait System:

  • In-Camera Red-Eye Fix™ automatically fixes most instances of red-eye in the camera. You may never see red-eye again.
  • Face-Priority AF is Nikon’s face-finding technology that automatically focuses on up to 12 faces in a group portrait.
  • Smile Mode automatically releases the shutter when your subject smiles. The camera will detect the subject's smile and automatically fire the shutter.
  • Blink Warning displays a warning message should the camera detect your subject has blinked.
  • D-Lighting rescues dark or backlit images by improving brightness and detail where needed.
COOLPIX P90 4.2 5 101 102
great Zoom Really like the camera, great zoom, light to carry, Fairly good battery life. stabilization and picture quality not quite as good as my Sony camera but zoom is greater. July 26, 2010
Awesome ZOOOOOOM! The zoom is the thing! That was why I chose it, & I chose wisely. Nice preset photo options. Somewhat of a learining curve. July 25, 2010
Light weight, Good long views. Works very well in long range magnification, not quite as well for wide angle shots. I like the weight of the camera, very light. Impossible to see the viewing screen outside but this deficiency can be overcome with the direct view stage. Menus can be confusing. Takes practice to get used to. Can't seem to force a flash. July 24, 2010
This camera has all the features you need for any I recommend this camera to anyone who wishes to get fabulous zoom shots, especially for sports shots of your family or trying to capture wildlife shots. High quality-durable and dependable camera- as with anything that is worthwhile...learn to use all the features with constant practice.....this camera won't let you down - best part of the review.....it's only about $400 and comes with all the features ofa camera that cost thousands of dollars. July 24, 2010
Great camera It's the best I've used in years. Some yellowing indoors but It's overall one of a kind July 24, 2010
This Camera takes Great Pictures I received this camera for a Christmas gift. I do love it. It takes beautifully clear pictures in any setting. I am know for taking picture of myself so I love the timer feature on the camera. My only complaint is that it doesn't allow for a remote control feature to be used. This limits my creativity a little just because I can only use the 10second timer to set myself up. But I still LOVE the camera. I have always wanted a NIKON and now I have one. There's no turning back from here. July 24, 2010
Great Camera, But, Needs Improvements Hi; While I really generally like this Camera, & the fact that it has such a wide range of magnification, I would like to see the lens be able to have more optionabilities, such as adding filters, hoods, macro equipment, etc., plus, have a Micro SD card to place photos on, with high GB amounts, instead of its convoluted, difficult Photo Transfer process to get them on to my Computer , and, the Battery is a definite bummer! It appears that this one has a 'memory', so, it has to be used up "all-the-way" before you can replace it with a new one! How about using one of these more exciting new 'ultra-capable, high-capacity' batteries, &, we could carry a few extras with us on an outing, so we won't suddenly be caught without a working Camera in the Backcountry, plus, saving us some money at the store! July 24, 2010
Great lightweight versatile camera Very lightweight, I'll take it where I won't take my other cameras. Surprisingly good pictures at maximum zoom, July 24, 2010
Good outside, bad inside. I would recomment this camera to a starting photographer, who likes to photograph flowers, sunsets, and people (depending on their location). I would not recomment this camera for events such as concerts or sports; when you zoom (as if to photograph a singer on the stage), the quality becomes grainy and/or blurry without a tripod. I tried taking pictures of my sister's high school graduation, and they didn't come out well at all. I also photograph my high school's soccer games using the Sports Continuous Mode, and the photos come out alright when the sun is up, but when the light is coming from the stadium lights, the photos are yellowish and grainy unless you find the right manual setting, with which you must keep the camera very still. So, depending on what you're going to be using this camera for, you might or might not enjoy it. July 23, 2010
Great Camera I've had a few cameras in my time and I find this camera great. It takes good pics, and corrects some mistakes. My photog friend saw some pics from a trip I took to Europe and he was surprised to see such clarity and definition from my PX90. July 23, 2010
The zoon has been very helpful I bought this camera in May 2009. Overall it has been a good camera for my use Granted it is not an SLR but I have taken a lot of good photos with it. It is light weight so much easier to carry around than some of the heavier cameras I have also used. July 23, 2010
Close up or 200 yards away it does a great job! I have taken flowers up close and birds out to 200 yards. If I can hold it still it gets the picture! Took an eagle at 60 yards in light snow with great detail. Took a Red Tailed Hawk at 60 feet that looks posed, I like my Nikon! July 23, 2010
great :) I really like this camera. The best pictures are the ones that I take outside, but a lot of pictures come out blurry and orange when im indoors. And the zoom is definitly great! But it takes a lot of great pictures overall July 23, 2010
I like it Good clear picture , have issues sometime when i am trying to use the Zoom feature and get some colorful snaps they go blur....over all very nice shots in day light and inside. Not very happy with the snaps I take at night in low light with flash July 23, 2010
Good for a starter in the world of photography I had passion for photography but was not very sure of in n outs of a digital camera. one of my cousin brother suggested a Nikon P90 as he had P80. so i did and found out that P90is a very handy and userfriendly Camera. I need to learn more on its features n its know hows but i m glad to have one which is the best in its segment. Only thing imp here is I need to look for a stand for the camera as zoom pics are behaving like a drunk person :-) July 23, 2010
Overall great digital camera I bought this camera prior to a trip to Japan - wanted something light weight with a good zoom for taking pictures of temples and Mount Fuji. It worked out perfect! Feels comfortable in your hand and the features make it easy in any situation. Wish it had and automatic flash though. July 23, 2010
good value I have spent 30 years playing around with photography, most of that time with Nikons and this camera is my first foray into the digital world. It has a lot of great features, and is almost too smart for me since I spent most of my time with a Nikon FM with manual metering and controls. I have a very difficult time getting it to focus on infinity on night shots, like a full moon. Haven't figured that one out yet, so it can be frustrating, but overall, am very pleased with the camera. July 23, 2010
better in product range all the features within this product range is exceedingly good, but it does not see have the ability for HD recording July 20, 2010
Great camera, stunningly short battery life Love this camera. Very versatile, lots of features and great photos. I've missed literally thousands of shots waiting for the battery to recharge... Because it's ALWAYS in need of recharging. Come on Nikon, you can do better than this. May 18, 2011
Oft times the bells and whistles get in the way Love my camera. I've had it a year and a half. Pros- Instant use abilities, great camera options, almost great in pictures, great software. Cons- Too many options for one scene. After the moment has passed I can find myself wondering if I should've chosen indoor/party? or Portrait?, or close up? or museum? My zoom seems to be not working properly and it wont focus on close up shots these past two days which concerns me. I must find out how to get that looked at. So I feel maybe its not so much user friendly and even though I have learned it...training family to use it is another story. Yes I enjoy it every single day...I use it for work also as I am marketing so I need it, but I cant wait to get something with a better zoom ability. August 23, 2010
Nice, but not nice enough I bought this camera to be a small, easy to carry camera on an overseas trip. Size wise, it was perfect, but I was disappointed with the lens quality. I did some comparision shooting with the Nikkor lenses I use on my D5000, and it was no contest. I took it back within a week for a full refund. Too bad as it had a good size and feel. July 24, 2010
Okay, but not real hardy I have had my Coolpix P90 for about a year and have had some difficulty with the zoom locking. The camera takes acceptable pictures, but at times has proved unreliable. July 23, 2010
One Negative My outdoor photos are great, but awful indoor photos. Light streaks down middle of frame, very yellow color before taking photo. Not sure if it's lighting or what, but a big problem for me. July 23, 2010
Good for Some Things This camera has it's good points, such as ease of use, many options, and it takes very good general pictures. However, I bought this camera to take wildlife/bird pictures, and the quality of the longer distance shots is not as good as I thought it would be. The longer zoom pictures are grainy, and I've tried several settings, both auto and manual. July 23, 2010
This product was good I was given this camera as a gift from my parents last summer (July 2010). It worked great, took amazing photos, was practical. About 11 months into my ownership of this camera, I began having lens problems. I take amazing care of my cameras, and at first the problem was infrequent. Then over the next couple months it began happening more frequently. The lens would come out and retract over and over again until I pulled the battery (the power button would not work). If I left the camera for a day or so, it would begin working properly again. Sometimes it would go weeks without doing it then it would come back again. I don't use my camera everyday or even every week so it had time of rest before this last time that I took it out and I was able to take one photo before the lens began acting up and this time it wasn't stopping. I let it sit for days and finally took it home to my dad who then had to mail it back to be fixed for some $100+. This camera is a year and a half old. It failed less than a year and a half after its purchase. My dad has been using Nikon film products since he was a teenager and has come to expect excellence in all their products, as have I. I am very disappointed in this situation and with this product. January 17, 2011
For the price the features are OK. After getting familiar with it for 6 months, I traveled with it. I found myself using it in MANUAL mode 95% of the time to prevent over and under exposure. The ZOOM range is amazing, although I used digital zoom in only max MGP. However I wasn't happy with the high-end ISO settings. Any setting above 320 was very grainy and 6400 was useless. I would have liked a manual focus, taking pictures through glass gave off-focus pictures. I took about 800 pictures traveling, and about 3/4 were OK. Editing with software recovered another 15%. Bottom line, I got some amazing shots, and I got some real "dogs". Would I buy another Nikon? YES!! But with a manual/auto focus. Would I recommend it? Yes but make sure you understand all the features. August 12, 2010
P90 is a Nikon or not? I bought this camera with great expection. But It is disappointment. Always I have focus problem . 2 or 3 of 10 photos is successfull, other is flue . July 26, 2010
Not Worth the Nikon Name I bought this product to complement my D300 SLR, but I was greatly disappointed. The P90 doesn't deserve to have the Nikon name. It is slow, pictures come out dark even with good light in the room, focusing can take forever if you are not in sunny place. I don't like the shape of the camera and overall, I ended up returning it. July 23, 2010
Sub-par photos This camera has a great zoom (24x) but the more you zoom, the lower the photo quality gets. It takes great outdoor pictures, but inside pictures are grainy and dark, no matter what the settings are. I'm not a professional photographer, so I was looking for a cmera that does point-and-shoot AND manual adjustments, but this camera just doesn't take the best pictures, when you adjust the settings or just point-and-shoot. Next camera I buy, I'll go back to Canon. July 23, 2010
Poor Picture Quality I am a Pro with 3 Nikon Pro Bodies and glass. I bought the P90 for my wife, but have been completely disappointed with the flat grainy picture quality. The initial appeal was the massive telephoto range, which is nice, but is negated by the lackluster image quality. July 23, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
32 Questions | 32 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
32 Questions | 32 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

getting lens error message

Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Nancy
St. Louis, MO
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
if lens cap is attached turn the camera off, remove the lens cap and turn the camera on. The lens cap was not on when the I turned the camera on.
3 years ago
by
Nancy
St. Louis, MO
Location : 
St. Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for troubleshooting for lens error:

Answer Title: Lens Error message
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

malfunction of mode dial ?

May 7, 2011 by
by
Alex
the UK
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Dear Sir/Madam
first few month I enjoyed my Nikon P90, than something happened to the mode dial wheel , when I turn to mode S, A or M, I am not able to fix for example exposure or aperture level at the needed level, for example if I need exposure lets say 1/60 , when I turn command dial wheel it does not fix or does not increase or decrease exposure number gradually the number goes towards 8" all the time

please advise me
kind regards
Alex
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Alex
the UK
Location : 
the UK
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

When turned on, no image on lcd screen or threw eye piece?... Coolpix P90-24x zoom

May 17, 2011 by
by
Mike
New Jersey
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Mike
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

Where can I get the Software Suite for COOLPIX P90

May 19, 2011 by
by
CARLOS E
MEXICO
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
CARLOS E
MEXICO
Location : 
MEXICO
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please download from our website the latest version of ViewNX 2 in order to transfer the pictures from your camera to your pc plus other cool features. See link below:
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

take a picture cant review it, no image data found

May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
frrederick, md
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
when i take a picture and i go to review it from the memory card it says " file contains no image data " i take the memory card out put it in another camera and it shows the other pictures on the memory card but no picture that i just took with the nikon coolpix p90 why ? it is the same memory card that has worked in this camera before. I took a brand new memory card and still no pictures. what is wrng with this camera ? This camera has never took a perfect picture why ? i take a picture with this camera and then with and pld camera and the old caeras picture is better why ?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
frrederick, md
Location : 
frrederick, md
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

I’m having focusing issues; the camera makes a noise when turned on and it has shadows in the top of the camera lenses.

Jun 14, 2011 by
by
Gregg
Alabama
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Gregg
Alabama
Location : 
Alabama
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please reset the camera to default settings: Go to MENU > Setup > Reset All
Jun 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

my scan disc says memory card is write protected--how do I turn that off?

Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Push the little tab down on the side of the card to take write protection off.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

How do I turn the sound off when recording a video? I want to record a silent video.

Jun 23, 2011 by
by
Mike
Long Island
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Mike
Long Island
Location : 
Long Island
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Only when you have selected the Time-Lapse Movie option is that no sound will be recorded. Please see page # 82 of the user's manual for the COOLPIX P90.
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

How do I get Windows 7 to recognize my p90?

Aug 18, 2011 by
by
starrider
Kansas
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My Windows XP machine has no problems recognizing the P90, but I cannot get the Windows 7 PC to recognize it. It doesn't find any drivers. Where do I get the drivers and software?
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
starrider
Kansas
Location : 
Kansas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please install the latest version for View NX 2 in your computer that will allow you to download the photos.
Answer Title: Nikon View NX - 2.1.1
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLPIX P90
 
1 answer

P-90 Camera How to charge battery on pc

Aug 20, 2011 by
by
bill
st thomas VI
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I pluged in to PC with USB and it is not charging.
I am on vacation and have no charger
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
bill
st thomas VI
Location : 
st thomas VI
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D90 cannot be charger through a USB connected to a computer. You need the battery charger.
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers